DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on May 4, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Acknowledgement
Applicant's arguments filed on May 4, 2026, in response to the office action mailed on February 4, 2026 are acknowledged. The present office action is made with all the suggested arguments being fully considered. Accordingly, claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 and 1/27/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2019/0386132) in view of Nishiguchi (US 2014/0284773) in further view of Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704).
With respect to Claim 1, Chien shows (Fig. 1-8) most aspects of the current invention including a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising:
(a) preparing a semiconductor substrate (100) of a first conductive type (N), the semiconductor substrate having an upper surface and a lower surface
(b) after the step of (a), forming a trench (102) in the semiconductor substrate at the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate
(c) after the step of (b), forming a first insulating film (104) inside the trench and on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate
(d) after the step of (c), forming a field plate electrode (106’) on the first insulating film located inside the trench (Fig 3)
(e) after the step of (d), thinning the first insulating film (thickness T1 turns into thickness T2’ par 31), and exposing an upper portion (106’S) of the field plate electrode from the first insulating film (Fig 4)
(f) after the step of (e), performing an etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film (Fig 5-6)
Furthermore, although Chien discloses performing an etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film (Fig 5-6) and after the step of (f), removing the first insulating film located on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate (See Fig 8), Chien fails to show performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film so that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered by the isotropic etching process, and also fails to show recessing the first insulating film located inside the trench such that an upper surface of the first insulating film located inside the trench is positioned lower than the upper portion of the field plate electrode in cross-sectional view; and (h) after the step of (g), in cross-sectional view, forming a gate insulating film inside the trench positioned over the upper surface of the first insulating film, and forming a second insulating film on an upper surface of the upper portion of the field plate electrode and on a side surface of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film in the step of (g).
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Nishiguchi teaches (Fig. 1-8B) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a field plate electrode (30) on a first insulating film (17) located inside a trench (15) of a semiconductor substrate (10), removing the first insulating film located on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig 4A-4B) and recessing the first insulating film located inside the trench such that an upper surface of the first insulating film located inside the trench is positioned lower than an upper portion of the field plate electrode in cross-sectional view (Fig 5A) and after that step, performing a step of forming a gate insulating film (21) inside the trench positioned over the upper surface of the first insulating film, and forming a second insulating film (23) on an upper surface of the upper portion of the field plate electrode and on a side surface of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film (Fig 5B). Nishiguchi teaches the field plate electrode enhances a dielectric breakdown strength between the source and the electrode by controlling an electric field in the drift layer which is positioned in the -Z direction with respect to the gate electrodes (par 23) and by enhancing the dielectric strength, the ON resistance of the semiconductor device can be lowered (par 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein after the step of (f), recessing the first insulating film located inside the trench such that an upper surface of the first insulating film located inside the trench is positioned lower than the upper portion of the field plate electrode in cross-sectional view; and (h) after the step of (g), in cross-sectional view, forming a gate insulating film inside the trench positioned over the upper surface of the first insulating film, and forming a second insulating film on an upper surface of the upper portion of the field plate electrode and on a side surface of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film in the step of (g) in the device of Chien, as taught by Nishiguchi because the field plate electrode enhances a dielectric breakdown strength between the source and the electrode by controlling an electric field in the drift layer which is positioned in the -Z direction with respect to the gate electrodes and by enhancing the dielectric strength, the ON resistance of the semiconductor device can be lowered.
Furthermore, Nishiguchi depicts a method step of performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode (30) exposed from the first insulating film may be performed in the method for manufacturing such as to provide a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode having a different shape (see Fig 5A-5B; the corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode has a shape changed by the isotropic etching process)
However, Nishiguchi does not teach that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Kishimoto teaches (Fig. 9A) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a field plate electrode (50) on a first insulating film (53) located inside a trench (GT) of a semiconductor substrate (10), and an etching process may be performed to an upper portion of the field plate electrode, such that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode has a chamfered edge (see illustration below)
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor manufacturing art would have known that field plate electrodes may be etched using an isotropic etching process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method step of performing an isotropic etching process to an upper portion of the field plate electrode so that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered by the isotropic etching process, in the method of Chien in view of Nishiguchi, because such isotropic etching process is known in the semiconductor manufacturing art for etching field plate electrodes, as suggested by Kishimoto, and applying a known method step for its conventional purpose would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With respect to Claim 4, Nishiguchi teaches (Fig. 1-8B) wherein the first insulating film is made of a silicon oxide film, and wherein each of the step of (e) and the step of (g) is performed with a wet etching process using a solution containing hydrofluoric acid (par 35).
