DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant filed a response, amended claim 1 and 9, and added new claims 16-18 on 02/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are primarily drawn to the amended limitations, claim 1 limitation “curing the skin and the shaped laminates based at least in part by heating the shaping tools and creating a vacuum in the shaping tools”, and claim 9 limitation “performing a curing process for the skin and the plurality of shaped laminates by heating the shaping tools”.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, as previously claimed, Totaro teaches the female tool 30 may then be removed (Figure 6 and [0040] prior to applying a curing vacuum bag [0042]. Based on the teachings of Totaro, it appears that the female tool is not required to be removed and may be intact during further processing, including applying a curing vacuum bag and co-curing.
Based on this interpretation of the teachings, it appears the shaping tool would dispose within the vacuum bag, such that the shaped laminate would be retained inside the shaping tool. Accordingly, it would appear that the shaping tool would naturally be heated under the autoclave and a vacuum would be maintained in the tool, as heat and pressure is applied to the entirety of the vacuum bag contents.
Regarding the rejection of claim 9, as previously claimed, an alternative rejection was made of Totaro in view of Offensend based on the interpretation that Totaro teaches removal of the female tool. Offensend provides motivation for incorporating a forming tool on a stiffener preform during curing for maintaining the shape and preventing collapse of the contour.
During curing performed within the autoclave, there would naturally be heating of the shaping tool and vacuum applied inside of the vacuum bag due to the heat and pressure of the autoclave.
However, in light of the claim amendments, in particular the curing process performed without an autoclave, the curing process performed at ambient temperature, and each of the plurality of shaping tools including one or more heating elements that are used to heat a surface of corresponding shaping tools, the necessitated new ground(s) of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9, 11-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547) in view of Totaro (EP3112116A1) and Osborne (PG-PUB 2020/0108571).
Regarding claim 1, Douglas teaches a process capable of manufacturing composite wing covers, comprising:
placing a laminate (Figure 4 and 5, item 25) inside a shaping tool (Figure 4 and 5, item 50 and [0043]-[0045], [0055]);
shaping the laminate by pressing the laminates against the shaping tool (Figure 5);
retaining the shaped laminates inside the shaping tools (Figure 5-13);
turning over the shaped laminate (Figure 13 and [0051]);
attaching a skin to the shaped laminate (Figure 13 and [0051]-[0052]);
while the shaped laminate is retained inside the shaping tool, curing the skin and the shaped laminates based at least in part by: creating a vacuum around the shaping tool via a vacuum bag disposed on the assembly (Figure 14 and 15 and [0052]).
Douglas teaches some or all of the structure of the preform may be formed by prepreg laminate, wherein each ply in the laminate is a fiber ply pre-impregnated with epoxy resin [0055].
Douglas teaches manufacturing a duct stringer adhered to a skin to provide a stiffened panel structure such as a wing skin structure [0024]. Douglas teaches two stringers attached to an upper wing skin [0025]-[0038].
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized in modifying the process of Douglas for use with prepreg laminates as suggest, attaching a skin to the shaped laminate and curing the skin and the shaped laminate would require the same process without resin infusion. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would proceed with the vacuum-bagged curing technique in order to perform the necessary curing.
Douglas does not teach:
(1) placing a laminate in each of a plurality of shaping tools to provide a plurality of laminates;
(2) while the shaped laminates are retained inside the shaping tools, curing the skin and the shaped laminates based at least in part by: heating the shaping tools creating a vacuum in each of the plurality of the shaping tools.
As to (1), Totaro teaches a process capable of manufacturing panels of composite material reinforced with closed-section stringers, comprising steps of preparing individual stringer preforms (Figures 1-4 and 19; [0034]-[0036], [0055], and [0062]); for attachment to a skin layer (Figures 5-6 and [0039]-[0041]) and co-curing (Figures 11-13 and [0040]-[0041]). Totaro teaches a plurality of stringers can be prepared and simultaneous applied (Figure 16, 17, and 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate the tool assembly of Douglas to provide the means for preparing two duct stringers for attachment to a skin in order to manufacture the wing structure as desired by Douglas for simultaneous attachment as taught by Totaro, to save time required in preparing individual stringers for sequential attachment.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the process of Douglas such that the vacuum bag of Douglas is sized and fitted for applying vacuum to the entire assembly of laminates, shaping tools, and skin, as evidenced by Totaro, in order to co-cure the plurality of laminates to the skin.
