DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final office action addressing reissue application 18/523,787 (“the ‘787 Reissue Application" or "reissue application"). The ‘787 Reissue Application is a reissue of U.S. Application No. 17/021,303 (hereinafter “the ‘303 application”) which was allowed as US Patent No. 11,189,218 (hereinafter “the ‘218 patent”) on November 30, 2021.
U.S. Patent Application 17/021,303 claims foreign priority to KR 10-2020-0024898, filed 2/28/2020.
A certified copy of the Foreign Priority document (53 page entry; received 10/5/2020) is found in the prosecution file of US patent application 17/021,303.
Because the instant reissue application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act ("AIA ") will govern this reissue proceeding and all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions. 37 CFR 1.171 through 1.178 are rules directed to reissue.
Because the effective filing date of the related original patent application (17/021,303) that the reissue application is based on is on or after March 16, 2013, the AIA First Inventor to File ("AIA -FITF") provisions do apply.
The broadening reissue application 18/523,787 is timely filed (11/29/2023) based on filing within two years of the issue date of US 11,189,218 (11/30/2021).
Litigation
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which US 11,189,218 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application. These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Based on Examiner's independent review of US 11,189,218 and the prosecution history, no ongoing proceeding before the office or current ongoing litigation involving the US 11,189,218 patent is found. Also, based upon the Examiner's independent review of the patent itself and the prosecution history, the Examiner cannot locate any previous reexaminations, supplemental examinations, or certificates of correction. The original patent issued with claims 1-20 ("Patented Claims").
Prosecution History
A non-final office action (4/9/2021) rejected claims 1 and 11-13 as anticipated by US 2004/0239587 to Murata et al., while objecting to claims 2-10 and 14-20 as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but otherwise allowable if rewritten in independent form.
On 9/15/2020, the Patent Owner (then Applicant) filed an amended set of claims adding the below language into the independent claims.
Claim 1:
wherein the crosstalk compensator outputs at least ones compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in one horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line, respectively.
Claim 2:
A display device comprising:
a display panel including a plurality of pixels connected to data lines;
a data driver connected to the data lines and configured to determine first data voltages corresponding to the pixels, to generate second data voltages by adding a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, and to supply the second data voltages to the pixels through the date lines; and
a crosstalk compensator connected to the data diver and configured to calculate the compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in at least three adjacent horizontal lines,
Claim 13:
wherein calculating the compensation voltage includes calculating at least one compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in one horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line, respectively.
On 7/28/2021, the Examiner issued a Notice of Allowance for all claims citing:
Claim Amendments
The amendment filed 5/15/2025 proposes amendments to claims 1, 2, 13, 14, and 21-28 that do not comply with 37 CFR 1.173 (d), which sets forth the manner of making amendments in reissue applications. Specifically, all claim amendments must be made relative to the allowed patent claim (not a previous amended version), while the amendments must be made in accordance with 37 CFR 1.173 (d) (brackets for omitted material / underline all added material). A supplemental paper correctly amending the reissue application is required.
37 CFR 1.173 (d):
(d) Changes shown by markings. Any changes relative to the patent being reissued which are made to the specification, including the claims, upon filing, or by an amendment paper in the reissue application, must include the following markings:
(1) The matter to be omitted by reissue must be enclosed in brackets; and
(2) The matter to be added by reissue must be underlined, except for amendments submitted on compact discs (§§ 1.96 and 1.821(c) ). Matter added by reissue on compact discs must be preceded with "U" and end with "/U" to properly identify the material being added.
Further see MPEP 1.173(g), 1453(IV), and/or 1453(V)(E), which specifically note the proper manner for making amendments in reissue applications, where amendments must be presented relative to the original spec/claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-17, and 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al., U.S. Publication No. 2018/0330665, hereinafter Fujii and Choi et al., U.S. Publication No. 2015/0009188, hereinafter Choi.
With regard to claim 1, which teaches driver device comprising: a data driver connected to data lines and configured to determine first data voltages corresponding to pixels, to generate second data voltages using a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, and to supply the second data voltages to the pixels through the data lines; Fujii teaches a Data Driver 300 connected to data lines D1, D2,…Dm, configured to generate a first set of signals to pixels on a OLED / LCD display (see paragraphs 57 and 60). The system of Fujii calculates a reference voltages V(i,j) base on pixel PXij electronically connected to the i-th data line DLi and the j-th scan line SLj, then uses the sum of all voltages in the line to calculate the Vave(i) (average voltage of pixels in the line) (see paragraphs 117-126). The captured data is then used to find and apply a compensation voltage through the data lines (see paragraphs 129-131).
With regard to claim 1, which further teaches a crosstalk compensator connected to the data driver and configured to calculate the compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in at least three adjacent horizontal lines; wherein the crosstalk compensator outputs at least one compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in one horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line, respectively, Fujii teaches comparing the voltage of the reference pixel (reference voltage) with that of each of the adjacent pixels Vave(i) (average voltage of the line) to determine the level of crosstalk present (see paragraphs 125-126). Fujii acknowledges that crosstalk may occur in the display due to coupling with adjacent data lines (see paragraph 79). The system then further evaluates crosstalk due to adjacent lines in this other direction by evaluating compensating for pixels discrepancy due to adjacent data lines all to improve crosstalk and “reduce or prevent change in luminance of the display” (see paragraphs 129-131).
