DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation - 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of claim 13 has been withdrawn in light of the claim being canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claim 20 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter has been withdrawn in light of claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/23/2026, with respect to claims 1, and 19, has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current references and current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL.
Regarding claim 1, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece quality inspection method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3), the method comprises:
obtaining an inspection image (Fig. 3, #204 called image data. Paragraph [0055]) of the connecting piece including a piece body and a bulge (Fig. 2, #171 called a bump. Paragraph [0052]) protruding from a surface of the piece body (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. Further in paragraph [0066]-SASAZAWA discloses the height H, bottom diameter D and position 212 of the bump, which are required as measurement results of the bump shape measuring apparatus because the bump 171 has a shape of pseudo cone, can be obtained. It can be confirmed that conductive connection between the lower printed board 170 and the upper printed board 173 can be surely conducted by the bump 171 and adjacent bumps are not short-circuited. When the height H, bottom diameter (diameter of the base) D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are obtained, the quality of the bump having no defective conductivity can be determined. The height H and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the upper printed board 173. The bottom diameter D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the lower printed board 170), wherein the inspection image covers the bulge (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses the main control unit 13 sets the image detection area 201 so as to effectively detect an area where the bumps 171 to be measured are arranged based on the bump arrangement data of the printed board inputted using the input unit 21. In paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump. Please also read paragraph [0052 and 00]);
determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. Please also see Fig. 4(d)).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
However, BENDALL explicitly teaches determining, in the inspection image (Fig. 1, #30 called an image. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses FIG. 2 is an image 30 obtained by the video inspection device 100 of a surface 10 of an object 2 having a defect 4), position information of a reference contour (Fig. 5, #10, #20 and #29 called a surface, a reference surface and a reference surface line, respectively. Paragraph [0024]. Please also see Fig. 4 and 6 and read paragraph [0054-0058]) of the bulge (Fig. 1, #2 and #4 called an object and a defect, respectively. Paragraph [0023-0024]. Please also see Fig. 4-6) and position information of an inspection contour (Fig. 4, #4 and #19 called a defect and a surface contour line, respectively. Paragraph [0023 and 0055]. Please also see Fig. 5- 6 and read paragraph [0054 and 0056-0058]) of the bulge (Fig. 4. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses once the image 30 is obtained, and the defect 4 is identified, the image 30 can be used to determine the dimensions of the defect 4 (e.g. height or depth, length, width, area, volume, etc.). In paragraph [0037]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine a reference surface 20 based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the first surface point 11 and the second surface point 12 (wherein the reference surface 20 can be flat, curved, or in the form of a plane, or shape, such as a cylinder, sphere, etc.). In paragraph [0048]-BENDALL discloses once the three-dimensional coordinates of the reference surface line points 28 on reference surface line 29 are determined, the video inspection device 100 can determine the three-dimensional coordinates of a surface contour line 19. [0055]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can display an overlay on the image 30 of the surface 10 indicating the location of the surface contour line 19 on the surface. Please also see Fig. 3 and 5-6 and read paragraph [0048]), wherein the reference contour (Fig. 4, #10 called a surface. Paragraph [0024]) is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body (Fig. 4, #2 and #10 called an object and a surface, respectively. Paragraph [0024]. In paragraph [0027]-BENDALL discloses at step 240, the video inspection device 100 can confirm whether the first surface point 11 and the second surface point 12 are on a co-planar surface. This step 240 can be used when the reference surface 20 to be used is a plane) and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses the defect 4 is shown as a trough where material has been removed from the surface 10 of the object 2 by damage or wear. The defect 4 is just one example and that the inventive method of determining the profile of a surface of an object applies to other types of defects (e.g., cracks, dents, corrosion pitting, coating loss, surface deposits, etc.) (wherein the defect may also be a protrusion)), the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0058]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine the distance from the reference surface 20 to the point on the surface contour line 19 that is the furthest from the reference surface 20 to indicate the deepest or highest point in the defect 4), and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect (Fig. 15. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses the defect 4 is shown as a trough where material has been removed from the surface 10 of the object 2 by damage or wear (wherein the object 2 contains a defect represented by a trough or protrusion where the reference surface #20 and reference surface line #29 enclose or extend across the recess or hollow portion of the defect)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of BENDALL of having determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and BENDALL concern systems and methods for image analysis and protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while BENDALL provides systems and methods that improve the accuracy of measuring the dimensions of a defect. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0002-0003].
Regarding claim 9, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the mouth portion of the bulge comprises a first reference feature, and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises a second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3 (wherein an outline of the bulge is obtained, a plurality of feature points and projected lines are used to approximate the top, bottom and sides of the bulge, and the base and tip of the bulge represent a mouth portion and a bottom portion, respectively. Please also read paragraph [0055, 0064-0065 and 0087-0088]); and
the determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses a main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump. The edge (outline) coordinate data of the bump is obtained) comprises:
obtaining, from the inspection image, first reference position information of the first reference feature and second reference position information of the second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge);
determining the position information of the reference contour of the bulge based on the first reference position information of the first reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses when a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated (wherein the bulge’s bottom and central axial line are determined using the outline and feature points approximating the base); and
determining the position information of the inspection contour of the bulge based on the second reference position information of the second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump. In paragraph [0067]-SASAZAWA discloses the geometric shape of the bump conceivably includes the shape of the tip (pseudo cone angle) and the volume. The shape of the tip (pseudo cone angle) can be determined from the calculated quadratic approximating curve or elliptic approximating curve 208. The volume can be determined based on the bottom diameter, height and tip shape (pseudo cone angle) of the bump).
