DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/26/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the claim
The argument received on 9/11/2026 has been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are amended. Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are cancelled. Thus, claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/11/2026 with respect to the claims 1, 4, and 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/11/2026 with respect to claims 1, 4, and 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sano in view of Kumakura and Hiroya.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 2021/0017738 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Sano”) in view of Kumakura et al. (US 2021/0017733 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kumakura”) and Hiroya et al. (JP H049245 B2, hereinafter referred to as “Hiroya”).
Regarding claim 1, Sano teaches a shovel control device (Fig. 1, controller 30) comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 1, controller 30) configured to
control an attachment of a shovel (para. [0077]: the autonomous control unit 35 may cause at least one of the boom cylinder 7, the arm cylinder 8, and the bucket cylinder 9 to extend or contract autonomously, so that the trajectory of the teeth end of the bucket 6 becomes equivalent to the target trajectory when the operator manually performs an arm-closing operation) to perform an excavation operation and a dumping operation (para. [0079]: Excavated matter EX1 loaded onto the bed of the dump truck DT corresponds to the matter excavated in the first excavation operation, and excavated matter EX2 corresponds to the matter excavated in the second excavation operation),
receive an input of a bucket provided at a tip of an attachment attached to a shovel (para. [0023]: the bucket angle sensor S3 detects the angle of rotation of the bucket 6) and
repeatedly calculate a weight of an object in the bucket (para. [0058]: The second information obtaining unit 32 is configured to obtain information on the excavation weight, which is the weight of matter excavated in an excavation operation using the excavation attachment; para. [0059]: calculates, as the excavation weight, the weight of excavated matter such as earth and sand excavated by an excavation attachment), based on the input of the bucket (para. [0023]: the bucket angle sensor S3 detects the angle of rotation of the bucket) and an output of a sensor whose detection result changes according to the weight of the object in the bucket (para. [0071]: the excavation weight may be calculated, for example, based on the outputs of the cylinder pressure sensors, or may be calculated based on the outputs of the position sensors and the outputs of the cylinder pressure sensors), during a period from a completion of the excavation operation to a start of the dumping operation (para. [0062]: the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter related to one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time; para. [0079]: Excavated matter EX1 loaded onto the bed of the dump truck DT corresponds to the matter excavated in the first excavation operation, and excavated matter EX2 corresponds to the matter excavated in the second excavation operation, note that the above feature of “the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter” in para. [0062] and “Excavated matter EX1 loaded onto the bed of the dump truck DT corresponds to the matter excavated in the first excavation operation, and excavated matter EX2 corresponds to the matter excavated in the second excavation operation” in para. [0079] reads on “repeatedly calculate a weight of an object …during a period from a completion of the excavation operation to a start of the dumping operation”), the sensor being configured to detect a load on an actuator of the shovel, the actuator being configured to drive the attachment.
Sano does not specifically teach an input shape of a bucket.
However, Kumakura teaches an input shape of a bucket (para. [0068]: the bucket information storage unit 1552 stores a base-end portion length Lo that is a length between the front connection portion 1351 and the rear connection portion 1352 of the bucket 135, the bucket length L3 in the normal connection state, and relative positions of a plurality of contour points in the normal connection state in association with type information of the bucket 135; para. [0075]: the dimension information of the bucket 13; paras. [0076]-[0079]: bucket length; paras. [0086]-[0089]: bucket position; para. [0094]: the bucket selection unit 1511 outputs a display signal for displaying a selection screen for the bucket 135 to the input/output device 160 on the basis of the read information (step S02)), the above feature of paras. [0068], [0075]-[0079], [0086]-[0089] and para. [0094] reads on “input shape of a bucket”).
Sano and Kumakura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the input shape of a bucket such as is described in Kumakura into Sano, in order to provide a dimension-specifying device and a dimension-specifying method capable of specifying a dimension of a bucket regardless of a bucket attachment method (Kumakura, para. [0007]).
Sano and Kumakura do not specifically teach a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket,
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in response to calculating the weight of the object in the bucket, refer to the table information to specify the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object, and recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket, based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alternately perform, until a condition for determining the weight of the object in the bucket is satisfied, calculating the weight of the object in the bucket based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, and specifying the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object.
