DETAILED ACTION
IDS
All references provided in the IDS have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 04/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: unclear/inconsistent usage of reference numerals.
In the specification, for example: ¶ {0022] uses the reference numerals 111 for “component terminals” “conductive metal first and second terminals” and later in the specification (for example, ¶ [0026]) “a first terminal” also uses the reference numeral 111 and “a second terminal” also uses the reference numeral 111.
In the specification, for example: ¶ [0031], uses the reference numerals 114 for “conductive metal clips” and then later, for examples, ¶ [0032] uses “metal clips”.
More examples like the one mentioned above could be present. Applicant should clarify and use consistent terminology throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “conductive first and second metal clips”, “ conductive metal first and second terminals”, “first and second recesses” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re: Independent Claim 1, Claim 1, lines 6-7 and line 10 recites: “respective first and second metal clips”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this. It is unclear if these are the “conductive first and second metal clips” recited in Claim 1, line 3, or a new recitation of metal clips. It has been interpreted to mean “the respective conductive first and second metal clips”. Claims 1-6, and 12 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Re: Dependent Claim 2, Claim 2, line 2 recites: “having a first terminal extending into…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. In view of the specification, which gives “a first terminal” the same reference numeral as “conductive first and second terminals” it is unclear if this recitation of “a first terminal” is a new recitation of a terminal which does not necessarily have to be conductive, or the same as a “conductive first and second terminal”. It has been interpreted to mean “having the conductive first terminal extending into…”.
Re: Dependent Claim 2, Claim 2, line 3 recites: “the first metal clip…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation, as no “a first metal clip” has been claimed. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive first metal clip” of Claim 1.
Re: Dependent Claim 2, Claim 2, line 3 recites: “a second terminal extending into…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. In view of the specification, which gives “a second terminal” the same reference numeral as “conductive first and second terminals” it is unclear if this recitation of “a second terminal” is a new recitation of a terminal which does not necessarily have to be conductive, or the same as a “conductive first and second terminal”. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive second terminal extending into…”.
Re: Dependent Claim 2, Claim 2, line 4 recites: “the second metal clip…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation, as no “a second metal clip” has been claimed. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive second metal clip” of Claim 1.
Re: Independent Claim 7, Claim 7, line 4 recites: “connected to respective ones of the conductive metal pads”. It is unclear what is meant by “respective ones”. It has been interpreted to mean “metal leads electrically connected to metal pads” Claims 8-11 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 7.
Re: Independent Claim 7, Claim 7, line 10 and line 14 recites: “respective first and second metal clips”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this. It is unclear if these are the “conductive first and second metal clips” recited in Claim 7, line 7, or a new recitation of metal clips. It has been interpreted to mean “the respective conductive first and second metal clips”. Claims 8-11 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 7.
Re: Dependent Claim 8, Claim 8, line 2 recites: “having a first terminal extending into…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. In view of the specification, which gives “a first terminal” the same reference numeral as “conductive first and second terminals” it is unclear if this recitation of “a first terminal” is a new recitation of a terminal which does not necessarily have to be conductive, or the same as a “conductive first and second terminal”. It has been interpreted to mean “having the conductive first terminal extending into…”.
Re: Dependent Claim 8, Claim 8, line 3 recites: “the first metal clip…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation, as no “a first metal clip” has been claimed. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive first metal clip” of claim 7.
Re: Dependent Claim 8, Claim 8, line 3 recites: “a second terminal extending into…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation. In view of the specification, which gives “a second terminal” the same reference numeral as “conductive first and second terminals” it is unclear if this recitation of “a second terminal” is a new recitation of a terminal which does not necessarily have to be conductive, or the same as a “conductive first and second terminal”. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive second terminal extending into…”.
Re: Dependent Claim 8, Claim 8, line 4 recites: “the second metal clip…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation, as no “a second metal clip” has been claimed. It has been interpreted to mean “the conductive second metal clip” of Claim 7.
Re: Dependent Claim 12, Claim 12, line 1 recites: “The system of claim 1”. No system has been claimed in Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis. It has been interpreted to mean the electronic device of claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12, as written, is dependent from Claim 1 and recites: “comprising a second molded package structure that encloses the electronic component”. This claim is identical to Claim 6, which is also dependent on claim 1, reciting: “comprising a second molded package structure that encloses the electronic component. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20250132291 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Yang discloses:
An electronic device (Yang, SiP module; Fig. 2h, element 190), comprising:
a semiconductor die (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104a) attached to a lead frame or substrate (Yang, interconnect structure; Fig. 2h, element 130);
conductive first and second metal clips (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second metal clip and the one left to that can considered a first metal clip) attached to the lead frame or substrate;
a molded package structure (Yang, interposer; Fig. 2h, element 170, ¶ [0029]) that encloses the semiconductor die and has a top side (Yang, Fig. 2h, the top side of 170 can be considered a top side) with first and second recesses (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure) that extend into the molded package structure to top sides of the respective first and second metal clips (Yang, Fig. 2h shows the recesses touching the top most surface of the respective conductive first and second conductive metal clips); and
an electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) having conductive metal first and second terminals (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the left one extending out of 104c can be considered a first terminal and the right one can be considered a second terminal) that extend into the respective first and second recesses and are electrically connected to the top sides of the respective first and second metal clips (Yang, Fig. 2h).
