DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/523,852 filed 11/29/2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 17-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bodine et al (US 2011/0039571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bodine teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a processing system including at least one processor, an instruction to an application executing on a mobile device, where the instruction causes the application to configure the mobile device to measure and report a radio frequency of a first wireless communications access network (Bodine: Figs. 1 and 3; [0006], [0034], MS/mobile device polled by server 41 to report measurement data), wherein the mobile device is subscribed to a service provided by a second wireless communications access network (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover);
receiving, by the processing system, measurements of the radio frequency of the first wireless communications access network from the mobile device (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover); and
generating, by the processing system, a coverage map illustrating a coverage of the first wireless communications access network, using the measurements (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0028], [0035] a coverage map is generated from the measurements).
Regarding claim 19, Bodine teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
sending an instruction to an application executing on a mobile device, where the instruction causes the application to configure the mobile device to measure and report a radio frequency of a first wireless communications access network (Bodine: Figs. 1 and 3; [0006], [0034], MS/mobile device polled by server 41 to report measurement data), wherein the mobile device is subscribed to a service provided by a second wireless communications access network (Bodine: Figs. 1 and 3; [0006], [0034], MS/mobile device polled by server 41 to report measurement data)
receiving measurements of the radio frequency of the first wireless communications access network from the mobile device (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover); and
generating a coverage map illustrating a coverage of the first wireless communications access network, using the measurements (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0028], [0035] a coverage map is generated from the measurements).
Regarding claim 20, Bodine teaches a device comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
sending an instruction to an application executing on a mobile device, where the instruction causes the application to configure the mobile device to measure and report a radio frequency of a first wireless communications access network (Bodine: Figs. 1 and 3; [0006], [0034], MS/mobile device polled by server 41 to report measurement data), wherein the mobile device is subscribed to a service provided by a second wireless communications access network (Bodine: Figs. 1 and 3; [0006], [0034], MS/mobile device polled by server 41 to report measurement data);
receiving measurements of the radio frequency of the first wireless communications access network from the mobile device (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover); and
generating a coverage map illustrating a coverage of the first wireless communications access network, using the measurements (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0028], [0035] a coverage map is generated from the measurements).
Regarding claim 2, Bodine teaches wherein each of: the first wireless communications access network and the second wireless communications access network comprises a radio access network (Bodine: Fig. 3; [0037], [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Bodine teaches wherein the instruction further defines a schedule by which the mobile device is to measure the radio frequency of the first wireless communications access network (Bodine: [0032]-[0034], periodic measurements).
Regarding claim 7, Bodine teaches wherein the schedule is defined to minimize an impact of measurement and reporting of the radio frequency on at least one of: a transport of the first wireless communications access network, a key performance indicator of the first wireless communications access network, a transport of the second wireless communications access network, or a key performance indicator of the second wireless communications access network (Bodine: [0032]-[0034], periodic measurements).
Regarding claim 8, Bodine teaches wherein the measurements of the radio frequency include an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access absolute radio frequency channel number of the first wireless communications access network and a physical location at which the evolved universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access absolute radio frequency channel number of the first wireless communications access network was measured (Bodine: [0034]-[0035], [0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Bodine teaches repeating the sending, the receiving, and the generating for additional mobile devices that are subscribed to the service provided by the second wireless communications access network (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0006]; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover).
Regarding claim 18, Bodine teaches wherein the generating uses the measurements received from the mobile device as well as measurements received from the additional mobile devices (Bodine: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0006]; [0040]; [0043] MS reports the measurement associated with pre-handover and post-handover).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodine et al (US 2011/0039571 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al (US 2024/0098537 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bodine does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one parameter of the mobile device to be configured according to the instruction varies according to at least one of: a type of the mobile device, a manufacturer of the mobile device, or a model of the mobile device.
Shrivastava teaches wherein at least one parameter of the mobile device to be configured according to the instruction varies according to at least one of: a type of the mobile device, a manufacturer of the mobile device, or a model of the mobile device (Shrivastava: [0031]; [0038], based on device capability/device type).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bodine wherein at least one parameter of the mobile device to be configured according to the instruction varies according to at least one of: a type of the mobile device, a manufacturer of the mobile device, or a model of the mobile device as disclosed by Shrivastava to provide a system for determining wireless coverage map (Shrivastava: Abstract)
Regarding claim 4, Bodine in view of Shrivastava teaches wherein the at least one parameter of the mobile device includes at least one of: an addition of an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access absolute radio frequency channel number of the first wireless communications access network to an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access frequency of the mobile device, an enablement of inter-frequency handovers, or an activation of a cell trace profile for performance management-initiated measurement events (Shrivastava: Fig. 1; [0031]-32], [0038] server determining coverage map using tacking/cell trace profile).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodine et al (US 2011/0039571 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al (US 2024/0098537 A1) in further view of Jung et al (US 2013/0072182 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Bodine in view of Shrivastava does not teach wherein the at least one parameter of the mobile device include at least one of: an addition of a handover parameter to neighboring inter-frequency LTE cells to the mobile device for each cell of the first wireless communications access network or a trigger that causes an inter-frequency handover to occur when a radio frequency signal strength of a serving cell becomes worse than a first threshold while the a radio frequency signal strength of a neighboring cell becomes better than a second threshold.
Jung teaches wherein the at least one parameter of the mobile device include at least one of: an addition of a handover parameter to neighboring inter-frequency LTE cells to the mobile device for each cell of the first wireless communications access network or a trigger that causes an inter-frequency handover to occur when a radio frequency signal strength of a serving cell becomes worse than a first threshold while the a radio frequency signal strength of a neighboring cell becomes better than a second threshold (Jung: Fig. 8; [0112]-[0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bodine in view of Shrivastava wherein the at least one parameter of the mobile device include at least one of: an addition of a handover parameter to neighboring inter-frequency LTE cells to the mobile device for each cell of the first wireless communications access network or a trigger that causes an inter-frequency handover to occur when a radio frequency signal strength of a serving cell becomes worse than a first threshold while the a radio frequency signal strength of a neighboring cell becomes better than a second threshold to provide a system for inter-RAT handover (Jung: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478