DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/521,315 filed on 28 November 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are under full consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite because the limitation “the hydrogen reaction catalyst” does not have sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim 12 is indefinite because the limitation “the hydrogen reaction catalyst” does not have sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 13-20 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on claim 12.
Claims 14 and 18 are indefinite because “the joining surface of the first component” and “the joining surface of the second component” do not have sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as “the joining surface of the first component connector region” and ““the joining surface of the first component connector region”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (CN-111174986-A).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a component comprising: a conduit region having a flow path to convey a fluid comprising a reactive compound (hydrogen pipeline; see [0024]); a connector region having an external surface and a joining surface (surface of the connector 230; see [0099] and Fig. 2) to fluidly connect the conduit region to another component (The first gas supply pipe and the second gas supply pipe are connected by the connector; see [0023]); and a catalyst (The hydrogen-sensitive material undergoes a chemical change upon contact with hydrogen gas. The hydrogen-sensitive material can be a catalyst; see [0076]) comprising a platinum group metal (the palladium metal acts as a catalyst; see [0081]), wherein the catalyst is positioned on at least one surface chosen from the joining surface of the connector region, the external surface of the connector, and combinations thereof (the hydrogen detection material is a color-changing silica gel containing palladium metal; see [0092] and “The detection coating 30 is disposed on the surface of the connector 230 near the first gas pipe 210”; see [0099]), wherein the flow path is free of the catalyst (see Fig. 2 Part 30) and the catalyst is positioned to contact and to react the reactive compound (Hydrogen gas undergoes a chemical change upon contact with the hydrogen-sensitive material; see [0076]) if the reactive compound escapes the flow path (When hydrogen leaks from the pipeline 20, the palladium metal acts as a catalyst, promoting the conversion of hydrogen into hydrogen atoms, and the hydrogen reacts with oxygen to produce water; see [0081]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the connector region is at least one chosen from a flange connector, a barb connector, a bayonet connector, a threaded connector, a swage-lock connector, a v-band connector, a welded connection, a soldered connection, and combinations thereof (The first gas pipe 210 and the second gas pipe 220 are connected by the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the platinum group metal is platinum, palladium, or a combination thereof (the palladium metal acts as a catalyst; see [0081]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the catalyst is present in at least one entity chosen from a paint, a coating, a tape, an electroplated surface, a gasket, and combinations thereof (The detection coating 30 includes a hydrogen detection material; see [0090] and “the hydrogen detection material is a color-changing silica gel containing palladium metal”; see [0092]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the catalyst further comprises a supporting material for the platinum group metal and the supporting material is chosen from a carbon support, a metal-oxide support, a metal mesh, a ceramic support, an electroplated surface, and combinations thereof (A double-layer structure is formed by spraying palladium metal (1-5 μm) onto the surface of tungsten oxide active material; see [0084]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the reactive compound is diatomic hydrogen (hydrogen pipeline; see [0024]).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses an assembly comprising: a first component according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection); and a second component at least partially surrounding the conduit region of the first component (The protective cover 70 is fitted onto the outer surface of the pipe 20. The protective cover 70 surrounds and forms the first space 701; see [0113]), wherein the catalyst is sandwiched between first component and the second component (The detection coating 30 is housed in the first space 701; see [0113]).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 10, wherein the first component comprises a threaded region to connect the first component to the second component or to connect the first component to another component (the pipeline 20 includes a first gas supply pipe 210 and a second gas supply pipe 220 connected by internal and external threads; see [0121]).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang discloses an assembly comprising: a first component according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection); and a second component including: a second component conduit region having a second component flow path to convey the fluid comprising a reactive compound (the pipeline includes a first gas supply pipe, a second gas supply pipe, and a connector; see [0023]); and a second component connector region having a joining surface to fluidly connect the second component conduit region to the conduit region of the first component (The first flange is located at one end of the first gas supply pipe. The second flange is located at one end of the second gas pipeline. The first gas pipeline and the second gas pipeline are connected by the first flange and the second flange; see [0028]), wherein the second component flow path is in fluid communication with the flow path of the first component (The first gas supply pipe 210 and the second gas supply pipe 220 are connected by the connector 230; see [0099] and Fig. 2), and wherein the second component flow path is free of a hydrogen reaction catalyst (The detection coating 30 is disposed on the surface of the second gas pipe 220 near the connector 230… When the hydrogen gas leaks along the outer surface of the first gas pipe 210 or the outer surface of the second gas pipe 220, the detection coating 30 changes color; see [0099]-[0101]).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 12, further comprising a third component in contact with the catalyst (The detection coating 30 is respectively disposed on the opposite surfaces of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]) and the third component is in contact with both the first component and the second component (the first gas pipe 210 and the second gas pipe 220 are connected by the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]) to position the catalyst transverse to a joint between the first component and the second component (see Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 12, wherein the catalyst is in contact with the joining surface of the second component and the catalyst is in contact with the joining surface of the first component (The detection coating 30 is respectively disposed on the opposite surfaces of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122] and Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 14, wherein the connector region of the first component is a flange, the second component connector region is a flange (The first gas pipe 210 and the second gas pipe 220 are connected by the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]), and the catalyst is sandwiched between the connector region of the first component and the second component connector region (The detection coating 30 is respectively disposed on the opposite surfaces of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122] and Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 12, further comprising an at least partially enclosed volume having at least one wall at least partially defined by at least one of the first component or the second component (The protective cover 70 is fitted onto the outer surface of the pipe 20. The protective cover 70 surrounds and forms the first space 701; see [0113]) and wherein the catalyst is in contact with an enclosed portion of the at least partially enclosed volume (The detection coating 30 is housed in the first space 701; see [0113]).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 12, wherein: the joining surface of the first component connector region is in contact with the joining surface of the second component connector region (The first flange 211 is disposed at one end of the first gas supply pipe 210. The second flange 221 is disposed at one end of the second gas pipeline 220. The first gas pipe 210 and the second gas pipe 220 are connected by the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122] and “the pipeline 20 includes a first gas supply pipe 210 and a second gas supply pipe 220 connected by internal and external threads”; see [0121]), the catalyst is in contact with the first component (The detection coating 30 is disposed on the surface of the first gas pipe 210 near the connector 230; see [0099]), the catalyst is in contact with the second component (The detection coating 30 is disposed on the surface of the second gas pipe 220 near the connector 230; see [0099]), and the catalyst is positioned transverse to the joining surface of the first component and the joining surface of the second component (The detection coating 30 is respectively disposed on the opposite surfaces of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221. The detection coating 30 can also be the circumferential surface of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]-[0123] and Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang discloses wherein the connector region of the first component is a flange, the second component connector region is a flange (The first flange 211 is disposed at one end of the first gas supply pipe 210. The second flange 221 is disposed at one end of the second gas pipeline 220. The first gas pipe 210 and the second gas pipe 220 are connected by the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]), and the catalyst is positioned on an external surface of the flange of the connector region of the first component and the flange of the connector region of the second component (The detection coating 30 is respectively disposed on the opposite surfaces of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221. The detection coating 30 can also be the circumferential surface of the first flange 211 and the second flange 221; see [0122]-[0123] and Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN-111174986-A) in view of Andrews et al. (US-6427639-B1), hereinafter “Andrews”.
