DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115000491, in view of Yunxian, ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces (2020), 12 (9), pages 10443-10451.
Regarding claim 1, CN ‘491 teaches an in-situ polymerized semi-solid state battery that is injected with a mixture comprising of polymer monomers, a plasticizer and an initiator, wherein the polymer monomers are a combination of vinylene carbonate (in-situ polymerization semi-solid battery formed by adding a polymerized monomer (where the polymerized monomer is a combination of vinylene carbonate and trimethylene carbonate), a plasticizer and an initiator to a liquid electrolyte that is injected to the assembled battery during preparation (claim 1 and 0041, 0049, 0052). CN ‘491 differs from the present invention in not having a polymer monomer combination of vinylene carbonate and tripropargyl phosphate. However, Yunxian teaches that in their study, tripropargyl phosphate is an effective additive in lithium-ion and lithium-metal batteries wherein it improves high-temperature cycling, storage performance and inhibits gas generation, Pg. 10444 lines 11-25. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add tripropargyl phosphate to the polymer monomers of CN ‘491 to make a polymerized monomer combination comprise of vinylene carbonate and tripropargyl phosphate to achieve the benefits taught by Yunxain.
Regarding claim 5, CN ‘491 teaches an in-situ polymerized semi-solid battery wherein the initiator comprises of an azo compound and benzyl peroxide being used as a radical initiator for the polymerization (radical in-situ polymerization semi-solid battery wherein the initiator is 2,2-azobisisobutyronitrile, azobisisoheptonitrile, azobisisobutyric acid one or more of methyl ester and benzoyl peroxide (claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerized semi-solid-state battery, that is aged at 45℃ for 24 hours and formed at 40±5℃ and pressure is 2000N, (0052).
Regarding claim 7, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerized semi-solid-state battery where the assembled battery is injected with electrolyte and then aged at a temperature of 20-50℃, for 24 hours, the battery is then placed in a high-temperature environment for a gel reaction that is preferably 1.25-3h (0041).
Regarding claim 8, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerization semi-solid battery where the liquid electrolyte contains a lithium salt; the lithium salt is one or more of lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium bis(oxalate)borate, lithium difluorooxalateborate, and lithium difluorobis(oxalate)phosphate (claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerized semi-solid-state battery where the main material of the electrode layer is a silicon-doped graphite electrode with a silicon doping content of 3%-80%, or lithium metal anodes or metal alloy anodes that can be used, such as Ga-Sn, Ge-Se, Sn-Al (0035 and 0036).
Regarding claim 10, CN ‘491 teaches, the electrode materials of an in-situ polymerized semi-solid state battery (NCM811 and Ni90; LiNixCoyMnzO2, where x≥0.8), or NCM111, NCM532, NCM622, NCM712, lithium manganese iron phosphate LMFP or lithium iron phosphate LiFePO4, (0037).
Regarding claim 11, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerized semi-solid-state battery, the structural formula of Ni90 LiNixCoyMnzO2, where x≥0.8, (0037).
Regarding claim 12, CN ‘491 teaches, an in-situ polymerization semi-solid battery wherein the in-situ polymerization temperature is 58-65° C (claim 10).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CN ‘491 fails to teach or suggest the specified percentages of claims 2 and 3 and teaches different initiators than claim 4.
/DVH/
Examiner Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745