Regarding claim 19, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches an electronic device (Fig. 2, called a bump shape measuring unit. Paragraph [0020]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of a bump shape measuring apparatus. Please also see Fig. 14), comprising at least one processor (Fig. 2, #9 called a main image processing unit and a main control unit, respectively. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an A/D conversion unit 91, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94); and
a memory (Fig. 2, #92, #11, and #23, called an image memory unit, image data storage part and a storage device, respectively. Paragraph [0055, 0074 and 0076]) communicatively connected with the at least one processor (Fig. 2, #94 called a main processing unit. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an image memory 92, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94. Please also read paragraph [0087-0088]);
wherein the memory stores instructions capable of being executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image memory 92 stores therein the gray value (gradation value) image signal F(x,y) 202 subjected to the A/D-conversion. The cut out circuit 93 cuts out the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] (images only in the region containing the bumps, which are selected from the detection images) 204 for each bump from the gray value image signal F(x, y) 202 stored in the image memory 92, based on the array design data of the bumps. In the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. Please also read paragraph [0056, and 0061-0068]), and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor so that the at least one processor is capable of implementing a connecting piece quality inspection method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3), the method including obtaining an inspection image (Fig. 3, #204 called image data. Paragraph [0055]) of the connecting piece including a piece body and a bulge protruding from a surface of the piece body (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. Please also read paragraph [0066 and 0087]), wherein the inspection image covers the bulge (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses the main control unit 13 sets the image detection area 201 so as to effectively detect an area where the bumps 171 to be measured are arranged based on the bump arrangement data of the printed board inputted using the input unit 21. In paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump);
determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. Please also see Fig. 4(d)); and
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
However, BENDALL explicitly teaches determining, in the inspection image (Fig. 1, #30 called an image. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses FIG. 2 is an image 30 obtained by the video inspection device 100 of a surface 10 of an object 2 having a defect 4), position information of a reference contour (Fig. 5, #10, #20 and #29 called a surface, a reference surface and a reference surface line, respectively. Paragraph [0024]. Please also see Fig. 4 and 6 and read paragraph [0054-0058]) of the bulge (Fig. 1, #2 and #4 called an object and a defect, respectively. Paragraph [0023-0024]) and position information of an inspection contour (Fig. 1, #4 and #19 called a defect and a surface contour line, respectively. Paragraph [0023 and 0055]. Please also see Fig. 4 and 6 and read paragraph [0054 and 0056-0058]) of the bulge (Fig. 4. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses once the image 30 is obtained, and the defect 4 is identified, the image 30 can be used to determine the dimensions of the defect 4 (e.g. height or depth, length, width, area, volume, etc.). In paragraph [0037]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine a reference surface 20 based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the first surface point 11 and the second surface point 12 (wherein the reference surface 20 can be flat, curved, or in the form of a plane, or shape, such as a cylinder, sphere, etc.). In paragraph [0048]-BENDALL discloses once the three-dimensional coordinates of the reference surface line points 28 on reference surface line 29 are determined, the video inspection device 100 can determine the three-dimensional coordinates of a surface contour line 19. In paragraph [0055]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can display an overlay on the image 30 of the surface 10 indicating the location of the surface contour line 19 on the surface. Please also see Fig. 3 and 5-6 and read paragraph [0048]), wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body (Fig. 1, #2 and #10 called an object and a surface, respectively. Paragraph [0024]. In paragraph [0027]-BENDALL discloses at step 240, the video inspection device 100 can confirm whether the first surface point 11 and the second surface point 12 are on a co-planar surface. This step 240 can be used when the reference surface 20 to be used is a plane. Please also see Fig. 4-6) and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses the defect 4 is shown as a trough where material has been removed from the surface 10 of the object 2 by damage or wear. The defect 4 is just one example and that the inventive method of determining the profile of a surface of an object applies to other types of defects (e.g., cracks, dents, corrosion pitting, coating loss, surface deposits, etc.) (wherein the defect may also be a protrusion and the reference surface #20 is a plane or shape that encompasses the recess of the defect)), the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0058]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine the distance from the reference surface 20 to the point on the surface contour line 19 that is the furthest from the reference surface 20 to indicate the deepest or highest point in the defect 4), and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0023]-BENDALL discloses the defect 4 is shown as a trough where material has been removed from the surface 10 of the object 2 by damage or wear (wherein the object 2 contains a defect represented by a trough or protrusion where the reference surface #20 and reference surface line #29 enclose or extend across the recess or hollow portion of the defect)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having an electronic device, comprising at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected with the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores instructions capable of being executed by the at least one processor, and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor so that the at least one processor is capable of implementing a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of BENDALL of having determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s electronic device having determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body and surrounding an interior hollow recess inside the bulge, the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body, and the bottom portion of the bulge extends in a bulge plane parallel to a piece body plane of the piece body, and the bulge plane and the piece body plane do not intersect.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an electronic device that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and BENDALL concern systems and methods for image analysis and protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while BENDALL provides systems and methods that improve the accuracy of measuring the dimensions of a defect. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0002-0003].
Regarding claim 20, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program (Fig. 2, called a bump shape measuring unit. Paragraph [0020]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of a bump shape measuring apparatus. Please also see Fig. 14), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an A/D conversion unit 91, an image memory 92, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94. Image memory 92 stores therein the gray value (gradation value) image signal F(x,y) 202 subjected to the A/D-conversion. The cut out circuit 93 cuts out the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] (images only in the region containing the bumps, which are selected from the detection images) 204 for each bump from the gray value image signal F(x, y) 202 stored in the image memory 92, based on the array design data of the bumps. In the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13), the quality inspection method according to claim 1 (Please see the rejection for claim 1 further above).
Claims 2-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO.
Regarding claim 2, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. Please also read paragraph [0064, 0066, 0071]) comprises:
determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. The main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position). In paragraph [0071]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on the display unit 20 as a histogram 140 where in the whole printed board or at every specified region, the amount of displacement from the design values of the height, bottom diameter and position of the bump is set on the horizontal axis and the frequency (number) is set on the vertical axis).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined), information of a projection of the inspection contour with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses when a distance between the highest point of the curve 208 and the lowest point of the curve 209 is calculated, a height H of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated. Further in paragraph [0088]-SASAZAWA discloses the detection camera 15 detects the position and shape of the through-hole 180 in the form of an image signal composed of a dark section indicating a circular hole part and a bright section indicating a circumference thereof. The main image processing unit 94 projects an image signal in the region near the hole (it may be cut out for each through-hole) in X and Y axis directions (the image element is integrated). Using a distance between both of the edges in the Y axis direction, a diameter in the Y axis direction and a central position thereof are each determined, whereby a positional coordinate in the Y axis direction can be determined. Using a distance between both of the edges in the X axis direction, a diameter in the X axis direction and a central position thereof are each determined, whereby a positional coordinate in the X axis direction can be determined); and
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
However, ITO explicitly teach determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 (corresponding to a later mentioned image central axial line S.sub.10) based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. Please also see Fig. 6 and 9, and read [0049-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 3, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 2, SASAZAWA further teaches the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0013]-SASAZAWA discloses an image processing unit converts the image signals of the bumps detected by the detection optical system to obtain digital image signals of the bumps, calculates an outline of at least a tip and a base of each of the bumps based on the image signals of at least the tip and base of each of the bumps obtained based on the digital image signals of the bumps, calculates geometric characteristics including at least a position and height of each of the bumps are calculated based on the outline of at least the tip and base of each of the bumps, and determines quality of each of the bumps based on the calculated geometric characteristics of the bumps; and a main control unit which outputs information on the quality of each of the bumps determined by the image processing unit) comprises:
determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0054]-SASAZAWA discloses the calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the display unit 20 or the output unit 22 of the bump shape measurement results performed by the main control unit 13 is described. The data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. The distribution 120 is obtained by varying the color or shading or shape of each bump 121 in accordance with the amount of displacement from the design value. The main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position). Please also read paragraph [0066]).
