DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2023 and 01/08/2025 have been considered by the examiner and placed in applicant file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Claim 13 recites limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claims 13; recites the limitation, “image obtaining module, configured to…” [Line 4].
Claims 13; recites the limitation, “image identification module, configured to…” [Line 6].
Claim 13; recites the limitation, “the inspection result determining module, configured to…” [Line 12].
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 13:
(i) “the image obtaining module” (Fig. 9, #910. Paragraph [0136-0138]-the image identification module is described as corresponding to steps S401 in Figure 4, which describes obtaining an image. Fig. 9 illustrates a structural diagram of a connecting piece quality inspection apparatus 900. The identification module 910 is illustrated as a black box within an overarching black box of the inspection apparatus 900. Additionally, the connecting piece itself is described as potentially being part of a battery cell in a vehicle, a ship, or an aircraft. The connecting piece quality inspection methods are also described as being implemented by an electronic device and computer readable storage medium in the fifth and sixth embodiments (thus the image obtaining module 910 has sufficient structure, and is a camera).
(ii) “the image identification module” (Fig. 9, #920. Paragraph [0137-0138]-the image identification module is described as corresponding to steps S402 in Figure 4, which describes determining the position information of the a reference contour and inspection contour of a bulge. Fig. 9 illustrates a structural diagram of a connecting piece quality inspection apparatus 900. The identification module 920 is illustrated as a black box within an overarching black box of the inspection apparatus 900. Additionally, the connecting piece itself is described as potentially being part of a battery cell in a vehicle, a ship, or an aircraft. The connecting piece quality inspection methods are also described as being implemented by an electronic device and computer readable storage medium in the fifth and sixth embodiments (thus the image identification module 920 has sufficient structure, and it is a processor that determines the position information of a reference contour and inspection contour of a bulge).
(iii) “the inspection result determining module” (Fig. 9, #930. Paragraph [0137-0138]-
the inspection result determining module 930 is described as corresponding to steps S403 in Figure 4, which describes determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference and inspection contours. Fig. 9 illustrates a structural diagram of a connecting piece quality inspection apparatus 900. The identification module 920 is illustrated as a black box within an overarching black box of the inspection apparatus 900. Additionally, the connecting piece itself is described as potentially being part of a battery cell in a vehicle, a ship, or an aircraft. The connecting piece quality inspection methods are also described as being implemented by an electronic device and computer readable storage medium in the fifth and sixth embodiments (thus the image inspection result determining module 930 has sufficient structure, and it is a processor that determines the quality of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference and inspection contours).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 20 is drawn to at least one computer readable medium encoded with instructions which, when executed, cause the system to perform operations, where the at least one computer readable media encoded with instructions which, when executed, cause the system to perform operations as defined in the specification in paragraph [0153]-“ An embodiment of a sixth aspect of this application provides an embodiment of the sixth aspect of this application provides a computer readable storage medium storing a computer program. When the computer program is executed by a processor, the quality inspection method according to the foregoing embodiments or the production method according to the foregoing embodiments is implemented.” Thus defined to encompass both transitory and non-transitory, can be a signal or carrier wave etc; therefore, fail(s) to fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. It has been understood by the office that the computer readable storage medium is the same as "computer program medium" and "computer usable medium" and that these are forms of memory which are statutory (e.g., ROM, RAM, hard drive, a hard disk, an integrated circuit assembly, magnetic tape, cartridge, optical disk, a CD or DVD, or other fixed or removable medium) that is read by, written to or accessed by computer readable storage medium. As these examples illustrate, the computer readable storage medium can include stored therein computer software or data, and also transitory propagating signals/per se, and thus, includes both transitory, and non-statutory subject matter. Therefore claims 20 do not fit within the recognized categories of statutory subject matter. See MPEP 2106.
The office respectfully recommends the applicant to amend claim 20 limitation “A computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the quality inspection method according to claim 1.” to reflect the limitation “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, the quality inspection method according to claim 1.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 13, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA.
Regarding claim 1, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece quality inspection method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3), wherein the connecting piece comprises a piece body and a bulge (Fig. 2, #171 called a bump. Paragraph [0052]) protruding from a surface of the piece body (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. Further in paragraph [0066]-SASAZAWA discloses the height H, bottom diameter D and position 212 of the bump, which are required as measurement results of the bump shape measuring apparatus because the bump 171 has a shape of pseudo cone, can be obtained. It can be confirmed that conductive connection between the lower printed board 170 and the upper printed board 173 can be surely conducted by the bump 171 and adjacent bumps are not short-circuited. When the height H, bottom diameter (diameter of the base) D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are obtained, the quality of the bump having no defective conductivity can be determined. The height H and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the upper printed board 173. The bottom diameter D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the lower printed board 170), and the method comprises:
obtaining an inspection image (Fig. 3, #204 called image data. Paragraph [0055]) of the connecting piece, wherein the inspection image covers the bulge (Fig. 2, #171 called a bump. Paragraph [0052]. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses the main control unit 13 sets the image detection area 201 so as to effectively detect an area where the bumps 171 to be measured are arranged based on the bump arrangement data of the printed board inputted using the input unit 21. In paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump);
determining, in the inspection image (Fig. 3, #204 called image data. Paragraph [0055]), position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base), and the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump); and
determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13).
Regarding claim 9, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the mouth portion of the bulge comprises a first reference feature, and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises a second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3 (wherein an outline of the bulge is obtained, a plurality of feature points and projected lines are used to approximate the top, bottom and sides of the bulge, and the base and tip of the bulge represent a mouth portion and a bottom portion, respectively. Please also read paragraph [0055, 0064-0065 and 0087-0088]); and
the determining, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses a main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump. The edge (outline) coordinate data of the bump is obtained) comprises:
obtaining, from the inspection image, first reference position information of the first reference feature and second reference position information of the second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge);
determining the position information of the reference contour of the bulge based on the first reference position information of the first reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses when a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated (wherein the bulge’s bottom and central axial line are determined using the outline and feature points approximating the base); and
determining the position information of the inspection contour of the bulge based on the second reference position information of the second reference feature (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump. In paragraph [0067]-SASAZAWA discloses the geometric shape of the bump conceivably includes the shape of the tip (pseudo cone angle) and the volume. The shape of the tip (pseudo cone angle) can be determined from the calculated quadratic approximating curve or elliptic approximating curve 208. The volume can be determined based on the bottom diameter, height and tip shape (pseudo cone angle) of the bump).
