DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the British parent Application No. GB2217941.0 (filed on 11/29/2022) was received with the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters which are not mentioned in the description: 90 (in figure 2) and 94 (in figure 4c). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the robot (recited within claims 11-12 and 17-18) and the reconfigurable manufacturing facility (recited within claims 12 and 18) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In paragraph 0064, line 4, the phrase “the bracket 40” should read -- the bracket 30 --.
In paragraph 0064, line 4, the phrase “The flexible service cable 60” should read -- The flexible service conduit 60 --.
Applicant is advised to properly format the spacing between the words in paragraph 0085.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 1, line 7, the limitation “wherein in use the signal” should read -- wherein in use, the signal --.
In claim 7, line 4-5, the limitation “and, a ground vehicle” should read -- and a ground vehicle --.
In claim 11, line 1, the limitation “the services” should read -- the multiple services --.
In claim 13, line 7-8, the limitation “movement of the vehicle” should read -- movement of the ground vehicle --.
In claim 15, line 1, the limitation “the step of controlling comprises” should read -- the step of controlling winding of the spooling apparatus comprises --.
In claim 17, line 1, the limitation “the services” should read -- the multiple services --.
In claim 19, line 9, the limitation “a control signal” should read -- the control signal --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kami et al. (Japanese Patent Application/Publication JPH11147672 A hereinafter referred to as “Kami”).
In regards to claim 1, Kami teach (Figures 1-5) a spool tension coupling (combined structure of the upper portion of 1, 4, 5, SS, and the wire attached to/extending between 3 and 5/SS) for coupling a ground vehicle (1) to receive multiple services (as described in paragraph 0012) via an elongate carrier (3) that extends from a spooling apparatus (2, which is driven by M1) arranged to spool the elongate carrier (3), the spool tension coupling (upper portion of 1, which is connected to 3 and which includes LS1/LS2) comprising: a terminal (upper portion of 1, which is coupled to 3 and which includes LS1/LS2) arranged for coupling to an end of the elongate carrier (3); and a sensor (LS1 and LS2, which are activated by the movement of SS) coupled to the terminal (upper portion of 1) and arranged to provide a signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) indicating tension at the end of the elongate carrier (3); wherein the signal controls the spooling (via 7, 8, 9, and M1 as described in paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0015-0016, and 0021-0022) of the spool apparatus (2) in order to regulate the tension at the end of the elongate carrier (3) (see also paragraphs 0006-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 2, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the end of the elongate carrier (3) being coupled to the terminal (upper portion of 1) via a spring carriage (5, SS, and the wire attached to/extending between 3 and 5/SS), such that the sensor (LS1 and LS2) senses displacement of the spring carriage (5, SS, and the wire attached to/extending between 3 and 5/SS) with respect to the terminal (upper portion of 1) in order to determine the tension at the end of the elongate carrier (3).
In regards to claim 5, Kami teach (Figures 1-5) a ground vehicle (1) comprising the spool tension coupling of claim 1 (combined structure of the upper portion of 1, 4, 5, SS, and the wire attached to/extending between 3 and 5/SS, which has the specific structural and functional arrangement recited by claim 1 limitations) (see also paragraphs 0006-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 6, Kami teach (Figures 1-5) a spooling apparatus (2) for providing multiple services (as described in paragraph 0012) via an elongate carrier (3) to a ground vehicle (1); and the spooling apparatus (2) being arranged to spool (via 7, 8, 9, and M1 as described in paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0015-0016, and 0021-0022) the elongate carrier (3) in response to a received signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7); wherein the received signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) indicates changes in tension at an end of the elongate carrier (3) coupled to the ground vehicle (1), such that the spooling apparatus (2) regulates tension in the elongate carrier (3) between the spooling apparatus (2) and the ground vehicle (1) (see also paragraphs 0006-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 7, Kami teach (Figures 1-5) a spool tensioning system (automated system illustrated in figure 1, which includes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and all other associated component) comprising: an elongate carrier (3); a spooling apparatus (2) arranged to spool (via 7, 8, 9, and M1 as described in paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0015-0016, and 0021-0022) the elongate carrier (3) in response to a signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7); and a ground vehicle (1) coupled to an end of the elongate carrier (3) to receive multiple services (as described in paragraph 0012) via the elongate carrier (3), and having a sensor (LS1 and LS2, which are activated by the movement of SS) arranged to provide the signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) in response to changes in tension at the end of the elongate carrier (3); wherein during movement of the ground vehicle (1), spooling of the elongate carrier (3) regulates tension in the elongate carrier (3) (see also paragraphs 0006-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 8, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) being sent via a control cable (control cable in the welding cable 3 that is connected between LS1/LS2/LS3 and 7, as described in paragraph 0016; where said control cable appear to be indicated in figure 4 by the Japanese characters “制欄ケープル”) within the elongate carrier (3).