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fails to explicitly teach wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein the displacement information (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses in the photographic image, the reference points are decided as FIG. 6, and based on these reference points, the ordering points of the detecting line (S130). The ordering points of the respective detecting lines are positioned by using the relative coordinate data stored as data 125a of the ordering point of the detecting line. Based on the positioned ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the detecting lines, the detecting line 102' is set between points E and E' (S140). It is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected (wherein the line detecting process is based on projected central axial lines and used to set an allowable range for detecting protuberant matters, and central axial lines are projected for each individual stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of reference/work members and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). In paragraph [0051]-ITO discloses FIGS. 8A-8E shows a plurality of rotation displacing conditions of the connected work member 10. All angle ranges to be photographed are 180.degree., and the connected work member 10 is rotated per 45.degree. around the central axial line S.sub.2' (FIG. 7). Further in paragraph [0052]-ITO discloses the height (the allowable height H.sub.1) allowing the protrudent adhered matters S from the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work to exist is in advance decided. In case L is the distance between the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work and the detecting line 102, the relation between the allowable height H.sub.1 and the distance L may be decided. If L/H.sub.1 is less than 0.3, an abnormal condition is possibly exceedingly detected) comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. As shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses the relative positional data specifically stores relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines (wherein the allowable ranges for detecting protuberant matters is based on a displacement between outlines of reference/work members, the outlines are formed from projected central axial lines, and the central axial lines and positional relationships are detected and stored on for each stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of an individual reference/work member, each reference/work member, and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). Please also read paragraph [0049-0051]).
Figure 13, illustrates projected central axial lines at the inspection contours and reference contours that may be formed for each reference/work member and each stepwise protruding metallic pieces.
Figure 9, illustrates protrudent matters on the sides of stepwise (or protruding) members, which are detected, in part, using the same line detecting process and projected central axial lines as the stepwise members in Figure 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 4, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 3, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein the determining (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0030]-ITO discloses the method of detecting the protrudent adhered matters comprises the photographic process and the confirmation process, and in the photographic process, a plurality of metallic materials are connected to build the connected work member, and the connected work member is taken a photograph as an object for detecting adhered matters thereon via a photographing instrument, while in the confirmation process, on the photographic image of the connected work member made by the photographic process, it is confirmed whether protrudent adhered matters exist on the outside of the connected work member. FIGS. 1A-1B are the schematic views of connection of the metallic materials, and in this example, the two metallic material 10a, 10b are welded (for example, a laser welding, a resistance welding or electronic beam welding) to form the connected work member 10. The method according to the invention detects whether the protrudent adhered matters (so-called spatters) S appear on the surface of the connected work member 10), based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses it is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected. Reversely, in case of existing on the detecting line 102', it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected (S150). When the image treatment (S150) (wherein the allowable ranges for detecting protuberant matters is based on a displacement between outlines of reference/work members, the outlines are formed from projected central axial lines and the allowable ranges, central axial lines and positional relationships are detected and stored for each reference/work member, each individual stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of reference/work members and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). Please also read paragraph [0036-0037 and 0049-0051]) comprises:
determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. If providing the central axial line S.sub.10 of the first metallic material 100a and setting the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member, even if the first metallic material 100a is more or less offset with respect to the central axial line S.sub.1 owing to a welding, the reference point per member is settled to the first metallic material 100a. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine whether the displacement is greater than a threshold for the central axial lines of either the individual metallic parts, reference/work members, or rotation angles and protuberant matters, which are each based on a projection of two central axial lines. This would improve accuracy and the ability to fine tune the detection process. Please also read paragraph [0049-0052]).
wherein the preset displacement value is determined based on a material and/or size of the connecting piece (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0051]-ITO discloses the rotating angle intervals may be arbitrarily decided in response to diameter sizes of the objective connected work members, allowable heights (later mentioned allowable heights H.sub.1) of the protrudent adhered matters, or detecting precision, and if the angle interval is too large, possibility of missing detection of the protrudent adhered matters S increases, but the treatment can be carried out at high speed. If making the interval small, the measuring frequency is increased, but the detection is done at high precision with less missing detection. In paragraph [0053]-ITO discloses in case H.sub.1 is the allowable height as mentioned above, and R is the diameter to be detected in the connected work member, the rotating angle 0 to be decided may be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set the threshold displacement value according to the size of the connecting member given the rotating interval is based on the size of a connecting piece and represents a displacement from the central axial lines of the connecting piece and protuberant matters. This would improve accuracy and the ability to fine tune the detection process);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 10, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches the method according to claim 9, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the first reference feature comprises at least one reference feature point (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge); and
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fails to explicitly teach the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
However, ITO explicitly teaches the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 (corresponding to a later mentioned image central axial line S.sub.10) based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. Please also see Fig. 6 and 9, and read [0048-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 11, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 10, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the at least one reference feature point comprises a plurality of first patterns arranged along a circumference of the reference contour, and the plurality of first patterns are used to indicate the reference contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge); and
the at least one inspection feature point comprises a plurality of second patterns arranged along a circumference of the inspection contour, and the plurality of second patterns are used to indicate the inspection contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge).
Regarding claim 12, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 10, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the at least one reference feature point and/or the at least one inspection feature point is provided on a surface of the bulge close to the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump. Therefore, when the image data Pk(i, j) are binarized by a specified threshold, the edge (outline) coordinate data of the bump is obtained. In paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base. Please also read paragraph [0085-0088]); and
an obtaining direction of the inspection image is parallel to an axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0013]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus includes a stage on which a board arranged thereon with a plurality of bumps to be measured is placed and traveled (moved). In paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. In paragraph [0054]-SASAZAWA discloses the image detection camera 7 is, for example, a CCD linear sensor. It detects an image signal in an image detection area 201 through a stage control unit 12 and a main control unit 13, as described in the enlarged view 220 of FIG. 3, with the image pickup region (image pickup view) 241 of the CCD linear sensor being continuously moved in synchronization with the scanning of the stage 2 indicated by an arrow).
Figure 3, illustrates the scanning view 241 is in the axial direction of the bump and in accordance with the moving direction of the stage 2.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO and in further view of KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), hereinafter referenced as KYONO.