As to (2), Osborne teaches a caul plates for use in a composite laminate layup (abstract, Fig. 5, 8-9, and 10). Osborne teaches a vacuum bag is placed over the caul plate and preform for curing [0023], [0052], and the caul plate can include different features (Figure 8, [0021-[0024], including structural rigidity [0039] and heating elements such as electrical grids coupled to promote efficient distribution of heat to the laminate [0024]. Specifically, Osborne teaches the heated caul plate 800 can facilitate curing of the resin to form the laminate by Incorporating the heater 802 into the caul plate 800 improves distribution of heat to the resin-infused preform and/or provides for faster heating cycle rates, thereby increasing efficiency of the curing process [0045]. Osborne teaches the heated caul plate can be placed in an oven or autoclave as part of the overall curing process [0045], [0048].
While Douglas teaches curing performed in a vacuum-bag, Douglas does not disclose the heating technique and related parameters, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere.
Osborne teaches a vacuum bag-based curing technique where a vacuum-bagged preform is cured using a heated caul plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Douglas, in particular the caul plate (i.e., shaping tool), with heating elements as taught by Osborne, a known suitable mechanism for curing resin-infused preforms, for the benefit of facilitating heat-distribution during curing of the laminate of Douglas.
Accordingly, while the shaped laminates are retained inside the shaping tools, the caul plates are heated and a vacuum is created in each of the plurality of the caul plates via the vacuum bag.
Regarding claim 3, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the vacuum is created in the plurality of shaping tools by closing a vacuum bag around each of the plurality of shaping tools (see rejection of claim 1, Douglas, [0052] and Totaro, [0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the heating of the shaping tools is done by heating the shaping tools through the distributed heating elements in the entirety of the shaping tools for distribution of heat and complete curing of the preform, thereby heating longitudinally the internal surface of the shaping tools (Osborne, [0045] and [0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Douglas teaches a process capable of manufacturing composite wing covers, comprising:
placing a laminate (Figure 4 and 5, item 25) inside, respectively, a shaping tool (Figure 4 and 5, item 50 and [0043]-[0045], [0055]);
shaping the laminate by pressing the laminates against the shaping tool (Figure 5);
retaining the shaped laminates inside the shaping tools (Figure 5-13);
while the shaped laminates is inside the shaping tool,
turning over the shaped laminate (Figure 13 and [0051]);
attaching a skin to the shaped laminate (Figure 13 and [0051]-[0052]);
creating a vacuum around the shaping tool (Figure 14 and 15 and [0052]).
Douglas teaches some or all of the structure of the preform may be formed by prepreg laminates, wherein each ply in the laminate is a fiber ply pre-impregnated with epoxy resin [0055].
Douglas teaches manufacturing a duct stringer adhered to a skin to provide a stiffened panel structure such as a wing skin structure [0024]. Douglas teaches two stringers attached to an upper wing skin [0025]-[0038].
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized in modifying the process for use with prepreg laminates, attaching a skin to the shaped laminate and curing the skin and the
shaped laminate would require the same process without resin infusion. Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to proceed with the vacuum-bagged curing technique in order to perform the necessary curing.
Douglas does not teach:
(1) placing a plurality of laminates in a plurality of shaping tools to provide a plurality of laminates;
(2) while the shaped laminates are retained inside the shaping tools:heating the shaping tools and creating a vacuum around each of the plurality of the shaping tools.
