DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a slit width change computation module” in claims 5 and 9 to calculate a time-dependent slit width change indicator according to the expressions disclosed in paragraphs [0045-0049] of the instant application.
“a dose adjustment computation module” in claims 7 and 12 to adjust a dosage of the ion beam according to the expression disclosed in paragraph [0052] of the instant application. The instant application determines the dose adjustment through a module CM2 disclosed as an open loop or closed loop dosimetry control system (see paragraph [0068] of the instant application”.
“an operation fault detection module” in claims 8 and 13 to compare a rate of change of the time-dependent slit width change indicator with a predetermined threshold.
“an implant dose control system” in claim 9 to control a dosage of the ion beam according to the expression disclosed in paragraph [0052] of the instant application
Claim 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the instant specification teaches an equation to calculate a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraph [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Furthermore, the slit width change computation module CM1 (e.g. paragraph [0061]) lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as claimed.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and are rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claim 7, the instant application teaches the dose adjustment computation is done on a dose adjustment computation module CM2 (see paragraph [0063] of the instant application), which may include an open loop or closed loop dosimetry control system (see paragraph [0068]). However, the dose adjustment computation module MC2 lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the dose adjustment as disclosed.
Regarding claim 8, the instant application teaches the operation fault detection comparison is done on an operation fault detection module CM3 (see paragraph [0069]). However, the operation fault detection module lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a comparison to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to compare the rate of change of the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Regarding claim 9, the instant specification teaches an equation to calculate a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraph [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
The instant application further teaches the implant dose control system is done on a dose adjustment computation module CM2 (see paragraph [0063] of the instant application), which may include an open loop or closed loop dosimetry control system (see paragraph [0068]). However, the dose adjustment computation module MC2 lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the dose adjustment as disclosed.
Claims 10-14 depend on claim 9 and are rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claim 15, the instant specification teaches an equation to calculate a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraph [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15 and are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a slit width change computation module” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (as discussed above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application teaches the equation for calculating a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraphs [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Furthermore, the instant application teaches the time-dependent slit width change calculation is done on a slit width change computation module CM1 (see paragraph [0061] of the instant application). However, the slit width change computation module CM1 (e.g. paragraph [0061]) lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Claim 6 does not further define the limitations set forth in claim 5 and are indefinite for the same reasons above.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a dose adjustment computation module” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (as discussed above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application teaches the dose adjustment computation is done on a dose adjustment computation module CM2 (see paragraph [0063] of the instant application), which may include an open loop or closed loop dosimetry control system (see paragraph [0068]). However, the dose adjustment computation module MC2 lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the dose adjustment as disclosed.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “an operation fault detection module” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (as discussed above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application teaches the operation fault detection comparison is done on an operation fault detection module CM3 (see paragraph [0069]). However, the operation fault detection module lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a comparison to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to compare the rate of change of the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Regarding claim 9, the instant specification teaches an equation to calculate a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraph [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
The instant application further teaches the implant dose control system is done on a dose adjustment computation module CM2 (see paragraph [0063] of the instant application), which may include an open loop or closed loop dosimetry control system (see paragraph [0068]). However, the dose adjustment computation module MC2 lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a computation to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to calculate the dose adjustment as disclosed.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “an operation fault detection module” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (as discussed above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application teaches the operation fault detection comparison is done on an operation fault detection module CM3 (see paragraph [0069]). However, the operation fault detection module lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a comparison to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to compare the rate of change of the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Claims 10-14 depend on claim 9 and are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “an operation fault detection module” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (as discussed above). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The instant application teaches the operation fault detection comparison is done on an operation fault detection module CM3 (see paragraph [0069]). However, the operation fault detection module lacks any descriptive structure that would allow such a comparison to take place. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be able to compare the rate of change of the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Regarding claim 15, the instant specification teaches an equation to calculate a time-dependent slit width change (see paragraph [0045-0049] of the instant application). However, the specification does not clearly define how a “factor x, with x>1” is determined such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the time-dependent slit width change as disclosed.
Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15 and are rejected for the same reasons above.
Therefore, the claims 5-20 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Potkins et al. (US PGPub 2021/0134559, hereinafter Potkins).
Regarding claim 1, Potkins discloses an ion beam current measurement device (a beam profiler that is disposed downstream of the beam scanner and measures a beam current distribution of the ion beam, see abstract), comprising:
a first Faraday cup having a first ion beam entrance slit of a first width W1, the first Faraday cup being configured to generate a first current signal (cup electrode 122 having a width IB2, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0053]; cup electrode array 120 may be multiple Faraday cups, see paragraph [0050]; beam current measurer in which a plurality of Faraday cups measure a beam current distribution of an ion beam, see paragraph [0003]); and
a second Faraday cup having a second ion beam entrance slit of a second width W2, the second Faraday cup being configured to generate a second current signal (cup electrode 121 having a width IB1, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0053]; cup electrode array 120 may be multiple Faraday cups, see paragraph [0050]; beam current measurer in which a plurality of Faraday cups measure a beam current distribution of an ion beam, see paragraph [0003]),
wherein W-2 is greater than W1 (IB1 is larger than IB2, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Potkins discloses W-2 is greater than W1 (IB1 is larger than IB2, see Fig. 4) such that W2/W1 is equal to or greater than 1.5 (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Potkins discloses a Faraday cup frame to which the first ion beam entrance slit and the second ion beam entrance slit are mounted (cup electrode array 120 supports the plurality of first apertures 111 and second apertures 112 for respective cup electrodes 121 and 122, see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potkins in view of Pandolfi (US PGPub 2011/0073777, hereinafter Pandolfi).
Regarding claim 2, Potkins discloses a cup electrode array 120 with a plurality of cup electrodes 121 and 122 (see Fig. 4). Potkins fails to explicitly disclose a distance between the first ion beam entrance slit and the second ion beam entrance slit is equal to or less than 5 cm.
Pandolfi discloses a detector assembly 116 having an array 220 of Faradays arranged about the ion beam (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0021]). Pandolfi discloses an exemplified embodiment where the Faradays are positioned closer than a width of the ion beam 105 (see Fig. 2). Pandolfi teaches pairs of Faradays are used to provide a two dimensional array to adjust the lenses and magnets to obtain a desired beam angle incident on a work piece (see paragraph [0021]).
Pandolfi modifies Potkins by suggesting an array of closely positioned Faradays.
Since both inventions are drawn to ion implantation devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Potkins by providing an array of closely positioned Faradays for the purpose of obtaining a desired beam angle incident on a work piece as taught by Pandolfi.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878