Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 11/18/25 is acknowledged.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/25 and claims 16/20 have been cancelled without prejudice to or disclaimer of the subject matter therein as being directed to a non-elected group. New claims 21-25 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2010051786A in view Tisone et al (US 7,470,547).
As to claim 1, KR’786 teaches (Figs 3-4 and the Title) an apparatus (application device 1) for applying material to a substrate comprising; a nozzle (3,3.1 with valve device 2, 2.1) capable of being disposed above the substrate, wherein the nozzle comprises: an orifice (valve housing in the form of a nozzle orifice , see claims) capable of providing a material to the substrate; and a blocking device (shut-off member 14,14.1 or valve housing 4 designed as the bocking member) disposed at the orifice and configured to adjust a size of the orifice; and an actuator (adjusting device 6 with valve pistons 51, 51.1 and regulating piston 61, 61.1) configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (see Claim 1 and English Translation on page 5-6). KR’786 lacks teaching a holder configured to hold a wafer. However, a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate is well known in the art; for instance - as taught by Tisone et al (see Fig 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in KR’786 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
Regarding claim 2, in KR’786 the blocking device is capable of increasing the size of the orifice in response to the material initially flowing through the orifice; and decreasing the size of the orifice during a predetermined period of time associated with the material flowing through the orifice (see English Translation on page 5 for the adjusting device 6 adjusting valve piston to the desired fine stroke).
Regarding claim 4, KR’786 teaches the blocking device has a cone shape (valve housing in conical shape, see English Translation on page 4).
As to claim 5, in KR’786 the actuator is capable of retracting the blocking device to decrease the size of the orifice (see English Translation on page 5 for the adjusting device 6 adjusting valve piston to the desired fine stroke).
As to claim 7, in KR’786 (see Fig 3) the actuator comprises: a rod (51) connected to the blocking device (valve housing 4); and a spring (52) connected to the rod and capable of retracting the blocking device.
As to claim 9, KR’786 teaches (Figs 1, 3-4 and the Title) an apparatus (application device 1) for applying material to a substrate comprising; a showerhead (see Fig 1 for applicator 1) a nozzle (3,3.1 with valve device 2, 2.1) on the showerhead capable of being disposed above the substrate, wherein the nozzle on the applicator capable of providing a material through a passage (valve housing in the form of a nozzle orifice , see claims) and controlling a flowrate of the material (shut-off member 14,14.1 or valve housing 4 designed as the bocking member); and an actuator (adjusting device 6 with valve pistons 51, 51.1 and regulating piston 61, 61.1) capable of adjusting the passage to improve a uniformity of the material disposed on the substrate (see Claim 1 and English Translation on page 5-6 for the adjusting device 6 adjusting valve piston to the desired fine stroke). KR’786 lacks teaching a holder configured to hold a wafer. However, a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate is well known in the art; for instance - as taught by Tisone et al (see Fig 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in KR’786 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
As to claim 14, the actuator (adjusting device 6 with valve pistons 51, 51.1 and regulating piston 61, 61.1) is capable of adjusting the passage based on calibration data associated with the uniformity of the material disposed onto the wafer.
As to claim 15, KR’786 lacks specifically teaching the types of actuators. However, Tisone et al teaches dispensers using a number of types of actuators to displace the dispensed liquid (see Figs 16-18 and 20 and column 26, lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use different types of actuators in KR’786 to positively displace the liquid as desired.
Claim(s) 1-2 9-10 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 218423452 U in view JP 2013071883A.
As to claim 1, CN’452 discloses an apparatus (a system for etching a substrate, see Abstract), comprising: a nozzle (20) capable of being disposed over the wafer holder, wherein the nozzle comprises: an orifice (flow passage 211) capable of providing a material to the substrate; and a blocking device (a valve body 231) disposed at the orifice and configured to adjust a size of the orifice (211, see English Translation on page 7); and an actuator (the poke rod 233) configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (controlling on-off and adjusting the flow). CN’452 lacks teaching a wafer holder. However, JP’883 teaches (see Fig 9) a wafer holder (stage 212) configured to hold a substrate for thin film solar cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in KR’786 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
Regarding claim 2, in CN’452 the blocking device is capable of: increasing the size of the orifice in response to the material initially flowing through the orifice; and decreasing the size of the orifice during a predetermined period of time associated with the material flowing through the orifice.
As to claim 9, CN’452 discloses an apparatus (a system for etching a substrate, see Abstract), comprising: a showerhead (see Fig 1 for an assembly) a nozzle (20) on the assembly capable of being disposed over the wafer holder, wherein the nozzle comprises: a passage (flow passage 211 with a valve body 231) capable of providing a material to the substrate, and controlling a flowrate of the material (see English Translation on page 7); and an actuator (the poke rod 233) configured to adjust a position of the blocking device through the orifice (controlling on-off and adjusting the flow). CN’452 lacks teaching a wafer holder. However, JP’883 teaches (see Fig 9) a wafer holder (stage 212) configured to hold a substrate for thin film solar cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a substrate holder in KR’786 to properly position the substrate for treatment.
As to claim 10, CN’452 teaches the nozzle comprises a plurality of arms (pipe 30) configured to form the passage (see Fig 1).