Regarding claim 13, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece quality inspection apparatus (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3), wherein the connecting piece comprises a piece body and a bulge (Fig. 2, #171 called a bump. Paragraph [0052]) protruding from a surface of the piece body (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. Further in paragraph [0066]-SASAZAWA discloses the height H, bottom diameter D and position 212 of the bump, which are required as measurement results of the bump shape measuring apparatus because the bump 171 has a shape of pseudo cone, can be obtained. It can be confirmed that conductive connection between the lower printed board 170 and the upper printed board 173 can be surely conducted by the bump 171 and adjacent bumps are not short-circuited. When the height H, bottom diameter (diameter of the base) D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are obtained, the quality of the bump having no defective conductivity can be determined. The height H and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the upper printed board 173. The bottom diameter D and bottom (base) position 212 of the bump are required to ensure conductive connection with the pad on the lower printed board 170), and the apparatus comprises:
an image obtaining module, configured to obtain an inspection image (Fig. 3, #204 called image data. Paragraph [0055]) of the connecting piece, wherein the inspection image covers the bulge (Fig. 2, #171 called a bump. Paragraph [0052]. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses the main control unit 13 sets the image detection area 201 so as to effectively detect an area where the bumps 171 to be measured are arranged based on the bump arrangement data of the printed board inputted using the input unit 21. In paragraph [0062]-SASAZAWA discloses from the image signal 202 stored in the image memory 92, the cut out circuit 93 extracts (cuts out) image data Pk (i, j) 204 on only one bump by referring to bump position CAD data (bump arrangement data) 203 obtained from the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump);
an image identification module, configured to determine, in the inspection image, position information of a reference contour of the bulge and position information of an inspection contour of the bulge, wherein the reference contour is a contour of a mouth portion of the bulge co-planar with the piece body of the connecting piece, and the inspection contour is a contour of a bottom portion of the bulge away from the piece body of the connecting piece (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base); and
an inspection result determining module, configured to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13).
Regarding claim 19, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches an electronic device (Fig. 2, called a bump shape measuring unit. Paragraph [0020]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of a bump shape measuring apparatus. Please also see Fig. 14), comprising at least one processor (Fig. 2, #9 called a main image processing unit and a main control unit, respectively. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an A/D conversion unit 91, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94); and
a memory (Fig. 2, #92, #11, and #23, called an image memory unit, image data storage part and a storage device, respectively. Paragraph [0055, 0074 and 0076]) communicatively connected with the at least one processor (Fig. 2, #94 called a main processing unit. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an image memory 92, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94. Please also read paragraph [0087-0088]);
wherein the memory stores instructions capable of being executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image memory 92 stores therein the gray value (gradation value) image signal F(x,y) 202 subjected to the A/D-conversion. The cut out circuit 93 cuts out the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] (images only in the region containing the bumps, which are selected from the detection images) 204 for each bump from the gray value image signal F(x, y) 202 stored in the image memory 92, based on the array design data of the bumps. In the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. Please also read paragraph [0056, and 0061-0068]), and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor so that the at least one processor is capable of implementing the quality inspection method according to claim 1 (Please see the rejection for claim 1 further above).
Regarding claim 20, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches computer readable storage medium storing a computer program (Fig. 2, called a bump shape measuring unit. Paragraph [0020]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of a bump shape measuring apparatus. Please also see Fig. 14), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses the image processing unit 9 includes an A/D conversion unit 91, an image memory 92, a cut-out circuit 93 and a main image processing unit 94. Image memory 92 stores therein the gray value (gradation value) image signal F(x,y) 202 subjected to the A/D-conversion. The cut out circuit 93 cuts out the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] (images only in the region containing the bumps, which are selected from the detection images) 204 for each bump from the gray value image signal F(x, y) 202 stored in the image memory 92, based on the array design data of the bumps. In the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13), the quality inspection method according to claim 1 (Please see the rejection for claim 1 further above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO.
Regarding claim 2, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches the method according to claim 1, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the determining a quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. Please also read paragraph [0064, 0066, 0071]) comprises:
determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. the main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position). In paragraph [0071]-SASAZAWA discloses the data are displayed on the display unit 20 as a histogram 140 where in the whole printed board or at every specified region, the amount of displacement from the design values of the height, bottom diameter and position of the bump is set on the horizontal axis and the frequency (number) is set on the vertical axis).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined), information of a projection of the inspection contour with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses when a distance between the highest point of the curve 208 and the lowest point of the curve 209 is calculated, a height H of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated. Further in paragraph [0088]-SASAZAWA discloses the detection camera 15 detects the position and shape of the through-hole 180 in the form of an image signal composed of a dark section indicating a circular hole part and a bright section indicating a circumference thereof. The main image processing unit 94 projects an image signal in the region near the hole (it may be cut out for each through-hole) in X and Y axis directions (the image element is integrated). Using a distance between both of the edges in the Y axis direction, a diameter in the Y axis direction and a central position thereof are each determined, whereby a positional coordinate in the Y axis direction can be determined. Using a distance between both of the edges in the X axis direction, a diameter in the X axis direction and a central position thereof are each determined, whereby a positional coordinate in the X axis direction can be determined); and
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
However, ITO explicitly teach determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 (corresponding to a later mentioned image central axial line S.sub.10) based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. Please also see Fig. 6 and 9, and read [0049-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having determining, based on the position information of the reference contour and the position information of the inspection contour, displacement information of a projection of the inspection contour in an axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 3, SASAZAWA in view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 2, SASAZAWA further teaches the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0013]-SASAZAWA discloses an image processing unit converts the image signals of the bumps detected by the detection optical system to obtain digital image signals of the bumps, calculates an outline of at least a tip and a base of each of the bumps based on the image signals of at least the tip and base of each of the bumps obtained based on the digital image signals of the bumps, calculates geometric characteristics including at least a position and height of each of the bumps are calculated based on the outline of at least the tip and base of each of the bumps, and determines quality of each of the bumps based on the calculated geometric characteristics of the bumps; and a main control unit which outputs information on the quality of each of the bumps determined by the image processing unit) comprises:
determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0054]-SASAZAWA discloses the calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13. In paragraph [0068]-SASAZAWA discloses the display unit 20 or the output unit 22 of the bump shape measurement results performed by the main control unit 13 is described. The data are displayed on a screen of the display unit 20 as a distribution 120 of the height, the bottom diameter, the bottom position, and the like which are geometric characteristics of each bump on the printed board. The distribution 120 is obtained by varying the color or shading or shape of each bump 121 in accordance with the amount of displacement from the design value. The main control unit 13 can classify the bumps by defective category (the height, the bottom diameter and the bottom position). Please also read paragraph [0066]).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein the displacement information (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses in the photographic image, the reference points are decided as FIG. 6, and based on these reference points, the ordering points of the detecting line (S130). The ordering points of the respective detecting lines are positioned by using the relative coordinate data stored as data 125a of the ordering point of the detecting line. Based on the positioned ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the detecting lines, the detecting line 102' is set between points E and E' (S140). It is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected (wherein the line detecting process is based on projected central axial lines and used to set an allowable range for detecting protuberant matters, and central axial lines are projected for each individual stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of reference/work members and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). In paragraph [0051]-ITO discloses FIGS. 8A-8E shows a plurality of rotation displacing conditions of the connected work member 10. All angle ranges to be photographed are 180.degree., and the connected work member 10 is rotated per 45.degree. around the central axial line S.sub.2' (FIG. 7). Further in paragraph [0052]-ITO discloses the height (the allowable height H.sub.1) allowing the protrudent adhered matters S from the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work to exist is in advance decided. In case L is the distance between the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work and the detecting line 102, the relation between the allowable height H.sub.1 and the distance L may be decided. If L/H.sub.1 is less than 0.3, an abnormal condition is possibly exceedingly detected) comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. As shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses the relative positional data specifically stores relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines (wherein the allowable ranges for detecting protuberant matters is based on a displacement between outlines of reference/work members, the outlines are formed from projected central axial lines, and the central axial lines and positional relationships are detected and stored on for each stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of an individual reference/work member, each reference/work member, and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). Please also read paragraph [0049-0051]).
Figure 13, illustrates projected central axial lines at the inspection contours and reference contours that may be formed for each reference/work member and each stepwise protruding metallic pieces.
Figure 9, illustrates protrudent matters on the sides of stepwise (or protruding) members, which are detected, in part, using the same line detecting process and projected central axial lines as the stepwise members in Figure 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the displacement information comprises a distance of displacement of a projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to a projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 4, SASAZAWA in view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 3, SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein the determining (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0030]-ITO discloses the method of detecting the protrudent adhered matters comprises the photographic process and the confirmation process, and in the photographic process, a plurality of metallic materials are connected to build the connected work member, and the connected work member is taken a photograph as an object for detecting adhered matters thereon via a photographing instrument, while in the confirmation process, on the photographic image of the connected work member made by the photographic process, it is confirmed whether protrudent adhered matters exist on the outside of the connected work member. FIGS. 1A-1B are the schematic views of connection of the metallic materials, and in this example, the two metallic material 10a, 10b are welded (for example, a laser welding, a resistance welding or electronic beam welding) to form the connected work member 10. The method according to the invention detects whether the protrudent adhered matters (so-called spatters) S appear on the surface of the connected work member 10), based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses it is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected. Reversely, in case of existing on the detecting line 102', it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected (S150). When the image treatment (S150) (wherein the allowable ranges for detecting protuberant matters is based on a displacement between outlines of reference/work members, the outlines are formed from projected central axial lines and the allowable ranges, central axial lines and positional relationships are detected and stored for each reference/work member, each individual stepwise (or protruding) metallic pieces of reference/work members and for each smaller protuberant matters appearing on the sides of the work members). Please also read paragraph [0036-0037 and 0049-0051]) comprises:
determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. If providing the central axial line S.sub.10 of the first metallic material 100a and setting the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member, even if the first metallic material 100a is more or less offset with respect to the central axial line S.sub.1 owing to a welding, the reference point per member is settled to the first metallic material 100a. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine whether the displacement is greater than a threshold for the central axial lines of either the individual metallic parts, reference/work members, or rotation angles and protuberant matters, which are each based on a projection of two central axial lines. This would improve accuracy and the ability to fine tune the detection process. Please also read paragraph [0049-0052])
wherein the preset displacement value is determined based on a material and/or size of the connecting piece (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0051]-ITO discloses the rotating angle intervals may be arbitrarily decided in response to diameter sizes of the objective connected work members, allowable heights (later mentioned allowable heights H.sub.1) of the protrudent adhered matters, or detecting precision, and if the angle interval is too large, possibility of missing detection of the protrudent adhered matters S increases, but the treatment can be carried out at high speed. If making the interval small, the measuring frequency is increased, but the detection is done at high precision with less missing detection. In paragraph [0053]-ITO discloses in case H.sub.1 is the allowable height as mentioned above, and R is the diameter to be detected in the connected work member, the rotating angle 0 to be decided may be adjusted. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set the threshold displacement value according to the size of the connecting member given the rotating interval is based on the size of a connecting piece and represents a displacement from the central axial lines of the connecting piece and protuberant matters. This would improve accuracy and the ability to fine tune the detection process);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining, based on the distance of displacement, whether displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the distance of displacement being greater than a preset displacement value, that the displacement of the bulge of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 10, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches the method according to claim 9, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the first reference feature comprises at least one reference feature point (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge); and
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
However, ITO explicitly teaches the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses as shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 (corresponding to a later mentioned image central axial line S.sub.10) based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. Please also see Fig. 6 and 9, and read [0048-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the second reference feature comprises at least one inspection feature point, wherein a position of the at least one inspection feature point is in one-to-one correspondence with a position of the at least one reference feature point.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Regarding claim 11, SASAZAWA in view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 10, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the at least one reference feature point comprises a plurality of first patterns arranged along a circumference of the reference contour, and the plurality of first patterns are used to indicate the reference contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge); and
the at least one inspection feature point comprises a plurality of second patterns arranged along a circumference of the inspection contour, and the plurality of second patterns are used to indicate the inspection contour of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively (wherein the reference position and feature information includes the bulge outline and the projected points along the bottom base and tip of the bulge).
