DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2021/0144884 to Mou et al (hereinafter Mou).
Regarding Claim 1, Mou discloses a display module, comprising:
a silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (Fig. 4, 5; see below); and
a heat dissipation device (2,3,4), comprising:
a heat dissipation cavity (27A, Figs. 4 and 8A) provided on a back surface of the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel; and
an electro-deformation member (23A) disposed on a cavity bottom of the heat dissipation cavity,
wherein in a case that the electro-deformation member is powered on, the electro- deformation member deforms to avoid a channel through which an external environment is in communication with the heat dissipation cavity (Figs. 8A-8E).
Mou does not explicitly disclose the heating element to comprise a silicon LED display panel. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the heating element of Mou to comprise any electronic device that generates heat and would benefit from heat dispersing element of Mou.
Regarding Claim 2, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the electro-deformation member comprises a first electrode (231A), a piezoelectric material layer (234A), and a second electrode (25A), and the piezoelectric material layer is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 8A).
Regarding Claim 3, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the cavity bottom of the heat dissipation cavity is formed with an air inlet (11), Fig. 4), and a cavity wall of the heat dissipation cavity is formed with an air outlet (235A, Fig. 8D); and the electro-deformation member comprises:
at least one deformation portion (central portion of 231A), wherein an orthographic projection of the deformation portion on the cavity bottom covers the air inlet (Figs. 8D-8E); and
a fixed portion (232A) disposed on a periphery of the deformation portion and connected to the deformation portion, wherein an orthographic projection of the fixed portion on the cavity bottom does not overlap the air inlet;
wherein the fixed portion is fixedly connected to the cavity bottom, and the deformation portion is not connected to the cavity bottom (Fig. 8A); and
in a case that the electro-deformation member is powered on, the deformation portion deforms toward the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel, there is a gap between the deformation portion and the cavity bottom, and the gap between the deformation portion and the cavity bottom causes the air inlet to be in communication with the inside of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 8D).
Regarding Claim 4, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 3, wherein the heat dissipation device further comprises a baffle, the baffle (22A/222A) is disposed between the electro-deformation member and the cavity bottom, and the baffle comprises:
a non-movable portion (22A) fixedly connected to the cavity bottom, wherein an orthographic projection of the non-movable portion on the cavity bottom does not overlap the air inlet; and
a movable portion (222A) disposed on one side of the non-movable portion close to the air inlet, and connected to the non-movable portion, wherein the movable portion is not connected to the cavity bottom, and an orthographic projection of the movable portion on the cavity bottom covers the air inlet;
wherein in a case that the electro-deformation member deforms toward the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel, the movable portion warps toward the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel, there is a gap between the movable portion and the cavity bottom, and the gap between the movable portion and the cavity bottom causes the air inlet to be in communication with the inside of the heat dissipation cavity (Figs. 8C-8E).
Regarding Claim 5, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 4, wherein in a case that the electro-deformation member is powered off or in a case that the electro-deformation member recovers to a state before deformation, the movable portion is attached to the cavity bottom and covers the air inlet to space the air inlet apart from the inside of the heat dissipation cavity (Figs. 8A-8B).
Regarding Claim 10, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 2, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 3, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 4, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 5, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 6, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 7, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 17, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 8, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Mou discloses the display module as claimed in Claim 9, wherein the display module further comprises a heat dissipation support layer, and the heat dissipation support layer (3, Fig. 4) is disposed between the silicon-based micro light emitting diode display panel (5) and the heat dissipation device (2),
wherein a cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity is of an open structure, and the heat dissipation support layer sealingly covers the cavity top of the heat dissipation cavity (Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 requires the display module as claimed in Claim 2 include limitations wherein the electro-deformation member comprises:
a plurality of first deformation portions spaced apart from each other;
a plurality of second deformation portions, each of the plurality of second deformation portions is inserted between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first deformation portions or disposed on one side of one of the plurality of first deformation portions, wherein there is a gap between each of the plurality of first deformation portions and an adjacent one of the plurality of second deformation portions; and
a fixed portion disposed on a periphery of the plurality of first deformation portions and the plurality of second deformation portions and respectively connected to the plurality of first deformation portions and the plurality of second deformation portions;
wherein in a case that the electro-deformation member is powered on, an alternating current is applied to both the plurality of first deformation portions and the plurality of second deformation portions, a phase of the alternating current applied to the plurality of first deformation portions is different from a phase of the alternating current applied to the plurality of second deformation portions, both the plurality of first deformation portions and the plurality of second deformation portions vibrate, and the gap between each of the plurality of first deformation portions and the adjacent one of the plurality of second deformation portions causes the inside of the heat dissipation cavity to be in communication with the external environment.
US PG Pub 2022/0203683 (“Mikoshiba”), US PG Pub 2021/0276330 (“Takabe”), US PG Pub 2020/0075839 (“Sooriakumar”) and US PG Pub 2020/0053905 (“Ganti”) are cited as being examples of other, relevant references in the art for comparison to Applicant’s invention but do not disclose the limitations missing from Mou. The references of record do not disclose, or suggest, the use of multiple deformation portions which have the differing phases of alternating current applied in a manner as claimed by Applicant. Claims 7-9 depend on Claim 6 and are allowable for at least the reasons above.
Conclusion
/DAVID C SPALLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893