Re: Dependent Claim 2, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
wherein the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) is a passive surface mount technology component (Yang, ¶ [0033]) having a first terminal (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the left one extending out of 104c can be considered the first conductive terminal) extending into the first recess (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure) and electrically connected to the top side of the first metal clip (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second conductive metal clip and the one left to that can considered the first conductive metal clip), and a second terminal (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the right one extending out of 104c can be considered a second terminal) extending into the second recess (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure) and electrically connected to the top side of the second metal clip (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second conductive metal clip).
Re: Dependent Claim 3, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
wherein the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) is one of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a diode, and a transistor (Yang, ¶ [0013] defines passive components, and [0033] mentions 104c as a passive component).
Re: Dependent Claim 4, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising an adhesive extending (Yang, mold underfill; Fig. 2h, element 186) between the top side of the molded package structure (Yang, interposer; Fig. 2h, element 170, ¶ [0029]) and a side of the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c, the bottom portion of 104c can be considered a side).
Re: Dependent Claim 5, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising a second molded package structure (Yang, encapsulant; Fig 2h, element 188) that encloses the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c).
Re: Dependent Claim 6, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising a second molded package structure (Yang, encapsulant; Fig 2h, element 188) that encloses the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c).
Re: Independent Claim 7, Yang discloses:
A system (Yang, electronic device; Fig. 6a, element 300), comprising:
a circuit board (Yang, printed circuit board; Fig. 6a, element 302) having conductive metal pads (Yang, conductive layer; Fig. 6a, element 304); and
an electronic device (Yang, SiP module; Fig. 2h, element 190) attached to the circuit board (Yang, Fig. 6a, ¶ [0044], Yang discloses the SiP modules can be attached to the circuit board) and comprising:
conductive metal leads (Yang, solder bump; Fig. 2h, element 194) electrically connected to respective ones of the conductive metal pads (Yang, Fig. 6a shows 194 and 304 are connected);
a semiconductor die (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104a) attached to a lead frame or substrate (Yang, interconnect structure; Fig. 2h, element 130);
conductive first and second metal clips (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second metal clip and the one left to that can considered a first metal clip) attached to the lead frame or substrate;
a molded package structure (Yang, interposer; Fig. 2h, element 170, ¶ [0029]) that encloses the semiconductor die and has a top side (Yang, Fig. 2h, the top side of 170 can be considered a top side) with first and second recesses (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure of Claim 1) that extend into the molded package structure to top sides of the respective first and second metal clips (Yang, Fig. 2h shows the recesses touching the top most surface of the respective conductive first and second conductive metal clips); and
an electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) having conductive metal first and second terminals (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the left one extending out of 104c can be considered a first terminal and the right one can be considered a second terminal) that extend into the respective first and second recesses and are electrically connected to the top sides of the respective first and second metal clips (Yang, Fig. 2h).
Re: Dependent Claim 8, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
wherein the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) is a passive surface mount technology component (Yang, ¶ [0033]) having a first terminal (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the left one extending out of 104c can be considered the first conductive terminal) extending into the first recess (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure of Claim 1) and electrically connected to the top side of the first metal clip (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second conductive metal clip and the one left to that can considered the first conductive metal clip), and a second terminal (Yang, contact pad, conductive layers, conductive micropillars, solder; Fig. 2h, elements 114, 162, 182, and 184, respectively make up terminals and the right one extending out of 104c can be considered a second terminal) extending into the second recess (Yang, Fig. 2h, portions of 160 and 186 can be considered recesses, see attached figure of Claim 1) and electrically connected to the top side of the second metal clip (Yang, conductive pillars; Fig. 2h, element 140, the right one directly underneath element 140c can be considered the second conductive metal clip).
Re: Dependent Claim 9, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
wherein the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c) is one of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a diode, and a transistor (Yang, ¶ [0013] defines passive components, and [0033] mentions 104c as a passive component).
Re: Dependent Claim 10, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising an adhesive extending (Yang, mold underfill; Fig. 2h, element 186) between the top side of the molded package structure (Yang, interposer; Fig. 2h, element 170, ¶ [0029]) and a side of the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c, the bottom portion of 104c can be considered a side).
Re: Dependent Claim 11, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising a second molded package structure (Yang, encapsulant; Fig 2h, element 188) that encloses the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c).
Re: Dependent Claim 12, Yang disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Yang further discloses:
comprising a second molded package structure (Yang, encapsulant; Fig 2h, element 188) that encloses the electronic component (Yang, bridge die; Fig. 2h, element 104c).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
Chung (US 20150041975 A1), Hsu (US 20140203456 A1), Park (US 20250132220 A1), Molina (US 20250079282 A1), Molina (US 20250006683 A1) and Guevara (US 20230317662 A1) disclose semiconductor packaging and package components and configurations such as semiconductor dies, circuit boards, bond pads, and terminals.
Conclusion
/NIMARTA KAUR CHOWDHARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898