DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/521,934 filed on 11/28/2023 is presented for examination. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statement dated 09/15/2023 is acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hjort et al. (WO 2010/114454) (Hereinafter, Hjort) in view of Galin et al. (US 2018/0201142).
With respect to claims 1, 7, 13 and 16, Hjort discloses an electric vehicle (EV) charger system power platform/method (Fig. 1 electric vehicle(EV) Page. 1, line 1-5), the power platform comprising: a housing that encloses a volume (Fig. 1, 13 power distribution in parking surface-vehicle parked); a transformer disposed within the volume (Fig. 1, transformer 6/7), the transformer configured to be electrically coupled to a power source and to generate output power from input power received from the power source (transformer 7 receives power from grid 2-abstract); a power element disposed within the volume and electrically coupled to an output of the transformer (Fig. 1, 7); and an electrical safety switch disposed within the volume and electrically coupled to an input of the transformer and configured to be electrically coupled to the power source (Fig. 1, switch 8/9 and pages 1-4).
Hjort, does not expressly disclose a distribution board electrically coupled to an output of the transformer.
Galin, on the other hand, discloses a distribution board electrically coupled to an output of the transformer (See Para. # 0074: a controller 114 may be configured to determine and/or estimate a preferred distribution to paths of power provided by one or more power sources).
HJORT and Galin are analogous art because they are from the same field of installation for battery charging and electric vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a distribution board electrically coupled to a transformer power to the battery charging of Hjort in view of Galin for the benefit of safely and efficiently supply power to multiple electric vehicle parts.
With respect to claims 2, 3, 8 and 18, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin discloses wherein the transformer is electrically coupled to the distribution board without any conduit between the transformer and the distribution board and wherein the transformer is electrically coupled to the electrical safety switch without any conduit between the transformer and the electrical safety switch (Para. # 0084: Safety device(s) 216 may include one or more relay(s) configured to connect and disconnect power converter 203, DC charging circuit 204 and/or AC charging circuit 205 from input 240 and/or output 250).
With respect to claims 4, 5 and 14, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin wherein the volume comprises a common undivided volume within which the transformer, distribution board, and electrical safety switch are positioned (Para. # 0116-117: a transformer which may also provide galvanic isolation between the input of power converter 503 and the output of power converter 503. In general a path of power flow may start at a power source which may end at EV 107, and may include elements (e.g., paths and blocks) connected consecutively and/or in parallel).
With respect to claims 6 and 19, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, further Hjort discloses further comprising one or more lift bolts extending from a top of the housing and configured to collectively support a weight of the power platform (Fig. 1, electrical vehicle charger system power platform with transformer 7-parking surface).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin wherein the electrical safety switch includes an electrical switch having an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the transformer is electrically decoupled from the power source, and in the closed configuration, the transformer is electrically coupled to the power source (Para. # 0059: AC charging circuit 105 may include one or more sensors, control devices, communication devices, and/or safety devices, and may be configured to control and/or monitor the power provided to on-board charger 108).
With respect to claims 11 and 17, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin further comprising a power meter electrically coupled between the transformer and the distribution board (Para. # 0083).
With respect to claim 12, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin further comprising a communication interface configured to communicatively couple the power platform to a communication network (Fig. 2A, communication device 215).
With respect to claims 15 and 20, the combined references of Hjort and Galin disclose the electric vehicle charger system as described above, Galin further comprising a raceway that extends from the transition hood to define a raceway volume that extends from the transition volume, the one or more lead assemblies extending through the raceway volume (Para. #. 0070, 141: a power system may have multiple cables 901. IIEVC 102 may have multiple outputs configured to connect to the plurality of cables 901. In some embodiments, EV 107 or other loads may have multiple inputs configured to connect to the plurality of cables 901. In some embodiments, cable 1320 may have a split input configured to connect to multiple outputs of IIEVC 102 and/or a different power source).
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859