DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second LED element in the first LED element". This is indefinite as the plurality of second pixel units comprises the plurality of second LED element not the first LED element. For the sake of examination, the Examiner interprets “the second LED element in the first LED element” as “the second LED element in the second pixel units”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over SAKAKIBARA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0162389, hereinafter referred to as SAKAKIBARA) in view of YOO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0351052, hereinafter referred to as YOO).
As to claim 1, SAKAKIBARA teaches 1. A display panel, comprising: a driving substrate, comprising a first region and a second region disposed on at least one side of the first region [see 51 and 52 in Fig.1]; a plurality of first pixel units, arranged in the first region, the plurality of first pixel units comprise a plurality of first LED elements with different light-emitting colors [see 10 in Fig.1]; a plurality of second pixel units, arranged in the second region, the plurality of second pixel units comprise a plurality of second LED elements with the different light-emitting colors [see 41 in Fig.1]; a luminous brightness of the first LED element is greater than that of the second LED element in the first LED element and the second LED element with a certain color of light [¶0026~0027];
SAKAKIBARA may not explicitly teach a package structure, arranged on the driving substrate and covering the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units; the package structure is provided with a regulating material configured to reduce a brightness of the certain color of light, and the regulating material is correspondingly disposed in the first region.
YOO teaches this limitation [¶0106 for example]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of SAKAKIBARA and YOO to “use encapsulation filled with a phosphor and quantum dot" in SAKAKIBARA according to YOO, for the further advantage of “utilizing known method of controlling the brightness and color coordinates of the light-emitting device package”. […According to an example embodiment, the light-emitting device encapsulation portion 450 may further include a phosphor. The phosphor may absorb light emitted from the light-emitting device 430 and emit light having a different wavelength. As the light-emitting device encapsulation portion 450 further includes a phosphor having a wavelength conversion function independently of the quantum dot glass cell 300, the brightness and color coordinates of the light-emitting device package 400 may be additionally controlled….¶0106 YOO]
As to claim 2, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 2. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the package structure comprises an adhesive layer, a water-blocking layer and a protective layer; the adhesive layer covers the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units, the water-blocking layer is disposed on a side of the adhesive layer away from the driving substrate, and the protective layer is disposed on a side of the water-blocking layer away from the adhesive layer; and the regulating material is disposed in at least one of the water-blocking layer and the protective layer. [see 450, 110. 120, 130 in Fig. 10 YOO]
As to claim 3, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 3. The display panel of claim 1, wherein the package structure 21 comprises a package glue layer, an adhesive layer, a water-blocking layer and a protective layer; the package glue layer covers the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units, the adhesive layer is disposed on a side of the package glue layer away from the driving substrate, the water-blocking layer is disposed on a side of the adhesive layer away from the package glue layer, and the protective layer is disposed on the water-blocking layer away from the adhesive layer; and the regulating material is disposed in at least one of the package glue layer, the water-blocking layer and the protective layer. [see Fig. 9 YOO]
As to claim 4, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 4. The display panel of claim 2, wherein the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units emit three kinds of colors of light; the brightness of any two colors of light selected from the three kinds of colors of light among the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units is the same, and the brightness of a third color of light of the three kinds of colors of light emitted by the first pixel unit is greater than that of the third color of light emitted by the second pixel unit; and the regulating material comprises a mixed pigment of the any two colors selected from the three kinds of colors.
