DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 9, 12, and 16 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding (US 2019/0339386 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses Ding discloses a transmitter configured to drive the acoustic transducer to generate acoustic bursts[Abstract, Claim 1 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer];
a receiver coupled to the acoustic transducer and configured to sense a respective response for each of the acoustic bursts[ Abstract, Claim 1 has transducer/receiver that receives the burst];
and a processing circuit configured to derive output data from the responses[Fig 2, 4, 5 has electronics that process signals and give an output],
wherein each of the acoustic bursts has only one respective fixed frequency displacement from a sequence of frequency displacements associated with the acoustic transducer[0004-0006, 0030, 0069, claim 1 and Fig 17 have acoustic bursts being frequency modulated m eaning frequency has sequence of displacement].
Regarding claim 9, Ding discloses providing a first acoustic burst to a transducer at a first center frequency 0032, 0037 have first frequency ];
and providing, to the transducer, a second acoustic burst at a second center frequency that is displaced relative to the first center by a single respective fixed frequency displacement from a sequence of frequency displacements associated with the transducer[0031, 0032, 0037 have burst pattern with second frequency meaning frequency displacement and each transducer has its owns signature],
wherein the second acoustic burst is consecutive to the first acoustic burst. [0031, 0032, 0037 have second frequency consecutive the first frequency namely it follows the first frequency in the sweep].
Regarding claim 12, Ding discloses a transmitter configured to transmit a sequence of first ultrasonic signals, each of the first ultrasonic signals having a single respective frequency displacement from a sequence of frequency displacements [Abstract, Claim 1 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer, 0031, 0032, 0037 have burst pattern];
a receiver coupled to the acoustic transducer and configured to sense a plurality of reflected ultrasonic signals Abstract, Claim 1 has transducer/receiver that receives the burst];
and a processing circuit[Fig 2, 4, 5 has electronics that process signals and give an output] configured to determine whether the reflected ultrasonic signals are reflections of the first ultrasonic signals or reflections of a sequence of second ultrasonic signals from a second vehicle[003 1, 0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern], based on whether the reflected ultrasonic signals have the sequence of frequency displacements. [0031, 0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern].
Regarding claim 16, Ding discloses transmitting a sequence of first ultrasonic signals from a first vehicle, each of the first ultrasonic signals having a single respective fixed frequency displacement from a sequence of frequency displacements [Abstract, Claim 1 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer, 0031, 0032, 0037 have burst pattern];
detecting, by an obstacle monitoring system of the first vehicle, a plurality of reflected ultrasonic signals Abstract, Claim 1 has transducer/receiver that receives the burst];
and determining whether the reflected ultrasonic signals are reflections of the first ultrasonic signals or reflections of a sequence of second ultrasonic signals from a second vehicle[0031, 0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern], based on whether the reflected ultrasonic signals have the sequence of frequency displacements. [0031, 0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern]
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses wherein the controller comprises a frequency displacement control unit that is configured to apply the frequency displacements to a transmit carrier frequency [Abstract, Claim 1, 0004-0006 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer with frequency modulation meaning it applies frequency displacements to the transmit burst].
Regarding claim 3, Ding discloses wherein the frequency displacements are in a range of 200-2000Hz [0052 has varying about 1kHz ie 1000hz which is within the claimed range]
Regarding claim 4, Ding discloses wherein the frequency displacements are in a range of 300-1200 Hz. [0052 has varying about 1kHz ie 1000hz which is within the claimed range].
Regarding claim 5, Ding discloses wherein the processing circuit is further configured to suppress any peaks in the output data not conforming to the sequence of frequency displacements. [0038 has system doing cross correlation meaning checking whether or not the received echo matches the code].
Regarding claim 6, Ding discloses wherein the transmitter is configured to generate the acoustic bursts by generating a series of consecutive driving signals. [0004-0006 has sequency of pulses meaning consecutive signals].