Regarding Claim 4, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor. However, Andrews discloses a temperature sensor in thermal contact with a hydrogen reaction catalyst (temperature sensor in thermal communication with the catalyst; see Claim 2).
Yang and Andrews are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of leak detection. Incorporating a temperature sensor, as disclosed by Andrews, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Andrews offers the motivation of providing the system with another means of checking for hydrogen leaks (see Col. 10 Lines 17-18).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN-111174986-A) in view of Hoagland et al. (US-20160252486-A1), hereinafter “Hoagland”.
Regarding Claim 7, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach nanoparticles. However, Hoagland discloses wherein the catalyst comprises nanoparticles comprising the platinum group metal (nanoparticles of chemochromic material… that are coated or aggregated in contact with a noble metal catalyst, such as platinum, palladium…; see [0026]).
Yang and Hoagland are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of leak detection. Using nanoparticles comprising the catalyst would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Hoagland offers the motivation of increasing the surface area interface between the catalyst and metal oxide, thereby increasing color change speed and intensity (see [0029]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN-111174986-A) in view of Soulie (US-20230102097-A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang discloses the component according to claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly teach a double walled region. However, Soulie discloses wherein a conduit region has a double walled region surrounding the flow path (the hydrogen is carried in double-wall pipelines each comprising an outer pipe and an inner pipe positioned inside the outer pipe; see [0005]) and a leak detection ability within the double walled region (intermediary space between the inner and outer pipes being evacuated in order to isolate the hydrogen carried in the inner pipe from the air situated outside the outer pipe…. one pressure sensor configured to measure the pressure in the intermediary space. Thus, when the pressure sensor detects an increase in pressure in the intermediary zone, this corresponding to a probable high leak of hydrogen or of oxygen; see [0005]).
Yang discloses placing the catalyst on the outer surface of the conduit (The hydrogen detection material is affixed to the surface of the pipeline for detecting hydrogen; see [0084] and Fig. 2 Parts 20 and 30), and Soulie discloses using this intermediate space for leak detection. Therefore, when using a double walled structure, it would have naturally followed that the catalyst of Yang would be positioned within the double walled region.
Yang and Soulie are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of leak detection. Incorporating the double wall structure of Soulie would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Soulie offers the motivation of isolating hydrogen carried by the inner pipe from the surrounding air and facilitate detection of hydrogen leaking from the inner pipe (see [0005]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN-111174986-A) in view of Withers-Kirby et al. (US-20090119989-A1), hereinafter “Withers”.
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 16.
Yang does not explicitly teach a tortuous path. However, Withers discloses wherein an at least partially enclosed volume has a tortuous path (a reaction chamber equipped with a tortuous passageway; see [0039]) with catalyst positioned on a wall of the tortuous path (said passageway containing a catalyst disposed on a surface thereof; see [0039]).
Yang and Withers are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen handling systems using catalysts. Incorporating a tortuous catalyzed path, as disclosed by Withers, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Withers offers the motivation of maximizing or optimizing residence time, thus ensuring amore complete reaction of the reactant materials (see [0065]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN-111174986-A) in view of Singh et al. (US-20110133451-A1), hereinafter “Singh”.
Regarding Claim 20, Yang discloses the assembly according to claim 19.
Yang does not explicitly teach a protrusion and recess. However, Singh discloses wherein a connector region of a first component has a protrusion and a second component connector region has a recess, wherein the protrusion fits into the recess (The second flange body includes a recessed portion which receives a protrusion extending from the first flange body; see [0042]).
Singh is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned because Singh relates to the configuration and mating of opposing flange connector regions used to join fluid-carrying pipes. Incorporating a protrusion and recess fitting in the flanges, as disclosed by Singh, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Singh offers the motivation of providing the flange assembly with additional load bearing ability supporting the joint against sheering and bending, which increases the strength of the flange assembly without using more resilient, and typically more costly, material (see [0042]). Because Yang discloses positioning the catalyst on the opposing and circumferential surfaces of the flange connector regions (see [0122]-[0123]), it would naturally follow that the catalyst would be positioned between the protrusion and recess when Yang’s catalyst bearing flange surfaces are configured according to Singh.
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774