DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crossman III et al. (US 2017/0015201).
Regarding claim 1,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
An electric drive machine (Fig. 2, all elements) comprising: a resistor grid (206, ¶0027) having: a resistor element (not shown, ¶0027); a sensor configured to sense a condition indicative of a temperature of the resistor element (226, ¶0036); a controller (222)configured to control a resistive braking speed of the electric drive machine (Fig. 3, controls speed and torque of motors while braking, Fig. 3, 312, 314, ¶0043), the controller having at least one processing circuit comprising at least one memory coupled to at least one processor, the at least one memory storing instructions therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform operations (¶0037) comprising: determining the resistive braking speed (Fig. 5, ¶0047, determines threshold torque limit which is based on wheel speed), receiving a temperature threshold (420, ¶0050), determining the temperature of the resistor element (¶0050), comparing the temperature to the temperature threshold (414b); in response to the temperature satisfying the temperature threshold, calculating a maximum resistive braking speed (414b, sets torque limit, ¶0050); preventing the electric drive machine from exceeding the maximum resistive braking speed (¶0049).
Regarding claim 2,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising a governor of the electric drive machine configured to prevent the electric drive machine from exceeding the maximum resistive braking speed (Fig. 2, 222, ¶0048).
Regarding claim 6,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
A system for controlling a resistive braking speed, the system comprising: a resistor grid (206, ¶0027) having: a resistor element (not shown, ¶0027); a sensor configured to sense a condition indicative of a temperature of the resistor element (226, ¶0036); a processing circuit comprising memory communicably coupled to one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the processing circuit (¶0037) to: determine a speed of an electric drive machine (fig. 3, 310), as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (Fig. 5, ¶0047, determines threshold torque limit which is based on wheel speed); determine the temperature of the resistor element of the resistor grid (¶0036) as the resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (¶0050); calculate, in response to the temperature satisfying a temperature threshold, a maximum resistive braking speed (414b, sets torque limit, ¶0050); apply the maximum resistive braking speed to a governor of the electric drive machine to prevent the electric drive machine from exceeding the maximum resistive braking speed (¶0049).
Regarding claim 7,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the sensor is a temperature sensor (Fig. 2, 226) configured to directly sense the temperature of the resistor element (¶0036).
Regarding claim 14,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
A method for controlling a resistive braking speed, the method comprising: determining, by one or more processors, a speed of an electric drive machine, as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (Fig. 5, ¶0047, determines threshold torque limit which is based on wheel speed); determining, by the one or more processors, a temperature of a resistor element of a resistor grid (206) as the resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (¶0050); calculating, by the one or more processors, in response to the temperature satisfying a temperature threshold, a maximum resistive braking speed (Fig. 5, ¶0047, determines threshold torque limit which is based on wheel speed); applying, by the one or more processors, the maximum resistive braking speed to a governor of the electric drive machine, to prevent the electric drive machine from exceeding the maximum resistive braking speed (¶0049).
Regarding claim 15,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising receiving, by the one or more processors, data indicative of the temperature of the resistor element (¶0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 8-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crossman III et al. (US 2017/0015201) in view of Gottemoller et al. (US 2010/0066292).
Regarding claim 3,
Crossman III teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein: the temperature threshold is a predefined temperature below a maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (Tmax, ¶0038);
They do not disclose:
and the at least one processor is configured to perform operations further comprising: determining a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element, and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature, controlling a fan to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
and the at least one processor is configured to perform operations further comprising: determining a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig.6, 524, ¶0050), and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature, controlling a fan to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (¶0051).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 4,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 3.
They do not disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform operations further comprising: receiving data indicative of a thermal mass of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform operations further comprising: receiving data indicative of a thermal mass of the resistor grid (¶0047-¶0048).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 5,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 4.
They do not disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate the maximum resistive braking speed based on the temperature of the resistor element, the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element, the thermal mass of the resistor grid, and the resistive braking speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate the maximum resistive braking speed based on the temperature of the resistor element (¶0043), the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig. 6, 526), the thermal mass of the resistor grid (516, 518,¶0047-¶0048 ), and the resistive braking speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (522, calculated all in 524, 526, ¶0050-¶0051).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 8,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 7.
They do not disclose:
wherein the condition comprises a bulk insulator temperature.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the condition comprises a bulk insulator temperature (¶0046-¶0048).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 9,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 7.
They do not disclose:
wherein the condition comprises a bulk insulator temperature, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate an insulator surface temperature based on the bulk insulator temperature.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the condition comprises a bulk insulator temperature, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to estimate an insulator surface temperature based on the bulk insulator temperature (¶0046-¶0048, calculates heat produced based on geometry and materials).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 10,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 6.