Regarding claim 12, SASAZAWA in view of ITO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 10, SASAZAWA further teaches wherein the at least one reference feature point and/or the at least one inspection feature point is provided on a surface of the bulge close to the piece body (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0063]-SASAZAWA discloses the main image processing unit 94 applies an image processing algorithm to the extracted image data Pk(i,j) 204 on only one bump. The image detection camera 7 takes an image at a tilt angle .beta. of about 45.degree. in the moving direction. The image data Pk(i,j) 204 comprising a bright section indicating the bump and a dark section indicating the background (pads and a surface of the printed board 1), can be obtained from one bump. Therefore, when the image data Pk(i, j) are binarized by a specified threshold, the edge (outline) coordinate data of the bump is obtained. In paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base. Please also read paragraph [0085-0088]); and
an obtaining direction of the inspection image is parallel to the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0013]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus includes a stage on which a board arranged thereon with a plurality of bumps to be measured is placed and traveled (moved). In paragraph [0052]-SASAZAWA discloses a printed board (board) 1 formed with thereon a plurality of bumps 171 to be measured is absorbed and mounted to a stage 2 movable to three directions of X, Y and Z. In paragraph [0054]-SASAZAWA discloses the image detection camera 7 is, for example, a CCD linear sensor. It detects an image signal in an image detection area 201 through a stage control unit 12 and a main control unit 13, as described in the enlarged view 220 of FIG. 3, with the image pickup region (image pickup view) 241 of the CCD linear sensor being continuously moved in synchronization with the scanning of the stage 2 indicated by an arrow).
Figure 3, illustrates the scanning view 241 is in the axial direction of the bump and in accordance with the moving direction of the stage 2.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO and in further view of KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), hereinafter referenced as KYONO.
Regarding claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fails to explicitly teach the method according to claim 2, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0044]-KYONO discloses an optical module 1. The protective member includes a stem 10 serving as a base member, a cap member 40, and a transmitting member 41. The stem 10 serving as a base member has a flat-plate shape and supports the main member 20. The cap member 40 has a through-hole 55. The cap member 40 covers the main member 20 and is joined to the stem 10. The cap member 40 has side surfaces 40B and 40C including a region joined to the stem 10 and a top surface 40A connected to the side surfaces 40B and 40C at a region opposite to the region joined to the stem 10. The through-hole 55 is formed in the side surface 40B of the cap member 40. The cap member 40 has a hollow rectangular parallelepiped shape having an opening on the side on which the cap member 40 is joined to the stem 10) based on the displacement information (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40) further comprises:
calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0063]-KYONO discloses the displacement at the central point C is expressed as a height Δd.sub.c of the central point C.sub.A in the state A in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40 on the assumption that the height of the central point Ca in the state B in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero. The displacement at the standard point S1 is expressed as a height Δd.sub.s1 of the standard point S1.sub.A in the state A on the assumption that the height of the standard point S1.sub.B in the state B is zero. In paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative)); and
determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp in the region of the first surface 41A that corresponds a region, on the projection image 100, having a radius of 300 μm from the center of gravity G is, for example, 0.03 μm or more and 0.15 μm or less. A geodesic line having the maximum amount of warp may be defined as the first geodesic line 106. The amount of warp is different between the first geodesic line 106 and the second geodesic line 108. This means that the distortion of the transmitting member 41 is uneven (non-concentric). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.05 μm or more from the viewpoint of improving airtightness (sealing property). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.13 μm or less from the viewpoint of suppressing cracking of the transmitting member 41).
Figure 8, illustrates a process for determining the warp or elongation of a side wall based on the displacement of projected axial lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining the quality inspection result of the connecting piece based on the displacement information further comprises: calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge; and determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071]
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), hereinafter referenced as ITO and in further view of KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), hereinafter referenced as KYONO and in further view of NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), hereinafter referenced as NAKAZATO.
Regarding claim 6, SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fail to explicitly teach wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement and the amount of warp will be described with reference to FIG. 8. The displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40) comprises:
calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the calculating, based on the displacement information, an elongation of a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion of the bulge comprises: calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071].
SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO fail to explicitly teach calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0024]-NAKAZATO discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B are explanatory views showing a rib structure portion which is a specific example of a shape portion to be subjected to determination processing. In paragraph [0027]-NAKAZATO discloses it is determined whether or not measurement values of height h, tip width w1, ratio w2/t of bottom width w2 and bottom wall thickness t, and gradient .theta. of a side face of the rib 1 shown in FIG. 1B are in an allowable range specified by standard values in the design stage. Please also read paragraph [0079]).
Figure 8, illustrates a process for determining the warp or elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the piece body and side wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having calculating the elongation of the side wall based on the thickness of the side wall and a thickness of the piece body.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022--0026].
Regarding claim 7, SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO and in further view of NAKAZATO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 6, SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the displacement information comprises the distance of displacement of the projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to the projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge; and the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, and the distance of displacement.