In regards to claim 9, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the spool tensioning system (automated system illustrated in figure 1, which includes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and all other associated component) additionally comprising: a controller (7 with 8 and 9) having an input (control cable in the welding cable 3 that is connected between LS1/LS2/LS3 and 7, as described in paragraph 0016) for receiving the signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) from the ground vehicle (1), a memory (RAM/ROM of 7; paragraphs 0015-0022 disclose, 7 being a microcomputer/CPU that receives input data from LS1/LS2/LS3/PB1/PB2, and that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals for appropriately driving 2 via 8, 9, and M1, such that the tension in 3 is properly maintained or adjusted; therefore, 7 would inherently include memory, e.g. RAM and ROM, with calculation code/algorithm for generating the necessary output data/command instruction signals that is used to appropriately drive 2 and that maintain/adjust the tension in 3) containing an algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9; see also paragraphs 0020-0021) arranged to derive a control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) based on the signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7), a processor (processor of 7; paragraphs 0015-0022 disclose, 7 being a microcomputer/CPU that receives input data from LS1/LS2/LS3/PB1/PB2, and that calculates output data/command instruction signals for appropriately driving 2 via 8, 9, and M1, such that the tension in 3 is properly maintained or adjusted; therefore, 7 would inherently include a processor for performing/executing the calculations/code/algorithm that generates the necessary output data/command instruction signals used to appropriately drive 2 and that maintain/adjust the tension in 3) arranged to process the algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9), an output (8 and 9, which converts the instruction/command signal from 7 and appropriately actuate/energize M1; paragraphs 0015 and 0020-0022) for providing the control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) to the spooling apparatus (2); wherein during movement of the ground vehicle (1), the controller (7 with 8 and 9) processes the algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9) in order to regulate spooling (via M1) of the spooling apparatus (2) based on the control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) (see also paragraphs 0006-0010 and 0015-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 13, Kami teach (Figures 1-5) a tensioning method for tensioning an elongate carrier (3) coupled to provide multiple services (as described in paragraph 0012) to a ground vehicle (1), the method comprising: measuring tension (tension/switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7; where said switching signals are produced due to the movement of SS relative to LS1 and LS2) at an end of the elongate carrier (3) coupled to the ground vehicle (1); and controlling winding (via 7, 8, 9, and M1 as described in paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0015-0016, and 0021-0022) of a spooling apparatus (2) from which the elongate carrier (3) is spooled in response to the measured tension (tension/switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) at the end of the elongate carrier (3); wherein the tension in the elongate carrier (3) is regulated during movement of the ground vehicle (1) (see also paragraphs 0006-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 14, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the step of measuring tension (tension/switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7; where said switching signals are produced due to the movement of SS relative to LS1 and LS2) including: sensing the displacement of a spring carriage (5 and SS) that is coupled (via the wire attached to/extending between 3 and 5/SS) between the end of the elongate carrier (3) and the ground vehicle (1).
In regards to claim 15, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the step of controlling winding (via 7, 8, 9, and M1 as described in paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0015-0016, and 0021-0022) of the spooling apparatus (2) including: transmitting a signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7; where 7 selectively control the actuation/energizing of M1 through 8 and 9) to the spooling apparatus (2, which is driven by M1) via the elongate carrier (3) (paragraph 0016 disclose, a control cable arranged in the welding cable 3 is connected between LS1/LS2/LS3 and 7 for transmitting the switching signals from LS1/LS2/LS3 to 7; where said control cable appear to be indicated in figure 4 by the Japanese characters “制欄ケープル”).
