DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Addiego et al. (US 20210068249 A1, “Addiego”) in view of Sagara et al. (US 5997377 A)
Regarding claim 1, Addiego discloses a circuit board (Abstract) for a high-frequency device, comprising: a glass substrate (abstract) in which a crystal is precipitated (para [0095] & [0099]) such that a region of the glass substrate containing the crystal exhibits an etching rate different from a region of the glass substrate without the crystal when exposed to an etchant, the glass substrate having a dielectric loss tangent at 20° C (para [0214] noted that 20° C - 25° C is considered room temperature) and 10 GHz of 0.0090 or less (Abstract).
Addiego is silent on such that a region of the glass substrate containing the crystal exhibits an etching rate different from a region of the glass substrate without the crystal when exposed to an etchant.
However, Sagara discloses such that a region of the glass substrate containing the crystal exhibits an etching rate different from a region of the glass substrate without the crystal when exposed to an etchant (See Col. 4, Lines: 60 - 64).
Addiego and Sagara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of substrate Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Addiego to incorporate the teachings of Sagara and provide a region of the glass substrate containing the crystal exhibits an etching rate different from a region of the glass substrate without the crystal when exposed to an etchant (See Col. 4, Lines: 60 - 64). Doing so would give them excellent properties as glass substrate (See Col. 4, Line 64)
Regarding claim 2, Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1, wherein Addiego further discloses a signal having a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz is transmitted (See example 14: para [0214] – [0216] ).
Regarding claim 5, Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1, wherein Addiego further discloses comprising: at least one of a passive device and an active device (see para [0206]).
Claim(s) 2 – 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Addiego et al. (US 20210068249 A1, “Addiego”) in view of Sagara et al. (US 5997377 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goessler et al. (US 20220299595 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1,
In the event that a judicial tribunal finds that Addiego in view of Sagara fails to disclose wherein a signal having a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz is transmitted, claim 2 is alternately rejected under 103 over Addiego in view of Sagara and further in view of Goessler.
Goessler discloses a signal having a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz is transmitted (See para [0010]).
Addiego in view of Sagara and Goessler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high-frequency circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Addiego in view of Sagara to incorporate the teachings of Goessler and provide a signal having a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz is transmitted (See para [0010] & [0014]). Doing so would enable high performance and high signal quality in terms of high-frequency signal transmission (para [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1,
Addiego in view of Sagara is silent on wherein the glass substrate has at least one stereoscopic structure of a through hole, a hollowed-out structure, and a hollow structure.
However, Goessler discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the glass substrate has at least one stereoscopic structure of a through hole (124), a hollowed-out structure, and a hollow structure (para [0033] & [0093]).
Addiego in view of Sagara and Goessler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high-frequency circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Addiego in view of Sagara to incorporate the teachings of Goessler and provide wherein the glass substrate has at least one stereoscopic structure of a through hole (124), a hollowed-out structure, and a hollow structure (para [0033] & [0093]). Doing so would enable coupling between the high-frequency device and other components (para [0092])
Regarding claim 4, Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1,
Addiego in view of Sagara is silent on further comprising: a transmission line.
However, Goessler discloses (Fig. 1) further comprising: a transmission line {(112), para [0095] – [0097]}.
Addiego in view of Sagara and Goessler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high-frequency circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Addiego in view of Sagara to incorporate the teachings of Goessler and provide further comprising: a transmission line {(112), para [0095] – [0097]}. Doing so would enable high performance and high signal quality in terms of high-frequency signal transmission (para [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, A high-frequency device comprising Addiego in view of Sagara discloses the circuit board according to claim 1.
Addiego in view of Sagara is silent on a high-frequency device comprising the circuit board according to claim 1.
However, Goessler discloses (Fig. 1) a high-frequency device {(108 & 110), para [0091] & [0092]}.
Addiego in view of Sagara and Goessler are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of high-frequency circuit board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Addiego in view of Sagara to incorporate the teachings of Goessler and provide a high-frequency device {(108 & 110), para [0091] & [0092]} comprising the circuit board according to claim 1. Doing so would enable high performance and high signal quality in terms of high-frequency signal transmission (para [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDI M MAIGA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847