This action is responsive to the Amendment filed 3/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 9 and 16 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 9 and 16 were amended. This is a Non-Final action on the RCE filed 3/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizukami et al (“Mizukami”, US 2015/0286365) in view of Lee et al (“Lee” US 2022/0191157) and further in view Seo (“Seo”, US 2017/0323266).
As per claim 1, Mizukami teaches a method for providing a spatialized display of chat messages within a messaging platform, comprising:
displaying, for each of a plurality of participants within a messaging session, a spatial chat user interface (UI) ([0023] The chat system shown in FIG. 1 has a function of realizing, for example, a chat between the user A, who uses the terminal device 31, and (a plurality of users including) the user B, who uses the terminal device 32. Specifically, in the chat system shown in FIG. 1, a chat is made via, for example, a virtual space (hereinafter, referred to as the chat room), in which characters (avatars) of the user A and the user B are present.), the spatial chat UI comprising:
a virtual background (Claim 1 an image including a trajectory that is input by handwriting by a first user of the first terminal device to a display view of the first terminal device, on which a virtual space is displayed, in a state where the virtual space is set as a background and a character of the first user is present in the virtual space); and
one or more spatialized avatars, wherein each spatialized avatar is a representation of one of the plurality of participants overlaid on the virtual background (See Figure 6 and Claim 1 as cited above.);
receiving one or more initial chat messages sent by a participant from the plurality of participants (Figure 6, [0086] In a case where the handwritten message is created on the display view 312 of the terminal device 31 by the user A and then the send button 312e is designated on the display view 312, by executing the above processing shown in FIG. 5, the display view 312 of the terminal device 31 transitions to a display view 313 shown in FIG. 6. [0087] In this case, as shown on the display view 313 of the terminal device 31 shown in FIG. 6, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message “Hello!” 313a created on the above display view 312 by the user A is displayed in the vicinity of the character 100 of the user A.);
displaying, adjacent to the spatialized avatar representing the participant, one or more initial chat bubbles corresponding to the one or more initial chat messages sent by the participant, the initial chat bubbles having a first appearance. ([0087] In this case, as shown on the display view 313 of the terminal device 31 shown in FIG. 6, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message “Hello!” 313a created on the above display view 312 by the user A is displayed in the vicinity of the character 100 of the user A.);
displaying one or more other participant chat bubbles corresponding to messages sent by participants from the plurality of participants other than the participant, the other participant chat bubbles having a second appearance ( [0096] In a case where the handwritten message is created on the display view 322 of the terminal device 32 by the user B and then the send button 322e is designated on the display view 322, by executing the above processing shown in FIG. 5, the display view 322 of the terminal device 32 transitions to a display view 323 shown in FIG. 7. [0097] In this case, as shown on the display view 323 of the terminal device 32 shown in FIG. 7, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message 323a created on the above display view 322 by the user B is displayed in the vicinity of the character 200 of the user B.));
updating the first appearance of the initial chat bubbles to a fourth appearance ([0100] For example, the sizes of the messages displayed in the vicinity of the character of the user A and the character of the user B on the display views of the terminal device 31 and the terminal device 32 may be changed (for example, reduced) over time, or the messages may be deleted at the time of creating (displaying) a new message, after a predetermined time elapses (for example, after three seconds).)
Mizukami fails to distinctly point out teaching wherein the virtual background is dynamically generated based on a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors comprising (1) information about organizational associations of the plurality of participants and (2) a context of the messaging session; nor receiving one or more additional chat messages sent by the participant; displaying, adjacent to the spatialized avatar representing the participant, one or more additional chat bubbles corresponding to the one or more additional chat messages sent by the participant, the additional chat bubbles having a third appearance.
However, Lee discloses wherein the virtual background is dynamically generated based on a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors comprising (1) information about organizational associations of the plurality of participants and (2) a context of the messaging session (see paragraphs [0008] and [0011]-[0012]; e.g., dynamically generating a virtual background based on information associated with the sending user as well as contextual information associated with the sender’s message; also see figs 2E, 2F and 2H; also see paragraphs [0061]-[0064]; e.g., “this presentation is automatically generated in response to the user typing the text “It's raining, let's go get lunch” in the message that is being sent and in response to one of the systems/devices used for generating, transmitting or rendering the message automatically identifying the term raining and generating/modifying the avatar to be rendered with the presentation format that is shown”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Lee with the method of Mizukami. Motivation to do so would have been to enable additional techniques and functionality for enabling systems to convey expressive intent and corresponding status information in a rich and intuitive manner when communicating over messaging platforms and other communication applications and particularly in a manner that is responsive to the detected status/states of the message participants.