However, ITO explicitly teaches wherein the displacement information comprises the distance of displacement of the projection of the center of the reference contour in the axial direction of the bulge with respect to the projection of the center of the inspection contour in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. As shown in FIG. 13, a straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 based on the plural central points to be determined. The decided straight formula is made a temporary central axial line S.sub.1, and at the same time, crossing points with the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work in the temporary central axial line S.sub.1 are temporary reference points F.sub.1' of the first member. Further in paragraph [0037]-ITO discloses the straight formula for prescribing the temporary central axial line S.sub.10 based on the plural central points to be determined, is demanded by the regression formula based on these plural central points. The central axial line S.sub.10 for the first metallic material 100a in the photographed image is decided as FIG. 13, and a crossing point between the central axial line S.sub.10 and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is finally set as the reference points F.sub.1 of the first member. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses the relative positional data specifically stores relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines. Please also read paragraph [0049-0051]); and
the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0050]-ITO discloses in the photographic image, the reference points are decided as FIG. 6, and based on these reference points, the ordering points of the detecting line (S130). The ordering points of the respective detecting lines are positioned by using the relative coordinate data stored as data 125a of the ordering point of the detecting line. Based on the positioned ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the detecting lines, the detecting line 102' is set between points E and E' (S140). It is confirmed whether the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected exists or not on the set detecting line 102', and in case of not existing, it is judged that the protrudent adhered matters do not exist on the outside of the connected work member 10 as an object to be detected) comprises:
obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall (Fig. 13. Paragraph [0034]-ITO discloses the detecting line 102 based on the reference work member 100 is positioned. At first, the reference work member 100 is previously photographed as one having a normal shape (no existence of the protrudent adhered matters) being the reference of the connected work member 10 by the photographing instrument (practically, photographed in the same manner as photographing the connected work member as later mentioned). Reference points (reference points per members) are set per respective members in the photographed reference work member 100. In paragraph [0044]-ITO discloses a memory is in advance stored with data (relative positional data) for prescribing the relative positions of the ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the respective detecting lines to the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work. The relative positional data may specifically store relative coordinate data determining the coordinate relation between the reference point per member of the reference work member 100 and the ordering points of the respective detecting lines), a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0042]-ITO discloses FIG. 3 shows an example of deciding an ordering point A' of the detecting line based on the decided ordering point A of the detecting line and the symmetrical axis S.sub.10 (that is, the image central axial line S.sub.10), while FIG. 4 shows an example of deciding an ordering point D' of the detecting line based on the ordering point D of the detecting line and the symmetrical axis S.sub.10. FIG. 3 decides the ordering point A' of the detecting line at the symmetrical position concerned with the symmetrical axis (the image central axial line S.sub.10) of the ordering point A of the detecting line. Please also see Fig. 12), a second preset thickness of the piece body (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0036]-ITO discloses the reference point is determined in the reference work member 100. Based on the image of the photographed reference work member 100, a temporary central axial line S.sub.1 of the reference work member 100 in the photographic image (also called briefly as "central axial line S.sub.1" hereafter, corresponding to a later mentioned temporary image central axial line S.sub.1) is determined. Plural positions of prescribed intervals (in FIG. 2, intervals W) of the second metallic material 100b of the reference work member 100, measuring lines (measuring lines P.sub.0-P.sub.0 . . . Pn-Pn) are determined, and regarding directions of the measuring lines as width directions, measurement is made to a width of the second metallic material 100b. Crossing points (crossing points P.sub.0-P.sub.0 . . . crossing points Pn-Pn) between the measuring lines and the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work are fixed, and regarding the crossing points as widths, centers of the widths are determined as central points); and
calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, and the distance of displacement (Fig. 6. Paragraph [0045]-ITO discloses the data of the ordering points A to E and A' to E' of the respective detecting lines prescribed on the reference points (the reference point F.sub.1 of the first member, and the reference points G.sub.1, G.sub.1' of the second members) are stored as the ordering data 125a of the detecting line in the memory 125 of FIG. 10 such that the data are enabled to be read out in the confirmation process. By using the ordering data 125a of the detecting line in the memory 125, if, for example, the reference point F.sub.2 corresponding to the reference point F.sub.1 in the outline L.sub.1 of the reference work is determined in the outline L.sub.2 of the work to be detected, the ordering points A, A' and B, B' can be determined in correspondence to the reference point F.sub.2, and similarly, if the reference points G.sub.2, G.sub.2' corresponding to the reference points G.sub.1, G.sub.1' are ascertained, the ordering points C, C', D, D', E, E' of the detecting lines are fixed on the obtained images correspondingly. Please also read paragraph [0036-0037 and 0049-0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ITO of having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ITO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ITO provides systems and methods that improve the detection of protrudent adhered matters caused by connecting metallic materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ITO et al. (US 20050271263 A1), Abstract.
Although ITO explicitly teaches the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the distance of displacement.
SASAZAWA in view of ITO fail to explicitly teach the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance, and the distance of displacement.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0024]-NAKAZATO discloses FIGS. 1A and 1B are explanatory views showing a rib structure portion which is a specific example of a shape portion to be subjected to determination processing. In paragraph [0027]-NAKAZATO discloses it is determined whether or not measurement values of height h, tip width w1, ratio w2/t of bottom width w2 and bottom wall thickness t, and gradient .theta. of a side face of the rib 1 shown in FIG. 1B are in an allowable range specified by standard values in the design stage); and
calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0079]-NAKAZATO discloses after the shape dimensional values of the rib are calculated in the step of the algorithm described above, the shape inspection apparatus 20 compares the calculated shape dimensional values with standard values and determines the shape dimensional values are in an allowable range specified by standard values. Specifically, it is determined whether or not a result of calculation of the height h exceeds a standard value of the height h, whether or not a result of calculation of the tip width w1 exceeds a standard value of the tip width w1, whether or not the ratio w2/t of the bottom width w2 and the bottom wall thickness t exceeds a standard value of the ratio w2/t).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having the calculating a thickness of the side wall based on the displacement information comprises: obtaining a first preset thickness of the side wall, a preset length of a projection of the side wall in the axial direction of the bulge, a second preset thickness of the piece body, and a preset distance between the bottom portion of the bulge and the piece body in the axial direction of the bulge; and calculating the thickness of the side wall based on the first preset thickness, the preset length, the second preset thickness, the preset distance, and the distance of displacement.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022-0026].