With respect to Claim 7, Nishiguchi teaches (Fig. 1-8B) wherein the step of (d) includes steps of: (dl) forming a first conductive film (47) on the first insulating film to fill inside of the trench (Fig. 6A); (d2) after the step of (dl), forming the first conductive film (50) remaining inside the trench as the field plate electrode by removing the first conductive film located outside the trench (Fig. 6B); and (d3) after the step of (d2), selectively recessing the field plate electrode such that a part of the field plate electrode remains as a contact portion (Fig 7A).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2019/0386132) in view of Nishiguchi (US 2014/0284773) and in further view of Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704) and Saitoh (US 2019/0393317).
With respect to Claim 2, Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto shows most aspects of the current invention. Furthermore, Kishimoto teaches (Fig. 9A) wherein the field plate electrode is made of a polycrystalline silicon film.
However, the combination of references do not teach wherein the isotropic etching process in the step of (f) is a chemical dry etching process using CF4 gas.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Saitoh teaches (Fig. 10) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a polycrystalline silicon film (CG) on a substrate (SB), and performing an isotropic etching process on the polycrystalline silicon film, wherein the polycrystalline silicon film is subjected to an isotropic etching process by a chemical dry etching process using CF4 gas. Saitoh teaches CF4 gas is typically used in the semiconductor manufacturing art as a gas in an isotropic etching process of a chemical dry etching process.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to one of ordinary skill in the art to use CF4 gas as gas in the isotropic etching process of a chemical dry etching process in the structure of Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto, as suggested by Saitoh, because CF4 gas is known in the semiconductor manufacturing art for its use in isotropic etching process of a chemical dry etching process, and selecting a material for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With respect to Claim 3, Kishimoto teaches (Fig. 9A) wherein the corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered by an etching process (Fig. 9A; See comments stated above in Par. 11-14 with regards to Claim 1, which are considered repeated here)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2019/0386132) in view of Nishiguchi (US 2014/0284773) and in further view of Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704) and Shin (US 2022/0302303).
With respect to Claim 5, Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto shows most aspects of the current invention. Furthermore, Nishiguchi teaches (Fig. 1-8B) wherein in the step of (h), the gate insulating film and the second insulating film are formed by a thermal oxidization process using oxygen gas (par 39). However, the combination of references do not teach a thermal oxidization process using oxygen gas under a condition that is equal to or higher than 1000°C, and that is equal to or lower than 1200°C.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches (Fig. 4A-4H) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a field plate electrode (400) on a first insulating film (210-230) located inside a trench (200) of a semiconductor substrate (105), forming a gate insulating film (320) inside the trench positioned over the upper surface of the first insulating film, and forming a second insulating film (250) on an upper surface of the upper portion of the field plate electrode, wherein the gate insulating film and the second insulating film are formed by a thermal oxidization process using oxygen gas under a condition at a high temperature of 800° C. or higher (par 70)
Regarding claim 5, the courts have held that differences in the temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such temperatures are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105, USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Since the applicant has not established the criticality of the temperatures and similar temperatures are known in the art (see e.g. Shin), it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use these values in the device of Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto.
Criticality: The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed temperatures or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed Cir. 1990).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2019/0386132) in view of Nishiguchi (US 2014/0284773) and in further view of Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704) and Shimomura (US 2014/0284709).
With respect to Claim 6, Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto shows most aspects of the current invention.
