CTNF 18/522,307 CTNF 87887 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant's election without traverse of Species C of Group I directed to Fig. 3 (claims 1-6, 15-20 and 9) in the reply filed on February 29th, 2012 is acknowledged. However, the Examiner noticed on a typo on the restriction such that Group should include claim 7 instead of claim 9. Therefore, claim 1-6, 15-20 and 7 will be examined and claim 9 will be withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the limitation “the quantum dot substrate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 7, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by JUNG et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0091324 A1), hereinafter as JUNG . Regarding claim 1 , JUNG discloses a quantum dot substrate in Fig. 12, comprising: a substrate (BS substrate) (see [0068]); a dam (layer PDL), located on the substrate and enclosed to form grooves (openings OH between layer PDL) (see [0160]); a first electrode (first electrode EL1), located on the substrate and in the grooves (see [0070]); a second electrode (second electrode EL2), located on the dam (see [0070]); and a quantum dot layer (emission layer EML), located on the first electrode and in the grooves (see [0070-0071] and [0080]). Regarding claim 2 , JUNG discloses the quantum dot substrate according to claim 1, wherein the grooves comprise first-type grooves, the first-type grooves comprise first sub-grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-B), and the quantum dot layer comprises a first quantum dot sub-layer (EML-B) located on the first electrode in the first sub-grooves (see Figs. 11-12, [0143] and [0146]). Regarding claim 3 , JUNG discloses the quantum dot substrate according to claim 2, wherein the grooves comprise first-type grooves, wherein the first-type grooves further comprise second sub-grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-R) adjacent to the first sub-grooves in a first direction (second direction DR2), and the quantum dot layer comprises a second quantum dot sub-layer (EML-R) located on the first electrode in the second sub-grooves (see Figs. 11-12, [0143]); a light-emitting color of the first quantum dot sub-layer (blue light) is different from a light-emitting color of the second quantum dot sub-layer (green light), and the first direction is parallel to an extension direction of one side edge of the quantum dot substrate (see Figs. 11-12 and [0150-0151]). Regarding claim 4 , JUNG discloses the quantum dot substrate according to claim 3, wherein the grooves further comprise second-type grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-G) alternately arranged with the first-type grooves in the first direction (in second direction DR2) (see Figs. 11-12 and [0143]). Regarding claim 5 , JUNG discloses the quantum dot substrate according to claim 4, further comprising: a barrier layer (sealing layer TFE), located on the second electrode and comprising barrier parts (portions of TFE directly above layer PDL) located on the second electrode between the first-type grooves and the second-type grooves (in the top view) (see Figs. 11-12 and [0145]). Regarding claim 7 , JUNG discloses a method of manufacturing a quantum dot substrate in Fig. 12, comprising: forming a dam (layer PDL) on a substrate (BS substrate) (see [0068]) enclosed to form grooves (openings OH between layer PDL) (see [0068], [0160]); forming a first electrode (first electrode EL1), located on the substrate and in the grooves (see [0070]); forming a second electrode (second electrode EL2), located on the dam (see [0070]); and forming a quantum dot layer (emission layer EML), located on the first electrode and in the grooves (see [0070-0071] and [0080]). Regarding claim 15 , JUNG discloses a display panel comprising a quantum dot substrate in Fig. 12, wherein the quantum dot substrate comprises: a substrate (BS substrate) (see [0068] and [0172-0173]); a dam (layer PDL), located on the substrate and enclosed to form grooves (openings OH between layer PDL) (see [0160]); a first electrode (first electrode EL1), located on the substrate and in the grooves (see [0070]); a second electrode (second electrode EL2), located on the dam (see [0070]); and a quantum dot layer (emission layer EML), located on the first electrode and in the grooves (see [0070-0071] and [0080]). Regarding claim 16 , JUNG discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein the grooves comprise first-type grooves, the first-type grooves comprise first sub-grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-B), and the quantum dot layer comprises a first quantum dot sub-layer (EML-B) located on the first electrode in the first sub-grooves (see Figs. 11-12, [0143] and [0146]). Regarding claim 17 , JUNG the display panel according to claim 16, wherein the grooves comprise first-type grooves, wherein the first-type grooves further comprise second sub-grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-R) adjacent to the first sub-grooves in a first direction (second direction DR2), and the quantum dot layer comprises a second quantum dot sub-layer (EML-R) located on the first electrode in the second sub-grooves (see Figs. 11-12, [0143]); a light-emitting color of the first quantum dot sub-layer (blue light) is different from a light-emitting color of the second quantum dot sub-layer (green light), and the first direction is parallel to an extension direction of one side edge of the quantum dot substrate (see Figs. 11-12 and [0150-0151]). Regarding claim 18 , JUNG discloses the display panel according to claim 17, wherein the grooves further comprise second-type grooves (plurality of openings OH for PXA-G) alternately arranged with the first-type grooves in the first direction (in second direction DR2) (see Figs. 11-12 and [0143]). Regarding claim 19 , JUNG discloses the display panel according to claim 18, further comprising: a barrier layer (sealing layer TFE), located on the second electrode and comprising barrier parts (portions of TFE directly above layer PDL) located on the second electrode between the first-type grooves and the second-type grooves (in the top view) (see Figs. 11-12 and [0145]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0091324 A1), hereinafter as JUNG as applied to claims 1 and 15 above . Regarding claim 6 , JUNG discloses the quantum dot substrate according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the dam ranges from 1um to 15 um, a thickness of the first electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the quantum dot substrate comprising wherein a thickness of the dam ranges from 1um to 15 um, a thickness of the first electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm because the thickness of these layer must be manufactured at certain range for preventing the crossover of emission layer and have low resistance for display device. Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 Regarding claim 20 , JUNG discloses the display panel according to claim 15, but fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the dam ranges from 1um to 15 um, a thickness of the first electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the display panel comprising wherein a thickness of the dam ranges from 1um to 15 um, a thickness of the first electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm, and a thickness of the second electrode ranges from 500 nm to 2000 nm because the thickness of these layer must be manufactured at certain range for preventing the crossover of emission layer and have low resistance for display device. Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CUONG B NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1509 (Email: CuongB.Nguyen@uspto.gov) . The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM-5:00 PM Eastern Standard Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven H. Loke can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/522,307 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818