BATTERY PRESSING DEVICE AND METHOD
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 7/14/2026:
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, and 11 have been amended; claims 6-9 have been canceled. Claim 16 has been newly added. No new matter has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 112(b) have been withdrawn due to amendments.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 103 have been upheld.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant discloses: “Some of the above-quoted elements were previously similarly recited in original claims 8 and 9. In the rejection of claims 8 and 9, the Office mapped Bai's pressing units 401 to the claimed "electrode terminal pressing assemblies," and appeared to have interpreted the row of pressing units 401 shown in FIG. 2 as corresponding to the claimed "two rows of electrode terminal pressing assemblies." Office Action at 10. Based on this interpretation, the Office asserted that Bai teaches a spacing adjusting mechanism for adjusting the spacing between the two rows of electrode terminal pressing assemblies in the second direction, referring to FIG. 2 and paragraph [0072] of Bai for support. Id. However, this interpretation is not supported by Bai. Specifically, the alleged adjusting mechanism in Bai at best may adjust the distance between adjacent pressing units (401) arranged along a single direction by using the spiral grooves provided on the rotating shaft 402. See Bai, [0072], [0073], and [0078], and FIG. 2. That is, Bai merely discloses adjusting spacing between adjacent units in a same row to match battery cell pitch. Bai does not disclose or suggest any structure that adjusts the spacing between rows.”
The Examiner respectfully traverses. Figs. 1 and 3 show the pressing units adjust spacing between rows. Fig. 2 is merely showing one side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (CN 115 360 400 A) and further in view of Bai et al. (CN 115 939 480 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu et al. teach a battery pressing device (Abstract discloses a battery cell pressurizing and shaping device.), comprising: a first pressing mechanism for pressing a battery in a first direction (Paragraph 0032; Fig. 2 discloses a length direction pressurizing mechanism, element 4, which presses the battery cell to be installed in a length direction.); and a second pressing mechanism for pressing the battery in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Paragraph 0032; Fig. 3 discloses a width direction pressurization mechanism, element 7, which presses in a width direction on the battery.),
and a third pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose a height direction pressurization mechanism, element 5.) having a third direction driving mechanism (Paragraph 0035; Fig. 1 discloses a z-axis servo motor, element 3, specifically for the height direction pressurization mechanism.), for pressing the electrode terminals of the battery in a third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the z direction is the third direction.) perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the x direction is the first direction.) and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the y direction is the second direction.).
Fig. 1 of Zhu
However, they do not teach wherein the third direction is a direction in which the electrode terminals of the battery extend; or wherein the third pressing mechanism is an electrode terminal pressing mechanism for pressing the electrode terminals of the battery.
Bai et al. teach a pressing mechanism and a battery module shaping device (Abstract). Further, the pressing mechanism (Fig. 2) comprises a fixed based (Fig. 2, element 403) having pressing units (Fig. 2, element 401) which press down on the top surface of the battery module (Fig. 1, element 20) by applying pressure to the top surface of the battery module (Paragraph 0071).
Further, Bai et al. teach wherein the third pressing mechanism comprises two rows of electrode terminal pressing assemblies arranged in parallel at intervals in the second direction; wherein the third pressing mechanism further comprises a spacing adjusting mechanism for adjusting the spacing between the two rows of electrode terminal pressing assemblies in the second direction (Paragraph 0072; Fig. 2 discloses when the battery module is changed, the size of the battery cells in different models of battery modules is different, which further leads to different spacing between the electrode terminals of two adjacent battery cells. Therefore, the spacing between the pressing units, element 401, should also be changed, otherwise the pressing units, element 401, cannot act on the electrode terminals. The spacing between each pressing unit 401, element 401, can be adjusted by the adjustment mechanism to adapt to changes in the spacing of the electrode terminals, so that the pressing mechanism, element 40, can be used for the processing needs of different types of battery modules.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu with Bai so that the compatibility of the battery module shaping device is improved.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the first pressing mechanism comprises two first pressing assemblies arranged opposite to each other in the first direction across the battery (Paragraph 0032; Figs. 2 and 3 disclose a length-direction reference device, element 8, is provided on the other side of the length direction to provide a pressurizing reference on the opposite side of the length-direction pressurizing mechanism, element 4.), at least one first pressing assembly of the two first pressing assemblies is provided with a first direction driving mechanism, so as to press the battery through the driving of the first direction driving mechanism (Paragraph 0036; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose the length-direction pressurizing mechanism, element 4, includes a first servo motor fixed on the fixed frame. The output end of the first servo motor (or x-axis servo motor, element 1) is connected to a first guide mechanism. The first guide mechanism is connected to a plurality of parallel-arranged first pressurizing plates for pressurizing the battery cell to be installed in the length direction under the drive of the first servo motor.), the second pressing mechanism comprises two second pressing assemblies arranged opposite to each other in the second direction across the battery (Paragraph 0032; Figs. 2 and 3 disclose a width-direction reference device, element 9, is provided on the other side of the width direction to provide a pressurizing reference on the opposite side of the width-direction pressurizing mechanism, element 7.), at least one second pressing assembly of the two second pressing assemblies is provided with a second direction driving mechanism, so as to press the battery through the driving of the second direction driving mechanism (Paragraph 0036; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose the width-direction pressurizing mechanism 7 includes a second servo motor (or y-axis servo motor, element 2) fixed on the fixed frame. The output end of the second servo motor is connected to a second guide mechanism. The second guide mechanism is connected to a plurality of parallel-arranged second pressurizing plates for pressurizing the battery cell to be installed in the width direction under the drive of the second servo motor.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the two second pressing assemblies of the second pressing mechanism have their respective second direction driving mechanisms so as to move independently and press the battery in the second direction (Paragraph 0036; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose the width-direction pressurizing mechanism 7 includes a second servo motor (or y-axis servo motor, element 2) fixed on the fixed frame. The output end of the second servo motor is connected to a second guide mechanism. The second guide mechanism is connected to a plurality of parallel-arranged second pressurizing plates for pressurizing the battery cell to be installed in the width direction under the drive of the second servo motor.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 3. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the two second pressing assemblies are arranged symmetrically with respect to the center line of the battery in the first direction (Figs. 1 and 2 show the width direction pressurizing mechanism, element 7, in a y-direction which is perpendicular to the x-direction. In addition, see annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below.).
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Figs. 2 and 3 of Zhu
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the battery pressing device further comprises a third pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose a height direction pressurization mechanism, element 5.) having a third direction driving mechanism (Paragraph 0035; Fig. 1 discloses a z-axis servo motor, element 3, specifically for the height direction pressurization mechanism.), and the third direction driving mechanism drives in a third direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the z direction is the third direction.) perpendicular to the first direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the x direction is the first direction.) and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 1 wherein the y direction is the second direction.), so that the third pressing mechanism presses the battery in the third direction.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 9. Further, Bai et al. teach wherein the spacing adjusting mechanism is a bidirectional adjusting lead screw (Paragraph 0073; Fig. 2 discloses a rotating shaft, element 402, which is clearly a screw.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu with Bai so that the compatibility of the battery module shaping device is improved.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 8. Further, Bai et al. teach wherein the two rows of electrode terminal pressing assemblies respectively have a plurality of rolling members and a plurality of elastic members, and the plurality of elastic members respectively apply elastic force to the plurality of rolling members (Paragraph 0099; Fig. 2 disclose the pressing unit, element 401, includes a body and a cam follower, the cam follower is mounted on one end of the body, and the cam follower is in rolling engagement with the helical grooves, elements 404 and 405.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhu with Bai so that the compatibility of the battery module shaping device is improved.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the first pressing mechanism and the second pressing mechanism press the battery at the same station in a battery production line (See fig. 2, elements 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the third pressing mechanism presses the battery at the same station in the battery production line as the first pressing mechanism and the second pressing mechanism (See fig. 2, elements 4, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach a battery pressing method for pressing a battery by using the battery pressing device according to claim 1. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the battery pressing method comprises: pressing the battery in the first direction by using the first pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032; Fig. 2 discloses a length direction pressurizing mechanism, element 4, which presses the battery cell to be installed in a length direction.); and pressing the battery in the second direction by using the second pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032; Fig. 3 discloses a width direction pressurization mechanism, element 7, which presses in a width direction on the battery.), and wherein the battery is pressed in the first direction by using the first pressing mechanism while pressing the battery in the second direction by using the second pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhu and Bai et al. teach the battery pressing method according to claim 14. Further, Zhu et al. teach wherein the battery pressing method further comprises: pressing the battery in the third direction by using the third pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032; Figs. 1 and 2 disclose a height direction pressurization mechanism, element 5.) and wherein the battery is pressed in the first direction by using the first pressing mechanism while pressing the battery in the second direction by using the second pressing mechanism and pressing the battery in the third direction by using the third pressing mechanism (Paragraph 0032).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the subject matter of claim 16 is not taught in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 4th, 2026