DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Embodiment 1, Fig. 4, and Claims 1-6 in the reply filed on February 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 7-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 13, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0087769 A1 to Yamazaki et al. (“Yamazaki”). As to claim 1, Yamazaki discloses a display device, comprising: a planarization layer (109) disposed above a substrate (100); a first bank (111 between 112) disposed on the planarization layer (109); an anode (112, 113) disposed on the planarization layer (109), the anode (112, 113) disposed on a side surface of the first bank (111 between 112); a second bank (114) covering a portion of the anode (112, 113) and the first bank (111 between 112), the second bank (114) disposed above the first bank (111 between 112) and the anode (112, 113); a doping layer (black 118 on 114) disposed on a top surface and a side portion of the second bank (114); an organic layer (119) which is disposed on the doping layer (black 118 on 114) and the anode (112, 113); a cathode (120) disposed on the organic layer (119); and an encapsulation unit (122, 123) disposed above the cathode (120) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 0039, ¶ 0079, ¶ 0117, ¶ 0120, ¶ 0129, ¶ 0131-¶ 0141) (Notes: the limitation “bank” is interpreted as a layer to define and separate elements adjacent thereof). As to claim 3, Yamazaki further discloses wherein the doping layer (black 118 on 114) is disposed on the top surface and the side portion of the second bank (114) to cover the second bank (114) (See Fig. 2). As to claim 4, Yamazaki further discloses wherein the doping layer (black 118 on 114) is a p-doping layer (black 118 on 114) in which a p-type impurity is injected (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0132) (Notes: the limitation “is injected” is a product-by-process limitation). As to claim 5, Yamazaki further discloses wherein the substrate (100) is divided into a first area (at 119 on 117) corresponding to a main emission area and a second area (overlapping 112) other than the first area (at 119 on 117), and the first bank (111 between 112), the second bank (114), and the doping layer (black 118 on 114) are disposed only in the second area (overlapping 112) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2) (Notes: the first and second areas are defined by the elements disposed thereon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0087769 A1 to Yamazaki et al. (“Yamazaki”) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of CN 105428476 B to Zhang et al. (“Zhang”). The teaching of Yamazaki has been discussed above. As to claim 6, Yamazaki in view of Zhang further discloses wherein the organic layer (119) includes: a p-hole injection layer (¶ 0039/50) which is disposed in the first area (at 119 on 117) and the second area (overlapping 112); a hole transport layer (¶ 0039) disposed on the p-hole injection layer (¶ 0039/50); an emission layer (¶ 0039) disposed on the hole transport layer (¶ 0039) of the first area (at 119 on 117); and an electron transport layer (¶ 0039) disposed in the first area (at 119 on 117) and the second area (overlapping 112), and wherein the doping layer (black 118 on 114) has a doping concentration higher (2E19-21 to 1E18) than the p-hole injection layer (¶ 0039/50) (See Yamazaki ¶ 0039, ¶ 0132, ¶ 0135, ¶ 0136 and Zhang S05 on Page 6) such that the highly doped doping layer provides a densified barrier and improved optical properties and the p-hole injection layer provides enough hole and improved composite efficiency in the emission layer.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0212144 A1 to Ahn et al. (“Ahn”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0087769 A1 to Yamazaki et al. (“Yamazaki”). As to claim 1, although Ahn discloses a display device, comprising: a planarization layer (116) disposed above a substrate (111); a first bank (118) disposed on the planarization layer (116); an anode (112) disposed on the planarization layer (116), the anode (112) disposed on a side surface of the first bank (118); a second bank (120) covering a portion of the anode (112) and the first bank (118), the second bank (120) disposed above the first bank (118) and the anode (112); a doping layer (131 on 120) disposed on a top surface and a side portion of the second bank (120); an organic layer (142) which is disposed on the doping layer (131 on 120) and the anode (112); a cathode (150) disposed on the organic layer (142) (See Fig. 14, ¶ 0006, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0070, ¶ 0072, ¶ 0073, ¶ 0078, ¶ 0082, ¶ 0132, ¶ 0135) (Notes: the limitation “planarization layer” provides flat surfaces and limitation “bank” is interpreted as a layer to define and separate elements adjacent thereof), Ahn does not further disclose and an encapsulation unit disposed above the cathode. However, Yamazaki does disclose and an encapsulation unit (122, 123) disposed above the cathode (120) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 0131-¶ 0141). In view of the teaching of Yamazaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ahn to have and an encapsulation unit disposed above the cathode because moisture is prevented from entering to improve the reliability (See ¶ 0140).
As to claim 3, Ahn further discloses wherein the doping layer (131 on 120) is disposed on the top surface and the side portion of the second bank (120) to cover the second bank (120) (See Fig. 14). As to claim 4, Ahn further discloses wherein the doping layer (131 on 120) is a p-doping layer (131 on 120) in which a p-type impurity is injected (See ¶ 0078) (Notes: the limitation “is injected” is a product-by-process limitation).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0212144 A1 to Ahn et al. (“Ahn”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0087769 A1 to Yamazaki et al. (“Yamazaki”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0033848 A1 to Jung et al. (“Jung”). The teachings of Ahn and Yamazaki have been discussed above. As to claim 2, Ahn in view of Jung further discloses wherein the first bank (118/BIL) is configured by a black material and the second bank (120/TPDL) is configured by a transparent material (See Ahn Fig. 14 and Jung Fig. 5, ¶ 0097-¶ 0100) such that external light is absorbed by the black material to prevent the devices below from being visible due to reflection of external light.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815