DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2018/0123074, hereinafter Lee) in view of Cho (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0176521, hereinafter Cho).
Re claim 1 Lee discloses a display device, comprising: a substrate(100) on which a plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200) are defined; an anode(261) disposed on the substrate(100) to correspond to each of the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200); an organic light emitting layer(262) disposed on the anode(261); a cathode(263) disposed on the organic light emitting layer(262); a bank(270) covering an edge of the anode(261) to define a plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049]; an encapsulation layer(300) disposed on the cathode(263); a black matrix(410) disposed on the encapsulation layer(300) to correspond to the bank(270), and including a plurality of openings[0059] overlapping the plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049] respectively; and a plurality of color filters(421) disposed on the encapsulation layer(300) to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200), respectively, wherein each of the plurality of color filters(421) includes a first region(region of 421) overlapping a corresponding emission area[0049] and a second region(region adjacent to region of 421) adjacent the first region(region of 421) and having at least a portion disposed to cover at least a portion of an upper surface of the black matrix(410),
Lee does not disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of color filters(421) includes a plurality of holes in at least one of an edge of the first region(region of 421) and the second region(region adjacent to region of 421).
Cho discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of color filters[0135 of Cho] includes a plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Cho to the teachings of Lee in order to minimize light transmittance deteriorated [0003, Lee]. In doing so, wherein at least one of the plurality of color filters[0135 of Cho] includes a plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] in at least one of an edge of the first region(region of 421) and the second region(region adjacent to region of 421).
Re claim 2 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one opening of the plurality of openings[0059] corresponds to the first region(region of 421) and the corresponding emission area[0049], and a width of the corresponding opening is approximately equal to a width of the first region(region of 421) and to a width of the corresponding emission area[0049], and wherein the second region(region adjacent to region of 421) is disposed to be in contact with the upper surface of the black matrix(410).
Re claim 3 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 2, further comprising: a color filter buffer layer disposed between the encapsulation layer(300) and the plurality ofcolor filters(421),wherein the first region(region of 421) includes the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] at the edge thereof, and the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] of the first region(region of 421) expose at least a portion of the color filter buffer layer.
Re claim 4 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 2, wherein the second region(region adjacent to region of 421) includes the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] , and the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] of the second region(region adjacent to region of 421) expose at least a portion of the black matrix(410).
Re claim 5 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein a width of a corresponding opening is greater than a width of the first region(region of 421), wherein the width of the first region(region of 421) is approximately equal to a width of the corresponding emission area[0049], wherein the second region(region adjacent to region of 421) includes a first sub-region adjacent the first region(region of 421) and in contact with a side surface of the black matrix(410), and a second sub-region adjacent the first sub- region and in contact with the upper surface of the black matrix(410), and wherein at least one of the plurality of color filters(421) includes the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] in at least one of the edge of the first region(region of 421), the first sub-region, and the second sub-region.
Re claim 6 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 5, further comprising: a color filter buffer layer disposed between the encapsulation layer(300) and the plurality of color filters(421), wherein the first region(region of 421) includes the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] at the edge thereof, and the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] of the first region(region of 421) expose at least a portion of the color filter buffer layer.
Re claim 7 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 5, further comprising: a color filter buffer layer disposed between the encapsulation layer(300) and the plurality of color filters(421), wherein at least one of the first sub-region and the second sub-region includes the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] , and wherein the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] of the first sub-region expose at least a portion of the color filter buffer layer, and the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] of the second sub-region expose at least a portion of the black matrix(410).
Re claim 8 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] passes through at least a portion of a corresponding color filter in a thickness direction of the corresponding color filter from an upper surface of the corresponding color filter.
Re claim 9 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] are disposed in a plurality of columns from outside to inside of the plurality of color filters(421) on a plane.
Re claim 10 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] has a circular shape, a polygonal shape, a line shape, or an annular shape on a plane.
Re claim 11 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] has a circular shape on a plane, a diameter of the at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] is about 0.1 pm to about 5 pm, and a distance between a pair of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] that are adjacent to each other is about 0.1 pmto about 5pm.
Re claim 12 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] is tilted from the first region(region of 421) to the second region(region adjacent to region of 421).
Re claim 13 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] includes a filler.
Re claim 14 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 13, wherein the plurality of color filters(421) include a material having a refractive index of 1.5 or more, and wherein the filler includes a material having a refractive index of 1.4 or less.
Re claim 15 Lee discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200) defined on a substrate(100); a plurality of organic light emitting elements(260) disposed to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200), respectively, and having a plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049], respectively;bank(270)s to define the plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049] corresponding to the plurality of sub- pixels; an encapsulation layer(300) disposed on the plurality of organic light emitting elements(260); a black matrix(410) disposed on the encapsulation layer(300) to correspond to the bank(270)s, and including a plurality of openings[0059] corresponding to the plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049], respectively; and a plurality of color filters(421) disposed on the encapsulation layer(300) to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200), respectively,
Lee does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of color filters(421) includes a plurality of holes grouped into an inner pattern and an outer pattern having different sizes.
Cho discloses wherein each of the plurality of color filters[0135] includes a plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136] grouped into an inner pattern and an outer pattern having different sizes(width W2 and the width W3 are provided to be different from one another)[0136].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Cho to the teachings of Lee in order to minimize light transmittance deteriorated [0003, Lee].
Re claim 16 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein a size of the inner pattern is less than a size of the outer pattern.
Re claim 17 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein each of the inner pattern and the outer pattern is an annular pattern.
Re claim 18 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein at least one of the inner pattern and the outer pattern includes a circular shape, a polygonal shape, a line shape, or an annular shape on a plane.
Re claim 19 Lee and Cho disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein some of the plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] are partial holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136 of Cho] that partially penetrate a corresponding color filter of the plurality of color filters(421).
Re claim 20 Lee discloses a display device, comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200) defined on a substrate(100); a plurality of organic light emitting elements(260) disposed to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200), respectively, and having a plurality of emission area[0049]s[0049], respectively;an encapsulation layer(300) disposed on the plurality of organic light emitting elements(260); and a plurality of color filters(421) disposed on the encapsulation layer(300) to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels(pixel array in 200), respectively,
Lee does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of color filters(421) includes a first part, a second part that is outward of the first part, and a third part that is outward of the second part, and wherein a plurality of holes are included in the second part and encircle the first part.
Cho discloses wherein each of the plurality of color filters includes a first part(131/132/133), a second part(131/132/133) that is outward of the first part, and a third part(131/132/133) that is outward of the second part, and wherein a plurality of holes(133a/133b/131a/131b)[0136] are included in the second part and encircle the first part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Cho to the teachings of Lee in order to minimize light transmittance deteriorated [0003, Lee].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812