In the amendment filed on 05/11/26, applicants have amended claims 1, 4, 9 and 21. The art 103 rejections over the references KR’786 in view of Tisone et al of 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9 and 14-15; and EP’452 in view of JP’883 of claims 21-25 are withdrawn in view of the amendment and applicant’s persuasive argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimada (US 7,681,808) in view of KR 20130035841 A.
With respect to claim 1, Shimada discloses an apparatus (spray head 1), comprising: a wafer (14, see column 8, lines 19-23) a nozzle (9) disposed above the wafer, wherein the nozzle comprises: an orifice (nozzle hole 9A, 7A) where the material exits the nozzle (9); and a blocking device (needle 8 with nozzle 7) disposed at the orifice and configured to adjust a size of the orifice; and an actuator (micro-adjust 2C) configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (9A). Shimada lacks teaching a wafer holder configured to hold a wafer. However, a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate is well known in the art; for instance - as taught by KR’841 (see Fig 1 for a stage 1100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in Shimada to properly position the substrate for treatment.
As to claim 2, in Shimada the blocking device is further configured to: increase the size of the orifice in response to the material initially flowing through the orifice; and decrease the size of the orifice during a predetermined period of time associated with the material flowing through the orifice (see claims 1 and 3 for size adjustment of the nozzle hole).
As to claim 3, Shimada teaches a width of the orifice is adjustable between about 0.2 mm and about 1.5 mm (see claim 3 for nozzle hole withing the range of 0.2-2mm).
Regarding claim 4, Shimada teaches the blocking device has a cone shape (see the shape of the nozzle body 7 having inverted cone shape).
As to claim 5, in Shimada the actuator (2C) is further configured to retract the blocking device to decrease the size of the orifice (see Fig 2 for retracted needle 8 decreasing the size of hole 7A).
Regarding claim 6, Shimada’s actuator is capable of retracting the blocking device over a duration of about 4 hours.
As to claim 7, Shimada teaches the actuator (2C) comprises: a rod (end 2D) connected to the blocking device (needle 8 with nozzle part 7); and a spring (2F) connected to the rod and configured to retract the blocking device (see Fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Shimada teaches (see Fig 2) an apparatus (spray head 1), comprising: a wafer (14, see column 8, lines 19-23) a nozzle (9) configured to provide, to the wafer (14), a material through a passage in the nozzle (9A, 7A); and control a flowrate of the material (see Figs 2& 5 and column 9, lines 28-60 flow rate regulated by controlling air pressure supplied to the nozzle); a blocking device (needle 8 with nozzle 7) disposed at the orifice (nozzle hole 9A, 7A) and surrounded by the orifice (nozzle hole 9A, 7A); and an actuator (2C) configured to adjust the passage to improve a uniformity of the material disposed onto the wafer (see Fig 2). Shimada lacks teaching a wafer holder configured to hold a wafer and a showerhead above the wafer holder, wherein a nozzle is on the showerhead. However, KR’841 teaches a wafer holder (substrate holder -stage 1100), a nozzle (1220) on a showerhead (discharge unit 1200 having a panel containing nozzles) and the discharge unit above the stage (1100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in Shimada to properly position the substrate for treatment. With respect to include a showerhead to increase a spray area on the substrate.
As to claim 10, in Shimada, the nozzle (9) comprises a plurality of arms (see Fig 3 for the two sections of the nozzle 9 in the left and right sides) configured to form the passage.
As to claim 14, in Shimada the actuator (micro adjust 2C) is capable of adjusting the passage based on calibration data associated with the uniformity of the material disposed onto the wafer (see Figs 2& 5 and column 9, lines 28-60 flow rate regulated by controlling air pressure supplied to the nozzle and measuring film thickness).
Regarding claim 15, Shimada discloses the actuator comprises an electrical actuator, a hydraulic actuator, a pneumatic actuator, a magnetic actuator, a piezoelectric actuator, a shape memory alloy actuator, a thermal actuator, or a combination thereof (see Fig 2 and column 7, 46-56 teaching micro-adjust 2C connected to valve air piston 2 solenoid operated air piston -pneumatic actuator).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over CN 218423452 U in view JP 2013071883A.
