DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/26/24 and 02/25/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
CLAIM 5
Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and recites, in part, “wherein, when the trailing arm assembly is fully-extended, a length of the trailing arm assembly that is greater than a first difference between the height of the proximal end of the boom and the height of the plurality of conductor rails.”
The above limitation is indefinite because the clause lacks a clear predicate. As written, the claim recites “a length of the trailing arm assembly that is greater than ...,” but does not clearly state the required relationship or condition for that length. It is unclear whether the claim intends to require that the trailing arm assembly “has” a length greater than the height difference, that the length “is” greater than the height difference, or some other unrecited relationship.
The phrase “a first difference between the height of the proximal end of the boom and the height of the plurality of conductor rails” also lacks clarity. The claim does not previously define a “first difference,” and it is unclear whether the “first difference” is intended to mean a vertical distance, an algebraic height difference, or another dimensional relationship. The specification appears to describe a “distance Do” between the height of the boom and the height of the conductor rails and a trailing arm length L greater than that distance. See, e.g., paragraphs [0026] and [0047]. However, claim 5 does not clearly recite that relationship.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 5 are unclear.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 5 to clearly recite the intended relationship. For example, if consistent with Applicant’s intended scope, the claim could be amended to recite that “when the trailing arm assembly is fully extended, the trailing arm assembly has a length greater than a vertical distance between the proximal end of the boom and the plurality of conductor rails.”
CLAIM 13
Claim 13 depends from claim 12 and recites, in part, “wherein the boom sensor includes one or more of a locking sensor, an angle sensor, or a plurality of hydraulic sensors,” followed by separate limitations requiring “the locking sensor” to be located on the frame, “the angle sensor” to be located at an attachment point, and “the plurality of hydraulic sensors” to be attached to hydraulic components housed within the boom.
This language is indefinite because it is unclear whether the boom sensor must include all three listed sensor types or whether any one of the listed sensor types is sufficient. The phrase “one or more of a locking sensor, an angle sensor, or a plurality of hydraulic sensors” suggests that the boom sensor may include only one of the listed sensors. However, the subsequent clauses refer to “the locking sensor,” “the angle sensor,” and “the plurality of hydraulic sensors” as though all three are required. Thus, the claim is ambiguous as to which sensors are actually required by claim 13 and which location/attachment limitations apply.
Accordingly, the scope of claim 13 is unclear.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by clarifying whether all listed sensors are required or only some are required. For example, if all are required, Applicant may amend the claim to recite that “the boom sensor includes a locking sensor, an angle sensor, and a plurality of hydraulic sensors.” If the sensors are intended to be optional alternatives, Applicant should clarify the claim so that the location/attachment limitations apply only to the sensor or sensors that are actually present.
CLAIMS 18 AND 19
Claim 18 depends from claim 17 and recites, in part, “wherein the first command causes a pneumatic system to extend the plurality of extendable brushes and disengage from the plurality of conductor rails.”
This limitation is indefinite because the subject of “disengage from the plurality of conductor rails” is unclear. Grammatically, the phrase may be read as requiring the pneumatic system to disengage from the conductor rails. Alternatively, it may be intended to mean that the plurality of extendable brushes disengage from the conductor rails, or that extension of the plurality of extendable brushes causes the contactor assembly to disengage from the conductor rails. These different readings materially affect the scope of the claim.
The specification appears to describe the contactor assembly command signaling the pneumatic system to generate fluid pressure in the extendable brushes to create a disengaging force, thereby disconnecting the electrical connection of the conducting terminals with the rails. See, e.g., paragraph [0052]. However, claim 18 does not clearly identify whether the pneumatic system, the brushes, the contactor assembly, or the conducting terminals are being disengaged from the conductor rails.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 18 are unclear.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) at least because claim 19 depends from claim 18 and therefore includes the indefinite limitation of claim 18.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 18 to clearly identify the component being disengaged. For example, if consistent with Applicant’s intended scope, the claim could be amended to recite that “the first command causes the pneumatic system to extend the plurality of extendable brushes to disengage the contactor assembly from the plurality of conductor rails.”
