DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “clearance” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a clearance is present between the sleeve and the peg”. This limitation is indefinite because this “clearance” can be located at any number of positions between different portions of the sleeve/peg features and it is unclear as to where exactly it is intended to be – particularly without the lack of support from the drawings and specification.
Claims 2-20 are similarly rejected for being dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Evans (WO 2017/100818 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7 and 18, Evans discloses A hybrid bolt designed to be inserted in a borehole having a borehole wall, the hybrid bolt comprising: a sleeve [110] having a first sleeve-end and an expandable second sleeve-end featuring a longitudinal slit extending the length between the first sleeve end and the second sleeve end, and narrowing at said second sleeve end [Figures 1, 2, 4, 5, & 7], the sleeve having a default external diameter that decreases towards the second sleeve end [Figures 2-4]; and a threaded peg [130] having a first peg-end and a second peg-end wherein the peg has a diameter increasing toward the second peg-end thereby providing a frustoconical surface about the second peg-end [Figures 1-24, wherein the peg is inserted in the sleeve with the first peg-end opposed to the second sleeve-end, wherein throughout a substantial longitudinal portion of the sleeve, a clearance is present between the sleeve and the peg allowing to radially compress the sleeve to temporarily adopt a smaller external diameter when the sleeve is inserted in the borehole [clearance between the outer diameter of the peg and outer diameter of the sleeve; Figures 2-4], and wherein the hybrid bolt, when the peg is pulled towards the first sleeve end, has the frustoconical surface pushing outwards the second sleeve-end which becomes thereby wedged between the frustoconical surface and the borehole wall [see installed configurations; Figures 12-14 & 18-20].
Regarding claims 2-4, Evans further discloses a wedge ring [180] with a longitudinal groove parallel to the slit of the sleeve [Figures 2-4] with an outwardly extending lip adapted to but against the second sleeve end [shoulder at 111; Figure 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (WO 2017/100818 A1) in view of Gauthier et al. (US 4971494).
Regarding claim 5, Evans fails to disclose the wedge ring extends within the sleeve.
Gauthier teaches an anchor bolt [11-13] having a wedge ring [20] that extends within the sleeve [3].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Evans by substituting the internal wedge ring as described by Gauthier to reduce the undesired movement and potential dislodging of the sleeve/wedge ring while the bolt is being inserted into the ground, thereby decreasing failure rates.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (WO 2017/100818 A1) in view of Kuhlmann (US 4112813).
Evans fails to disclose the sleeve having a key groove and the peg having a key protruding from the body for interconnection therewith.
Kuhlmann teaches an anchor bolt having a sleeve with a key groove [10; Figures 1 & 2].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Evans by adding the key groove as described by Kuhlmann to provide a mechanical indicator to alert when abutting ring [11] is adequately pulled into an installation position such that the installer knows to stop and not pull too far potentially compromising the bolt.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – the key groove of the rock bolt extends from the first sleeve-end, and the peg comprises a body and a key protruding from the body, wherein the key is adapted to take place in the key groove; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Busler (US 4074609) discloses a rock bolt having a wedge ring similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619