Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and 21-26 in the reply filed on 3/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 21-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ziglioli (20170317060)
Regarding claim 1, Ziglioli teaches a device, comprising:
a semiconductor die (fig. 5B and 6: 300 or 400) having first and second opposed surfaces (please see topmost and bottommost surfaces of 300 or 400 in fig. 5B);
first and second electrically conductive patterns (fig. 5B and 6: 230, 500, 510, 520) configured to provide electrical coupling to the semiconductor die (please see fig. 5B and 6), wherein the first and second electrically conductive patterns extend at the first and second opposed surfaces of the at least one semiconductor die, respectively (please see fig. 5B and 6);
an electrical component (fig. 6A and 6B: 810 or 820) having a length transverse to the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A), wherein the electrical component extends between the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A) and includes opposed electrical contact end terminals (par. 34, 42 and 44 teaches electrodes being on 230, 500, 510, 520) coupled to the first and second electrically conductive patterns at the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A and par. 50), respectively;
wherein the electrical component is electrically coupled to the semiconductor die via the first and second electrically conductive patterns at the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A and 50).
Regarding claim 2, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 1, wherein the electrical component comprises an elongate component having a major length between the opposed electrical contact end terminals, the electrical component being arranged with the major length transverse to the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 4, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 1, wherein the electrical component is arranged adjacent a side of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 5, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 1, further comprising an electrically conductive formation (fig. 6A: 200) extending between the first and second electrically conductive patterns at the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die to provide electrical connection therebetween, wherein the electrically conductive formation is preferably arranged adjacent a side of the semiconductor die (please see multiple portions of 200).
Regarding claim 6, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 5, wherein the semiconductor die is located between the electrical component and the electrically conductive formation (please see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 7, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 1, wherein the electrical component comprises a capacitor (par. 50-53).
Regarding claim 8, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 1, further comprising an encapsulation (600; par. 37) of insulating material encapsulating the semiconductor die as well as the first and second electrically conductive patterns at the first and second opposed surfaces of the semiconductor die, wherein the electrical component is embedded in said encapsulation (par. 37).
Regarding claim 9, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 8, comprising electrically conductive pathways extending through the encapsulation of insulating material towards at least one of the first and second electrically conductive patterns (par. 37).
Regarding claim 21, Ziglioli teaches a device, comprising:
a semiconductor die (fig. 5B and 6: 300 or 400) having a first surface and a second surface opposed to the first surface ((please see topmost and bottommost surfaces of 300 or 400 in fig. 5B);
a first electrically conductive pattern (fig. 5B and 6: 230, 500, 510, 520) electrically coupled to the semiconductor die at the first surface (please see fig. 5B and 6);
a second electrically conductive pattern (fig. 6A: 200) electrically coupled to the semiconductor die at the second surface;
an electrical component (fig. 6A and 6B: 810 or 820) having a first electrical contact end terminal coupled to the first electrically conductive pattern and having a second electrical contact end terminal coupled to the second electrically conductive pattern (par. 34, 42 and 44 teaches electrodes being on 200, 230, 500, 510, 520);
an encapsulation of insulating material encapsulating the semiconductor die (par. 37), the first electrically conductive pattern at the first surface of the semiconductor die, and the second electrically conductive pattern at the second surface of the semiconductor die,
wherein the electrical component is embedded in said encapsulation (par. 37 teaches protecting the entire package).
Regarding claim 22, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 21, wherein the electrical component comprises an elongate component having a major length between the first electrical contact end terminal and the second electrical contact end terminal, the electrical component being arranged with the major length transverse to the first and second surfaces of the semiconductor die (please see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 24, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 21, further comprising an electrically conductive connection extending through the encapsulation to electrically connect the first electrically conductive pattern to the second electrically conductive pattern (please see multiple portions 230, 500, 510, 520).
Regarding claim 25, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 24, wherein the semiconductor die is located between the electrical component and the electrically conductive connection (please see fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 26, Ziglioli teaches a device of claim 21, wherein the electrical component comprises a capacitor (par. 50-53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818