DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/08/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stack” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Applicant’s Specification states on page 6, [0044], “Each capacitor 32 comprises a stack of layers, not shown in FIG. 1”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a density greater than 700 nF/mm^2”, and the claim also recites “greater than 1 μF/mm^2” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “diameter in the range from 5 μm to 20 μm”, and the claim also recites “equal to 10 μm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “height in the range from 50 μm to 200 μm”, and the claim also recites “equal to 100 μm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the" in “the first layer”. Claim 4 also states “each” in “each first region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Office shall assume this was mean to read as “a first conductive region” and “each first conductive region”.
Claim 6 states “fifth conductive regions, each fifth region” and the states “a fifth region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Office shall interpret a fifth region as another different region.
Claims 2, 5 and 7 – 10 are rejected due to dependency form claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuo (US 12,604,741 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Kuo (US 12,604,741 B2) discloses an interposer (Fig 1; 102) comprising capacitors (120) having a density greater than 700 nF/mm^2 (Column 9, lines 39-43), (advantageously greater than 1 μF/mm^2 (Column 9, lines 39-43)), the interposer (102) being adapted to being bonded (Column 5, lines 33-44 “bond”) to a chip (106) (by hybrid bonding (Column 5, lines 33-44 “bond”)).
Claim states in the preamble of the claim, “interposer”, however the preamble does not have patentable weight and therefore the device lacks the limitation of interposer.
Claim states a “by hybrid bonding” but “hybrid bonding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of hybrid bonding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 10, Kuo further discloses a device (Fig 1) comprising an interposer (102) such as described according to claim 1 and at least one first chip (106) bonded (Column 5, lines 33-44 “bond”) to a first surface (F; upper surface of 102) of the interposer, the at least one first chip (106) being bonded (Column 5, lines 33-44 “bond”) to the first surface (by molecular bonding).
Claim states in the preamble of the claim, “interposer”, however the preamble does not have patentable weight and therefore the device lacks the limitation of interposer.
Claim states a “by molecular bonding” but “molecular bonding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of molecular bonding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2022/0262778 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu (US 2022/0262778 A1) disclose an interposer (Fig 25,1-12; [0015] “interposers”) comprising capacitors (49; [0024]) having a density greater than 700 nF/mm^2 ([0024]), (advantageously greater than 1 μF/mm^2), the interposer being adapted to being bonded to a chip (4; [0013,0045,0060,0061] “chips”, “die”) (by hybrid bonding ([0027,0052])).
Claim states in the preamble of the claim, “interposer”, however the preamble does not have patentable weight and therefore the device lacks the limitation of interposer.
Claim states a “by hybrid bonding” but “hybrid bonding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of hybrid bonding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 2, Yu further discloses the interposer (Fig 25,1-12) according to claim 1, wherein the interposer comprises: a substrate (48) crossed by first conductive vias (53,86); a first layer (44,84,88), covering the substrate, having the capacitors (49) located therein; and an interconnection network (46,72,80; note that this structure is not structurally defined in the claim language; structure shown in Fig 9 shows an interconnecting structure) comprising contact pads (72) adapted to (molecular bonding).
Claim states in the preamble of the claim, “interposer”, however the preamble does not have patentable weight and therefore the device lacks the limitation of interposer.
Claim states a “by molecular bonding” but “molecular bonding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of molecular bonding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 10, Yu further discloses a device (Fig 25,1-12) comprising an interposer (42; [0015]) such as described according to claim 1 and at least one first chip (4; [0013,0045,0060,0061] “chips”, “die”) bonded ([0027,0052]) to a first surface of the interposer, the at least one first chip (4) being bonded to the first surface (by molecular bonding).
Claim states a “by molecular bonding” but “molecular bonding” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of molecular bonding and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2022/0262778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Yu discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yu does not explicitly disclose the interposer according to claim 1, wherein the first vias have a diameter in the range from 5 μm to 20 μm, advantageously substantially equal to 10 μm, and a height in the range from 50 μm to 200 μm, advantageously substantially equal to 100 μm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interposer as disclosed by Yu, wherein the first vias have a diameter in the range from 5 μm to 20 μm, advantageously substantially equal to 10 μm, and a height in the range from 50 μm to 200 μm, advantageously substantially equal to 100 μm, in order to allow for a greater number of vias spaced within the interposer and minimize spacing between vias, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, page 2 [0010], Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 4 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2022/0262778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chudzik (US 2004/0108587 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yu does not explicitly disclose the interposer according to claim 1, wherein (the) first layer comprises first conductive regions, each first region being in contact with an end of a first via, and being coupled to a contact pad by conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network.