They do not disclose:
wherein the temperature threshold is a predefined temperature below a maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the temperature threshold is a predefined temperature below a maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (¶0051).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 11,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 10.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element; and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature, control a fan to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig. 6, 526); and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature (528), control a fan (530) to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (¶0051).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 12,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 11.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data indicating a thermal mass of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive data indicating a thermal mass of the resistor grid (¶0047-¶0048).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 13,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 12.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to calculate the maximum resistive braking speed based on the temperature of the resistor element, the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element, the thermal mass of the resistor grid, and the speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to calculate the maximum resistive braking speed based on the temperature of the resistor element (¶0043), the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig. 6, 526), the thermal mass of the resistor grid (516, 518,¶0047-¶0048 ), and the speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (522, calculated all in 524, 526, ¶0050-¶0051).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 16,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 15.
They do not disclose:
wherein the temperature of the resistor element is an insulator surface temperature; and further comprising calculating, by the one or more processors, the insulator surface temperature based on the data indicative of the temperature of the resistor element.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the temperature of the resistor element is an insulator surface temperature; and further comprising calculating, by the one or more processors, the insulator surface temperature based on the data indicative of the temperature of the resistor element (¶0046-¶0048, calculates heat produced based on geometry and materials).
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 17,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 14.
They do not disclose:
further comprising receiving, by the one or more processors, the temperature threshold; and wherein the temperature threshold is a predefined temperature below a maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
further comprising receiving, by the one or more processors, the temperature threshold; and wherein the temperature threshold is a predefined temperature below a maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (¶0051).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 18,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 17.
They do not disclose:
further comprising determining, by the one or more processors, a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element; and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature, controlling, by the one or more processors, a fan to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
further comprising determining, by the one or more processors, a rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig. 6, 526); and in response to the temperature of the resistor element reaching the predefined temperature (528), control a fan (530) to manage the rate of change of the temperature to prevent the resistor element from exceeding the maximum operating temperature of the resistor grid (¶0051).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 19,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 18.
They do not disclose:
further comprising to receiving, by the one or more processors, data indicative of a thermal mass of the resistor grid.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
further comprising to receiving, by the one or more processors, data indicative of a thermal mass of the resistor grid (¶0047-¶0048).
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Regarding claim 20,
Crossman III discloses the above elements from claim 19.
They do not disclose:
wherein the maximum resistive braking speed is calculated by the one or more processors based on the temperature of the resistor element, the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element, the thermal mass of the resistor grid, and the speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine.
However, Gottemoller teaches (Fig. 6):
wherein the maximum resistive braking speed is calculated by the one or more processors based on the temperature of the resistor element (¶0043), the rate of change of the temperature of the resistor element (Fig. 6, 526), the thermal mass of the resistor grid (516, 518,¶0047-¶0048 ), and the speed of the electric drive machine as resistive braking is applied to the electric drive machine (522, calculated all in 524, 526, ¶0050-¶0051).
Regarding claim 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the resistor grid control for a vehicle from Crossman Ill that measures the speed and regenerative power a resistor grid can consume and lowers the output torque of the motor to lower the speed when the temperature of the resistor grid is too high (¶0053) and utilize the energy calculation system from Gottemoller that can calculate the rate of change and heat from the resistor girds in order to turn on a fan and lower the output of the motors as well when the temperature exceeds a threshold (¶0051). This would enable the system to more accurately read and estimate the resistor grid temperature and lower the power output of the motors to improve reliability by keeping the resistors cool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-2, 6-7, and 14-15, applicant argues that Crossman III fails to disclose “in response to the temperature satisfying the temperature threshold, calculating a maximum resistive braking period”
However, in ¶0050, Crossman II explicitly states:
“then the controller 222 can continue to optionally allow the maximum retarding power P.sub.max to be available from the retarding grid 206 to the traction motor/s 212a, 212b until a current operating temperature T.sub.current of the retarding grid 206 remains lesser than the maximum allowable operating temperature T.sub.max of the retarding grid 206. For instance, as disclosed earlier herein, the controller 222 can determine the period of time t in which the current operating temperature T.sub.current of the retarding grid 206 may reach the maximum allowable operating temperature T.sub.max of the retarding grid 206, and allow the maximum retarding power P.sub.max from the retarding grid 206 to be available to the traction motor/s 212a, 212b for the pre-determined period of time t. “
This very clearly shows how a maximum amount of braking or retarding power can be generated and for a period of time cased on a temperature and a threshold.
Applicant also argues that Crossman II does not teach limiting the electric driver machine to a maximum braking speed, however, this is taught in ¶0051 where the retarding power would be reduced, and in ¶0053 where this is done by slowing down the machine.
As such, examiner is maintaining the rejections of claims 1-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846