Regarding claim 8, SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO explicitly teaches the method according to claim 5, SASAZAWA in view of ITO fails to explicitly teaches wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
However, KYONO explicitly teaches wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0065]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp is expressed as a difference W between the displacement Δd.sub.c at the central point C and the displacement Δd.sub.S1 at the standard point S1. In paragraph [0074]-KYONO discloses the amount of warp can be determined from the difference in height between the central point C, on the first surface 41A, corresponding to the center of gravity G of the projection image obtained by projecting the transmitting member 41 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis L of the optical module 1 and a point (e.g., standard point S1), on the first surface 41A, corresponding to a point (e.g., reference point R1), on the projection image, 300 μm in radius away from the center of gravity G. When the profile in FIG. 11 and FIG. 12 is concave downward, the amount of warp is positive. When the profile is concave upward, the amount of warp is negative) (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0062]-KYONO discloses the displacement and the amount of warp will be described with reference to FIG. 8. The displacement refers to, on the assumption that the height of one point on the first surface 41A in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is detached from the cap member 40 is zero and the direction toward the outside of the optical module 1 is a positive direction, a height of the one point in an optical axis direction in a state in which the transmitting member 41 is fixed to the cap member 40) comprises:
determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0071]-KYONO discloses the maximum amount of warp in the region of the first surface 41A that corresponds a region, on the projection image 100, having a radius of 300 μm from the center of gravity G is, for example, 0.03 μm or more and 0.15 μm or less. A geodesic line having the maximum amount of warp may be defined as the first geodesic line 106. The amount of warp is different between the first geodesic line 106 and the second geodesic line 108. This means that the distortion of the transmitting member 41 is uneven (non-concentric). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.05 μm or more from the viewpoint of improving airtightness (sealing property). The maximum amount of warp is preferably 0.13 μm or less from the viewpoint of suppressing cracking of the transmitting member 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of KYONO of having wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the determining, based on the elongation, whether quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is acceptable comprises: determining, in response to the elongation being greater than a preset elongation, that quality of the side wall of the connecting piece is unacceptable.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and KYONO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while KYONO provides systems and methods that determines the warp value of a member to improve the sealing or airtightness property. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and KYONO et al. (US 20180010763 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0038 and 0071].
SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO fail to explicitly teach wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
However, NAKAZATO explicitly teaches wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece (Fig. 1B. Paragraph [0079]- NAKAZATO discloses after the shape dimensional values of the rib are calculated in the step of the algorithm described above, the shape inspection apparatus 20 compares the calculated shape dimensional values with standard values and determines the shape dimensional values are in an allowable range specified by standard values. Specifically, it is determined whether or not a result of calculation of the height h exceeds a standard value of the height h, whether or not a result of calculation of the tip width w1 exceeds a standard value of the tip width w1, whether or not the ratio w2/t of the bottom width w2 and the bottom wall thickness t exceeds a standard value of the ratio w2/t, and whether or not the gradient .theta. falls within an allowable range specified by a standard value of the gradient .theta.. When all of the above conditions are satisfied, it is determined that the rib having those shape dimensional values satisfies a shape condition. In addition, it is preferable that the standard values be set beforehand for each item of the height h, the tip width w1, the ratio w2/t, and the gradient .theta., and the standard values are not particularly limited (wherein the allowable range of the side wall’s elongation is based on the thickness of the piece body)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of ITO and in further view of KYONO of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of NAKAZATO of having wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the preset elongation is determined based on the material and/or the size of the connecting piece.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and NAKAZATO concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while NAKAZATO provides systems and methods that improves the ability to measure the dimensions and shape of a protruding object. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and NAKAZATO et al. (US 20090129662 A1), Abstract Paragraph [0006, 0022-0026].
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), hereinafter referenced as SOHMSHETTY.
Regarding claim 14, SASAZAWA explicitly teaches a connecting piece production method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0051]-SASAZAWA discloses FIG. 2 is a configuration diagram showing a first embodiment of the bump shape measuring apparatus. In paragraph [0061]-SASAZAWA discloses a process flow of the bump shape measurement according to the present invention is to be described with reference to FIG. 3. In paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process), comprising:
a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art at the time the invention was made to have use a stamping method to form the bumps either in conjunction with etching or as an alternative to processes such as etching. While stamping may be relatively worse in terms of overall quality, it is generally cheaper, faster and allows greater production volume. Thus, the inspection method/system would improve the quality of stamping while preserving the advantages for cost and volume of production), wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. Please also read paragraph [0066-0067); and
inspecting the connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process).
Although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
However, SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0045]- SOHMSHETTY discloses referring to FIG. 1 a stamping line 10 with a defect monitoring station 12 (also referred to herein as “defect inspection station 12” or simply as “inspection station 12”) is shown. The stamping line includes a coil ‘C’ of a metallic material (e.g., steel) from which metal blanks 100 are formed. The metal blanks 100 may be heated in a furnace ‘F’ to form heated blanks 100a before being stamped (e.g., hot stamped) according to a given stamped blank configuration with a stamping press ‘S’ to form stamped blanks 100b (per the given stamped blank configuration). The metal blanks 100 may be not heated in the furnace F before being stamped into the stamped blank 100b per the given stamped blank configuration. The stamped blanks 100b proceed to the defect inspection station 12 for monitoring or inspection for defects); and
inspecting the stamped connecting piece to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0021]-SOHMSHETTY discloses FIG. 1 shows a stamping line for stamping metal blanks with a stamped blank defect monitoring system according to the teachings of the present disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of SOHMSHETTY of having stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge, wherein the bulge comprises a mouth portion co-planar with the piece body, a bottom portion protruding from the piece body, and a side wall connecting the mouth portion and the bottom portion; and inspecting the stamped connecting piece by using the inspection method according to claim 1 to determine a quality inspection result of the connecting piece.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and SOHMSHETTY concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while SOHMSHETTY provides systems and methods that improves the ability to detect stamped metal defects. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0045-0046].
Regarding claim 15, SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 14, although SASAZAWA teaches wherein a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0043]-SASAZAWA discloses with such a tendency toward higher density and lower costs, a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. a connection method using bumps as shown in FIG. 1 is being applied. A pseudo cone-shaped bump 171 made of silver, copper, etc. and having a height of about 200 .mu.m is formed at a point which is located on a lower printed board 170 formed with wiring thereon and which is connected to an upper printed board through the bump 171. This bump 171 is formed by a method where paste prepared by dissolving silver or copper particles with a solvent is printed using screen printing, etc. and then dried. Otherwise, the bump 171 can also be formed by a method where paste made of silver or copper is coated on the lower printed board 170, dried and then etched using a photo-process) further comprises:
preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]- SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between the highest point of the curve 208 and the lowest point of the curve 209 is calculated, a height H of the bump in the image data can be determined. When a distance between an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and an intersection point of the curve 209 and the curve 210b is calculated, a bottom diameter (a diameter of the base) D of the bump in the image data can be determined. When middle point coordinates between the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210a, and the intersection coordinates of the curve 209 and the curve 210b are determined, bump position coordinates as a center position 212 of the bump base can be calculated. Please also read paragraph [0086-0088]).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge.
However, SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0045]- SOHMSHETTY discloses referring to FIG. 1 a stamping line 10 with a defect monitoring station 12 (also referred to herein as “defect inspection station 12” or simply as “inspection station 12”) is shown. The stamping line includes a coil ‘C’ of a metallic material (e.g., steel) from which metal blanks 100 are formed. The metal blanks 100 may be heated in a furnace ‘F’ to form heated blanks 100a before being stamped (e.g., hot stamped) according to a given stamped blank configuration with a stamping press ‘S’ to form stamped blanks 100b (per the given stamped blank configuration). The metal blanks 100 may be not heated in the furnace F before being stamped into the stamped blank 100b per the given stamped blank configuration. The stamped blanks 100b proceed to the defect inspection station 12 for monitoring or inspection for defects) further comprises:
preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0021]-SOHMSHETTY discloses FIG. 1 shows a stamping line for stamping metal blanks with a stamped blank defect monitoring system according to the teachings of the present disclosure. In paragraph [0058]-SOHMSHETTY as stamped metal blanks move past or within the field of view of the camera(s), the camera(s) acquires images of the split edge defect location(s) on each stamped blank at 220a and analyzes the acquired at least one image for each stamped blank at 230a using a split edge defect algorithm. In paragraph [0063]-SOHMSHETTY discloses the analysis 230a proceeds to 236a where the image obtained at 235a is subjected to an edge and contour detection algorithm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of SOHMSHETTY of having wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the stamping a piece body of a connecting piece to form a bulge further comprises: preparing at least one reference feature point and/or at least one inspection feature point on a surface of the connecting piece at the piece body side, wherein the at least one reference feature point is used to indicate a position of a reference contour of the mouth portion of the bulge, and the at least one inspection feature point is used to indicate a position of an inspection contour of the bottom portion of the bulge.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and SOHMSHETTY concern systems and methods for image analysis for protrusion assessment. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while SOHMSHETTY provides systems and methods that improves the ability to detect stamped metal defects. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0045-0046].
Regarding claim 17, SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 14, SASAZAWA further teaches further comprising:
rejecting a non-conforming connecting piece in response to the quality inspection result (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0055]-SASAZAWA discloses in the main image processing unit 94, geometric shape data such as a height, bottom (base) diameter and central position of the bump are calculated based on the gray value image signals [P1(i, j) to Pn(i, j)] 204 cut out for each bump by the cut-out circuit 93. The calculated geometric shape data of the bump are compared with the criterion to perform the determination of the bump quality. Then, the calculated geometric shape data of the bump or the determination results of the bump quality are outputted to the main control unit 13) being failed (Fig. 5. Paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process. When the main control unit 13 of the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 determines that the bump shape measurement results such as the height and bottom diameter of the bump in a specified region on the printed board 1 are shorter than the design tolerance (criterion), the unit 13 outputs such alarm information that the amount of bump materials supplied to the region is short. Then, the output results 113 are provided to the bump manufacturing apparatus 111 through the output unit 22 such as a network. As a result, the bump manufacturing apparatus 111 can issue an alarm. Thus, the main control unit 13 of the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 performs feedback 113 of the measurement results stored in the storage unit 23 or in the image data storage unit 11 to the manufacturing conditions (environment (temperature, humidity, air pressure), material (kind, concentration of solvent) and apparatus No.) in the bump manufacturing apparatus (e.g., screen printer) 111. By doing so, the manufacturing conditions are controlled in the bump manufacturing apparatus 111, so that bumps can be stably manufactured).
Regarding claim 18, SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches a connecting piece production device, although SASAZAWA further teaches the connecting piece production method (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0077]-SASAZAWA discloses the bump shape measuring apparatus 112 shown in FIG. 5 can monitor a state of the bump manufacturing process. The manufacturing conditions are controlled in the bump manufacturing apparatus 111, so that bumps can be stably manufactured. Please also read paragraph [0043-0044, 0052 and 0055-0057]).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teach adopting the connecting piece production method according to claim 14 in producing connecting pieces.
However, SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches claim 14 (Please see the rejection for claim 14 further above).
Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), hereinafter referenced as SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY et al. (US 20220126345 A1), hereinafter referenced as SOHMSHETTY and in further view of ANDO et al. (US 20120195993 A1), hereinafter referenced as ANDO.
Regarding claim 16, SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY explicitly teaches the connecting piece production method according to claim 15, although SASAZAWA explicitly teaches wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]- SASAZAWA discloses in the image data, for example, a quadratic approximating curve or an elliptic approximating curve 208 is calculated from a set (an outline) 205 of respective edge points at the tip of the bump, and quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively. When a distance between the highest); and
the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-SASAZAWA discloses in the image data quadratic approximating curves or elliptic approximating curves 209, 210a and 210b are calculated from sets (outlines) 206, 207a and 207b of respective edge points at the bottom of the bump base and at the edge of the bump base, respectively).
