DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 08/07/2026. Claims 1-21 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1:
Applicant arguments: Applicants respectfully submit that Baek does not disclose “etch stop pattern disposed in the non-display area” and insulating layer 125 is merely an organic via layer, and layer 126 is a pixel defining layer (bank), neither of which serves as an etch stop layer for controlling substrate etching. The Examiner disagrees.
In response:
Beak discloses “A fifth insulating layer 125 is located on the anti-reflection layer RL. The fifth insulating layer 125 covers the fourth conductive layer 160 and the anti-reflection layer RL. The fifth insulation layer 125 may be a via layer”, Para [ 0133]) and Para [ 0136] discloses “The bank 126 may include inorganic insulating materials such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, hafnium oxide, aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, tantalum oxide, and/or zinc oxide, or an organic insulating material such as polyacrylates resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamides resin, polyimides resin, unsaturated polyesters resin, poly phenylenethers resin, polyphenylenesulfides resin, and/or benzocyclobutene (BCB). The bank 126 may be made up of a single layer or multiple layers of different materials stacked on one another”. Based on the insulating property layers [ 125, 126], Examiner interpreted as etch stop layer. In addition, applicant’s arguments “an etch stop layer for controlling substrate etching” is not required for claim limitation.
Regarding claim 16:
Applicant arguments: Applicants respectfully submit that Han does not disclose “sensing insulating layers 43 and 45 to the claimed first and second etch stop layers” and “Han's layers 43 and 45 are neither configured nor positioned to function as etch stop layers for controlling or stopping etching during a substrate etching process”. In addition, “providing etch stop layers adjacent to a substrate opening”. The Examiner disagrees.
Han discloses first etch stop layer (sensing layer 40 includes insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer) on the substrate (Fig [1-2,8], substrate 10), the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer) adjacent to the opening (Fig [1-2], “opening area OA, Para [ 0075]); and
a second etch stop layer (third insulating layer 45, Para [ 0104]) on the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer), Based on the insulating property layers [ 43,45], Examiner interpreted as etch stop layer. In addition, applicant’s arguments “an etch stop layer for controlling substrate etching” is not required for claim limitation.
Thus, the well-made rejection included in the 05/07/2026 Non-Final Office Action is proper and hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Back et al (US 2022/0085123 A1; hereafter Back).
Regarding claim 1. Baek discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. [1-2, 6]) transistor areas TRAT: TRAT_R, construed as substrate, Para [ 0096]) including a display area (Fig. [1-2, 6], display area DPA_D, Para [ 0070-0073]), a light-transmitting area (Fig. [1-2, 6], transmission area DPA_T, Para [ 0070-0073]), and
a non-display area (Fig. [1-2, 6], non-display area NDA, Para [ 0070-0073]) adjacent to the light-transmitting area (Fig. [1-2, 6], transmission area DPA_T, Para [ 0070-0073]);
a circuit portion (Fig. [1-2, 6], pixel circuit may include transistors TR, Para [ 0107]) and a light-emitting element portion (emissive layer 190, Para [ 0137]) disposed in the display area (Fig. [1-2, 6], display area DPA, Para [ 0070-0073]); and
an etch stop pattern (layers [125-126]) disposed in the non-display area (Fig. [1-2, 6], non-display area NDA, Para [ 0070-0073]), wherein the substrate (Fig. [1-2, 6]) transistor areas TRAT: TRAT_R, construed as substrate, Para [ 0096]) includes a first opening ( opening in the insulating layer 125, through hole CNT7T, Para [ 0148]) disposed at a position corresponding to the light-transmitting area (Fig. [1-2, 6], transmission area DPA_T, Para [ 0070-0073]), wherein the etch stop pattern (layers [125-126]) includes a first etch stop layer ( insulating layer 125, Para [ 0126]) adjacent to the first opening ( opening in the insulating layer 125, through hole CNT7T, Para [ 0148]) and a second etch stop layer ( layer 126, Para [ 0136]) disposed on the first etch stop layer ( insulating layer 125), and
wherein the second etch stop layer (layer 126, Para [ 0136]) includes a protrusion extending further toward the light-transmitting area (Fig. [1-2, 6], transmission area DPA_T, Para [ 0070-0073]) than the first etch stop layer (opening in the insulating layer 125, through hole CNT7T, Para [ 0148]).