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1: U.S. Patent No. 4,603,237 to Ling, “Automatic Connection and Disconnection of Current Collectors for Trolley Vehicles.” Reference 1 is the primary reference.
Reference 2: U.S. Patent No. 8,915,341 to Schmiedle et al., “Current Collector and Energy Transmission System.”
Reference 3: U.S. Patent No. 11,712,969 to Löfgren et al., “Current Collector Device for a Vehicle.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3.
For purposes of the prior-art rejection of claim 5 only, claim 5 is interpreted as requiring that the fully extended trailing arm assembly has a length greater than a vertical height difference between the proximal boom attachment height and the conductor rail height.
───────
Claim 1 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
A method of operating a rail connector assembly of a mobile machine, the method including steps of: receiving, with an electronic control module: a request to extend the rail connector assembly from a frame of the mobile machine, the rail connector assembly including a boom, a trailing arm assembly, and a contactor assembly, and a request to extend the trailing arm assembly to electrically connect to a plurality of conductor rails; generating movement commands, with the electronic control module, to operate the rail connector assembly; and determining, with the electronic control module, a presence of electrical energy along the plurality of conductor rails using a continuity sensor connected to the contactor assembly.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a method of operating a current-collector connection system for a mobile mine/trolley vehicle. Reference 1 discloses a trolley vehicle including vehicle portions 1 and 2, a supply array 6, conductor rails 6a, 6b, and 6c, guide rails 17 and 18, a current collector pick-up unit 5, current collectors 19a, 19b, and 19c, and an extensible arm 12 mounted on the vehicle. The claimed mobile machine is met by the vehicle including portions 1 and 2. The claimed plurality of conductor rails is met by conductor rails 6a, 6b, and 6c. The claimed rail connector assembly is met by the current collector pick-up unit 5, arm 12, and current collectors 19a-19c.
Reference 1 discloses the boom by arm 12, which supports and positions pick-up unit 5 relative to conductor rails 6a-6c. Reference 1 discloses the contactor assembly by pick-up unit 5 and current collectors 19a-19c, which make electrical contact with conductor rails 6a-6c.
Reference 1 discloses receiving an initiating action or normal order that begins the operating sequence for connecting pick-up unit 5 to supply array 6. Reference 1 further discloses that movement sequences for connection, normal disconnection, and emergency disconnection can be programmed by relay sequences or by a computer-controlled program. The claimed electronic control module is therefore met by, or at least rendered obvious by, the computer-controlled program or programmed control arrangement of Reference 1, which receives an initiating action and controls the movement sequence of arm 12, pick-up unit 5, and contact-sensing frame 13.
Reference 1 discloses generating movement commands because the programmed movement sequence causes arm 12 to raise pick-up unit 5, move pick-up unit 5 laterally, and bring current collectors 19a-19c into contact with conductor rails 6a-6c. Reference 1 also discloses that movements of arm 12, pick-up unit 5, and contact-sensing frame 13 may be activated by mechanical, hydraulic, or pneumatic members. Thus, Reference 1 teaches generating movement commands to operate the rail connector assembly.
Reference 2 is relied upon for the claimed trailing arm assembly. Reference 2 discloses current collector 1 for supplying a displaceable device, such as crane 2, from conductor line 5 having current-carrying line branches 6. Reference 2 discloses current collector trolley 8 carrying sliding contacts 7, pantograph arrangement 11, lever assemblies 12L and 12R, drive lever arms 13L and 13R, tension lever arms 14L and 14R, and pneumatic cylinders 15L and 15R. The trailing arm assembly is met by, or at least rendered obvious by, lever assemblies 12L/12R and tension lever arms 14L/14R, which move current collector trolley 8 between retracted and extended positions relative to conductor line 5.
It would have been obvious to incorporate the trailing arm assembly of Reference 2 into the rail connector arrangement of Reference 1 so that the boom-like arm 12 provides gross positioning from the vehicle while the trailing arm assembly provides controlled distal positioning of the contactor assembly relative to the conductor rails.