Regarding claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO explicitly teach the method according to claim 2, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fail to explicitly teach wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0044]-KYONO discloses an optical module 1. The protective member includes a stem 10 serving as a base member, a cap member 40, and a transmitting member 41. The stem 10 serving as a base member has a flat-plate shape and supports the main member 20. The cap member 40 has a through-hole 55. The cap member 40 covers the main member 20 and is joined to the stem 10. The cap member 40 has side surfaces 40B and 40C including a region joined to the stem 10 and a top surface 40A connected to the side surfaces 40B and 40C at a region opposite to the region joined to the stem 10. The through-hole 55 is formed in the side surface 40B of the cap member 40. The cap member 40 has a hollow rectangular parallelepiped shape having an opening on the side on which the cap member 40 is joined to the stem 10) based on the displacement information (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40) further comprises:
calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0063]-KYONO discloses the displacement at the central point C is expressed as a height Δd.sub.c of the central point C.sub.A in the state A in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40 on the assumption that the height of the central point Ca in the state B in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero. The displacement at the standard point S1 is expressed as a height Δd.sub.s1 of the standard point S1.sub.A in the state A on the assumption that the height of the standard point S1.sub.B in the state B is zero. In paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative)); and
determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp in the region of the first surface 41A that corresponds a region, on the projection image 100, having a radius of 300 μm from the center of gravity G is, for example, 0.03 μm or more and 0.15 μm or less. A geodesic line having the maximum amount of warp may be defined as the first geodesic line 106. The amount of warp is different between the first geodesic line 106 and the second geodesic line 108. This means that the distortion of the transmitting member 41 is uneven (non-concentric). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.05 μm or more from the viewpoint of improving airtightness (sealing property). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.13 μm or less from the viewpoint of suppressing cracking of the transmitting member 41).
Figure 8, illustrates a process for determining the warp or elongation of a side wall based on the displacement of projected axial lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071]
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO and in further view of KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), hereinafter referenced as KYONO and in further view of NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), hereinafter referenced as NAKAZATO.
Regarding claim 6, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fail to explicitly teach wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement and the amount of warp will be described with reference to FIG. 8. The displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40) comprises:
calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071].
SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO fail to explicitly teach calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0024]-NAKAZATO discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B are explanatory views showing a rib structure portion which is a specific example of a shape portion to be subjected to determination processing. In paragraph [0027]-NAKAZATO discloses it is determined whether or not measurement values of height h, tip width w1, ratio w2/t of bottom width w2 and bottom wall thickness t, and gradient .theta. of a side face of the rib 1 shown in FIG. 1B are in an allowable range specified by standard values in the design stage. Please also read paragraph [0079]).
Figure 8, illustrates a process for determining the warp or elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the piece body and side wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022--0026].
Regarding claim 7, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO and in further view of NAKAZATO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 6, SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein a displacement information comprises the distance of displacement of the projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to the projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein a displacement information comprises the distance of displacement of the projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to the projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. As shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses the relative positional data specifically stores relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines. Please also read paragraph [0049-0051]); and
the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses in the photographic image, the reference points are decided as FIG. 6, and based on these reference points, the ordering points of the detecting line (S130). The ordering points of the respective detecting lines are positioned by using the relative coordinate data stored as data 125a of the ordering point of the detecting line. Based on the positioned ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the detecting lines, the detecting line 102' is set between points E and E' (S140). It is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected) comprises:
obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0034]-ITO discloses the detecting line 102 based on the reference work member 100 is positioned. At first, the reference work member 100 is previously photographed as one having a normal shape (no existence of the protrudent adhered matters) being the reference of the connected work member 10 by the photographing instrument (practically, photographed in the same manner as photographing the connected work member as later mentioned). Reference points (reference points per members) are set per respective members in the photographed reference work member 100. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses a memory is in advance stored with data (relative positional data) for prescribing the relative positions of the ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the respective detecting lines to the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work. The relative positional data may specifically store relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines), a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0042]-ITO discloses FIG. 3 shows an example of deciding an ordering point A' of the detecting line based on the decided ordering point A of the detecting line and the symmetrical axis S.sub.10 (that is, the image central axial line S.sub.10), while FIG. 4 shows an example of deciding an ordering point D' of the detecting line based on the ordering point D of the detecting line and the symmetrical axis S.sub.10. FIG. 3 decides the ordering point A' of the detecting line at the symmetrical position concerned with the symmetrical axis (the image central axial line S.sub.10) of the ordering point A of the detecting line. Please also see Fig. 12), a second preset thickness of the piece body (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. Based on the image of the photographed reference work member 100, a temporary central axial line S.sub.1 of the reference work member 100 in the photographic image (also called briefly as "central axial line S.sub.1" hereafter, corresponding to a later mentioned temporary image central axial line S.sub.1) is determined. Plural positions of prescribed intervals (in FIG. 2, intervals W) of the second metallic material 100b of the reference work member 100, measuring lines (measuring lines P.sub.0-P.sub.0 . . . Pn-Pn) are determined, and regarding directions of the measuring lines as width directions, measurement is made to a width of the second metallic material 100b. Crossing points (crossing points P.sub.0-P.sub.0 . . . crossing points Pn-Pn) between the measuring lines and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work are fixed, and regarding the crossing points as widths, centers of the widths are determined as central points); and
calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0045]-ITO discloses the data of the ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the respective detecting lines prescribed on the reference points (the reference point F.sub.1 of the first member, and the reference points G.sub.1, G.sub.1' of the second members) are stored as the ordering data 125a of the detecting line in the memory 125 of FIG. 10 such that the data are enabled to be read out in the confirmation process. By using the ordering data 125a of the detecting line in the memory 125, if, for example, the reference point F.sub.2 corresponding to the reference point F.sub.1 in the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is determined in the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected, the ordering points A, A' and B, B' can be determined in correspondence to the reference point F.sub.2, and similarly, if the reference points G.sub.2, G.sub.2' corresponding to the reference points G.sub.1, G.sub.1' are ascertained, the ordering points C, C', D, D', E, E' of the detecting lines are fixed on the obtained images correspondingly. Please also read paragraph [0036-0037 and 0049-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Although ITO explicitly teaches the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
SASAZAWA in view of ITO fail to explicitly teach the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance, and the distance of displacement.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0024]-NAKAZATO discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B are explanatory views showing a rib structure portion which is a specific example of a shape portion to be subjected to determination processing. In paragraph [0027]-NAKAZATO discloses it is determined whether or not measurement values of height h, tip width w1, ratio w2/t of bottom width w2 and bottom wall thickness t, and gradient .theta. of a side face of the rib 1 shown in FIG. 1B are in an allowable range specified by standard values in the design stage); and
calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0079]-NAKAZATO discloses after the shape dimensional values of the rib are calculated in the step of the algorithm described above, the shape inspection apparatus 20 compares the calculated shape dimensional values with standard values and determines the shape dimensional values are in an allowable range specified by standard values. Specifically, it is determined whether or not a result of calculation of the height h exceeds a standard value of the height h, whether or not a result of calculation of the tip width w1 exceeds a standard value of the tip width w1, whether or not the ratio w2/t of the bottom width w2 and the bottom wall thickness t exceeds a standard value of the ratio w2/t).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance, and the distance of displacement.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022-0026].
