DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 3/10/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-14 are pending and claims 11-14 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 5/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/14/2024 and 10/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2021/0398837 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a device(Fig. 2) configured for aligning a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs)(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7) by using a carrier substrate(34, ¶0024), the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024) defining a plurality of positioning grooves(46, ¶0029, Fig. 7), each of the plurality of positioning grooves(46, ¶0029, Fig. 7) being configured to accommodate one of the plurality of LEDs(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7), the device comprising:
a carrying part(23, ¶0024) configured to carry the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024);
a vibration part(36, ¶0027) connected to the carrying part(23, ¶0024), the vibration part(36, ¶0027) being for vibrating the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024); and
a magnetic generator(27, ¶0031. Fig. 7) on a side of the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024) away from the plurality of positioning grooves(46, ¶0029, Fig. 7), the magnetic generator(27, ¶0031. Fig. 7) being for generating a magnetic field(¶0033).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the carrying part(23, ¶0024) comprises a bottom plate(horizontal part of 23) and a blocking plate(vertical part of 23) connected to the bottom plate(horizontal part of 23), the bottom plate(horizontal part of 23) is configured to carry the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024), and the blocking plate(vertical part of 23) is configured to fix the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024) and limit a moving range of the plurality of LEDs(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a feeding box(not illustrated, transporting tool vibrating tray, ¶0035, ¶0037), wherein the feeding box(not illustrated, transporting tool vibrating tray, ¶0035, ¶0037) is configured for providing the plurality of LEDs(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7) to the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a camera, wherein the camera(25, ¶0024) is on a side of the carrying part(23, ¶0024) for carrying the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024), and is configured to acquire position information of the plurality of LEDs(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7) on the carrier substrate(34, ¶0024).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a tilting platform(30, 21, ¶0025-26), wherein the tilting platform(30, 21, ¶0025-26) is on a side of the vibration part(36, ¶0027) away from the magnetic generator(27, ¶0031. Fig. 7), and is configured to tilt the vibration part(36, ¶0027).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the device according to claim 9, wherein the tilting platform(30, 21, ¶0025-26) comprises a support platform(21, ¶0025) and a plurality of tilting columns(32, ¶0025-26) connected to the support platform(21, ¶0025), the support platform(21, ¶0025) is configured to carry the vibration part(36, ¶0027), and each of the plurality of tilting columns(32, ¶0025-26) is retractable(¶0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2021/0398837 A1) in view of Akoi (US 2012/0057140 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the vibration part(36, ¶0027) for controlling a moving direction of the plurality of LEDs(50, ¶0024, Fig. 7).
Wu is not relied on to teach the vibration part(36, ¶0027) comprises a voice coil motor.
Akoi teaches a device(Fig. 2) wherein the vibration part(PST) comprises a voice coil motor(18x, 18y, ¶0085). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu, so that the vibration part comprises a voice coil motor, as taught by Akoi, so that the plurality of LEDs can be moved in coarse movement with long strokes in the X, Y, two axial directions and also be finely moved in directions of three degrees of freedom, which are X, Y, and Z directions(¶0085).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein the vibration part(36, ¶0027) comprises a housing(36, ¶0027), and the housing(36, ¶0027) is fixedly connected to the bottom plate(horizontal part of 23).
Wu is not relied on to teach a voice coil motor in the housing(36, ¶0027).
Akoi teaches a device(Fig. 2) comprising a voice coil motor(18x, 18y, ¶0085) in the housing(21, ¶0085). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu, to include a voice coil motor in the housing, as taught by Akoi, so that the plurality of LEDs can be moved in coarse movement with long strokes in the X, Y, two axial directions and also be finely moved in directions of three degrees of freedom, which are X, Y, and Z directions(¶0085).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the bottom plate(horizontal part of 23) is spaced apart from the housing(36, ¶0027), the magnetic generator(27, ¶0031. Fig. 7) is between the bottom plate(horizontal part of 23) and the housing(36, ¶0027).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches the device according to claim 5, wherein the magnetic generator(27, ¶0031. Fig. 7) is partially embedded in the housing(36, ¶0027).
Conclusion
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892