Reference 1 discloses determining the presence of electrical energy along the conductor rails because, after current collectors 19a-19c engage conductor rails 6a-6c, the system checks electrical conditions including voltage and phase sequence before operating contactors or permitting the vehicle to run from the conductor array. The claimed continuity sensor connected to the contactor assembly is met by, or at least rendered obvious by, the electrical sensing/checking arrangement associated with current collectors 19a-19c and the controlled switching/contactors of Reference 1. A person of ordinary skill would have understood that checking voltage at the collectors requires an electrical sensing connection to the collector/contact circuit.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 with Reference 2 because Reference 1 already teaches an automatically controlled mine-vehicle current-collector system using arm 12 and pick-up unit 5 to connect to conductor rails 6a-6c, while Reference 2 teaches a compact trailing lever-arm current collector arrangement using lever assemblies 12L/12R, tension lever arms 14L/14R, pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R, trolley 8, and sliding contacts 7 to provide controlled extension and stable tracking along a conductor line. Combining the references would have predictably improved distal contactor positioning and reduced lateral forces at the conductor rails during movement.
───────
Claim 2 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The method of claim 1, further including generating a boom extension command, the boom extension command causing a hydraulic system to extend the boom which is pivotally attached to a side of the mobile machine.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses arm 12 mounted on the vehicle and having a fixed center of rotation A. Arm 12 raises and rotates pick-up unit 5 relative to conductor rails 6a-6c and guide rails 17/18. Arm 12 therefore corresponds to the claimed boom and is pivotally attached to the mobile machine.
Reference 1 further discloses that arm 12 may be hydraulically operated and that the hydraulic system of arm 12 should be able to hold current collectors 19a-19c in good contact with conductor rails 6a-6c. Reference 1 also discloses programmed movement sequences initiated by a normal order or sensor cooperation. Thus, the programmed control of Reference 1 generates a boom extension command that causes the hydraulic system associated with arm 12 to extend, raise, or position arm 12.
To the extent claim 2 requires side attachment, arm 12 is mounted on the vehicle and rotates laterally relative to the conductor array. A side-mounted implementation would have been an obvious vehicle-layout choice where the conductor rails are laterally spaced from the vehicle, because Reference 1 already teaches lateral positioning of pick-up unit 5 relative to conductor rails 6a-6c.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use a hydraulic command to extend the boom because Reference 1 expressly teaches hydraulic operation of arm 12 and programmed movement sequences for connecting and disconnecting the current collectors. Hydraulic actuation provides the force and controllability needed to support pick-up unit 5 and maintain current collectors 19a-19c in reliable electrical contact with conductor rails 6a-6c.
───────
Claim 3 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 3
The method of claim 2, wherein the boom is attached at a proximal end of the boom to the mobile machine at a height that is greater than a height of the plurality of conductor rails.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses arm 12 mounted on the vehicle and extending to position pick-up unit 5 relative to conductor rails 6a-6c. Reference 1 does not expressly require the conductor rails to be lower than the proximal attachment height of the boom because Reference 1’s conductor rails are arranged in an overhead mine supply array.
Reference 3 teaches the lower-rail/downward-deployment relationship. Reference 3 discloses vehicle 200 over road 210, current conductor 230 including power rails 231 and 232 located in the surface of road 210, current collector arm 250, pick-up unit 260, and contact elements 261 and 262. Reference 3 also discloses vehicle 300 over road 310, current conductor 330 including power rails 331 and 332, current collector arm 350, pick-up unit 360, and contact elements 361 and 362. The current collector arm is mounted to the vehicle and is displaced downward to place the pick-up unit into contact with lower road-surface power rails.
In the combined system, the proximal end of the boom is attached to the vehicle at a height greater than the height of the conductor rails because the conductor rails are located at or near the road surface, while the current collector arm is mounted to the vehicle above the road surface and deploys downward toward the rails.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to adapt the controlled current-collector assembly of Reference 1/Reference 2 for lower conductor rails as taught by Reference 3 because Reference 3 teaches that vehicle-mounted current collector arms may deploy downward from a vehicle toward road-surface power rails. This arrangement would have provided a predictable alternative to overhead conductor arrangements and would have allowed a mobile machine to receive power from lower rails while keeping the proximal boom attachment safely on the machine frame above the rail height.