Chudzik (US 2004/0108587 A1) teaches of an interposer (see Fig 4a showing 240 for connection below 250,200 and above at 270), wherein (the) first layer (200) comprises first conductive regions (230,430), each first region (230,430) being in contact with an end of a first via (260), and being coupled to a contact pad (270; [0028]) by conductive vias (260) and conductive tracks (250) of an interconnection network.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interposer as disclosed by Yu, wherein (the) first layer comprises first conductive regions, each first region being in 4b
contact with an end of a first via, and being coupled to a contact pad by conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network as taught by Chudzik, in order to enable integration, adjust proximity of passive elements to relevant circuit elements, overcome difficulties associated with slower access times, provide a high density interconnect structure, enable fast electrical access and provide lower inductance and resistance (Chudzik, [0008]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu in view of Chudzik teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Chudzik further teaches the interposer (Fig 4a) according to claim 4, wherein the first regions (230.430) are laterally surrounded by second insulating regions (220).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yu does not explicitly disclose the interposer according to claim 1, wherein the interposer comprises: third regions having the capacitors located therein, fourth insulating regions, each capacitor being laterally surrounded by a fourth insulating region, fifth conductive regions, each fifth region being separated from one of the third regions by one of the fourth regions, and sixth conductive regions, each sixth region coupling a terminal of one of the capacitors to a fifth region, each fifth region being coupled to a contact pad by second conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network, another terminal of each capacitor being coupled to a contact pad by second conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network.
Chudzik (US 2004/0108587 A1) teaches of a board (Fig 4a-4b), wherein the interposer comprises: third regions (430’; [0035]) having the capacitors ([0035]) located therein, fourth insulating regions (420’; [0035]), each capacitor being laterally surrounded by a fourth insulating region (420’), fifth conductive regions (4080”), each fifth region (4080”) being separated from one of the third regions (430’) by one of the fourth regions (420’), and sixth conductive regions (4090’) , each sixth region (4090’) coupling a terminal of one of the capacitors to a (fifth) region, each (fifth) region being coupled to a contact pad (pad about 270) by second conductive vias (260) and conductive tracks (250) of the interconnection network (250,260,270), another terminal (4090’ of another neighboring capacitor) of each capacitor being coupled to a contact pad (2070 interfacing with another 430) by second conductive vias (another 260 in build-up layers seen in Fig 4) and conductive tracks (250) of the interconnection network.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interposer as disclosed by Yu, wherein the interposer comprises: third regions having the capacitors located therein, fourth insulating regions, each capacitor being laterally surrounded by a fourth insulating region, fifth conductive regions, each fifth region being separated from one of the third regions by one of the fourth regions, and sixth conductive regions, each sixth region coupling a terminal of one of the capacitors to a fifth region, each fifth region being coupled to a contact pad by second conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network, another terminal of each capacitor being coupled to a contact pad by second conductive vias and conductive tracks of the interconnection network as taught by Chudzik, in order to enable integration, adjust proximity of passive elements to relevant circuit elements, overcome difficulties associated with slower access times, provide a high density interconnect structure, enable fast electrical access and provide lower inductance and resistance (Chudzik, [0008]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu in view of Chudzik teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Chudzik further teaches the interposer (Fig 3) according to claim 5, wherein each insulating region of the first layer is made of an (anodized) metal ([0031] “aluminum oxide”, “anodization”).
Claim states a “anodized” but “anodized” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of anodizing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 8, Yu in view of Chudzik teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Chudzik further teaches the interposer (Fig 3) according to claim 6, wherein the capacitors comprise a stack of a second conductive layer (250,260), of a third insulating layer (layer shown in Fig 4 comprising lowest layers of 250,260), of a fourth conductive layer, each third region being made of an (anodized) metal ([0028]) comprising a plurality of cavities (apertures for 260) crossing said metal, the stack (260 covers and fills the cavities comprising 260) covering the walls of said cavities.
Claim states a “anodized” but “anodized” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the film is formed. Thus, Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of anodizing and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2022/0262778 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vafi (US 5,474,458).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yu does not disclose the interposer according to claim 1, wherein the interposer comprises, in at least one area, a density of pads greater than 10^3 pads per mm^2.
Vafi (US 5,474,458) teaches of an interposer, wherein the interposer comprises, in at least one area, a density of pads greater than 10^3 pads per mm^2 (Column 2, lines 47-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interposer as disclosed by Yu, wherein the interposer comprises, in at least one area, a density of pads greater than 10^3 pads per mm^2 as taught by Vafi, in order to increase circuit integration levels for chips and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, in order to increase circuit integration levels and increase circuit density, which would then increase assembly capabilities. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, page 3 [0016], Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mosley (US 2005/0136609 A1) teaches of an interposer (Fig 12,1-3; [0037] “interposer”) wherein each insulating region (27) of a first layer (10) is made of an anodized metal ([0024-0027]), wherein each insulating region of the first layer is made of an anodized metal as taught by Mosley, in order to provide high density capacitor arrays (Mosley, [0023-0025]). This could be used in a 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847