Regarding claim 8, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fails to explicitly teaches wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative) comprises:
determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp in the region of the first surface 41A that corresponds a region, on the projection image 100, having a radius of 300 μm from the center of gravity G is, for example, 0.03 μm or more and 0.15 μm or less. A geodesic line having the maximum amount of warp may be defined as the first geodesic line 106. The amount of warp is different between the first geodesic line 106 and the second geodesic line 108. This means that the distortion of the transmitting member 41 is uneven (non-concentric). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.05 μm or more from the viewpoint of improving airtightness (sealing property). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.13 μm or less from the viewpoint of suppressing cracking of the transmitting member 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071].
SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO fail to explicitly teach wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0079]- NAKAZATO discloses after the shape dimensional values of the rib are calculated in the step of the algorithm described above, the shape inspection apparatus 20 compares the calculated shape dimensional values with standard values and determines the shape dimensional values are in an allowable range specified by standard values. Specifically, it is determined whether or not a result of calculation of the height h exceeds a standard value of the height h, whether or not a result of calculation of the tip width w1 exceeds a standard value of the tip width w1, whether or not the ratio w2/t of the bottom width w2 and the bottom wall thickness t exceeds a standard value of the ratio w2/t, and whether or not the gradient .theta. falls within an allowable range specified by a standard value of the gradient .theta.. When all of the above conditions are satisfied, it is determined that the rib having those shape dimensional values satisfies a shape condition. In addition, it is preferable that the standard values be set beforehand for each item of the height h, the tip width w1, the ratio w2/t, and the gradient .theta., and the standard values are not particularly limited (wherein the allowable range of the side wall’s elongation is based on the thickness of the piece body)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022-0026].
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), hereinafter referenced as SOHMSHETTY.
Regarding claim 14, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece production method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3. In paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process), comprising:
a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to have use a stamping method to form the bumps either in conjunction with etching or as an alternative to processes such as etching. While stamping may be relatively worse in terms of overall quality, it is generally cheaper, faster and allows greater production volume. Thus, the inspection method/system would improve the quality of stamping while preserving the advantages for cost and volume of production), wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. Please also read paragraph [0066-0067); and
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches inspecting the connecting piece by using the inspection method to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teaches inspecting the connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
However, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teach the inspection method according to claim 1 (Please see the rejection for claim 1 further above).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the connecting piece by using the inspection method to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
However, SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0045]- SOHMSHETTY discloses referring to FIG. 1 a stamping line 10 with a defect monitoring station 12 (also referred to herein as “defect inspection station 12” or simply as “inspection station 12”) is shown. The stamping line includes a coil ‘C’ of a metallic material (e.g., steel) from which metal blanks 100 are formed. The metal blanks 100 may be heated in a furnace ‘F’ to form heated blanks 100a before being stamped (e.g., hot stamped) according to a given stamped blank configuration with a stamping press ‘S’ to form stamped blanks 100b (per the given stamped blank configuration). The metal blanks 100 may be not heated in the furnace F before being stamped into the stamped blank 100b per the given stamped blank configuration. The stamped blanks 100b proceed to the defect inspection station 12 for monitoring or inspection for defects); and
inspecting the stamped connecting piece to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0021]-SOHMSHETTY discloses FIG. 1 shows a stamping line for stamping metal blanks with a stamped blank defect monitoring system according to the teachings of the present disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of SOHMSHETTY of having stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and SOHMSHETTY concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while SOHMSHETTY provides systems and methods that improves the ability to detect stamped metal defects. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0045-0046].
Regarding claim 15, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 14, although SASAZAWA teaches wherein a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process) further comprises:
preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]- SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between the highest point of the curve 208 and the lowest point of the curve 209 is calculated, a height H of the bump in the image data can be determined. When a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated. Please also read paragraph [0086-0088]).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge.
However, SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0045]- SOHMSHETTY discloses referring to FIG. 1 a stamping line 10 with a defect monitoring station 12 (also referred to herein as “defect inspection station 12” or simply as “inspection station 12”) is shown. The stamping line includes a coil ‘C’ of a metallic material (e.g., steel) from which metal blanks 100 are formed. The metal blanks 100 may be heated in a furnace ‘F’ to form heated blanks 100a before being stamped (e.g., hot stamped) according to a given stamped blank configuration with a stamping press ‘S’ to form stamped blanks 100b (per the given stamped blank configuration). The metal blanks 100 may be not heated in the furnace F before being stamped into the stamped blank 100b per the given stamped blank configuration. The stamped blanks 100b proceed to the defect inspection station 12 for monitoring or inspection for defects) further comprises:
preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0021]-SOHMSHETTY discloses FIG. 1 shows a stamping line for stamping metal blanks with a stamped blank defect monitoring system according to the teachings of the present disclosure. In paragraph [0058]-SOHMSHETTY as stamped metal blanks move past or within the field of view of the camera(s), the camera(s) acquires images of the split edge defect location(s) on each stamped blank at 220a and analyzes the acquired at least one image for each stamped blank at 230a using a split edge defect algorithm. In paragraph [0063]-SOHMSHETTY discloses the analysis 230a proceeds to 236a where the image obtained at 235a is subjected to an edge and contour detection algorithm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of SOHMSHETTY of having wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and SOHMSHETTY concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while SOHMSHETTY provides systems and methods that improves the ability to detect stamped metal defects. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0045-0046].
Regarding claim 17, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 14, SASAZAWA further teaches further comprising:
rejecting a non-conforming connecting piece in response to the quality inspection result (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13) being failed (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process. When the main control unit 13 of the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 determines that the bump shape measurement results such as the height and bottom diameter of the bump in a specified region on the printed board 1 are shorter than the design tolerance (criterion), the unit 13 outputs such alarm information that the amount of bump materials supplied to the region is short. Then, the output results 113 are provided to the bump manufacturing apparatus 111 through the output unit 22 such as a network. As a result, the bump manufacturing apparatus 111 can issue an alarm. Thus, the main control unit 13 of the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 performs feedback 113 of the measurement results stored in the storage unit 23 or in the image data storage unit 11 to the manufacturing conditions (environment (temperature, humidity, air pressure), material (kind, concentration of solvent) and apparatus No.) in the bump manufacturing apparatus (e.g., screen printer) 111. By doing so, the manufacturing conditions are controlled in the bump manufacturing apparatus 111, so that bumps can be stably manufactured).
Regarding claim 18, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece production device, although SASAZAWA further teaches the connecting piece production method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process. The manufacturing conditions are controlled in the bump manufacturing apparatus 111, so that bumps can be stably manufactured. Please also read paragraph [0043-0044, 0052 and 0055-0057]).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach adopting the connecting piece production method according to claim 14 in producing connecting pieces.
However, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches claim 14 (Please see the rejection for claim 14 further above).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), hereinafter referenced as SOHMSHETTY and in further view of ANDO et al. (US 20120195993 A1), hereinafter referenced as ANDO.
Regarding claim 16, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 15, although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]- SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between the highest); and
the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively).