───────
Claim 4 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 3
The method of claim 3, further including generating a trailing arm extension command that causes a pneumatic system to extend the trailing arm assembly.
Analysis
Reference 2 discloses the trailing arm assembly by pantograph arrangement 11, lever assemblies 12L and 12R, drive lever arms 13L and 13R, tension lever arms 14L and 14R, and current collector trolley 8. Reference 2 discloses pneumatic cylinders 15L and 15R for moving the lever assemblies and extending current collector trolley 8 from a retracted/idle position toward conductor line 5.
Reference 1 discloses programmed movement sequences initiated by an order or sensor cooperation. Applying that control concept to Reference 2’s pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R renders obvious generating a trailing arm extension command that causes the pneumatic system to extend the trailing arm assembly. Reference 3 supplies the lower-rail deployment environment required by claim 3.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2’s pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R to extend the trailing arm assembly because Reference 2 expressly uses pneumatic actuation to move current collector trolley 8 between retracted and extended positions. In the combined system, a pneumatic distal arm provides quick and controlled fine positioning after the main boom is moved toward the lower conductor rails taught by Reference 3.
───────
Claim 5 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 3
The method of claim 4, wherein the trailing arm assembly is rotatably attached at a distal end of the boom and has a vertical orientation relative to the ground, wherein, when the trailing arm assembly is fully-extended, a length of the trailing arm assembly that is greater than a first difference between the height of the proximal end of the boom and the height of the plurality of conductor rails.
Analysis
As noted in the §112(b) rejection, claim 5 is indefinite. For purposes of the prior-art rejection only, claim 5 is interpreted as requiring the trailing arm assembly to have, when fully extended, a length greater than the vertical distance between the proximal boom attachment height and the height of the conductor rails.
Reference 2 discloses rotatable trailing arm structure by lever assemblies 12L/12R. Drive lever arms 13L/13R are rotatably coupled to the movable device, and tension lever arms 14L/14R are rotatably coupled between the drive lever arms and current collector trolley 8. These arms move current collector trolley 8 between retracted and extended positions.
Reference 1 discloses arm 12 supporting and positioning pick-up unit 5 relative to conductor rails 6a-6c. In the combined system, the trailing arm assembly of Reference 2 would be mounted at or near the distal end of the boom/arm 12 of Reference 1 to provide fine distal positioning of the contactor assembly.
Reference 3 teaches vertical downward deployment from a vehicle-mounted current collector arm toward lower road-surface power rails. Reference 3 discloses current collector arms 250/350 moving downward toward power rails 231/232 or 331/332 and pick-up units 260/360 with contact elements 261/262 or 361/362 contacting those rails. In view of Reference 3, it would have been obvious to orient the trailing arm assembly vertically relative to the ground when the conductor rails are below the boom attachment height.
The claimed length relationship is also rendered obvious. In a system where the proximal boom attachment is higher than the conductor rails, the fully extended trailing arm assembly must have sufficient length to reach the lower rails. Selecting the fully extended trailing arm length to exceed the vertical height difference is a routine dimensional requirement for placing the contactor assembly into contact with power rails 231/232 or 331/332.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to rotatably attach the trailing arm assembly at the distal end of the boom and orient it vertically because Reference 2 teaches rotatable lever-arm positioning of current collector trolley 8, while Reference 3 teaches downward deployment toward road-surface power rails. It would further have been obvious to size the fully extended trailing arm length greater than the vertical height difference because otherwise the contactor assembly could not reliably reach the lower conductor rails.
───────
Claim 6 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The method of claim 1, further including rotating the trailing arm assembly in a rearward direction relative to a direction of travel of the mobile machine, such that the trailing arm assembly and the contactor assembly trail the boom.