However, the combination of references do not teach wherein the step of (h) includes steps of: (hi) forming a first silicon oxide film inside the trench positioned over the first insulating film and on the upper surface of the field plate electrode and also the side surface of the field plate electrode which are exposed from the first insulating film by a thermal oxidization process using oxygen gas under a condition that is equal to or higher than 1000°C, and that is equal to or lower than 12000°C and (h2) forming a second silicon oxide film on the first silicon oxide film by a CVD method, and wherein each of the gate insulating film and the second insulating film includes the first silicon oxide film and the second silicon oxide film.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Shimomura 2014 teaches (Fig. 5A-8B) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a field plate electrode (DIF1) on a first insulating film (SINS1) located inside a trench (200) of a semiconductor substrate (SUB), forming a gate insulating film (GINS) inside the trench positioned over the upper surface of the first insulating film, and forming a second insulating film (SINS2) on an upper surface of the upper portion of the field plate electrode, and wherein the step of forming the gate insulating film and the second insulating film comprises forming a first silicon oxide film (DINS) inside the trench positioned over the first insulating film and on the upper surface of the field plate electrode and also the side surface of the field plate electrode which are exposed from the first insulating film by a thermal oxidization process, forming a second silicon oxide (DEPI) film on the first silicon oxide film by a CVD method and wherein each of the gate insulating film and the second insulating film includes the first silicon oxide film and the second silicon oxide film. Shimomura 2014 teaches this arrangement allows the device to suppress the occurrence of the leakage and the decrease in withstanding voltage (par 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the step of (h) includes steps of: (hi) forming a first silicon oxide film inside the trench positioned over the first insulating film and on the upper surface of the field plate electrode and also the side surface of the field plate electrode which are exposed from the first insulating film by a thermal oxidization process using oxygen gas under a condition that is equal to or higher than 1000°C, and that is equal to or lower than 12000°C and (h2) forming a second silicon oxide film on the first silicon oxide film by a CVD method, and wherein each of the gate insulating film and the second insulating film includes the first silicon oxide film and the second silicon oxide film in the device of Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto, as taught by Shimomura 2014 to provide a device that will suppress the occurrence of the leakage and the decrease in withstanding voltage.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 2019/0386132) in view of Nishiguchi (US 2014/0284773) and in further view of Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704) and Oasa (US 2022/0085208).
With respect to Claim 8, Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto shows most aspects of the current invention. Furthermore, Nishiguchi teaches (Fig. 1-8B) further comprising steps of: (i) after the step of (h), inside the trench, forming a gate electrode (50) on the field plate electrode recessed by the step of (d3) via the second insulating film (Fig 6B); (j) after the step of (i), on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate, forming a body region (20) inside the semiconductor substrate so as to be formed shallower than the trench, a conductive type of the body region being a second conductive type opposite the first conductive type (Fig 7A); (k) after the step of (j), forming a source region (25) inside the body region, a conductive type of the source region being the first conductive type (Fig. 7B); (l) after the step of (k), forming an interlayer insulating film (33) on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate so as to cover the trench (Fig 7B).