In regards to claim 19, Kami teach (Figures 1-5), a controller (7 with 8 and 9) for controlling spooling of an elongate carrier (3) coupled between a spooling apparatus (2) and a ground vehicle (1), the controller (7 with 8 and 9) comprising: an input (control cable in the welding cable 3 that is connected between LS1/LS2/LS3 and 7, as described in paragraph 0016) for receiving an input signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) from the ground vehicle (1), and the input signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7) indicating tension in the elongate carrier (3) measured (i.e. due to the movement of SS relative to LS1 and LS2) at the ground vehicle (1); a memory (RAM/ROM of 7; paragraphs 0015-0022 disclose, 7 being a microcomputer/CPU that receives input data from LS1/LS2/LS3/PB1/PB2, and that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals for appropriately driving 2 via 8, 9, and M1, such that the tension in 3 is properly maintained or adjusted; therefore, 7 would inherently include memory, e.g. RAM and ROM, with calculation code/algorithm for generating the necessary output data/command instruction signals that is used to appropriately drive 2 and that maintain/adjust the tension in 3) containing an algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9; see also paragraphs 0020-0021) to derive a control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) based on the input signal (switching signals from LS1/LS2 that are transmitted to 7); a processor (processor of 7; paragraphs 0015-0022 disclose, 7 being a microcomputer/CPU that receives input data from LS1/LS2/LS3/PB1/PB2, and that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals for appropriately driving 2 via 8, 9, and M1, such that the tension in 3 is properly maintained or adjusted; therefore, 7 would inherently include a processor for performing/executing the calculations/code/algorithm that generates the necessary output data/command instruction signals used to appropriately drive 2 and that maintain/adjust the tension in 3) arranged to process the algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce the output data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9); and an output (8 and 9, which converts the instruction/command signal from 7 and appropriately actuate/energize M1; paragraphs 0015 and 0020-0022) for providing the control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) to the spooling apparatus (2) for controlling spooling (via M1) of the spooling apparatus (2); wherein during movement of the ground vehicle (1), the controller (7 with 8 and 9) regulates spooling (via M1 and 2) of the elongated carrier (3) based on the control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7) (see also paragraphs 0006-0010 and 0015-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
In regards to claim 20, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the algorithm (calculation code/algorithm in 7 that calculates or produce output the data/command instruction signals transmitted to 8 and 9) is arranged to suppress the control signal (forward rotation, the reverse rotation, the stop rotation, or the speed instruction/command signal that is transmitted to 8 and 9 by 7), when the sensed tension at the end of the elongate carrier (3) is below a threshold value (when the detected tension in 3, which is determined by the collective action of LS1/ LS2, SS, and 7, is within a preset ideal range) (see also paragraphs 0006-0010 and 0015-0022 in the translated JPH11147672 A provide with this office action).
Claims 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikegami et al. (U.S. Patent 5,647,554 A hereinafter referred to as “Ikegami”).
In regards to claim 13, Ikegami teach (Figures 1-7) a tensioning method for tensioning an elongate carrier (power supply cord 8) that is coupled to provide multiple services (electric power supplied through the power supply cord 8) to a ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1), the tensioning method comprising: measuring tension (via the tension detecting means of the cord reel mechanism 9 that is illustrated in figure 7; which includes the lever 40, the shaft 41, the spring 42, the pin 43, and the detection switch 44) at an end of the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8) that is coupled to the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1); and controlling winding (via the gear 31, the clutch plates 32/33, the spring 34, the motor 35, the gear 36, and the braking device with the braking plate 38 of the cord reel mechanism 9) of a spooling apparatus (cord reel 24 of the cord reel mechanism 9) from which the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8) is spooled in response to the measured tension (tension of the power supply cord 8) at the end of the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8); wherein the tension in the elongate carrier (tension of the power supply cord 8) is regulated during movement of the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1) (see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 5, line 44 and Col. 6, line 11-14).
In regards to claim 17, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the multiple services (electric power supplied through the power supply cord 8) being provided to a robot (working mechanism 4 of the movable body 1, which is an articulated robot that is used as a cooking robot; see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 3, line 3 and Col. 4, line 11-22) mounted on the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1).