As to claim 1, CN'452 discloses an apparatus (a system for etching a substrate,
see Abstract), comprising: a nozzle (20) capable of being disposed over the wafer
holder, wherein the nozzle comprises: an orifice (flow passage 211) where the material exits the nozzle; and a blocking device (a valve body 231) disposed at the orifice and configured to adjust a size of the orifice (211, see English Translation on page 7); and an actuator (the poke rod 233) configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (controlling on-off and adjusting the flow). CN'452 lacks teaching a wafer holder. However, JP'883 teaches (see Fig 9) a wafer holder (stage 212) configured to hold a substrate for thin film solar cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in KR'786 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
Regarding claim 2, in CN'452 the blocking device is capable of: increasing the
size of the orifice in response to the material initially flowing through the orifice; and decreasing the size of the orifice during a predetermined period of time associated with the material flowing through the orifice.
As to claim 9, CN'452 discloses an apparatus (a system for etching a substrate,
see Abstract), comprising: a showerhead (see Fig 1 for an assembly) a nozzle (20) on
the assembly capable of being disposed over the wafer holder, wherein the nozzle
comprises: a passage (flow passage 211) capable of providing a
material to the substrate, and controlling a flowrate of the material (see English
Translation on page 7); a blocking device (a valve body 231) disposed at an orifice (the outlet part of the passage 211 at the body 231) and surrounded by the orifice (211) and an actuator (the poke rod 233) coupled to the blocking device (231) and configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (controlling on-off and adjusting the flow). CN'452 lacks teaching a wafer holder. However, JP'883 teaches (see Fig 9) a wafer holder (stage 212) configured to hold a substrate for thin film solar cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in CN’452 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
As to claim 10, in CN’452, the nozzle (20) comprises a plurality of arms (see Fig 3 for the two sections 21 of the nozzle 20 in the left and right sides) configured to form the passage.
Claims 8 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21-25 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject
matter: The subject matter of claims 8, 11-13 and 25 are allowable for the same reasons described in the NP action sent on 02/27/26 (as partly discussed below), a nozzle flowing a gas material at the claimed range is commonly known; for instance - as shown by CN 117153942A (see English Translation pages 4-6 for Nitrogen gas flowing between 10,000-15,000 sccm as claimed). In Shimada and CN'452 the material dispensed by the nozzle is a liquid material. A nozzle configured to flow a liquid material at the claimed sccm is not taught within the art of liquid dispensing material. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising, a wafer hold, a nozzle having an orifice configured to provide a material to the wafer, a blocking device, an actuator configured to adjust a position of the blocking device, the nozzle is configured to flow the material at a flowrate between about 10,000 sccm and about 15,000 sccm. As to claims 11-13, Shimoda teaches (see Fig 2) sleeve (piston cover 2B) but the cover portion does rotate. Furthermore, in Shimada the actuator (2C) does not control vertical position of one or more of the plurality of arms (two sections of the nozzle 9 in the left and right sides) to adjust a dispersing direction of the material. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising, among others, a wafer hold, a showerhead, a nozzle on the showerhead, configured to provide a material through a passage in the nozzle and control a flowrate of the material; and actuator configured to adjust the passage, wherein the nozzle comprises a plurality of arms configured to form a passage; wherein the nozzle further comprises a rotational sleeve coupled to threads on the plurality of arms, wherein the rotational sleeve is configured to control a size of the passage to control the flowrate of the material (regarding claim 11); the actuator is configured to rotate the rotational sleeve (as to claim 12); and the actuator is further configured to control a vertical position of one or more of the plurality of arms to adjust a dispersing direction of the material (as to claim 13). As to claims 21-25, CN'452 discloses (see Figs 1-3 and English Translation pages 1-9) an apparatus for etching a substrate (see Abstract), comprising: a showerhead (10); a nozzle (20) on the showerhead (see Fig 1) and capable of providing a processing material into the chamber, wherein the nozzle comprises: a tube (flow passage 21,211); an actuator (the poke rod 233 with a valve 23) in the wall surface of the tube; and a blocking device (a valve body 231, see Fig 3) at an opening side of the tube (see Annotated Fig 3 below). However, a channel (30) adjacent to a second end of the actuator is not taught in CN’452 (see Fig 1). Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest, an apparatus, comprising, among others, a processing chamber, a showerhead, a nozzle on the showerhead, configured to provide a processing material into the chamber, wherein the nozzle comprises a tube, an actuator in the tube, a bocking device at an opening of the tube; a channel adjacent to a second end of the actuator, and a material supply device coupled to the channel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks on pages 7-8, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 and 21-25 under KR’786 (Achrainer), Tisone et al, EP’452, and JP’883 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made for amended claims 1-7, 9-10, 14-15 over the reference to Shimada (US 7,681,808B2) in view of KR’841. For at least the reasons described above claims 1-7, 9-10, 14-15 have found to be rejectable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/