Choi teaches a system for removing unintended ghosting / shading in an LCD / OLED display due to a voltage discrepancy (see paragraph 12), similar to that of Fujii, but further explicitly teaches evaluating the current rows pixels against two other adjacent rows (three adjacent horizontal lines), to determine discrepancies (see paragraphs 13, 120-121, and 125-127). The system then provides a compensation voltage that is used create a converted image signal used to power the lines (see paragraphs 124-136). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the evaluation based on the use of specifically three adjacent lines as done in Choi in the system of Fujii to compensate for crosstalk based upon the adjacent pixels / lines / circuits likely having the most effect on voltage changes.
With regard to claim 2, which teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels connected to data lines; Fujii teaches, in paragraph 58 and in figure 1, a display device including a panel having a plurality of pixels connected to data lines (D1, D2,…Dm).
With regard to claim 2, which further teaches a data driver connected to data lines and configured to determine first data voltages corresponding to pixels, to generate second data voltages by using a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, and to supply the second data voltages to the pixels through the data lines; Fujii teaches a Data Driver 300 connected to data lines D1, D2,…Dm, configured to generate a first set of signals to pixels on a OLED / LCD display (see paragraphs 57 and 60). The system of Fujii calculates a reference voltages V(i,j) base on pixel PXij electronically connected to the i-th data line DLi and the j-th scan line SLj, then uses the sum of all voltages in the line to calculate the Vave(i) (average voltage of pixels in the line) (see paragraphs 117-126). The captured data is then used to find and apply a compensation voltage through the data lines (see paragraphs 129-131).
With regard to claim 2, which further teaches a crosstalk compensator connected to the data driver and configured to calculate the compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in at least three adjacent horizontal lines, wherein the crosstalk compensator includes: a first data compensator configured to output a first compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in a horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line; and a second data compensator configured to output a second compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line to the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in at least one next adjacent horizontal line, Fujii teaches comparing the voltage of the reference pixel (reference voltage) with that of each of the adjacent pixels Vave(i) (average voltage of the line) to determine the level of crosstalk present (see paragraphs 125-126). Fujii acknowledges that crosstalk may occur in the display due to coupling with adjacent data lines (see paragraph 79). The system then further evaluates crosstalk due to adjacent lines in this other direction by evaluating compensating for pixels discrepancy due to adjacent data lines all to improve crosstalk and “reduce or prevent change in luminance of the display” (see paragraphs 129-131).
Choi teaches a system for removing unintended ghosting / shading in an LCD / OLED display due to a voltage discrepancy (see paragraph 12), similar to that of Fujii, but further explicitly teaches evaluating the current rows pixels against two other adjacent rows (three adjacent horizontal lines), to determine discrepancies (see paragraphs 13, 120-121, and 125-127). The system then provides a compensation voltage that is used create a converted image signal used to power the lines (see paragraphs 124-136). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the evaluation based on the use of specifically three adjacent lines as done in Choi in the system of Fujii to compensate for crosstalk based upon the adjacent pixels / lines / circuits likely having the most effect on voltage changes.
With regard to claim 3, which teaches wherein the crosstalk compensator further includes a first adder configured to calculate the compensation voltage by linearly combining the first compensation voltage and the second compensation voltage, Fujii teaches combining multiple compensation voltages into a combined compensation voltage (see paragraphs 129-131). Choi further teaches combining the compensation from the N+1 row and the N-1 row into a combined compensation voltage (see paragraphs 13, 135, and 132-135).
With regard to claim 4, which teaches wherein the first data compensator includes: an average voltage calculator configured to output a first average value of the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line; a first delay unit configured to output a second average value of the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line by delaying an output of the average voltage calculator by a predetermined time; a difference calculator configured to output a first difference voltage by differentiating from each other the first average value and the second average value; and a first compensation gain application unit configured to output the first compensation voltage by applying a first compensation gain to the first difference voltage, Fujii calculates an average voltage of pixels in a line Vave(i) and the average voltages of adjacent lines and uses the difference to find a compensation voltage (see paragraphs 117-126 and 129-131). The captured data is then used to find and apply a compensation voltage through the data lines (see paragraphs 129-131).
With regard to claim 5, which teaches wherein the first compensation gain is predetermined to cancel a horizontal crosstalk component between the pixels disposed in the horizontal line and the pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line, Fujii teaches the system evaluates crosstalk due to adjacent lines in both directions by evaluating compensation need for pixel discrepancy due to adjacent data lines all to improve crosstalk and “reduce or prevent change in luminance of the display” (see paragraphs 129-131).
With regard to claim 6, which teaches wherein the predetermined time is 1 horizontal period, Fujii teaches the storage an implementation via a line memory where it is stored up till the previous frame (see paragraphs 123-124).
With regard to claim 11, which teaches further comprising a memory that stores the first data voltages in units of one horizontal line, Fujii teaches a memory that stores the first data voltages (see paragraphs 21, 123, and 124).