In regards to claim 18, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1) being an autonomous ground vehicle arranged to provide movement of the robot (working mechanism 4 of the movable body 1, which is an articulated robot that is used as a cooking robot; see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 3, line 3 and Col. 4, line 11-22) within a reconfigurable manufacturing facility (floor 10 of the working space, as described in Col. 2, line 15-32, Col. 3, line 7, Col. 3, line 39, and Col. 4, line 11-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kami in view of Hermey et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0026432 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Hermey’).
In regards to claim 3, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the sensor (LS1 and LS2) being a position sensor mounted on the terminal (upper portion of 1). Yet, Kami fails to teach, the sensor (LS1 and LS2) being mounted on the spring carriage (5 and SS), or the sensor (LS1 and LS2) being arranged to detect movement with respect to a magnet mounted on the terminal (upper portion of 1).
Nevertheless, Hermey teach (Figures 2 and 4A-4C) a spool tension coupling (20, which is functionally similar to 10 and can be used within 45) for coupling a vehicle (50, which is an ocean-going ship as disclosed in paragraphs 0048-0050) to receive multiple services (shore power/alternative maritime power delivered by 54) via an elongate carrier (51, which carries 54) that extends from a spooling apparatus (42 of 40) arranged to spool (via 44, 48, and 49 of 40) the elongate carrier (51), the spool tension coupling (20) comprising: a terminal (21, which is functionally similar to 11) arranged for coupling to an end (52B) of the elongate carrier (51); and a sensor (23 and 24, which are functionally similar to 13, 14, 16, and 17) coupled to the terminal (21) and arranged to provide a signal (signal sent from 23/24 to 46 via 55) used to control the spooling (via 44, 48, and 49 of 40) of the spool apparatus (42 of 40); the end (52B) of the elongate carrier (51) being coupled to the terminal (21) via a spring carriage (22, which is functionally similar to 12), such that the sensor (23 and 24) senses displacement of the spring carriage (22) with respect to the terminal (21); wherein the sensor (23 and 24) is a position sensor that is mounted on the spring carriage (22), and that is arranged to detect movement with respect to a magnet (25, which are functionally similar to 15) mounted on the terminal (21) (see also paragraphs 0038-0041 and 0044-0047).
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the mechanical sensor in Kami’s spool tension coupling, with a less-complex electronic position sensor that is similar in structure/operative functionality to the one suggested by Hermey; where said electronic position sensor is mounted on a spring carriage that is movably arranged on the terminal, and being configured to detect movement of the spring carriage relative to a magnet that is fixedly mounted on the terminal. Providing the spool tension coupling with such an electronic position sensor (i.e. in place of the mechanical sensor), would enable the controller of the ground vehicle/spooling apparatus to acquire/determine the tension at the end of the elongate carrier in a more accurate, reliable, and expedited manner, while also reducing the overall structural complexity of the spool tension coupling; thereby improving the overall operative functionality and the operative lifespan of said pool tension coupling.
In regards to claims 10 and 16, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the elongate carrier (3) having power, data, and air lines arranged therewithin (paragraphs 0012, the welding cable 3 including a power cable connected to the welding power source, a gas cable connected to a gas cylinder, and a control cable to the microcomputer/control box 7; where said power, gas, and control cables of the welding cable 3 clearly illustrated in figures 1 and 4). Yet, Kami does not reveal, the elongate carrier being a semi-flexible elongate chain.
However, Hermey teach (Figures 1 and 4A-4C) a spool tensioning apparatus (apparatus illustrated in figures 4A-4C, which includes the combined structure of 40, 45, 51, 54, and 55) comprising: an elongate carrier (51, which is structurally and functional similar to 31), a spool apparatus (42 of 40) arranged to spool (via 44, 48, and 49 of 40) the elongate carrier (51) in response to a signal (signal sent from 10 to 46 via 55), a vehicle (50, which is an ocean-going ship as disclosed in paragraphs 0048-0050) coupled to an end (52B) of the elongate carrier (51) to receive multiple services (shore power/alternative maritime power delivered by 54) through the elongate carrier (51), and a sensor (10 of 45) arranged to provide the signal (signal sent from 10 to 46 via 55) to the spool apparatus (42 of 40); wherein the elongate carrier (51) composed of multiple service supply lines (54) arranged in a semi-flexible elongate chain (as described in paragraphs 0009, 0042, 0044-0045, and 0048-0050) (see also paragraphs 0038-0041 and 0044-0047).
