DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on November 28, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because in Fig. 1B, the reference characters “145” and “125” have both been used to designate a 2nd source/drain region.
No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d) . If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 8, 11, 16, 18 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, “betweeen the stakced semiconductor layers” should read --between the stacked semiconductor layers--.
In claim 6, line 4, “an additonal inner spacer” should read --an additional inner spacer--.
In claim 8, line 1, “comrpsing” should read --comprising--.
In claim 11, line 8, “comrpsing” should read --comprising--.
In claim 16, line 4, “an additonal inner spacer” should read --an additional inner spacer--.
In claim 18, line 1, “comrpsing” should read --comprising--.
In claim 22, lines 3-4, “the at least one of a portion of the 1st gate structure and a portion of the 2nd gate structure” should read --the at least one of the portion of the 1st gate structure and the portion of the 2nd gate structure--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. US 2022/0216340.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a semiconductor device (e.g., Fig. 20; also see Figs. 2-19, [14]-[39]) comprising:
a 1st source/drain region (e.g., 228-1, Fig. 20) connected to a 1st channel structure (e.g., 1st channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below) which is controlled by a 1st gate structure (e.g., 1st gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below);
a 2nd source/drain region (e.g., 248-1, Fig. 20), above the 1st source/drain region, connected to a 2nd channel structure (e.g., 2nd channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below) which is controlled by a 2nd gate structure (e.g., 2nd gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below); and
a middle isolation structure (e.g., middle isolation structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below) between the 1st gate structure and the 2nd gate structure,
wherein the middle isolation structure comprises two or more semiconductor layers (e.g., semiconductor layers including 2080 (208), [15]; see the annotated Fig. 20 below; Fig. 2) which are vertically stacked (e.g., Z-direction; see the annotated Fig. 20 below).
Annotated Fig. 20 of Lin
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein at least one of a portion of the 1st gate structure and a portion of the 2nd gate structure is disposed between the semiconductor layers (e.g., 264, [33]; see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein the at least one of the portion of the 1st gate structure and the portion of the 2nd gate structure is not connected to a remaining portion of the 1st gate structure or a remaining portion of the 2nd gate structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a dielectric material (e.g., 226, Annotated Fig. 20; Figs. 7-8) is disposed betweeen the stakced semiconductor layers.
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one inner spacer (e.g., 226, Annotated Fig. 20; Figs. 7-8) between the 1st source/drain region and the 1st gate structure, and between the 2nd source/drain region and the 2nd gate structure; and an additonal inner spacer (e.g., 226, Annotated Fig. 20; Figs. 7-8) on a side surface of the middle isolation structure.
Regarding claim 7, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the at least one inner spacer and the additional inner spacer are connected to each other (e.g., the at least one inner spacer and the additional inner spacer are connected to each other via the semiconductor layers; see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comrpsing a backside contact structure (e.g., 286, 283, Fig. 20, [39]) comprising a metal and connected to a bottom surface of the 1st source/drain region.
Regarding claim 10, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a bottom isolation layer (e.g., bottom isolation layer; see the annotated Fig. 20 above) below a bottom surface of the 1st gate structure.