However, Hiroya teaches a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket (Page 3, lines 22-25: the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder 6 when raising the bucket 1 that has scooped up cargo, and the hydraulic pressure of the lift cylinder 4 that supports the bucket 1 when the vehicle is running, etc. 4 is a value determined by the weight of the bucket 1 and the load around the moment around the vehicle body attachment part (pivot point) of the lift arm, and the position of the center of gravity of the load. Further, the load center position in this case is determined by the tilt angle of the bucket 1; Page 6, line 11: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected. Here, the pressure in the tilt cylinder corresponding to the tilt angle of the bucket differs depending on the change in the position of the center of gravity of the load, so the weighing error at this time is determined in advance as a theoretical value or an actual value, and it is stored in memory, note that the above feature of “.weight of the load” and “the position of the center of gravity of the load” and “weighting error stored in memory” in page 3, lines 22-25 and page 6, line 11 and page reads on “a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket”),
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in response to calculating the weight of the object in the bucket, refer to the table information to specifythe position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket (page 6, line 11: “weighting error stored in memory” in page 6, lines 11 reads on “table information”) based on the calculated weight of the object page 3, lines 22-25:.weight of the bucket 1 and the load and the position of the center of gravity of the load), and recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket, based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, (Page 6, line 11: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected, note that the above feature of the center of gravity is corrected in page 6, line 11 reads on “recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket”) and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alternately perform, until a condition for determining the weight of the object in the bucket is satisfied (page 3, lines 40-42: since the load center position that changes due to variations in the cargo appearance in the bucket is automatically corrected and the load amount is automatically measured, measurement errors caused by changes in the load center position at the time of weighing disappears), calculating the weight of the object in the bucket based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object (page 3, lines 22-25: see above) and the output of the sensor (page 6, line 12: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected, note that the feature of “detecting the tilt angle” reads on “output of the sensor”), and specifying the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object (page 3, lines 22-25: see above; page 6, line 11: see above).
Sano and Hiroya are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object such as is described in Hiroya into Sano, in order to provide a device that accurately measures the amount of cargo load by calculating and correcting the center of gravity position from the moment around the hinge pin of the bucket on the basis of the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder and the tilt angle of the bucket (Hiroya, page 2, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 4, Sano teaches a shovel (Fig. 1) comprising:
a lower traveling body (Fig. 1, 1);
an upper turning body turnably mounted (Fig. 1, 2) on the lower traveling body (Fig. 1, 1);
an attachment attached to the upper turning body (Fig. 1, 2) and including a bucket at a tip of the attachment (Fig. 1, 6);
an actuator configured to drive the attachment (paras. [0048]-[0049]: hydraulic actuators);
a sensor configured to detect a load on the actuator (Fig. 2, 28 and 29 and paras. [0050]-[0051]: pressure sensors);
processing circuitry (Fig. 1, controller 30) configured to receive an input of the bucket (para. [0023]: the bucket angle sensor S3 detects the angle of rotation of the bucket 6) and
calculate a weight of an object in the bucket, based on an input of the bucket (para. [0058]: The second information obtaining unit 32 is configured to obtain information on the excavation weight, which is the weight of matter excavated in an excavation operation using the excavation attachment; para. [0059]: calculates, as the excavation weight, the weight of excavated matter such as earth and sand excavated by an excavation attachment), based on the input of the bucket (para. [0023]: the bucket angle sensor S3 detects the angle of rotation of the bucket) and an output of a sensor whose detection result changes according to the weight of the object in the bucket (para. [0071]: the excavation weight may be calculated, for example, based on the outputs of the cylinder pressure sensors, or may be calculated based on the outputs of the position sensors and the outputs of the cylinder pressure sensors).
Sano does not specifically teach an input shape of a bucket.
However, Kumakura teaches an input shape of a bucket (para. [0068]: the bucket information storage unit 1552 stores a base-end portion length Lo that is a length between the front connection portion 1351 and the rear connection portion 1352 of the bucket 135, the bucket length L3 in the normal connection state, and relative positions of a plurality of contour points in the normal connection state in association with type information of the bucket 135; para. [0075]: the dimension information of the bucket 13; paras. [0076]-[0079]: bucket length; paras. [0086]-[0089]: bucket position; para. [0094]: the bucket selection unit 1511 outputs a display signal for displaying a selection screen for the bucket 135 to the input/output device 160 on the basis of the read information (step S02)), the above feature of paras. [0068], [0075]-[0079], [0086]-[0089] and para. [0094] reads on “input shape of a bucket”).
Sano and Kumakura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the input shape of a bucket such as is described in Kumakura into Sano, in order to provide a dimension-specifying device and a dimension-specifying method capable of specifying a dimension of a bucket regardless of a bucket attachment method (Kumakura, para. [0007]).
Sano and Kumakura do not specifically teach a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket,
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in response to calculating the weight of the object in the bucket, refer to the table information to specify the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object, and recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket, based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alternately perform, until a condition for determining the weight of the object in the bucket is satisfied, calculating the weight of the object in the bucket based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, and specifying the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object.