Regarding claim 7, Ding discloses wherein a first of the acoustic bursts is provided at a first center frequency pattern[0031, 0032, 0037 have burst pattern with second frequency ], and wherein a second of the acoustic bursts is consecutive with the first of the acoustic bursts and is provided at a second center frequency that is displaced relative to the first center frequency according to the sequence of frequency displacements. [0030-0032, 0037 have second frequency consecutive the first frequency namely it follows the first frequency in the sweep as well as frequency modulation between two frequencies ie displacement]
Regarding claim 8, Ding discloses wherein the sequence of frequency displacements is unique to the acoustic transducer. [0031,0032, 0036 has each transducer having its own signature pattern]
Regarding claim 10, Ding discloses further comprising receiving first and second responses to the first and second acoustic bursts, respectively. [0004-0006 has sequence of pulses meaning bursts and Abstract, Claim 1 has transducer/receiver that receives the burst]
Regarding claim 13, Ding discloses wherein the first ultrasonic signals comprise chirps. [Abstract, Claim 1, 0004-0006 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer, ie chirps].
Regarding claim 14, Ding discloses wherein the sequency of frequency displacements corresponds to time shifts of the reflections of the first ultrasonic signals. [0004-0006, 0069, claim 1 has sequency of variable time pulses meaning reflection will have the pattern of time shift in the signature].
Regarding claim 15, Ding discloses wherein the processing circuit is configured to determine whether the reflected ultrasonic signals have the sequence of frequency displacements by determining whether measured distances shift in correspondence with the sequence of frequency displacements. [0030-0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern; 0040, 0043, 0050-0052 also has minimum peak distance meaning distance and time is also being considered].
Regarding claim 17, Ding discloses wherein each of the ultrasonic signals comprises a chirp [Abstract, Claim 1, 0004-0006 has ultrasonic bursts from transducer, ie chirps].
Regarding claim 18, Ding discloses wherein determining whether the reflected ultrasonic signals have the sequence of frequency displacements comprises determining whether measured distances shift in correspondence with the sequence of frequency displacements. [0030-0032, 0036 has identification of pattern as well as each transducer having its own signature meaning each transducer can identify its own pattern from another transducers pattern; 0040, 0043, 0050-0052 also has minimum peak distance meaning distance and time is also being considered]
Regarding claim 19, Ding discloses wherein the reflections of the first ultrasonic signals are reflections from an obstacle. [Abstract, 0003 has obstacle detection from ultrasonic signals]
Regarding claim 20, Ding discloses wherein the reflections of the second ultrasonic signals are reflections from the obstacle [Abstract, 0003 has obstacle detection from ultrasonic signals; 0025 has echos from other transducers namely second ultrasonic signals].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US 2019/0339386 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Horsky (US 8,699,299 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Ding does not explicitly teach converting the responses into first zero intermediate frequency (ZIF) IQ data corresponding to the first acoustic burst and second ZIF IQ data corresponding to the second acoustic burst;
applying derivation-based processing to the first and second ZIF IQ data, to calculate a derivative magnitude, wherein applying derivation-based processing comprises performing subtraction between the first and second ZIF IQ data;
and identifying a distance to an object based on the calculated derivative magnitude.
Horsky teaches that converting the responses into first zero intermediate frequency (ZIF) IQ data corresponding to the first acoustic burst and second ZIF IQ data corresponding to the second acoustic burst[Col 8; Fig 7 Lines 20-40, Claim 9 has ZIF demodulator];
applying derivation-based processing to the first and second ZIF IQ data, to calculate a derivative magnitude, wherein applying derivation-based processing comprises performing subtraction between the first and second ZIF IQ data[Col 8; Lines 20-40, has subtraction of data and difference between outputs to calculate values];
and identifying a distance to an object based on the calculated derivative magnitude. [Claim 9 has distance measurement based on the output of the ZIF]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the distance measurement of Ding with the use of ZIF demodulation and calculation in Horsky in order to have another way to calculate distance based on the echo data. Moreover it would have been obvious to use known techniques such as ZIF to process the acoustic bursts..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly. Applicant's argument is basically that the claims concern one frequency displacement while the prior art has frequency modulation. Having even one frequency displacement is by definition modulating of that frequency and that is something already disclosed by the prior art and applicant has not explained how their claim is different beyond merely asserting it is so and using different words to describe the same concept.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645