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fails to explicitly teaches wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
However, ANDO explicitly teaches wherein the at least one feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 10. Paragraph [0037]-ANDO discloses FIG. 1 an alignment mechanism section of an imprint device for implementing an alignment method. In paragraph [0042]-ANDO discloses in the stamper 102, a ring-shaped metal thin film is formed as an alignment mark 201. In paragraph [0049]-ANDO discloses the alignment mark 201 of the stamper 102 is not limited to the ring-shaped one. Shapes such as a straight line, circle, polygon, cross mark, and the like which the light detection mechanism 108 can detect may be employed. Further in paragraph [0051]-ANDO discloses an edge of the stamper may be detected as in the transferred object 101, thereby calculating the center position of the stamper 102 and aligning the relative position between the center of the transferred object 101 and the stamper 102 (wherein alignment is performed in the y and x direction). In paragraph [0046]-ANDO discloses after aligning the relative position between the stamper 102 and the transferred object 101, the movable stage 105 is raised to press the stamper 102 against the transferred object 101 (wherein the stamper produces a concavo-convex shape, which is a series of protrusions/depressions on a surface made of metal, glass, etc.). Please also see Fig. 2A-B); and
the at least one feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 10. Paragraph [0037]-ANDO discloses FIG. 1 an alignment mechanism section of an imprint device for implementing an alignment method. In paragraph [0042]-ANDO discloses in the stamper 102, a ring-shaped metal thin film is formed as an alignment mark 201. In paragraph [0049]-ANDO discloses the alignment mark 201 of the stamper 102 is not limited to the ring-shaped one. Shapes such as a straight line, circle, polygon, cross mark, and the like which the light detection mechanism 108 can detect may be employed. Further in paragraph [0051]-ANDO discloses an edge of the stamper may be detected as in the transferred object 101, thereby calculating the center position of the stamper 102 and aligning the relative position between the center of the transferred object 101 and the stamper 102 (wherein alignment is performed in the y and x direction). In paragraph [0046]-ANDO discloses after aligning the relative position between the stamper 102 and the transferred object 101, the movable stage 105 is raised to press the stamper 102 against the transferred object 101 (wherein the stamper produces a concavo-convex shape, which is a series of protrusions/depressions on a surface made of metal, glass, etc.). Please also see Fig. 2A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of SOHMSHETTY of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ANDO having wherein the at least one inspection feature is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves the stamping process and the detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ANDO concern systems and methods for producing and aligning objects. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ANDO provides systems and methods that improves the accuracy of aligning and stamping materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ANDO et al. (US 20120195993 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0037-0039].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of GOTO et al. (US 20210025696 A1), hereinafter referenced as GOTO and in further view of KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), hereinafter referenced as KYONO.
Regarding claim 21, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches wherein determining the quality inspection result (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. The main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position) comprises:
determining whether a distance of displacement between a projection of the reference contour of the bulge and a projection of the inspection contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated) is greater than a preset displacement value (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0066]-SASAZAWA discloses the height H, bottom diameter D and position 212 of the bump. It can be confirmed that conductive connection between the lower printed board 170 and the upper printed board 173 can be surely conducted by the bump 171 and adjacent bumps are not short-circuited. When the height H, bottom diameter (diameter of the base) D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are obtained, the quality of the bump having no defective conductivity can be determined. The height H and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the upper printed board 173. The bottom diameter D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the lower printed board 170. In paragraph [0071]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on the display unit 20 as a histogram 140 where in the whole printed board or at every specified region, the amount of displacement from the design values of the height, bottom diameter and position of the bump).
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fails to explicitly teach determining whether a distance of displacement between a projection of the center of the reference contour in an axial direction of the bulge and a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge is greater than a preset displacement value; calculating an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge based on the determined distance of displacement.
However, GOTO explicitly teaches determining whether a distance of displacement between a projection of the center of the reference contour in an axial direction of the bulge and a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 17. Paragraph [0052]-GOTO discloses FIG. 1 is a schematic configuration diagram of a columnar object state detection device. In paragraph [0063]-GOTO discloses FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating acquisition of central axis data from a 3D columnar model. In paragraph [0064]-GOTO discloses the coordinates of this central axis data can be defined as absolute coordinates or relative coordinates with respect to the center point of the bottom face of the columnar object (wherein the correction approximation can generate central axis data of the differences in coordinate values between the center point of each height of the columnar object and the center point of the bottom face)) is greater than a preset displacement value (Fig. 17. Paragraph [0106]-GOTO discloses vertical axis: perpendicular line (vertical line). Inclining axis: straight line joining central axis coordinates of the cross-sectional circle disposed at a highest position in the columnar object and the central axis coordinates of the ground surface (bottom face). Reference axis: extension of a straight line passing near a center point of the columnar object in the horizontal direction from the ground surface (the bottom face of the columnar object) to a height of 2 m. Central axis: Axis joining the center of each circle (for height of every 4 cm). Deflection: distance between a reference axis and a central axis at a height of 5 meters from ground surface. Inclination: angle between the vertical axis and the reference axis. Please also read paragraph [0116]);
calculating an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge based on the determined distance of displacement (Fig. 17. Paragraph [0106]-GOTO discloses vertical axis: perpendicular line (vertical line). Inclining axis: straight line joining central axis coordinates of the cross-sectional circle disposed at a highest position in the columnar object and the central axis coordinates of the ground surface (bottom face). Reference axis: extension of a straight line passing near a center point of the columnar object in the horizontal direction from the ground surface (the bottom face of the columnar object) to a height of 2 m. Central axis: Axis joining the center of each circle (for height of every 4 cm). Deflection: distance between a reference axis and a central axis at a height of 5 meters from ground surface. Inclination: angle between the vertical axis and the reference axis);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of GOTO of having determining whether a distance of displacement between a projection of the center of the reference contour in an axial direction of the bulge and a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge is greater than a preset displacement value; calculating an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge based on the determined distance of displacement.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein determining the quality inspection result comprises: determining whether a distance of displacement between a projection of the center of the reference contour in an axial direction of the bulge and a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge is greater than a preset displacement value; calculating an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge based on the determined distance of displacement.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of protruding or columnar objects, since both SASAZAWA and GOTO concern systems and methods for image analysis. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while GOTO provides systems and methods that improve the detection and accuracy of central axis data correction in columnar objects. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and GOTO et al. (US 20210025696 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0144].
Although SASZAWA explicitly teaches determining that the connecting piece is acceptable based on the quality inspection result if the distance of displacement is less than or equal to the preset displacement value (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. the main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position). In paragraph [0071]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on the display unit 20 as a histogram 140 where in the whole printed board or at every specified region, the amount of displacement from the design values of the height, bottom diameter and position of the bump is set on the horizontal axis and the frequency (number) is set on the vertical axis).