However, Hiroya teaches a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket (page 3, lines 22-25: the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder 6 when raising the bucket 1 that has scooped up cargo, and the hydraulic pressure of the lift cylinder 4 that supports the bucket 1 when the vehicle is running, etc. 4 is a value determined by the weight of the bucket 1 and the load around the moment around the vehicle body attachment part (pivot point) of the lift arm, and the position of the center of gravity of the load. Further, the load center position in this case is determined by the tilt angle of the bucket 1; Page 6, line 11: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected. Here, the pressure in the tilt cylinder corresponding to the tilt angle of the bucket differs depending on the change in the position of the center of gravity of the load, so the weighing error at this time is determined in advance as a theoretical value or an actual value, and it is stored in memory, note that the above feature of “.weight of the load” and “the position of the center of gravity of the load” and “weighting error stored in memory” in page 3, lines 22-25 and page 6, line 11 and page reads on “a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object are associated with each other with respect to each of types of the bucket”),
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to in response to calculating the weight of the object in the bucket, refer to the table information to specify the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket (page 6, line 11: “weighting error stored in memory” in page 6, lines 11 reads on “table information”) based on the calculated weight of the object page 3, lines 22-25:.weight of the bucket 1 and the load and the position of the center of gravity of the load), and recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket, based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object and the output of the sensor, (Page 6, line 11: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected, note that the above feature of the center of gravity is corrected in page 6, line 11 reads on “recalculate the weight of the object in the bucket”) and
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to alternately perform, until a condition for determining the weight of the object in the bucket is satisfied, (page 3, lines 40-42: since the load center position that changes due to variations in the cargo appearance in the bucket is automatically corrected and the load amount is automatically measured, measurement errors caused by changes in the load center position at the time of weighing disappears) calculating the weight of the object in the bucket based on the specified position of the center of gravity of the object (page 3, lines 22-25: see above) and the output of the sensor (page 6, line 12: The position of the center of load inside the bucket can be determined by the tilt angle of the bucket. Therefore, the load center position is determined by detecting the tilt angle, and the center of gravity is corrected, note that the feature of “detecting the tilt angle” reads on “output of the sensor”), and specifying the position of the center of gravity of the object in the bucket based on the calculated weight of the object (page 3, lines 22-25: see above; page 6, line 11: see above).
Sano and Hiroya are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object such as is described in Hiroya into Sano, in order to provide a device that accurately measures the amount of cargo load by calculating and correcting the center of gravity position from the moment around the hinge pin of the bucket on the basis of the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder and the tilt angle of the bucket (Hiroya, page 2, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 7, Sano in view of Kumakura and Hiroya teaches all the limitation of claim 4, in addition, Sano teaches that the processing circuitry (Fig. 1, controller 30) is configured to calculate the weight of the object in the bucket para. [0063]: the second information obtaining unit 32 may calculate the excavation weight in an individual excavation operation, based on the outputs of the position sensors, note that “the excavation weight in an individual excavation operation” reads on “weight of the object in the bucket”) and the output of the sensor (para. [0023]: bucket angle sensor S3; para. [0059]: image sensor S6A) when the lifting of the bucket is started (para. [0062]: the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter related to one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time, as a cumulative excavation weight over the predetermined period of time, note that the above feature of “one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time” reads on “the lifting of the bucket is started”).
Sano and Kumakura do not specifically teach weight of object based on the position of the center of gravity of object.
However, Hiroya teaches the weight of object based on the position of the center of gravity of object (Page 3, lines 22-25: the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder 6 when raising the bucket 1 that has scooped up cargo, and the hydraulic pressure of the lift cylinder 4 that supports the bucket 1 when the vehicle is running, etc. 4 is a value determined by the weight of the bucket 1 and the load around the moment around the vehicle body attachment part (pivot point) of the lift arm, and the position of the center of gravity of the load. Further, the load center position in this case is determined by the tilt angle of the bucket 1).
