DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For the above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 2016/0276281; hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 7 of Sato discloses an interconnect structure comprising:
a first dielectric layer (25; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) including a trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]);
a first conductive layer (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) in the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]), the first conductive layer (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) including a plurality of first graphene layers (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) stacked in a direction from an inner surface of the trench toward a center of the trench (Fig 7);
a second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) on the first dielectric layer (25; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]), the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) including a through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) extending to the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]); and
a second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) in the through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]), wherein the plurality of first graphene layers (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) extend from the inner surface of the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and fill the trench occupying at least a majority of the trench (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 2, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a plurality of second graphene layers (35a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a metal material (42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 18, Fig 7 of Sato discloses an electronic device comprising:
a substrate (11; Fig 7; ¶ [0026]); and
an interconnect structure on the substrate,
wherein the interconnect structure includes:
a first dielectric layer (25; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) including a trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]);
a first conductive layer (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) in the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]), the first conductive layer (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) including a plurality of first graphene layers (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) stacked in a direction from an inner surface of the trench toward a center of the trench (Fig 7);
a second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) on the first dielectric layer (25; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]), and
a second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]),
wherein the first conductive layer (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) including a plurality of first graphene layers (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) stacked in a direction from an inner surface of the trench toward a center of the trench (Fig 7), the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) includes a through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) extending to the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) is in the through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069])
wherein the plurality of first graphene layers (26a; Fig 7; ¶ [0056]) extend from the inner surface of the trench (25a; Fig 7; ¶ [0044]) and fill the trench occupying at least a majority of the trench (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 19, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a plurality of second graphene layers (35a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 20, Fig 7 of Sato discloses a third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) on the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]),
wherein the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) and the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) define the through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) such that the through hole extends through the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) to the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) and penetrates through the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]), and
the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) fills the through hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2016/0276281; hereinafter Sato) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Saito et al (US 2017/0062345; hereinafter Saito).
Regarding claim 4, Sato does not expressly disclose the first conductive layer further comprises a metal material contacting the inner surface of the trench.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 2 of Saito discloses a first conductive layer (23a/21a/22a; Fig 2; ¶ [0027]) comprises a metal material (21a; Fig 2; ¶ [0032]) contacting the inner surface of a trench (14a; Fig 2; ¶ [0032]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the first conductive layer further comprises a metal material contacting the inner surface of the trench as the metal material are adhesive layers and also does not easily change the band structure of the graphene sheets (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a plurality of second graphene layers (35a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a metal material (42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]).
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2016/0276281; hereinafter Sato) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kiyomura et al (US 2009/0072329; hereinafter Kiyomura).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses the first dielectric layer (25; Fig 7; ¶ [0048]) comprises a dielectric material such as silicon oxide (¶ [0048]).
However Sato does not expressly disclose the dielectric constant of 3.6 or less.
In the same field of endeavor, Kiyomura discloses dielectric constant of silicon oxide is 3.6 (¶ [0106]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the first dielectric layer comprises a dielectric material such as silicon oxide and having the dielectric constant of 3.6 or less as it is well known in the art that the silicon oxide has a dielectric constant within the claimed range (¶ [0106]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig 7 of Sato discloses the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a dielectric material that is selectively depositable on the first dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 9, Fig 7 of Sato discloses a third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) on the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]),
wherein the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) and the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) define the through hole (34a/31a; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) such that the through hole extends through the second dielectric layer (31; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) to the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) and penetrates through the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]), and
the second conductive layer (35a/42b; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) fills the through hole.
Regarding claim 10, Sato discloses the third dielectric layer (34; Fig 7; ¶ [0068]-[0069]) comprises a dielectric material such as silicon oxide (¶ [0048]).
However Sato does not expressly disclose the dielectric constant of 3.6 or less.
In the same field of endeavor, Kiyomura discloses dielectric constant of silicon oxide is 3.6 (¶ [0106]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the third dielectric layer comprises a dielectric material such as silicon oxide and having the dielectric constant of 3.6 or less as it is well known in the art that the silicon oxide has a dielectric constant within the claimed range (¶ [0106]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2016/0276281; hereinafter Sato) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kuo et al (US 2019/0006230; hereinafter Kuo).
Regarding claim 11, Sato does not expressly disclose a width of the trench is equal to or less than 10 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 1B of Kuo discloses a width of a trench (107; Fig 1B) is equal to 5 nm (¶ [0029]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a width of a trench in the interconnects is within the claimed range in order to control the aspect ratio of the trench (¶ [0029]).
Claim(s) 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2016/0276281; hereinafter Sato) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Shin et al (US 2021/0355582; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 12, Sato does not expressly disclose the plurality of first graphene layers comprise intrinsic graphene or nanocrystalline graphene.
In the same field of endeavor, Shin discloses graphene layers can comprise nanocrystalline graphene (¶ [0062]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the graphene layers comprises nanocrystalline graphene in order to form the graphene layer having a nano- level grain size which is less than those of the general crystalline graphene (¶ [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Sato in view of Shin as modified above in claim 12 discloses the nanocrystalline graphene (¶ [0062] of Shin) comprises crystals having a size of about 0.5 nm to about 200 nm (¶ [0067] of Shin).
Regarding claim 14, Sato in view of Shin as modified above in claim 12 discloses in the nanocrystalline graphene a ratio of carbons having an sp2 bond structure to total carbons is about 50% to about 99% (¶ [0067] of Shin).
Regarding claim 15, Barth in view of Shin as modified above in claim 12 discloses the nanocrystalline graphene comprises hydrogen of about 1 at% to about 20 at% [¶ [0067] of Shin).
Regarding claim 16, Sato in view of Shin as modified above in claim 12 discloses the nanocrystalline graphene has a density of about 1.6 g/cc to about 2.1 g/cc [¶ [0067] of Shin).
Regarding claim 17, Sato in view of Shin as modified above in claim 12 discloses surface of crystals of the nanocrystalline graphene is substantially perpendicular to a direction of stacking of the plurality of first graphene layers (Fig 7 of Sato in combination with Shin).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817