SASAZAWA fails to explicitly teaches wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
However, ANDO explicitly teaches wherein the at least one feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 10. Paragraph [0037]-ANDO discloses FIG. 1 an alignment mechanism section of an imprint device for implementing an alignment method. In paragraph [0042]-ANDO discloses in the stamper 102, a ring-shaped metal thin film is formed as an alignment mark 201. In paragraph [0049]-ANDO discloses the alignment mark 201 of the stamper 102 is not limited to the ring-shaped one. Shapes such as a straight line, circle, polygon, cross mark, and the like which the light detection mechanism 108 can detect may be employed. Further in paragraph [0051]-ANDO discloses an edge of the stamper may be detected as in the transferred object 101, thereby calculating the center position of the stamper 102 and aligning the relative position between the center of the transferred object 101 and the stamper 102 (wherein alignment is performed in the y and x direction). In paragraph [0046]-ANDO discloses after aligning the relative position between the stamper 102 and the transferred object 101, the movable stage 105 is raised to press the stamper 102 against the transferred object 101 (wherein the stamper produces a concavo-convex shape, which is a series of protrusions/depressions on a surface made of metal, glass, etc.). Please also see Fig. 2A-B); and
the at least one feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon (Fig. 10. Paragraph [0037]-ANDO discloses FIG. 1 an alignment mechanism section of an imprint device for implementing an alignment method. In paragraph [0042]-ANDO discloses in the stamper 102, a ring-shaped metal thin film is formed as an alignment mark 201. In paragraph [0049]-ANDO discloses the alignment mark 201 of the stamper 102 is not limited to the ring-shaped one. Shapes such as a straight line, circle, polygon, cross mark, and the like which the light detection mechanism 108 can detect may be employed. Further in paragraph [0051]-ANDO discloses an edge of the stamper may be detected as in the transferred object 101, thereby calculating the center position of the stamper 102 and aligning the relative position between the center of the transferred object 101 and the stamper 102 (wherein alignment is performed in the y and x direction). In paragraph [0046]-ANDO discloses after aligning the relative position between the stamper 102 and the transferred object 101, the movable stage 105 is raised to press the stamper 102 against the transferred object 101 (wherein the stamper produces a concavo-convex shape, which is a series of protrusions/depressions on a surface made of metal, glass, etc.). Please also see Fig. 2A-B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of SASAZAWA in view of SOHMSHETTY of having a connecting piece quality inspection method, with the teachings of ANDO having wherein the at least one inspection feature is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
Wherein having SASAZAWA’s method having wherein the at least one inspection feature point is at least one first pattern formed by stamping, and the first pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon; and the at least one reference feature point is at least one second pattern formed by stamping, and the second pattern is a pattern of circle, oval, cross, teardrop, or polygon.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method that improves the stamping process and the detection and measurement accuracy of object protrusions, since both SASAZAWA and ANDO concern systems and methods for producing and aligning objects. Wherein SASAZAWA provides systems and methods that improve the measurement accuracy of the shape of the bump, while ANDO provides systems and methods that improves the accuracy of aligning and stamping materials. Please see SASAZAWA et al. (US 20050129304 A1), Abstract and Paragraph [0084] and ANDO et al. (US 20120195993 A1), Abstract and paragraph [0037-0039].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Sreenivasan et al. (US 20090166933 A1)- A sub-master template is patterned to provide at least double the density of features of a master template. The sub-master template and master template may employ the use of alignment marks during the patterning process.......................... Please see Fig. 1-2 and Col 4, Lines 14-28. Abstract
SHINOTSUKA et al. (US 20180351122 A1)- Provided is an optical element substrate with which it is possible to increase the efficiency of use of light energy. An uneven structure on one substrate surface for an optical element is provided with a plurality of projections. The contour shape of the projections has an arc shape in plan view facing the one surface. The contour shape is formed by a first arc section and second arc section having different center points. The first arc section and second arc section bulge in mutually opposite direction.......................... Please see Fig. 1 and 6. Abstract
Fujii et al. (US 7406191 B2)- After a CAD data and a parts library are combined to produce an inspection data, the set data for the inspection window is automatically corrected using the image of a bare board for a board to be inspected. In this correcting process, an inspection window based on the aforementioned inspection data is set on a bare board image, and then an image in the inspection window W4 making up a reference for setting other windows is binarized, and lands 35 on this binary image are detected. Further, on the basis of the detection result, the set position and size of land windows W1 for solder inspection are corrected, after which the set positions of other inspection windows W2 to W4 are corrected........................ Please see Fig. 1-8 Abstract.
Takahashi et al. (US 6555836 B1)- A method of inspecting bumps provided on a surface of an object to be inspected includes the steps of: (a) irradiating a first irradiation beam on said object in an oblique direction and (b) imaging a first reflected beam from said object so as to obtain a first reflection image including a first reflection region and a height data of said bump corresponding to said first regular reflection region produced by a part of the first reflected beam reflected near an apex of the bump. The method further includes the steps of (c) shifting a position of said first regular reflection region in said first reflection image in accordance with a value derived from said height data and said predetermined angle, (d) extracting said first regular reflection region within a predetermined region from said first reflection image after said step c), and (e) detecting a height of said bump based on said height data corresponding to the extracted first regular reflection region. Also disclosed is an apparatus for performing the disclosed method........................ Please see Fig. 3-10. Abstract
HUANG et al. (US 9450183 B2)- The present disclosure relates to an RRAM (resistive random access memory) cell having a top electrode with a geometry configured to improve the electric performance of the RRAM cell, and an associated method of formation. In some embodiments, the RRAM cell has a lower insulating layer with a micro-trench located over a lower metal interconnect layer disposed within a lower inter-level dielectric (ILD) layer that overlies a semiconductor substrate. A bottom electrode is disposed over the micro-trench, and a dielectric data storage layer is located over the bottom electrode. A top electrode is disposed over the dielectric data storage layer. The top electrode has a protrusion that extends outward from a bottom surface of the top electrode at a position overlying the micro-trench. The protrusion generates a region having an enhanced electric field within the dielectric data storage layer, which improves performance of the RRAM cell......................... Please see Fig. 1-2 and Col 4, Lines 14-28. Abstract
BOEGLI et al. (US 20210154964 A1)- A method of embossing individually light reflecting areas on a foil material, the method comprising feeding a foil material into a roller nip between a pair of rollers, wherein the pair of rollers comprises a motor roller and a counter roller, providing each of the motor roller and counter roller at least in a determined perimeter with a plurality of positive and negative projections on a checkered layout whereby positive and negative projections alternate in axial and radial directions. The method further comprises that the plurality of positive and negative projections of the counter roller seamlessly and gaplessly join with those corresponding negative and positive projections of the motor roller at the intended embossing of the foil material, hence enabling a homogeneously jointed embossed polyhedron shape in the foil, and shaping each positive and negative projection on the motor roller as an n-cornered polyhedron with a specific surface intended to produce on the embossed foil surface a corresponding individually light reflecting area, for each positive projection its specific surface corresponding to its top side, and for each negative projection its specific surface corresponding to its bottom side.......................... Please see Fig. 8-11. Abstract.
should be directed to Aaron Bonansinga whose telephone number is (703) 756-5380 The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. ET.
supervisor, Chineyere Wills-Burns can be reached by phone at (571) 272-9752. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/AARON TIMOTHY BONANSINGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673