As to (1), Totaro teaches a process capable of manufacturing panels of composite material reinforced with closed-section stringers, comprising steps of preparing individual stringer preforms (Figures 1-4 and 19; [0034]-[0036], [0055], and [0062]) for attachment to a skin layer (Figures 5-6 and [0039]-[0041]), vacuum-bagging the assembly, and co-curing (Figures 11-13 and [0040]-[0041]). Totaro teaches a plurality of stringers can be prepared and simultaneous applied (Figure 16, 17, and 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate the tool assembly of Douglas to provide the means for preparing two duct stringers for attachment to a skin in order to manufacturing the wing structure as desired by Douglas for simultaneous attachment as taught by Totaro, to save time required in preparing individual stringers for sequential attachment.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the process of Douglas such that the vacuum bag of Douglas is sized and fitted for applying vacuum to the entire assembly of laminates, shaping tools, and skin, as evidenced by Totaro, in order to co-cure the plurality of laminates to skin.
As to (2), Osborne teaches a caul plates for use in a composite laminate layup (abstract, Fig. 5, 8-9, and 10). Osborne teaches a vacuum bag is placed over the caul plate and preform for curing [0023], [0052], and the caul plate can include different features (Figure 8, [0021-[0024], including structural rigidity [0039] and heating elements such as electrical grids coupled to promote efficient distribution of heat to the laminate [0024]. Specifically, Osborne teaches the heated caul plate 800 can facilitate curing of the resin to form the laminate by Incorporating the heater 802 into the caul plate 800 improves distribution of heat to the resin-infused preform and/or provides for faster heating cycle rates, thereby increasing efficiency of the curing process [0045]. Osborne teaches the heated caul plate can be placed in an oven or autoclave as part of the overall curing process [0045], [0048].
While Douglas teaches curing performed in a vacuum-bag, Douglas does not disclose the heating technique and related parameters, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere.
Osborne teaches a vacuum bag-based curing technique where a vacuum-bagged preform is cured using a heated caul plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Douglas, in particular the caul plate, with heating elements as taught by Osborne, a known suitable mechanism for curing resin-infused preforms, for the benefit of facilitating heat-distribution during curing of the laminate of Douglas.
Accordingly, while the shaped laminates are retained inside the shaping tools, the caul plates are heated and a vacuum is created in each of the plurality of the caul plates.
Regarding claim 11, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 9, wherein the vacuum is created in the plurality of shaping tools by closing a vacuum bag around each of the plurality of shaping tools (see rejection of claim 1, Douglas, [0052] and Totaro, [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 9, wherein the skin is attached to the plurality of shaped laminates after the plurality of shaped laminates have been turned over (Douglas, Figure 13-15 and [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 9, as part of retaining the plurality of shaped laminates inside the plurality of shaping tools, positioning a mandrel against the plurality of shaped laminates inside the plurality of shaping tools (Douglas, Figure 6-14 and [0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbrone teaches the process as applied to claim 9, wherein the curing process is performed without an autoclave (see rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 17, based on the broadest limitation of the claim in light of the specification, limitation “the curing process is performed at ambient temperature” is interpreted to recite the curing process is performed in an environment at ambient temperature.
Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 9, wherein the curing process is performed in an environment with no additional heat applied (i.e., ambient temperature), with the heat from the shaping tool being the only necessary heat for curing.
Regarding claim 18, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osborne teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of shaping tools includes one or more heating elements that are used to heat a surface of a corresponding shaping tools during the curing (Osborne, [0045] and [0052]).
Claim(s) 2, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547) in view of Totaro (EP3112116A1) and Osborne (PG-PUB 2020/0108571), as applied to claim 1 and 9, respectively, in further view of Corvaglia (PG-PUB 2024/0326354).
Regarding claim 2, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne teaches the process as applied to claim 1, further comprising maintaining the mandrel against the plurality of shaped laminates during the curing process (Douglas, Figure 15 and [0049]-[0053]).
Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne does not teach the shaped laminates are retained inside the shaping tools by magnetism.