Regarding claim 2. Baek discloses the display device of claim 1, Baek further discloses wherein the first etch stop layer (Para [0133] discloses “The fifth insulating layer 125 may include the same material as the fourth insulating layer 124, or may include one or more materials selected from the materials listed above as the materials of the fourth insulating layer 124. Para [ 0126] discloses “The fourth insulating layer 124 may include an organic insulating material such as polyacrylate resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamide resin, polyimide resin, unsaturated polyesters resin, poly phenylene ether resin, poly phenylene sulfide resin, and benzocyclobutene (BCB) and the second etch stop layer are made of different materials (Para [ 0136]).
Regarding claim 3. Baek discloses the display device of claim 1, Baek further discloses wherein the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 125, Para [ 0126]) is thinner than the second etch stop layer (at least a portion of layer 126, Para [ 0136]).
Regarding claim 4. Baek discloses the display device of claim 1, Baek further discloses wherein a side surface of the first opening protrudes (opening in the insulating layer 125, through hole CNT7T, Para [ 0148]) further toward the light-transmitting area (Fig. [1-2, 6], transmission area DPA_T, Para [ 0070-0073]) than the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 125, Para [ 0126]).
Regarding claim 11. Baek discloses the display device of claim 1, Baek further discloses wherein a lower surface of the protrusion has a curvature (layer 126, Para [ 0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al (US 2025/0355518 A1; hereafter Han).
Regarding claim 16. Han discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig [1-2,8], substrate 10) having an opening, the substrate ( Fig [1-2], substrate 10) having thereon a display area ( display area DA), a light-transmitting area (“opening area OA may be understood as a transmission area”, Para [ 0075]), and a non-display area Non display area NDA), the opening (Fig [1-2],“opening area OA , Para [ 0075]) of the substrate ( Fig [1-2], substrate 10) overlapping the light-transmitting area from a plan view ( Fig [1-2],“opening area OA , Para [ 0075]);
a first etch stop layer (sensing layer 40 includes insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer) on the substrate (Fig [1-2,8], substrate 10), the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer) adjacent to the opening (Fig [1-2], “opening area OA, Para [ 0075]); and
a second etch stop layer (third insulating layer 45, Para [ 0104]) on the first etch stop layer (insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer), the second etch stop layer (third insulating layer 45, Para [ 0104]) having a first protrusion (bottom surface), wherein the first protrusion of the second etch stop layer (bottom surface of the insulating layer 45) does not overlap the first etch stop layer from a plan view (Fig [1-2,8], insulating layer 43, construed as first etch stop layer and bottom surface of the insulating layer 45, construed as protrusion portion, which has similar arrangement like instant application. Therefore, protrusion (bottom surface) of insulating film 45 can have no overlap with insulating layer 43 in plan view).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 2025/0355518 A1; hereafter Han) as applied claims above and further in view of Kim et al (US 2023/0232669 A1; hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 21. Han discloses the display device of claim 16, But, Han does not disclose explicitly wherein the substrate includes a glass substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses wherein the substrate includes a glass substrate (Para [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Han in light of Kim teaching “wherein the substrate includes a glass substrate (Para [0074])” for further advantage such as high transparency, and uniform optical properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 5. The display device of claim 1, wherein the first opening includes: a first opening area having a diameter that decreases toward the etch stop pattern; a second opening area having a diameter that increases toward the etch stop pattern; and a third opening area disposed between the first opening area and the second opening area, wherein the diameter of the second opening area is less than the diameter of the first opening area, and wherein a maximum diameter of the third opening area is less than a maximum diameter of the second opening area.
Regarding claim 18. The display device of claim 16, wherein the opening of the substrate defines one or more side surfaces of the substrate, wherein the one or more side surfaces include a first side surface and a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface at a first side of the opening, wherein the one or more side surfaces include a third side surface and a fourth side surface adjacent to the third side surface at a second side of the opening that is opposite and facing the first side of the opening, wherein the first side surface is opposite to and facing the third side surface, wherein the second side surface is opposite to and facing the fourth side surface, wherein a first diameter of the opening is defined by a distance between the first side surface and third side surface, wherein a second diameter is defined by a distance between the second side surface and fourth side surface, and wherein the first diameter and the second diameter are different from each other.
Claim 19 is objected based on the dependency of claim 18.
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
an etch stop pattern disposed in the non-display area, wherein the substrate includes a first opening disposed at a position corresponding to the light-transmitting area, wherein the substrate includes one surface on which the etch stop pattern is disposed and the other surface opposite to the one surface, wherein the first opening includes a first opening area connected to a lower surface of the substrate and having a diameter decreasing toward the etch stop pattern, and
a second opening area connected to an upper surface of the substrate, and wherein a maximum diameter of the first opening area is greater than a maximum diameter of the second opening area, as recited in claim 12.
Claims 13-15 are allowed based on the dependency of claim 12.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898