DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7731138 to Wiesner et al. (hereinafter “Wiesner”) in view of US 10,548,685 to Gibbs (hereinafter “Gibbs”).
-From Claim 1: Weisner discloses a system, comprising:
a first device 5;
a second device S; and
a connection device 3 coupled to a coupling element mounted on the first device at a first end and clamped to the second device at a second end, wherein the connection device further comprises a tether 43 extending from the first end to the second end, wherein the connection device comprises a clamp 37, wherein the clamp comprises a slot (between 161 and 169)
However, Weisner does not disclose: a plurality of bristles arranged in an opening.
Gibbs teaches the addition of flexible bristles to the inner periphery of a clamp “for gently holding articles within the slots 29.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiesner by adding bristles arranged in an opening as taught by Gibbs in order to further ensure the retention of the second device within the clamp.
-From Claim 2: Weisner discloses wherein the connection device comprises a pin 19 at the first end and a clamp 37 at the second end, the first end opposite the second end.
-From Claim 3: Weisner discloses wherein the tether comprises at least one wire 75 arranged within an outer layer. (Col. 3, l. 64)
-From Claim 4: Weisner discloses wherein the tether 43 comprises a fixed length along its longitudinal axis.
-From Claim 5: Weisner discloses wherein the tether 43 is flexible about its radius.
-From Claim 6: Weisner discloses a pin 51 coupled to the second end of the connection device, wherein the pin is configured to engage with the coupling element 177.
-From Claim 7: Weisner discloses wherein a length of the slot measured along its longitudinal axis is longer than a length of the opening.
-From Claim 8: Weisner discloses wherein the clamp 37 is rotatable about the second device S (in that it can be posited at any angle around S).
-From Claim 9: Weisner discloses wherein the second device is arranged within and moveable in the slot
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J WILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678 9/15/2026