DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2, 6, 8-13, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi et al. (US 2021/0223686)1 in view of OLDENBURG et al. (US 2016/0250612) and Dutta (US 7,253,119)2.
As to Claims 1-2, 6, 8-13, 17, and 19-20: Joshi et al. disclose an imprint composition (Paragraph [0002]), comprising one or more types of nanoparticles, one or more solvents, one or more surface ligands, one or more additives, and one or more acrylates (Paragraph [0012]), wherein the nanoparticles comprise a core comprising a metal oxide and a shell has a thickness of 0.1-50 nm (Paragraphs [0015] and [0017]), which also overlaps with the shell thickness of 1-25 recited in present claim 11. Joshi et al. also disclose that the nanoparticles have a spherical or oval shape (Paragraph [0013]) and their core has a diameter of 2-5 nm (i.e., encompassed by core’s diameter of 2-50 nm recited in claims 10 and 19-20) and comprises titanium oxide (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016]).
While Joshi et al. broadly disclose that their shell can contain one or more organic materials and/or one or more inorganic materials (Paragraph [0015]), they do not specify them as including a passivation material comprising a silicon-containing compound comprising a silane including aminopropyltriethoxysilane as required by claims 1-2, 6, 12-13, 17, and 20. They also do not specify their nanoparticles as being passivated as required by the claims.
Nevertheless, OLDENBURG et al. disclose the use of nanoparticles having a core-shell structure, wherein the shell encapsulates the core and comprises a silane selected from aminopropyltriethoxysilane (Paragraphs [0020] and [0043]-[0044]), which according to paragraph [0020] of the present specification corresponds to the claimed passivation material comprising a silicon-containing compound. OLDENBURG et al. also disclose that this shell material provides a protective coating of particles that offer great stability (Paragraph [0005]).
Moreover, Dutta teaches forming nanoparticles with a passivated surface (corresponding to the claimed passivated nanoparticles) decreases bonding between nanoparticles and thus decreases nanoparticle agglomeration and becomes significantly more stable which is desirable for various applications (Col. 3, lines 30-45 and Col. 5, lines 20-35).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ nanoparticles, including those that have a shell made of silane including aminopropyltriethoxysilane and are passivated, as taught by OLDENBURG et al. and Dutta, in the composition of Joshi et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining desired stability.
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi et al. (US 2021/0223686)3 in view of Dutta (US 7,253,119)4 and Taskar et al. (US 2007/0221939).
As to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 18-20: Joshi et al. disclose an imprint composition (Paragraph [0002]), comprising one or more types of nanoparticles, one or more solvents, one or more surface ligands, one or more additives, and one or more acrylates (Paragraph [0012]), wherein the nanoparticles comprise a core comprising a metal oxide and a shell has a thickness of 0.1-50 nm (Paragraphs [0015] and [0017]), which also overlaps with the shell thickness of 1-25 recited in present claim 11. Joshi et al. also disclose that the nanoparticles have a spherical or oval shape (Paragraph [0013]) and their core has a diameter of 2-5 nm (i.e., encompassed by core’s diameter of 2-50 nm recited in claims 10 and 19-20) and comprises titanium oxide (Paragraphs [0014]-[0016]).
While Joshi et al. broadly disclose that their shell can contain one or more organic materials and/or one or more inorganic materials (Paragraph [0015]), they do not specify them as including a passivation material comprising a silicon-containing compound comprising a silane including siloxane, such as polydimethylsiloxane, silanol or silicone as required by claims 1, 3-5, 7, 12, 14-16, 18 and 20. They also do not specify their nanoparticles as being passivated as required by the claims.
Nevertheless, Taskar et al. teach the use of nanoparticles coated with an outer shell-coating that comprises a silanol functional group dispersed in a siloxane polymer, e.g., polydimethylsiloxane, or a silicone polymer (which according to paragraph [0006] of the present specification corresponds to the claimed shell comprising a passivation material comprising a silanol, a siloxane or a silicone) for the purposes of obtaining enhanced stability/shelf-life (Paragraphs [0010], [0018]-[0020], [0037], and [0043]).
Moreover, Dutta teaches forming nanoparticles with a passivated surface (corresponding to the claimed passivated nanoparticles) decreases bonding between nanoparticles and thus decreases nanoparticle agglomeration and becomes significantly more stable which is desirable for various applications (Col. 3, lines 30-45 and Col. 5, lines 20-35).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ nanoparticles, including those that have a shell made of silanol, siloxane such as polydimethylsiloxane, or silicone, and are passivated, as taught by Taskar et al. and Dutta, in the composition of Joshi et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining desired stability and shelf-life.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,044,963 (hereinafter referred to as “the patent”) in view of OLDENBURG et al. (US 2016/0250612) and Dutta (US 7,253,119)5.
The claims of the present application and the patent are directed to imprint compositions comprising a plurality of nanoparticles, wherein each nanoparticle comprises a core made of a metal oxide, including titanium dioxide, and a shell, one or more solvents, a surface ligand, an additive, and an acrylate. The claims of the patent recite that the core of the nanoparticles have a diameter of 2-500 nm (which overlaps with the presently claimed core diameter of 2-50 nm) and shell thickness of 0.1-100 nm (which overlaps with the presently claimed shell thickness of 0.1-50 nm and 1-25 nm). See MPEP section 2144.05 (The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.).
However, the claims of the patent do not specify the shell as including a passivation material comprising a silicon-containing compound comprising a silane including aminopropyltriethoxysilane as required by present claims 1-2, 6, and 20. They also do not specify their nanoparticles as being passivated as required by the claims of present application.
Nevertheless, OLDENBURG et al. disclose the use of nanoparticles having a core-shell structure, wherein the shell encapsulates the core and comprises a silane selected from aminopropyltriethoxysilane (Paragraphs [0020] and [0043]-[0044]), which according to paragraph [0020] of the present specification corresponds to the presently claimed passivation material comprising a silicon-containing compound. OLDENBURG et al. also disclose that this shell material provides a protect coating of particles that offer great stability (Paragraph [0005]).
Moreover, Dutta teaches forming nanoparticles with a passivated surface (corresponding to the presently claimed passivated nanoparticles) decreases bonding between nanoparticles and thus decreases nanoparticle agglomeration and becomes significantly more stable which is desirable for various applications (Col. 3, lines 30-45 and Col. 5, lines 20-35).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ nanoparticles, including those that have a shell made of silane including aminopropyltriethoxysilane and are passivated, as taught by OLDENBURG et al. and Dutta, in the patent’s composition, with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining desired stability.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764
1 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 11/28/2023.
2 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 11/28/2023.
3 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 11/28/2023.
4 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 11/28/2023.
5 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 11/27/2023.