Regarding claim 21, Lin teaches a semiconductor device (e.g., Fig. 20; also see Figs. 2-19, [14]-[39]) comprising:
a 1st source/drain region (e.g., 228-1, Fig. 20) connected to a 1st channel structure (e.g., 1st channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below) surrounded by a 1st gate structure (e.g., 1st gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 above; [2]);
a 2nd source/drain region (e.g., 248-1, Fig. 20), above the 1st source/drain region, connected to a 2nd channel structure (e.g., 2nd channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below) which is surrounded by a 2nd gate structure (e.g., 2nd gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 below; [2]); and
a middle isolation structure (e.g., middle isolation structure; see the annotated Fig. 20 above) between the 1st gate structure and the 2nd gate structure,
wherein the middle isolation structure comprises at least one of a portion of the 1st gate structure and a portion of the 2nd gate structure (e.g., 264, [33]; see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Regarding claim 22, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 21, wherein the middle isolation structure further comprises two or more semiconductor layers (e.g., semiconductor layers including 2080 (208), [15]; see the annotated Fig. 20 below; Fig. 2) which are vertically stacked, and wherein the at least one of a portion of the 1st gate structure and a portion of the 2nd gate structure is disposed between the semiconductor layers (e.g., 264, [33]; see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Regarding claim 23, Lin teaches the semiconductor device of claim 22, wherein the at least one of the portion of the 1st gate structure and the portion of the 2nd gate structure is not connected to a remaining portion of the 1st gate structure or a remaining portion of the 2nd gate structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 20 above).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2020/0227570.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a semiconductor device (e.g., Fig. 17; also see Figs. 6-16; [34]-[43]) comprising:
a 1st source/drain region (e.g., 1st source/drain regions; see the annotated Fig. 17B below) connected to a 1st channel structure (e.g., 1st channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B below) which is controlled by a 1st gate structure (e.g., 1st gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B below);
a 2nd source/drain region (e.g., 2nd source/drain regions; see the annotated Fig. 17B below), above the 1st source/drain region, connected to a 2nd channel structure (e.g., 2nd channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B below) which is controlled by a 2nd gate structure (e.g., 2nd gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B below); and
a middle isolation structure (e.g., middle isolation structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B below) between the 1st gate structure and the 2nd gate structure,
wherein the middle isolation structure comprises two or more semiconductor layers (e.g., semiconductor layers 102; see the annotated Fig. 17B below; [37]) which are vertically stacked.
Annotated Fig. 17B of Chen
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layers comprise silicon germanium (e.g., [37]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2020/0227570.
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a semiconductor device (e.g., Fig. 17; also see Figs. 6-16; [34]-[43]) comprising:
1st source/drain regions (e.g., 1st source/drain regions; see the annotated Fig. 17B above) connected to a 1st channel structure (e.g., 1st channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B above) surrounded by a 1st gate structure (e.g., 1st gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B above);
2nd source/drain regions (e.g., 2nd source/drain regions; see the annotated Fig. 17B above), respectively above the 1st source/drain regions, connected to a 2nd channel structure (e.g., 2nd channel structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B above) which is surrounded by a 2nd gate structure; (e.g., 2nd gate structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B above) and
a middle isolation structure (e.g., middle isolation structure; see the annotated Fig. 17B above) between the 1st gate structure and the 2nd gate structure,
wherein the middle isolation structure comprises at least one semiconductor layer (e.g., semiconductor layer (102); see the annotated Fig. 17B above; [37]) comrpising silicon germanium (SiGe).
Lin does not explicitly teach Ge concentration of 10-15%.
Lin, however, recognizes that Ge concentration of 20-50% (e.g., [35]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize and control the device of Chen to have the claimed range since it has been held that where the criticality of the claimed range is not shown and the close conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the at least one semiconductor layer comprises two or more SiGe layers with Ge concentration of 10-15% which are vertically stacked (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 17B above; see the discussion to claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein at least one of a portion of the 1st gate structure and a portion of the 2nd gate structure is disposed between the SiGe layers (e.g., a portion of the 1st gate structure (103) or a portion of the 2nd gate structure (103); see the annotated Fig. 17B above).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the at least one of the portion of the 1st gate structure and the portion of the 2nd gate structure is not connected to a remaining portion of the 1st gate structure or a remaining portion of the 2nd gate structure (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 17B above).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising: at least one inner spacer (e.g., 106, see the annotated Fig. 17B above) between the 1st source/drain region and the 1st gate structure, and between the 2nd source/drain region and the 2nd gate structure; and an additonal inner spacer (e.g., 106, see the annotated Fig. 17B above) on a side surface of the middle isolation structure.
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein the at least one inner spacer and the additional inner spacer are connected to each other (e.g., the at least one inner spacer and the additional inner spacer are connected to each other via the semiconductor layers; see the annotated Fig. 17 above).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comrpsing a backside contact structure (e.g., backside contact structure; see the annotated Fig. 17 above) comprising a metal (e.g., metal(s) of 103, [42]) and connected to a bottom surface of the 1st source/drain region.
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising a bottom isolation layer (e.g., 107; see the annotated Fig. 17 above) below a bottom surface of the 1st gate structure.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 January 20, 2026