As to claim 21, CN’452 discloses (see Figs 1-3 and English Translation pages 1-9) an apparatus for etching a substrate (see Abstract), comprising:; a showerhead (10); a nozzle (20) on the showerhead (see Fig 1) and capable of providing a processing material into the chamber, wherein the nozzle comprises: a tube (flow passage 21, 211); an actuator (the poke rod 233 with a valve 23) in the tube; a blocking device (a valve body 231, see Fig 3) at an opening of the tube and coupled to a first end of the actuator; and a channel (30) adjacent to a second end of the actuator and configured to provide the processing material into the tube (21, 211); and a material supply device (liquid storage 10) coupled to the channel (30). CN’452 lacks teaching a processing chamber. JP’883 teaches a processing chamber (see Figs 1 and 9, for 11, 211). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a processing chamber to enclose or contain the coating material within the enclosure or chamber.
Regarding claim 22, CN’452 teaches the actuator capable of adjusting a vertical position of the blocking device with respect to the opening of the tube (see English translation pages 5-6 for different positions and the valve 23 optimizing different spraying position).
As to claim 23, CN’452 teaches the actuator is further configured to control a size of the opening of the tube by adjusting the vertical position of the blocking device (see English translation on page 7 for the poke rod extending in vertical direction adjusting the flow passage 211).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2010051786A in view Tisone et al (US 7,470,547) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of KR 20140060275A (see English Translation pages 1-14).
KR’786 lacks teaching the width of the orifice adjustable between 0.2-1.5 mm. However, KR’275 teaches a nozzle 74 with a valve for ejection small amount of liquid material having a width/diameter less than 0.5mm (see Fig 5 and English Translation on page 5 overlapping with the claimed range of the width). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a width of the orifice adjustable having the claimed size as claimed to discharge a low volume liquid as taught by KR’275 (see English Translation on page 3 under Description of Embodiments) as desired depending the size of the substrate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2010051786A in view Tisone et al (US 7,470,547) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of Blatt (US 4,214,737).
In KR’786, the actuator is capable of retracting the blocking device over the duration time to decrease the size of the orifice (see English Translation on page 5 for the adjusting device 6 adjusting valve piston to the desired fine stroke). In any event, Blatt teaches (see column 4, lines 53-63) the actuator configured to retract the blocking device (piston retracting within the bore) over a duration of time capable of being about 4 hours (depending the size of the device and the amount of material dispensed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to retract the blocking device over time as claimed in KR’786 to gradually decrease the flow of energy absorbing the fluid and direct the fluid through the adjusted orifice to the end of passage as taught by Blass (see column 5, lines 7-12).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 218423452 U in view JP 2013071883A as applied to claim 21 and further in view of JP-H0997777A.
CN’452 teaches the blocking device (valve body 231) aligned coaxially with the tube (21, 211), but lacks teaching the blocking device having a cone shape. However, a valve device having a cone shape is known in the art; for instance - as taught by JP’777. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include blocking device having a cone shape so as not to disturb the flow as taught by JP’777 (see English Translation on page 6).
Claims 8, 11-13 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 8, a nozzle flowing a gas material at the claimed range is commonly known; for instance - as shown by CN 117153942A (see English Translation pages 4-6 for Nitrogen gas flowing between 10,000-15,000 sccm as claimed). In KR’786 and CN’452 the material dispensed by the nozzle is a liquid material. A nozzle configured to flow a liquid material at the claimed sccm is not taught within the art of liquid dispensing material. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising, a wafer hold, a nozzle having an orifice configured to provide a material to the wafer, a blocking device, an actuator configured to adjust a position of the blocking device, the nozzle is configured to flow the material at a flowrate between about 10,000 sccm and about 15,000 sccm. As to claims 11-13, KR’786 teaches (see Fig 4) sleeve (cover portion 152) but the cover portion does rotate. Furthermore, in KR’786 the actuator (adjusting device 6) does not control vertical position of one or more of the plurality of arms (pipe 30) to adjust a dispersing direction of the material. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising, among others, a wafer hold, a showerhead, a nozzle on the showerhead, configured to provide a material through a passage in the nozzle and control a flowrate of the material; and actuator configured to adjust the passage, wherein the nozzle comprises a plurality of arms configured to form a passage; wherein the nozzle further comprises a rotational sleeve coupled to threads on the plurality of arms, wherein the rotational sleeve is configured to control a size of the passage to control the flowrate of the material (regarding claim 11); the actuator is configured to rotate the rotational sleeve (as to claim 12); and the actuator is further configured to control a vertical position of one or more of the plurality of arms to adjust a dispersing direction of the material (as to claim 13). As to claim 25, CN’452 does not teach or suggest the channel (connecting pipe 30) or part of passage 21 pushing the blocking device outward of the opening of the tube (22) and the actuator (the poke rod 233 with a valve 23) comprising a spring. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest, an apparatus, comprising, among others, a processing chamber, a showerhead, a nozzle on the showerhead, configured to provide a processing material into the chamber, wherein the nozzle comprises a tube, an actuator in the tube, a bocking device at an opening of the tube; a channel adjacent to a second end of the actuator, a material supply device coupled to the channel; the channel is configured to provide an initial burst of the processing material to push the blocking device outward of the opening of the tube; and the actuator comprises a spring configured to retract the blocking device in response to the initial burst.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/