DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received December 9, 2025. Claims 1 and 8 were amended. Claims 1-8 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0155048 A1) is withdrawn due to the amendment received December 9, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2016/0322578 A1; cited on 02/16/2026 I.D.S.).
Hwang et al. teaches compounds according to formula 2 (see abstract) per instant formula 10 of claims 1 and 8:
.
Y1 and Y2 may be O or S (see par. 12) such that one meets the requirement of the dibenzofuran of instant Formula 10 and the other reads upon an instant Ar2 as a heteroaryl. Ar2 may be phenyl and L4 may be naphthyl (see par. 13, 15, 118, and 120). More specifically, note that L4 may be naphthalene formula 3-6 having the same bonding position as the instant bonding position of L to naphthalene of instant formula 10 (see par. 53):
.
This bonding pattern corresponds to instant Formula 13 of claim 5.
Regarding device claim 1, the formula 2 is in a hole transport region and the device also includes an emission layer (see abstract) and an electron transport layer between electrodes (see par. 30).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, in Formula 2 Y2 may be oxygen (see par. 12) and substituent R7 may be a phenanthrenyl group (see par. 106-108). Further regarding claim 3, Y1 may be sulfur (see par. 12) and the R5 may be dibenzofuran or phenanthrenyl (see par. 106-108). The bonding locations recited in claims 2 and 4 are considered to be encompassed by the general teachings of the suitability of the groups at any bonding location. The general teachings of the aryl and heteroaryl groups are considered to encompass any of the specific bonding locations of groups as recited.
Regarding claim 6, Z1 of the 3-6 L group (see par. 53) may be hydrogen or deuterium (see par. 56).
Regarding claim 7, a layer containing formula 2 may be adjacent the emitting layer (see par. 148-153). The device includes both a hole transport layer and an auxiliary layer as the hole transport region per the requirement of a plurality of layers (see par. 148, 154).
While Hwang et al. does not appear to teach an example formula 2 compound where the groups were selected as discussed above, the groups are clearly defined for a formula 2 compound for a hole transport region of a device. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to form compounds as taught by the reference as described above wherein the resultant compounds would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve functional compounds for device structures within the disclosure of Hwang et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106661445 (cited by applicant on 02/16/2026 I.D.S and translation copy provided with this office communication).
CN’445 teaches compounds according to Formula 3 for a hole transport auxiliary layer (see translation copy page 1 and formula on page 2):
.
In the formula, X1 may be sulfur, n4 may be zero, L3 and L4 may be arylene or heteroarylene or may not be present if n5 or n6 are zero, Ar2 and Ar3 are aryl or heteroaryl, and the R groups may be hydrogen, deuterium, or aryl or heteroaryl (see page 2 of translation under formula 3). Specific aryl and heteroaryl groups are taught to include phenyl, naphthyl, phenanthryl, and dibenzofuranyl (see page 3 of translation and see also page 22). The teaching of definitions for each of the groups and variables of Formula 3 meet the requirements of compounds of Formula 10 recited in claims 1-8. The general teachings of the aryl and heteroaryl groups are considered to encompass any of the specific bonding locations of groups as recited.
Regarding the device structure of claims 1 and 7, a device includes a light emitting layer (32), a hole transport layer (31), a hole transport auxiliary layer containing the formula 3, (33) and an electron transport layer (34) between an anode (10) and cathode (20) (see Fig. 1 description from bottom of page 2 to top of page 3 of translation). The hole transport layer and auxiliary layer are a “plurality” per claim 7. Figure 1 (see CN patent document front page):
.
While CN’445 does not appear to teach an example formula 3 compound where the variable groups were selected as discussed above, the groups are clearly defined for a formula 3 compound for a hole transport region of a device. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to form compounds of formula 3 as taught by the reference as described above wherein the resultant compounds would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve functional compounds for device structures within the disclosure of CN’445 with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,871,656. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US ‘656 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including arylamine formulas 2 to 8. Ar1 and Ar2 may be substituted or unsubstituted aryl or heteroaryl (see claim 1). Layers of the device (claims 1, 9-11) include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed. In particular, see compounds A45, A46, and A51 of claim 12. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the patented claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by US 11,871,656 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of application 17/649,024. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘024 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1 than may include substituted or unsubstituted dibenzothiophene, naphthyl-phenyl group and aryl/heteroaryl. Layers of the device include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed. In particular, see compound B13 of claim 12. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by co-pending 17/649,024 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of application 17/449,885. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘885 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include substituted or unsubstituted dibenzothiophene, naphthyl-phenyl and aryl/heteroaryl. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1. Layers of the device include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed. In particular, see compounds B13 and B18 (can have corresponding L group) of claim 12. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by co-pending 17/449,885 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-20 of application 17/086,130. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘130 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1. Layers of the device include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed. In particular, see compounds A12, A32, A52, A72, A92, and A112 of claim 12. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by co-pending 17/086,130 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. (Note that a Notice of Allowance was mailed on 02/23/2026, but the application has not issued as a patent yet.)
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of US patent no. 12,391,872 (previously application 17/375,524). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘872 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1 having substituted or unsubstituted groups. Layers of the device include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by patent US 12,391,872 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
Claims 1, 4-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of application 17/579,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘921 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1 having substituted or unsubstituted groups. See at least #213-219 of claim 14. Layers of the device include the order and configuration of layers as instantly claimed (see claims 2, 4). Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by co-pending 17/579,921 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of application 16/842,556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘556 also teaches naphthyl-phenyl derivatives that may include a dibenzothiophene as a Ar1 or Ar2 heteroaryl. Claim 1 is directed to a device with a hole transport region including formula 1 than may include substituted or unsubstituted dibenzothiophene, naphthyl-phenyl group and aryl/heteroaryl. Therefore, given the overlap between the present claims and the co-pending claims, it would have been within the skill level of, as well as obvious to, one of ordinary skill in the art to select a compound and to use a compound in a device which is both disclosed by co-pending 16/842,556 and encompassed by the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
No specific arguments were set forth for the obviousness double patenting rejections. The rejections are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786