Consequently, using the suggestions in Hermey, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the elongate carrier in Kami’s pool tensioning apparatus as a semi-flexible elongate chain that includes power, data, and air lines. Arranging the power, data, and air lines of the elongated carrier within a semi-flexible elongate chain, would adequately protect them from extremal elements, while also allowing said power, data, and air lines to bend/flex sufficiently during winding/unwinding of the elongated carrier and/or during the movement of the ground vehicle.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kami.
In regards to claim 4, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Kami does not explicit disclose, the terminal (upper portion of 1, which is coupled to 3 and which includes LS1/LS2) having a hinged joint for coupling the elongate carrier (3) to the terminal (upper portion of 1). Nevertheless, it would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a hinged joint to couple the elongate carrier to the terminal in Kami’s spool tension coupling. Connecting the end of the elongate carrier to the terminal using such a hinged joint would reduce the bending and/or flexing of the elongate carrier (i.e. at the location where the end of said elongated carrier connects to said terminal that is attached to the ground vehicle), as the ground vehicle turns during its travel/movement; which would sufficiently prevent the decoupling of the elongate carrier from the terminal due to over tensioning of the elongated carrier, while also limiting the breakage of the elongated carrier (i.e. at the location where the end of said elongated carrier connects to said terminal that is attached to the ground vehicle) due to over bending/flexing of elongated carrier overtime.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kami in view of Ikegami.
In regards to claims 11-12, Kami teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Kami further teach (Figures 1-5), the ground vehicle (1) being an autonomous ground vehicle arranged to move within a reconfigurable manufacturing facility. Yet, Kami fails to disclose, a robot being mounted on the ground vehicle (1).
Whereas, Ikegami teach (Figures 1-7) a spool tensioning system (electric working apparatus illustrated in figure 1; which includes the movable body 1, the power supply cord 8, and the cord reel mechanism 9) comprising an elongate carrier (power supply cord 8), a spooling apparatus (cord reel 24 of the cord reel mechanism 9) configured to spool (via the gear 31, the clutch plates 32/33, the spring 34, the motor 35, the gear 36, and the braking device with the braking plate 38 of the cord reel mechanism 9) the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8) in response to a signal (signal sent from the detection switch 44 to the motor 35), a ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1) coupled to an end of the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8) to receive multiple services (electric power supplied through the power supply cord 8) via the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8), and a sensor (tension detecting means of the cord reel mechanism 9 that is illustrated in figure 7; which includes the lever 40, the shaft 41, the spring 42, the pin 43, and the detection switch 44) configured to provide the signal (signal sent from the detection switch 44 to the motor 35) in response to changes in tension at the end of the elongate carrier (power supply cord 8); wherein the tension in the elongate carrier (tension of the power supply cord 8) is regulated during movement of the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1), the multiple services (electric power supplied through the power supply cord 8) are provided to a robot (working mechanism 4 of the movable body 1, which is an articulated robot that is used as a cooking robot; see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 3, line 3 and Col. 4, line 11-22) mounted on the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1), and the ground vehicle (movement mechanism 7 of the movable body 1) is an autonomous ground vehicle arranged to provide movement of the robot (working mechanism 4 of the movable body 1, which is an articulated robot that is used as a cooking robot; see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 3, line 3 and Col. 4, line 11-22) within a reconfigurable manufacturing facility (floor 10 of the working space, as described in Col. 2, line 15-32, Col. 3, line 7, Col. 3, line 39, and Col. 4, line 11-22) (see also Col. 2, line 62 - Col. 5, line 44 and Col. 6, line 11-14).
Therefore, using the suggestions of Ikegami reference, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount a robot on the ground vehicle in Kami’s spool tensioning system, and to configure the elongate carrier of said spool tensioning system to provide the multiple service (i.e. electrical power) to said robot. Arranging a robot on the ground vehicle in a such a manner would increase the overall operative versatility, resourcefulness, and useability of said ground vehicle. For example, mounting the robot taught by Ikegami on the ground vehicle taught by Kami, would allow said ground vehicle to perform other function (e.g. effortlessly lifting, moving, and/or transporting objects), in addition to performing welding operations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
May 27, 2026