DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Comment
The applicant is thanked for providing line numbers to the claims.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
All of the claims have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, and it is considered that none of the claim recitations should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyo (JP 2020/193726) in view of Takizawa (JP 2000055491) and Corey (US 2019/137163).
In regard to claim(s) 1, 9, Kyo teaches a method and a pulse tube cryocooler (see whole disclosure, including page 2) comprising: a cold head (as identified herein; hereafter “identified assembly”) including a top flange (36), a cooling stage (28, 30), a pulse tube (18, 24) connected to and extending from the top flange (36; page 5) to the cooling stage (28, 30), and a radiator (18a, 24a) thermally coupled to the pulse tube (18, 24), wherein the radiator (18a, 24a); a valve unit (40) including a rotary valve (page 8 “rotary valve”), and valve motor (56) that rotates the rotary valve (rotary valve) disposed separately (page 5 “valve portion arranged separately from cold head”) from the cold head (identified assembly) and connected to the pulse tube (18, 24); note that Kyo does teach that the cooling stage (28, 30) is configured to cool-down from an ambient temperature (before starting) to a cryogenic temperature (page 4-5 low temperature of superconducting structures).
Kyo does not explicitly teach a radiating fin extending in an axial direction of the pulse tube (18, 24) on a side opposite to the pulse tube (18, 24) with respect to the top flange (36) and a cooling fan disposed upward of the radiating fin, as claimed. However, this is routine and well known as taught by Takizawa. Takizawa teaches a radiating fin (24) extending in an axial direction of a pulse tube (13) on a side opposite to a pulse tube (13) with respect to a flange (11a). Takizawa explicitly teaches that the radiating fin improves refrigeration capacity (page 3).
In addition, it is ordinary and routine to provide increased heat rejection by using a cooling fan. Corey explicitly teaches providing a cooling fan (104ab) disposed upward of a radiating fin (102ab) providing heat rejection of a pulse tube cryocooler (100, para. 29-31). Further, Corey fully teaches operating the cooling fan (104ab) in a cool-down operation of the cryocooler, where the cryocooler is cooled from an ambient temperature (before cooldown) to a cryogenic temperature (para. 4, 7, 10, 39). Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kyo with the radiating fin of Takizawa and a cooling fan disposed upward of the radiating fin, as taught by Corey for the purpose of improving refrigeration capacity and heat rejection via greater convection heat exchange as needed.
In regard to claim 2, Kyo, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 2 since Corey teaches that the cooling fan is configured to stop the forced cooling of the radiating fin (190) after the cool-down operation (see fully capable of stopping when cooling is not required), and the pulse tube cryocooler (of Kyo) is configured to continue cooling after the cool-down operation with the cooling fan stopped (note that all that is required is that after the cool-down operation has stopped that the cryocooler is able to continue cooling - see that after some time of stopped operation that the cryocooler of Kyo as modified can continue cooling - Corey - para. 39, 41). Note that this provides the obvious benefit of performing cooling later during steady state operation. In the alternative or in addition, it is well known that cool down operations require greater refrigeration rates that steady state operations, therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the operation of the cooling fan to operate only during cooldown when larger capacity of operation is needed and to turn off the fan during steady state for the purpose of saving on power and operational costs when the higher refrigeration rate is not as necessary.
In regard to claim 3, Kyo, as modified, does not teach a sensor and controller as claimed. However, the teachings of Corey make these limitations obvious. Corey teaches a sensor (para. 35, 36) that detects a state of the pulse tube cryocooler (cryocooler), the cooling fan (104ab), and a controller (system controller, para. 39-40) configured to: determine whether the pulse tube cryocooler (100) is in the cool-down operation or not based on an output of the sensor (sensors, para. 35, 36)(controller is able to determine if within a cooling down operation or not), and operate the cooling fan (104ab) in the cool-down operation (cooling fan operates while the cryocooler is cooling down). Note that this provides the obvious benefit of providing automatic refrigeration control. Therefore it would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kyo with the sensor and controller of Corey for the purpose of providing automatic control of the cooling fan and to provide all of the benefits already discussed in an automatic fashion.
In regard to claim 4, Kyo, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 4 since
Corey teaches that the sensor (sensors) includes a temperature sensor (para. 36) provided in the cold head (100, 96, 90, 78), and wherein the controller (system controller) is configured to: compare a measured temperature of the cold head (100, 96, 90, 78) measured by the temperature sensor (para. 36) with a temperature threshold (para. 41 pre-selected setpoint temperature), and operate the air-cooled cooler (104) in a case where the measured temperature of the cold head exceeds the temperature threshold (para. 41, page 6, see claim 21). Note that this provides the obvious benefit of ensuring that the use of the cooling fan is tied to the thermal need for the added heat rejection capacity of operating the cooling fan.
In regard to claim 6, Kyo teaches that at most 1/4 of a total length of the pulse tube (18, 24) in an axial direction extends inside the radiator (18) (see figures and note less than ¼ of length extends in 18).
In regard to claim 10, Kyo, as modified, teaches the limitations of the claim since Takizawa teaches that the radiator (24) comprises a bottom plate (bottom part of 24 or 24b) in contact with a top flange (11a), and the radiating fin (24a) protrudes upward from the bottom plate (bottom part of 24 or 24b) of the radiator (27, 24) to provide heat rejection from a vacuum insulated container (11). Note that the extended surface shape and structure of the extending fin improves heat rejection through the radiating fin from the bottom plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571) 272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763