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL in view of GOTO fails to explicitly teach determining whether the calculated elongation is greater than a preset elongation; determining that the connecting piece is acceptable based on the quality inspection result if the calculated elongation is less than or equal to the preset elongation.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches determining whether the calculated elongation is greater than a preset elongation (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40. In paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp in the region of the first surface 41A that corresponds a region, on the projection image 100, having a radius of 300 μm from the center of gravity G is, for example, 0.03 μm or more and 0.15 μm or less. A geodesic line having the maximum amount of warp may be defined as the first geodesic line 106. The amount of warp is different between the first geodesic line 106 and the second geodesic line 108);
determining that the connecting piece is acceptable based on the quality inspection result if the calculated elongation is less than or equal to the preset elongation (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.05 μm or more from the viewpoint of improving airtightness (sealing property). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.13 μm or less from the viewpoint of suppressing cracking of the transmitting member 41)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL and in further view of GOTO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having determining whether the calculated elongation is greater than a preset elongation; determining that the connecting piece is acceptable based on the quality inspection result if the calculated elongation is less than or equal to the preset elongation.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having determining whether the calculated elongation is greater than a preset elongation; determining that the connecting piece is acceptable based on the quality inspection result if both the distance of displacement is less than or equal to the preset displacement value and the calculated elongation is less than or equal to the preset elongation.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071].
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL and in further view of BENDALL et al. (US 20160155015 A1), hereinafter referenced as BENDALL (2016).
Regarding claim 22, SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining position information comprises: identifying at least four reference feature points equally spaced around a center of the reference contour at the mouth portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the reference contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite reference feature points.
However, BENDALL explicitly teaches wherein the determining position information comprises:
identifying at least four reference feature points equally spaced around a center of the reference contour at the mouth portion of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0037]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine a reference surface 2. The reference surface 20 can be based on the three-dimensional coordinates of the first plurality of points 13 on the surface 10 and the three-dimensional coordinates of the second plurality of points 14 on the surface (wherein the reference surface 20 encloses the defect and can be flat, curved, plane and/or a shape such as a square, cylinder, sphere, etc.). Further in paragraph [0047]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine the three-dimensional coordinates of a reference surface line 29 on the reference surface 20 from the first reference surface point 21 to the second reference surface point 22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to equally space four points around a center of the reference contour. BENDALL discloses forming a reference surface and multiple connected reference surface lines, points and/or segments that may enclose or intersect the center of a recessed area of a defect. The reference surface may be a plane rectangle, a plane or shape, such as a square, sphere or cylinder. Thus, it would be obvious to place four equally spaced points given this would allow for center points and reference shapes and lines to be more easily formed or determined. Please also read paragraph [0049-0053]);
determining a position of the center of the reference contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite reference feature points (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0049]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 can determine the distance of lines 26 from the reference surface line 29 to a plurality of reference surface points 25 on the reference surface 20 where surface-to-reference surface lines 16 extending from a plurality of surface points 15 on the surface 10 are perpendicular to the reference surface 20 and intersect the reference surface 20. In paragraph [0053]-BENDALL discloses equation (33) can be used to determine the distance of a line between any two points on the reference surface 20 whose coordinates (x, y, z) are known (e.g., the distance (d.sub.16) of surface-to-reference surface line 16 from a surface point 15 to a reference surface point 25, the distance (d.sub.23) of the line 23 from a reference surface point intersection point 27 to the first reference surface point 21, etc.)); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of BENDALL of having wherein the determining position information comprises: identifying at least four reference feature points equally spaced around a center of the reference contour at the mouth portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the reference contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite reference feature points.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining position information comprises: identifying at least four reference feature points equally spaced around a center of the reference contour at the mouth portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the reference contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite reference feature points.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and BENDALL concern systems and methods for image analysis and protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while BENDALL provides systems and methods that improve the accuracy of measuring the dimensions of a defect. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and BENDALL et al. (US 20110210961 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0002-0003].
SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL fail to explicitly teach identifying at least four inspection feature points equally spaced around a center of the inspection contour at the bottom portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the inspection contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite inspection feature points.
However, BENDALL (2016) explicitly teaches identifying at least four inspection feature points equally spaced around a center of the inspection contour at the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 12. Paragraph [0075]-BENDALL discloses FIG. 12 is an image 800 obtained by the video inspection device 100 of the object surface 210 of a viewed object 202 having an anomaly 204 (wherein the anomaly 204 may be a dent, protrusion, surface features (e.g., welds), clearances between surfaces (e.g., tip to shroud clearances) or other types of irregularities, such as cracks, corrosion pitting, coating loss, surface deposits, etc.). Once the image 800 is obtained, and the anomaly 204 is identified, the image 800 can be used to determine the dimensions of the anomaly 804 (e.g., height or depth, length, width, area, volume, point to line, profile slice, etc.). In paragraph [0080]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 (e.g., the CPU 150) can determine a reference surface 850 (wherein the reference surface/shape may be flat, curved, or in the form of other shapes (e.g. circle, square, rectangle, triangle, etc.) that is on, enclosing and/or proximate to the anomaly and may be formed with four or more reference surface points or segments. Please also see Fig. 1, 4 and 7-10 and read paragraph [0047-0048 and 0079-0087]);
determining a position of the center of the inspection contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite inspection feature points (Fig. 12. Paragraph [0087]-BENDALL discloses once the first surface contour line 891 and the offset (second) surface contour line 892 are determined, the video inspection device 100 can identify pairs of corresponding points, one point on or proximate each of the surface contour lines 891, 892 (e.g., first profile slice plane endpoint 841 and second profile slice plane endpoint 842) and then determine a profile slice plane 843 and profile surface contour line 844 between each pair of endpoints 841, 842. In paragraph [0088]-BENDALL discloses the video inspection device 100 (e.g., the CPU 150) determines profile slices for a plurality of pairs of corresponding points on each of the surface contour lines 891, 892 and identifies the profile slice having the point of interest 845, i.e., the surface point having the greatest distance from the profile slice reference surface 850 (e.g., the deepest point in a depression or the highest point on a protrusion. Please also see Fig. 1, 4 and 7-10 and read paragraph [0081-0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of BENDALL of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of BENDALL (2016) of having identifying at least four inspection feature points equally spaced around a center of the inspection contour at the bottom portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the inspection contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite inspection feature points.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having identifying at least four inspection feature points equally spaced around a center of the inspection contour at the bottom portion of the bulge; determining a position of the center of the inspection contour by calculating an intersection of at least two line segments formed by connecting opposite inspection feature points.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and BENDALL (2016) concern systems and methods for image analysis and protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while BENDALL (2016) provides systems and methods that improve the accuracy of measuring the dimensions of a defect. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and BENDALL et al. (US 20160155015 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0051].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
NAKAMURA et al. (US 20160161250 A1)- The purpose of the present invention is to more quickly and easily measure the shape of an object to be measured. A shape measurement device includes: a probe including a projection optical system that projects a line-shaped pattern onto a surface of the object to be measured or projects a spot pattern while scanning in at least a linear scanning range, and an image capturing device that detects an image of the pattern projected onto the object to be measured; a movement mechanism that rotates the object to be measured and the probe relative to each other so that the object to be measured rotates relative to the probe around a rotation axis and moves at least one of the probe and the object to be measured relatively in a direction that intersects with a rotation direction in which the object to be measured rotates; a measurement region setting unit that sets a measurement region of the object to be measured; and an actual measurement region setting unit that sets an actual measurement region including an actual measurement start position and an actual measurement end position on the basis of the measurement region set by the measurement region setting unit. The actual measurement region setting unit sets whichever of the actual measurement start position and the actual measurement end position is closer to a rotation axis center to be closer to the rotation axis than the measurement region, or sets whichever of the actual measurement start position and the actual measurement end position is located further outward in the radial direction to be further from the rotation axis than the measurement range.............................. Please see Fig. 22-25. Abstract
Sreenivasan et al. (US 20090166933 A1)- A sub-master template is patterned to provide at least double the density of features of a master template. The sub-master template and master template may employ the use of alignment marks during the patterning process.......................... Please see Fig. 1-2 and Col 4, Lines 14-28. Abstract.