However, the combination of references do not teach (m) after the step of (l), forming a first hole penetrating through each of the interlayer insulating film and the source region, and reaching an inside of the body region; (n) after the step of (l), forming a second hole penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the gate electrode; (o) after the step of (l), forming a third hole penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the contact portion; (p) after the step of (m), the step of (n) and the step of (o), forming each of a source electrode and a gate wiring on the interlayer insulating film; and (q) after the step of (p), forming a drain electrode on the lower surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the gate wiring is electrically connected to the gate electrode via the second hole, wherein the source electrode is electrically connected to each of the source region and the body region via the first hole, and is electrically connected to the field plate electrode via the third hole, and wherein the drain electrode is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Oasa teaches (Fig. 3-12B, 18-19) a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising forming a field plate electrode (20) on a first insulating film (41) located inside a trench (T) of a semiconductor substrate (12), further comprising steps of inside the trench, forming a gate electrode (30) on the field plate electrode, forming a body region (13) inside the semiconductor substrate so as to be formed shallower than the trench, forming a source region (14) inside the body region, forming an interlayer insulating film (46) on the upper surface of the semiconductor substrate so as to cover the trench and further comprising forming a first hole (Fig. 18; hole on left portion of the device comprising plug 62; par 76) penetrating through each of the interlayer insulating film and the source region, and reaching an inside of the body region; forming a second hole (Fig. 19; hole penetrating the insulating film 46 comprising plug 71; par 75) penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the gate electrode, forming a third hole (Fig. 18; hole in the center portion of the device comprising plug 62; par 74) penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the contact portion, forming each of a source electrode (52) and a gate wiring (70) on the interlayer insulating film (par 74-75); and forming a drain electrode (51) on the lower surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the gate wiring is electrically connected to the gate electrode via the second hole, wherein the source electrode is electrically connected to each of the source region and the body region via the first hole, and is electrically connected to the field plate electrode via the third hole, and wherein the drain electrode is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate. Oasa teaches doing so to design a device in which a gate electrode that is located in a trench controls a channel that conducts a current in the vertical direction of a semiconductor layer by performing the device design after improving the trade-off between the on-resistance and the parasitic capacitance that occurs due to the positional relationship between the gate electrode and the base region (par 3) and further to suppress the fluctuation of the on-resistance and capacitance that may occur in the actual device due to fluctuation when manufacturing (par 3 and 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein (m) after the step of (l), forming a first hole penetrating through each of the interlayer insulating film and the source region, and reaching an inside of the body region; (n) after the step of (l), forming a second hole penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the gate electrode; (o) after the step of (l), forming a third hole penetrating through the interlayer insulating film, and reaching the contact portion; (p) after the step of (m), the step of (n) and the step of (o), forming each of a source electrode and a gate wiring on the interlayer insulating film; and (q) after the step of (p), forming a drain electrode on the lower surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the gate wiring is electrically connected to the gate electrode via the second hole, wherein the source electrode is electrically connected to each of the source region and the body region via the first hole, and is electrically connected to the field plate electrode via the third hole, and wherein the drain electrode is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate in the device of Chien in view of Nishiguchi and in further view of Kishimoto, as taught by Oasa to design a device in which a gate electrode that is located in a trench controls a channel that conducts a current in the vertical direction of a semiconductor layer by performing the device design after improving the trade-off between the on-resistance and the parasitic capacitance that occurs due to the positional relationship between the gate electrode and the base region and further to suppress the fluctuation of the on-resistance and capacitance that may occur in the actual device due to fluctuation when manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, taken individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the features of amended independent claim 1, particularly with respect to the features of "(f) after the step of (e), performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film so that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered by the isotropic etching process." Shimomura 2019 describes the field plate electrode 20 being etched back, but Shimomura 2019 is silent regarding the etching back of the field plate electrode 20 to form a chamfered corner. In other words, Shimomura 2019 is silent regarding etching back which part of the field plate electrode 20, let alone shaping the corner of the field plate electrode 20 in a specific shape. The cited figures (FIGS. 1A and 5A-7B) do not explicitly depict a chamfered corner even if enlarging the corner portion of the upper surface of the field plate electrode 20.
Examiner responds: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues the references do not show the limitation recited “performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film so that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered by the isotropic etching process.” However, the examiner asserts Nishiguchi depicts a method step of performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode (30) exposed from the first insulating film may be performed in the method for manufacturing such as to provide a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode having a different shape. As shown in see Fig 5A the corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode has a first surface. Then Fig 5B shows the corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode has a shape changed by an isotropic etching process that is applied to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film. Therefore, Nishiguchi depicts a method step of performing an isotropic etching process to the upper portion of the field plate electrode exposed from the first insulating film may be performed in the method for manufacturing such as to provide a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode having a different shape. However, Nishiguchi does not teach that a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered.
Therefore, Kishimoto (US 2021/0202704) is incorporated to teach the limitation reciting the “a corner of the upper portion of the field plate electrode is chamfered.” Please see the rejection and illustration provided above. Thus, the applicant’s arguments is considered to be moot because the new ground of rejection teaches the matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814