Sano and Hiroya are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the weight of object based on the position of the center of gravity of object such as is described in Hiroya into Sano, in order to provide a device that accurately measures the amount of cargo load by calculating and correcting the center of gravity position from the moment around the hinge pin of the bucket on the basis of the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder and the tilt angle of the bucket (Hiroya, page 2, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 8, Sano in view of Kumakura and Hiroya teaches all the limitation of claim 4, in addition, Sano teaches that the processing circuitry (Fig. 1, controller 30) is further configured to terminate calculating of the weight of the object and specifying the position of the object in response to a predetermined condition being satisfied (para. [0062]: with this configuration, the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter related to one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time; para. [0063]: the second information obtaining unit 32 may calculate the excavation weight in an individual excavation operation, based on the outputs of the position sensors, note that the above feature of “the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter related to one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time” in para. [0062] reads on “terminate the calculation of the calculation of the weight of the object” at least in the predetermined time) while the bucket is being lifted (para. [0062]: the controller 30 can calculate an added-up value of the weight of the excavated matter related to one or more excavation operations performed within a predetermined period of time, as a cumulative excavation weight over the predetermined period of time).
Sano and Kumakura do not specifically teach the position of the center of gravity of object.
However, Hiroya teaches the position of the center of gravity of object (page 3, lines 22-25: the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder 6 when raising the bucket 1 that has scooped up cargo, and the hydraulic pressure of the lift cylinder 4 that supports the bucket 1 when the vehicle is running, etc. 4 is a value determined by the weight of the bucket 1 and the load around the moment around the vehicle body attachment part (pivot point) of the lift arm, and the position of the center of gravity of the load. Further, the load center position in this case is determined by the tilt angle of the bucket 1).
Sano and Hiroya are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a storage configured to store table information in which a weight of the object and a position of a center of gravity of the object such as is described in Hiroya into Sano, in order to provide a device that accurately measures the amount of cargo load by calculating and correcting the center of gravity position from the moment around the hinge pin of the bucket on the basis of the hydraulic pressure of the tilt cylinder and the tilt angle of the bucket (Hiroya, page 2, lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 9, Sano in view of Kumakura and Hiroya teaches all the limitation of claim 4, in addition, Sano teaches that the processing circuitry (Fig. 1, controller 30) is further configured to receive an input from an operation device (para. [0051]: each of the operational pressure sensors 29 detects the operational direction and the operational amount of the operation device 26 corresponding to one of the actuators in the form of pressure and outputs the detected value to the controller), an input from an external device (para. [0090]: obtain information on the maximum loadable capacity of a dump track DT; para. [0139]: the arm spool displacement sensor S8 detects the displacement of the arm spool, and feeds the detection result back to the functional element F22 of the controller 30), or an input from an imaging device, as the input of the bucket (para. [0023]: the bucket angle sensor S3 detects the angle of rotation of the bucket 6).
Sano and Hiroya do not specifically teach an input shape of a bucket.
However, Kumakura teaches an input shape of a bucket (para. [0068]: the bucket information storage unit 1552 stores a base-end portion length Lo that is a length between the front connection portion 1351 and the rear connection portion 1352 of the bucket 135, the bucket length L3 in the normal connection state, and relative positions of a plurality of contour points in the normal connection state in association with type information of the bucket 135; para. [0075]: the dimension information of the bucket 13; paras. [0076]-[0079]: bucket length; paras. [0086]-[0089]: bucket position; para. [0094]: the bucket selection unit 1511 outputs a display signal for displaying a selection screen for the bucket 135 to the input/output device 160 on the basis of the read information (step S02)), the above feature of paras. [0068], [0075]-[0079], [0086]-[0089] and para. [0094] reads on “input shape of a bucket”).
Sano and Kumakura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of shovel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the input shape of a bucket such as is described in Kumakura into Sano, in order to provide a dimension-specifying device and a dimension-specifying method capable of specifying a dimension of a bucket regardless of a bucket attachment method (Kumakura, para. [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marathe et al. (US 8,515,627 B2) teaches a machine includes a chassis, a linkage having a first end pivotally attached to the chassis at a first pivot point, and a bucket pivotally attached to a second end of the linkage at a second pivot point and rotatable about the second pivot point from a first position where gravity resists rotation of the bucket to a second position where gravity assists rotation of the bucket.
Ichiyama et al. (US 4,627,013) teaches a load weight calculating system for a load moving machine, such as a hydraulic excavator, including a support, and a front attachment pivotably supported by the support. The front attachment includes a first linkage element pivotably supported by the support, a second linkage element pivotably supported by the first linkage element, a loading section supported by the second linkage element, and first and second hydraulic actuators for moving the first and second linkage elements, respectively.
Ehrich et al. (US 4,499,960) teaches that the present invention is directed towards a method for measuring the weight of bulk goods loaded or, alternatively, loading performance over time of hydraulic earth moving machines, excavators or similar machines which are provided with a hydraulically operated material loading scoop. Typically, these loading scoops rotate about and are supported on a loading arm. The scoop is controlled and tilted by a hydraulic piston-cylinder unit.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858