DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 02/23/2026. Claims 1-11 are pending for this examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 12/18/2023.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on 11/28/2023 is acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse Species I, directed to an embodiment as depicted in FIGS. 1, with claims 1-9, in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged and entered.
This office action considers claims 1-11 are thus pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claims 10-11 are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-9 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOKAWA et al (US 2013/0328106 A1; hereafter KOKAWA).
[AltContent: textbox (First stack)][AltContent: textbox (second stack)][AltContent: textbox (Third stack)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Annotated Figure. [1]
Regarding claim 1. KOKAWA discloses a superlattice composite structure, comprising (Fig. 1, Para [ 0063-0068]):
a first superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. annotated first stack), comprising a plurality of first units ( units 11, Para [ 0063-68] discloses “ buffer layer 12 includes six composite layers 11”) stacked along a vertical direction ( Fig 1, Para [ 0065] discloses “ buffer layer 12 includes six composite layers 11 that are formed on the intermediate layer 20 in a manner such that each of the six layers is progressively thicker”), wherein each of the first units ( units 11, Para [ 0063-68]) comprises an aluminium nitride (AIN) layer (Fig 1, lower stack of buffer layer includes AlN layer 14, Para [ 0065]), an aluminium gallium nitride (AIGaN) layer ( Fig 1, lower stack of buffer layer includes AlGaN layer 16, Para [ 0065]) and a gallium nitride (GaN) layer (Fig 1, first stack of buffer layer includes GaN layer 15, Para [ 0065]) stacked in sequence along the vertical direction; and
a second superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. Annotated second stack) stacked with the first superlattice stack layer along the vertical direction (Fig 1. annotated first stack), wherein the second superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. Annotated second stack) comprises a plurality of second units (units 11, Para [ 0063-68]) stacked along the vertical direction (Fig 1. Annotated second stack), each of the second units ( units 11, Para [ 0063-68]) comprises another AIN layer (Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlN layer 14, Para [ 0065]), another AIGaN layer ( Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlGaN layer 16, Para [ 0065]) and another GaN layer (Fig 1, first stack of buffer layer includes GaN layer 15, Para [ 0065]) stacked in sequence along the vertical direction ( Fig 1), each of the first units has a first unit thickness t l along the vertical direction, each of the second units has a second unit thickness t2 along the vertical direction, and
the following condition is satisfied: t l> t2. (Fig 1 shows, thickness of first stack is greater than thickness of second and third stack).
Regarding claim 2. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 1, KOKAWA further discloses further comprising:
a third superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. Annotated third stack) stacked with the first superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. annotated first stack) and the second superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. Annotated second stack) along the vertical direction, wherein the third superlattice stack layer (Fig 1. Annotated third stack) comprises a plurality of third units (units 11, Para [ 0063-68]) stacked along the vertical direction, each of the third units (units 11, Para [ 0063-68]) comprises further another AIN layer (Fig 1, AlN layer 14, Para [ 0065]), further another AIGaN layer ( Fig 1,AlGaN layer 16, Para [ 0065]) and further another GaN layer (Fig 1, GaN layer 15, Para [ 0065]) stacked in sequence along the vertical direction (annotated Figure 1), each of the third units has a third unit thickness t3 along the vertical direction, and the following condition is satisfied:
t l> t2 > t3 (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 2, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the first unit thickness t1, the second unit thickness t2 and the third unit thickness t3 satisfy the following conditions:
t 1> 100 A;
t2 > 100 A; and
t3> 100 A (Para [ 0073-0075]).
Regarding claim 5. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 2, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the third superlattice stack layer, the second superlattice stack layer and the first superlattice stack layer are stacked in sequence from bottom to top along the vertical direction (Fig 1. Annotated first, second and third stack).
Regarding claim 7. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 1, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the AIN layer of each of the first units has a first sub-thickness X1 along the vertical direction, the AIGaN layer of each of the first units has a second sub-thickness Y1 along the vertical direction, the GaN layer of each of the first units has a third sub-thickness Z 1 along the vertical direction, the AlN layer of each of the second units has a fourth sub-thickness X2 along the vertical direction, the AIGaN layer of each of the second units has a fifthsub-thickness Y2 along the vertical direction, the GaN layer of each of the second units has a sixth sub-thickness Z2 along the vertical direction, the AIN layer of each of the third units has a seventh sub-thickness X3 along the vertical direction, the AIGaN layer of each of the third units has an eighth sub-thickness Y3 along the vertical direction, the GaN layer of each of the third units has a ninth sub-thickness Z3 along the vertical direction, and the following conditions are satisfied:
Yl<X1<Zl; Y2 <X2<Z2; and Y3 < X3 < Z3.
(annotated above region of each sublayer can be interpreted as sub thickness, which can satisfy the claims limitation based of the AlN, AlGaN and GaN layers sub-thickness in vertical direction).