Moreover, Seo teaches receiving one or more additional chat messages sent by the participant; displaying, adjacent to the spatialized avatar representing the participant, one or more additional chat bubbles corresponding to the one or more additional chat messages sent by the participant, the additional chat bubbles having a third appearance (See Figure 5, 501 502, wherein the chat bubbles appear in a stacked order).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Seo with the method of Seo. Motivation to do so would have been to provide a way for multiple messages to be displayed in the case of fast back to back messages in order to avoid replacement and missing context of the conversation.
As per claim 2, Mizukami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the spatial chat UI further comprises receiving input from a client device associated with the participant, wherein the input received is a non-text- based visual communication ([0097] In this case, as shown on the display view 323 of the terminal device 32 shown in FIG. 7, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message 323a created on the above display view 322 by the user B is displayed in the vicinity of the character 200 of the user B.)).
As per claim 3 Seo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more initial chat bubbles are repositioned within a prespecified chat bubble area concurrently with the additional chat bubbles being displayed (See Figure 5, 501 502, wherein the chat bubbles appear in a stacked order.)
As per claim 4, Seo teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the prespecified chat bubble area is adjacent to the spatialized avatar representing the participant (See Figure 5, 501 502, wherein the chat bubbles appear in a stacked order.)
As per claim 5, Mizukami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first appearance, the second appearance, the third appearance, and the fourth appearance correspond to one or more physical characteristics of one or more chat bubbles, including a roundedness of one or more edges of the chat bubbles, a shape of the chat bubbles, a border style of the chat bubbles, or an opacity of the chat bubbles ([0100] For example, the sizes of the messages displayed in the vicinity of the character of the user A and the character of the user B on the display views of the terminal device 31 and the terminal device 32 may be changed (for example, reduced) over time, or the messages may be deleted at the time of creating (displaying) a new message, after a predetermined time elapses (for example, after three seconds).); and
the one or more chat bubbles encapsulate one or more chat messages ([0087] In this case, as shown on the display view 313 of the terminal device 31 shown in FIG. 6, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message “Hello!” 313a created on the above display view 312 by the user A is displayed in the vicinity of the character 100 of the user A.).
As per claim 6, Mizukami-Seo teaches the method of claim 5, wherein:
the third appearance of the one or more additional chat bubbles is the same as the first appearance of the one or more initial chat bubbles; and
the fourth appearance of the initial chat bubbles is different from the third appearance of the one or more additional chat bubbles, the difference indicating that the initial chat bubbles comprise older messages ([0100] For example, the sizes of the messages displayed in the vicinity of the character of the user A and the character of the user B on the display views of the terminal device 31 and the terminal device 32 may be changed (for example, reduced) over time, or the messages may be deleted at the time of creating (displaying) a new message, after a predetermined time elapses (for example, after three seconds). See also Seo, Figure 5, 501 502, wherein the chat bubbles appear in a stacked order.)
As per claim 7, Mizukami teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the fourth appearance comprises a reduced opacity of the initial chat bubbles ([0100] For example, the sizes of the messages displayed in the vicinity of the character of the user A and the character of the user B on the display views of the terminal device 31 and the terminal device 32 may be changed (for example, reduced) over time, or the messages may be deleted at the time of creating (displaying) a new message, after a predetermined time elapses (for example, after three seconds).
As per claim 8, Mizukami teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second appearance of the other participant chat bubbles is different from the first appearance of the initial chat bubbles and the third appearance of the additional chat bubbles, the difference indicating that the other participant chat bubbles do not contain messages sent by the participant ([0096] In a case where the handwritten message is created on the display view 322 of the terminal device 32 by the user B and then the send button 322e is designated on the display view 322, by executing the above processing shown in FIG. 5, the display view 322 of the terminal device 32 transitions to a display view 323 shown in FIG. 7. [0097] In this case, as shown on the display view 323 of the terminal device 32 shown in FIG. 7, (a handwritten and input image including) a handwritten message 323a created on the above display view 322 by the user B is displayed in the vicinity of the character 200 of the user B.).
Claim 9 is similar in scope to that of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 10 is similar in scope to that of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is similar in scope to that of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is similar in scope to that of claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to that of claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to that of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to that of claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to that of claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to that of claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to that of claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to that of claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to that of claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Lee failing to disclose “wherein the virtual background is dynamically generated based on a plurality of factors, the plurality of factors comprising (1) information about organizational associations of the plurality of participants and (2) a context of the messaging session,” the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee discloses dynamically generating a virtual background based on information associated with the sending user as well as contextual information associated with the sender’s message (see paragraphs [0008] and [0011]-[0012]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huynh et al (US 2028/0309806).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174