As to claim 5, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 5. The display panel of claim 4, wherein the plurality of the first LED elements comprises a first red LED element, a first green LED element and a first blue LED element, and the plurality of the second LED elements comprise a second red LED element, a second green LED element and a second blue LED element; the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is equal to that of the second red LED element, the brightness luminous of the first green LED element is equal to that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is greater than that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material is a mixed 22 pigment of a green pigment and a red pigment or is a yellow pigment; or the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is equal to that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is greater than that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is equal to that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material is a mixed pigment of a blue pigment and the red pigment; or the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is greater than that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is equal to that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is equal to that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material is a mixed pigment of the blue pigment and the green pigment. [see Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA and Fig. 9 and 10 YOO]
As to claim 6, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 6. The display panel of claim 5, wherein when the regulating material is the mixed pigment of the blue pigment and the red pigment, a mass of the mixed pigment of the blue pigment and the red pigment accounts for 5%-10% of a mass of a film layer provided with the mixed pigment. [¶0033 YOO]
As to claim 7, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 7. The display panel of claim 5, wherein the yellow pigment comprises at least one of anthraquinones, benzimidazolones, azo and benzidine yellow, the green pigment comprises at least one of halogenated copper phthalocyanines and phthalocyanines, the red pigment comprises at least one of the anthraquinones, pyrrole and pyrrolones, perylene pigment, quinacridone and derivatives, and the blue pigment comprises at least one of copper phthalocyanine and the anthraquinones. [¶0031~0032 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 8, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 8. The display panel of claim 2, wherein the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units emit three kinds of colors of light; among the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel 23 units, the brightness of a first color of light of the three kinds of colors of light is the same; the brightness of a second color of light, emitted by the first pixel unit, of the three kinds of colors of light is greater than that of the second color light emitted by the second pixel unit; and the brightness of a third color of light, emitted by the first pixel unit, of the three kinds of colors of light is smaller than that of the third color light emitted by the second pixel unit; the regulating material comprises up-conversion particles, and the up- conversion particles are configured to absorb the second color of light and emit the third color of light. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 9, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 9. The display panel of claim 8, wherein the plurality of the first LED elements comprises a first red LED element, a first green LED element and a first blue LED element, and the plurality of the second LED elements comprise a second red LED element, a second green LED element and a second blue LED element; the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is smaller than that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is equal to that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is greater than that of the second blue LED element; or, the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is smaller than that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is greater than that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is equal to that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material comprises red quantum dots; or the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is equal to that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is smaller than that of the second green LED element, and 24 the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is greater than that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material comprises green quantum dots; or the luminous brightness of the first red LED element is greater than that of the second red LED element, the luminous brightness of the first green LED element is equal to that of the second green LED element, and the luminous brightness of the first blue LED element is smaller than that of the second blue LED element; and the regulating material comprises the up-conversion particles, and the up-conversion particles are configured absorb red light and emit blue light. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 10, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 10. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 1, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 11, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 11. The display panel of claim 3, wherein the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units emit three kinds of colors of light; the brightness of any two colors of light selected from the three kinds of colors of light among the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units is the same, and the brightness of a third color of light of the three kinds of colors of light emitted by the first pixel unit is greater than that of the third color of light emitted by the second pixel unit; and the regulating material comprises a mixed pigment of the any two colors selected from the three kinds of colors. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 12, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 12. The display panel of claim 3, wherein the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units emit three kinds of colors of light; among the plurality of first pixel units and the plurality of second pixel units, the brightness of a first color of light of the three kinds of colors of light is the same; the brightness of a second color of light, emitted by 25 the first pixel unit, of the three kinds of colors of light is greater than that of the second color light emitted by the second pixel unit; and the brightness of a third color of light, emitted by the first pixel unit, of the three kinds of colors of light is smaller than that of the third color light emitted by the second pixel unit; the regulating material comprises up-conversion particles, and the up- conversion particles are configured to absorb the second color of light and emit the third color of light. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 13, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 13. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 2, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 14, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 14. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 3, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 15, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 15. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 4, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 16, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 16. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 5, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 17, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 17. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 6, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 18, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 18. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 7, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 19, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 19. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 8, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
As to claim 20, SAKAKIBARA and YOO teaches 20. A joinable display panel, comprising at least two display panels of claim 9, wherein the at least two display panels are joined together. [Fig.1 SAKAKIBARA]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899