With regard to claim 12, which teaches, wherein the data driver is configured to read the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line from the memory, and to generate the second data voltages by adding the compensation voltage to each of the read first data voltages, Fujii teaches generation of compensated voltages by adding the compensation voltage to the first initial voltages (see paragraph 129).
With regard to claim 13, which teaches a driving method of a driver device comprising: determining first data voltages corresponding to data lines connected to pixels based on image data; Fujii teaches a Data Driver 300 connected to data lines D1, D2,…Dm, configured to generate a first set of signals to pixels on a OLED / LCD display (see paragraphs 57 and 60). The system of Fujii calculates reference voltages V(i,j) base on pixel PXij electronically connected to the i-th data line DLi and the j-th scan line SLj, then uses the sum of all voltages in the line to calculate the Vave(i) (average voltage of pixels in the line) (see paragraphs 117-126). The captured data is then used to find and apply a compensation voltage through the data lines (see paragraphs 129-131).
With regard to claim 13, which teaches calculating a compensation voltage for a horizontal line for compensating for a horizontal crosstalk component by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in at least three adjacent horizontal lines; generating second data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in the horizontal line by using the compensation voltage to the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line; and supplying the second data voltages to the data lines, wherein calculating the compensation voltage includes calculating at least one compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in one horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line, respectively, Fujii teaches comparing the voltage of the reference pixel (reference voltage) with that of each of the adjacent pixels Vave(i) (average voltage of the line) to determine the level of crosstalk present (see paragraphs 125-126). Fujii acknowledges that crosstalk may occur in the display due to coupling with adjacent data lines (see paragraph 79). The system then further evaluates crosstalk due to adjacent lines in this other direction by evaluating compensating for pixels discrepancy due to adjacent data lines all to improve crosstalk and “reduce or prevent change in luminance of the display” (see paragraphs 129-131).
Choi teaches a system for removing unintended ghosting / shading in an LCD / OLED display due to a voltage discrepancy (see paragraph 12), similar to that of Fujii, but further explicitly teaches evaluating the current rows pixels against two other adjacent rows (three adjacent horizontal lines), to determine discrepancies (see paragraphs 13, 120-121, and 125-127). The system then provides a compensation voltage that is used create a converted image signal used to power the lines (see paragraphs 124-136). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the evaluation based on the use of specifically three adjacent lines as done in Choi in the system of Fujii to compensate for crosstalk based upon the adjacent pixels / lines / circuits likely having the most effect on voltage changes.
With regard to claim 14, which teaches wherein calculating the compensation voltage includes: calculating a first compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line with the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in an adjacent horizontal line; and calculating a second compensation voltage by comparing the first data voltages corresponding to pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line to at least one next adjacent horizontal line in units of one horizontal line, << See above rejection of claim 2 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 15, which teaches wherein calculating the compensation voltage further includes calculating the compensation voltage by linearly combining the first compensation voltage and the second compensation voltage, << See above rejection of claim 3 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 16, which teaches wherein calculating the first compensation voltage includes: calculating a first difference voltage by differentiating from each other a first average value of the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line and a second average value of the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line; and calculating the first compensation voltage by applying a first compensation gain to the first difference voltage, << See above rejection of claim 4 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 17, which teaches wherein the first compensation gain is predetermined to cancel a horizontal crosstalk component between the pixels disposed in the horizontal line and the pixels disposed in the adjacent horizontal line, << See above rejection of claim 5 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 20, which teaches wherein, in generating the second data voltages, the second data voltage is generated by adding the compensation voltage to each of the first data voltages corresponding to the pixels disposed in the horizontal line, << See above rejection of claim 12 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 21, which teaches further comprising a timing controller configured to generate image data to be displayed in the pixels based on input image data, Fujii teaches a timing controller used to generate image data to be displayed on the pixels based on image data (see paragraphs 61-62).
With regard to claim 22, which teaches further comprising a memory that stores the first data voltages in units of one horizontal line, << See above rejection of claim 11 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 23, which teaches wherein the data driver, the crosstalk compensator, the timing controller, and the memory are integrated on one chip, Fujii teaches that the system may be formed on one integrated circuit (IC) chip (see paragraph 54).
With regard to claim 24, which teaches wherein the second data voltages are generated by adding a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, << See above rejection of claim 12 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 25, which teaches further comprising a timing controller configured to generate image data to be displayed in the pixels based on input image data, << See above rejection of claim 21 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 26, which teaches wherein the second data voltages are generated by adding a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, << See above rejection of claim 12 which is equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 27, which teaches further comprising a timing controller configured to generate image data to be displayed in the pixels based on input image data, wherein the data driver, the crosstalk compensator, the timing controller, and the memory are integrated on one chip, << See above rejection of claims 21 and 23 which are equally applicable here >>
With regard to claim 28, which teaches wherein the second data voltages are generated by adding a compensation voltage to the first data voltages, << See above rejection of claim 12 which is equally applicable here >>
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record lacks the teaching of a “second delay unit” and the “second compensation gain application unit” described in further detail in these claims.
Conclusion
/DENNIS G BONSHOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 Conferees:
/ROBERT L NASSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992