Corvaglia teaches a process of manufacturing a composite comprising a plurality of stringers disposed on a shell (Figure 1 and Abstract). Corvaglia teaches a set of reinforcing elements 12, each one defined by a stringer 2 housing in its cavity 11 a respective insert 10, wherein each insert 10 has an elongated longitudinal shape, has open opposite axial ends and has a closed profile hollow section and is expandable during the subsequent curing process of the component 1, in order to maintain the cavity 11 (Figure 5-9) [0097]- [0101]. Corvaglia teaches a step of positioning and holding each reinforcing element 12 on a skin 5 using holding elements (Figure 6 and [0105]- [0106], [0111]-[0115])). Corvaglia teaches the holding elements allow for positioning of the stringers on the skin [0111]-[0114] and [0152], including reinforcing elements using magnetic elements (Figure 9a and [0152]-[0157]), means of terminals (Figure 9c [0158]), or restraining elements like belt elements (Figure 9b and [0146]).
Regarding the magnetic elements, Corvaglia teaches holding the reinforcing elements 12 in their respective fixed positions involves the use of magnetic elements 22 (FIG. 9a), wherein the tool 6 comprises a ferromagnetic portion made of ferromagnetic material [0152]-[0155]. Corvaglia teaches arranging at least one magnetic element 22 at each reinforcing element 12; and interposing the reinforcing element 12 between the respective magnetic element 22 and the tool 6, so as to hold the reinforcing element 12 in its position by means of magnetic interaction between the magnetic element 22 and the ferromagnetic portion of the tool 6 [0154]-[0155].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the process of Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne with the magnetic elements of Corvaglia disposed within the mandrels and skin tool surface of Douglas for the benefit of properly positioning a plurality of stiffeners on a skin surface, thereby preventing misalignment and improving quality of the cured structure.
Regarding claim 14 and 15, Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne teaches the process as applied to claim 9, further comprising maintaining the mandrel against the plurality of shaped laminates during the curing process (Douglas, Figure 15 and [0049]-[0053]).
Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne does not teach the mandrel includes a ferromagnetic element that, in combination with a magnet, provides a magnetic field that is used to retain the plurality of shaped laminates inside the plurality of shaping tools.
Corvaglia teaches a process of manufacturing a composite comprising a plurality of stringers disposed on a shell (Figure 1 and Abstract). Corvaglia teaches a set of reinforcing elements 12, each one defined by a stringer 2 housing in its cavity 11 a respective insert 10, wherein each insert 10 has an elongated longitudinal shape, has open opposite axial ends and has a closed profile hollow section and is expandable during the subsequent curing process of the component 1, in order to maintain the cavity 11(Figure 5-9) [0097]- [0101]. Corvaglia teaches a step of positioning and holding each reinforcing element 12 on a skin 5 using holding elements (Figure 6 and [0105]- [0106], [0111]-[0115])). Corvaglia teaches the holding elements allow for positioning of the stringers on the skin [0111]-[0114] and [0152], including reinforcing elements using magnetic elements (Figure 9a and [0152]-[0157]), means of terminals (Figure 9c [0158]), or restraining elements like belt elements (Figure 9b and [0146]).
Regarding the magnetic elements, Corvaglia teaches holding the reinforcing elements 12 in their respective fixed positions involves the use of magnetic elements 22 (FIG. 9a), wherein the tool 6 comprises a ferromagnetic portion made of ferromagnetic material [0152]-[0155]. Corvaglia teaches arranging at least one magnetic element 22 at each reinforcing element 12; and interposing the reinforcing element 12 between the respective magnetic element 22 and the tool 6, so as to hold the reinforcing element 12 in its position by means of magnetic interaction between the magnetic element 22 and the ferromagnetic portion of the tool 6 [0154]-[0155].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to improve the process of Douglas in view of Totaro and Osbourne with the magnetic elements of Corvaglia disposed within the mandrels and skin tool surface of Douglas for the benefit of properly positioning a plurality of stiffeners on a skin surface and against a tool, thereby preventing misalignment and improving quality of the cured structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745