Regarding claim 8. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 1, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the AIN layer of each of the first units has a first sub-thickness X1 along the vertical direction (Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlN layer 14, Para [ 0065]), the AIGaN layer of each of the first units has a second sub-thickness Yl along the vertical direction ( Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlGaN layer 16, Para [ 0065]), the GaN layer of each of the first units has a third sub-thickness Z 1 along the vertical direction (Fig 1, buffer layer includes GaN layer 15, Para [ 0065]), and the second sub-thickness Y1 ( Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlGaN layer 16, Para [ 0065]) is between the first sub-thicknessX1 (Fig 1, buffer layer includes AlN layer 14, Para [ 0065]) and the third sub-thickness Z I (Fig 1, buffer layer includes GaN layer 15, Para [ 0065]).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOKAWA et al (US 2013/0328106 A1; hereafter KOKAWA) as applied claims above and further in view of LI et al (US 2024/0372020 A1; hereafter LI).
Regarding claim 4. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 2, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the first superlattice stack layer has a first thickness T 1 (Fig 1. Annotated first stack) along the vertical direction, the second superlattice stack layer has a second thickness T2 (Fig 1. Annotated second stack) along the vertical direction, the third superlattice stack layer has a third thickness T3 (Fig 1. Annotated third stack) along the vertical direction, and the following conditions are satisfied: T1>T2> T3 (Fig 1. Annotated first, second and third stack shows the thickness condition).
But KOKAWA does not disclose explicitly T1> 0.3µm
T2 > 0.3 µm;
T3 > 0.3 µm.
In a similar field of endeavor, LI discloses T1> 0.3µm
T2 > 0.3 µm;
T3 > 0.3 µm (Para [0069] discloses “ AlN with a thickness of 50 nm, an AlGaN layer with a thickness of 250 nm, a GaN layer with a thickness of 1 μm, an n-GaN-1 layer with a thickness of 1 μm. Based on the combined thickness of AlN, AlGaN and GaN, each superlattice unit can satisfy the condition above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine KOKAWA in light of LI teaching to have desire thickness for further advantage such as stability of the semiconductor device by using well-known manufacturing process and improve device performance.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOKAWA et al (US 2013/0328106 A1; hereafter KOKAWA) as applied claims above and further as applied claims above and further in view of OBATA et al (US 2021/0288216 A1; hereafter OBATA).
Regarding claim 6. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 2, KOKAWA further discloses wherein the third superlattice stack layer, the second superlattice stack layer and the first superlattice stack layer are stacked in sequence from bottom to top along the vertical direction (Fig 1. Annotated first, second and third stack).
But KOKAWA does not disclose explicitly a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-i)GaᵢN, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the second units is 30 Al(1-ⱼGaⱼN, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the third units is Al(1-ₖ)GaₖN, i is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, j is constant greater than zero and less than 1, k is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, and the following condition is satisfied:
i>j>k.
In a similar field of endeavor, OBATA discloses a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-i)GaᵢN, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the second units is 30 Al(1-ⱼGaⱼN (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036]), a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the third units is Al(1-ₖ)GaₖN, i is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, j is constant greater than zero (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036]) and less than 1, k is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, and the following condition is satisfied:
i>j>k. (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine KOKAWA in light of OBATA teaching “a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-i)GaᵢN, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the second units is 30 Al(1-ⱼGaⱼN (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036]), a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the third units is Al(1-ₖ)GaₖN, i is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, j is constant greater than zero (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036]) and less than 1, k is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, and the following condition is satisfied: i>j>k. (Fig 3, Para [ 0032-0036])” to have desire composition for further advantage such as control strain property in the epitaxial buffer structure.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOKAWA et al (US 2007/0102742 A1; hereafter lee) as applied claims above and further in view of MIKAMI et al (US 2011/0244665 A1; hereafter MIKAMI).
Regarding claim 9. KOKAWA discloses the superlattice composite structure of claim 1, But KOKAWA does not disclose explicitly wherein a number of the first units is m, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-ia)GaᵢₐN, a is an integer from 1 to m, ia is a constant greater than zero and less than 1, in the vertical direction, a composition of the AlGaN layer of the first unit at top most is Al(1-i1)Gaᵢ₁N, a composition of the AIGaN layer of the first unit at bottom most is Al(1-im)Ga; mN, and i l to i m decreases gradually from top to bottom along the vertical direction.
In a similar field of endeavor, MIKAMI discloses wherein a number of the first units is m, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-ia)GaᵢₐN, a is an integer from 1 to m, ia is a constant greater than zero and less than 1 (Fig 3, Para [ 0055]), in the vertical direction, a composition of the AlGaN layer of the first unit at top most is Al(1-i1)Gaᵢ₁N, a composition of the AIGaN layer of the first unit at bottom most is Al(1-im)Ga; mN (Fig 3, Para [ 0055]), and i l to i m decreases gradually from top to bottom along the vertical direction (Fig 3, Para [ 0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine KOKAWA in light of MIKAMI teaching “wherein a number of the first units is m, a composition of the AlGaN layer of each of the first units is Al(1-ia)GaᵢₐN, a is an integer from 1 to m, ia is a constant greater than zero and less than 1 (Fig 3, Para [ 0055]), in the vertical direction, a composition of the AlGaN layer of the first unit at top most is Al(1-i1)Gaᵢ₁N, a composition of the AIGaN layer of the first unit at bottom most is Al(1-im)Ga; mN (Fig 3, Para [ 0055]), and i l to i m decreases gradually from top to bottom along the vertical direction (Fig 3, Para [ 0055])”to have desire composition for further advantage such as control strain property in the epitaxial buffer structure.
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898