SASAKI et al. (US 20200258290 A1)- In an image generation apparatus, a virtual space generation section generates a virtual space in which an object and a virtual camera are arranged in accordance with input information acquired by an input information acquisition section. An intermediate image generation section draws the virtual space by a past technique. A curved surface generation section of a display image generation section generates, for each polygon of an object, a curved surface corresponding to the polygon. A pixel displacement acquisition section acquires a correspondence in pixel position between an image drawn with a planar polygon and a curved surface image. A drawing section determines color values of the pixels of the display image in accordance with the correspondence by referring to an original image. An output section outputs data of the display image generated as described above to a display apparatus............................. Please see Fig. 16-17 and paragraph [0081-0085]. Abstract
Bishara et al. (US 20220163898 A1)- One or more images of a device feature are acquired using an imaging tool. A geometrical shape is defined encompassing the relevant pixels of each image, where the geometrical shape is represented in terms of one or more parameters. A cost function is defined whose variables comprise the one or more parameters of the geometrical shape. For each image, numerical optimization is applied to obtain optimal values of the one or more parameters for which the cost function is minimized. The optimal values of the one or more parameters are reported as metrology data pertaining to the device feature........................... Please see Fig. 2-3 and Para. [0035-0040]. Abstract
Umegaki et al. (US 20150106056 A1)- A surface shape measuring method includes: acquiring displacement data on an object surface facing an optical displacement meter by scanning the object surface with the optical displacement meter that applies a light beam on the object surface and performs measurement; detecting an approximate range on the object surface including a groove formed on the object surface by searching the displacement data; calculating a groove start point and a groove terminating point of the groove included in the approximate range; calculating a smallest value of the displacement data in a restricted range from a center position between the groove start point and the groove terminating point to a width defined at a predetermined ratio with respect to the groove width; and calculating a difference between the smallest value of the calculated displacement data and the height of the object surface as the depth of the groove formed on the object surface........................... Please see Fig. 2 and 7. Abstract.
JUPPE et al. (US 20230410340 A1)- A device determines a depth value of a 3D irregular surface of an object. The device being at a first viewpoint, 3D position coordinates for the device are initialized, and an imaging system captures a first image comprising at least a portion of the surface. First 3D position coordinates are determined for a first image point. Highest and lowest points of the surface are initialized 5 at the first image point. An inertial sensing unit detects a movement of the device to a current viewpoint. Current position coordinates for the device are determined. A current image comprising another portion of the surface is captured. Current position coordinates are determined for a current image point. The highest or lowest may be updated using the current position coordinates for the current image point. The depth value is updated based on a 0 calculated distance between the highest and lowest points............................ Please see Fig. 4-9. Abstract
SHINOTSUKA et al. (US 20180351122 A1)- Provided is an optical element substrate with which it is possible to increase the efficiency of use of light energy. An uneven structure on one substrate surface for an optical element is provided with a plurality of projections. The contour shape of the projections has an arc shape in plan view facing the one surface. The contour shape is formed by a first arc section and second arc section having different center points. The first arc section and second arc section bulge in mutually opposite direction.......................... Please see Fig. 1 and 6. Abstract.
Fujii et al. (US 7406191 B2)- After a CAD data and a parts library are combined to produce an inspection data, the set data for the inspection window is automatically corrected using the image of a bare board for a board to be inspected. In this correcting process, an inspection window based on the aforementioned inspection data is set on a bare board image, and then an image in the inspection window W4 making up a reference for setting other windows is binarized, and lands 35 on this binary image are detected. Further, on the basis of the detection result, the set position and size of land windows W1 for solder inspection are corrected, after which the set positions of other inspection windows W2 to W4 are corrected........................ Please see Fig. 1-8 Abstract.
Takahashi et al. (US 6555836 B1)- A method of inspecting bumps provided on a surface of an object to be inspected includes the steps of: (a) irradiating a first irradiation beam on said object in an oblique direction and (b) imaging a first reflected beam from said object so as to obtain a first reflection image including a first reflection region and a height data of said bump corresponding to said first regular reflection region produced by a part of the first reflected beam reflected near an apex of the bump. The method further includes the steps of (c) shifting a position of said first regular reflection region in said first reflection image in accordance with a value derived from said height data and said predetermined angle, (d) extracting said first regular reflection region within a predetermined region from said first reflection image after said step c), and (e) detecting a height of said bump based on said height data corresponding to the extracted first regular reflection region. Also disclosed is an apparatus for performing the disclosed method........................ Please see Fig. 3-10. Abstract
BOEGLI et al. (US 20210154964 A1)- A method of embossing individually light reflecting areas on a foil material, the method comprising feeding a foil material into a roller nip between a pair of rollers, wherein the pair of rollers comprises a motor roller and a counter roller, providing each of the motor roller and counter roller at least in a determined perimeter with a plurality of positive and negative projections on a checkered layout whereby positive and negative projections alternate in axial and radial directions. The method further comprises that the plurality of positive and negative projections of the counter roller seamlessly and gaplessly join with those corresponding negative and positive projections of the motor roller at the intended embossing of the foil material, hence enabling a homogeneously jointed embossed polyhedron shape in the foil, and shaping each positive and negative projection on the motor roller as an n-cornered polyhedron with a specific surface intended to produce on the embossed foil surface a corresponding individually light reflecting area, for each positive projection its specific surface corresponding to its top side, and for each negative projection its specific surface corresponding to its bottom side.......................... Please see Fig. 8-11. Abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Aaron Bonansinga whose telephone number is (703) 756-5380 The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET.
supervisor, Chineyere Wills-Burns can be reached by phone at (571) 272-9752. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/AARON TIMOTHY BONANSINGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2673 /CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673