Analysis
Reference 2 discloses that current collector trolley 8 is guided along guide rail 9 and conductor line 5 while the device travels in traveling direction F. Reference 2 further discloses that first tension lever arm 14L primarily serves as a drawgear element to pull current collector trolley 8 in the traveling direction, thereby transmitting essentially tensile forces and minimizing lateral forces. Reference 2 also discloses using locking devices, cable 16, and limit stops 18L/18R to maintain the arm arrangement in a desired extended configuration during travel.
In the combined system, the trailing arm assembly formed by lever assemblies 12L/12R and tension lever arms 14L/14R is oriented rearward relative to the direction of travel so that current collector trolley 8 and the contactor assembly trail the boom. This corresponds to the claimed rearward rotation and trailing relationship.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to orient the trailing arm assembly rearwardly so that the contactor assembly trails the boom because Reference 2 teaches that pulling current collector trolley 8 in the traveling direction reduces lateral forces and avoids tilting or unstable loading. Applying that teaching to the mobile connector assembly of Reference 1 would predictably improve tracking stability and reduce side-loading on the conductor rails during vehicle travel.
───────
Claim 7 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The method of claim 1, further including receiving position data from a plurality of position sensors with the electronic control module to determine a position of the trailing arm assembly.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses multiple position/contact sensors associated with the current collector positioning sequence, including vertical position sensor 15, lateral position sensors 16a and 16b, and guide wheel indicators 21a-21d. Reference 1 discloses that the movement sequence operates in cooperation with different position sensors and may be performed by a computer-controlled program.
Reference 2 discloses the trailing arm assembly by lever assemblies 12L/12R, drive lever arms 13L/13R, tension lever arms 14L/14R, and pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R. In the combined system, the plurality of position sensors taught by Reference 1 would be applied to the moving trailing arm assembly of Reference 2 to determine the position of the trailing arm assembly during extension, engagement, and retraction.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to receive position data from multiple position sensors to determine the position of the trailing arm assembly because the combined connector includes multiple moving components whose positions determine whether the contactor assembly can safely engage the conductor rails. Using sensors analogous to Reference 1’s sensors 15, 16a, 16b, and 21a-21d with Reference 2’s lever assemblies would have predictably enabled closed-loop deployment, fault detection, and safe sequencing.
───────
Claim 8 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The method of claim 1, further including determining contact of the contactor assembly with the plurality of conductor rails based on detected voltage.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses current collectors 19a-19c on pick-up unit 5 making electrical contact with respective conductor rails 6a-6c. Reference 1 further discloses that after the pick-up unit is positioned and the current collectors contact the conductor rails, electrical conditions such as voltage and phase sequence are checked before the vehicle is powered from the conductor array.
Thus, Reference 1 teaches determining electrical contact of the contactor assembly with the plurality of conductor rails based on detected voltage. The contactor assembly corresponds to pick-up unit 5 and current collectors 19a-19c, and the plurality of conductor rails corresponds to conductor rails 6a-6c.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to determine contact based on detected voltage because voltage detection provides a direct indication that current collectors 19a-19c are electrically connected to conductor rails 6a-6c. Such confirmation prevents premature switching, reduces the risk of arcing, and confirms that the vehicle may be powered from the conductor array.
───────
Claim 11 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
A mobile machine power system, the system comprising: an electronic control module, the electronic control module including an input receiver; a plurality of sensors; and a rail connector assembly, the rail connector assembly including a boom, an arm assembly, and a contactor assembly, wherein the rail connector assembly is configured to connect with a plurality of conductor rails, wherein the input receiver is configured to receive an input to extend the rail connector assembly from a frame of a mobile machine and the electronic control module is configured to generate commands to extend the boom and the arm assembly.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses a mobile machine power system including a mine/trolley vehicle having vehicle portions 1 and 2, supply array 6, conductor rails 6a-6c, arm 12, pick-up unit 5, and current collectors 19a-19c. The claimed mobile machine is met by the vehicle including portions 1 and 2. The claimed conductor rails are met by conductor rails 6a-6c.
Reference 1 discloses an electronic control module because the connection, normal disconnection, and emergency disconnection movement sequences can be implemented by a computer-controlled program. Reference 1 also discloses receiving an initiating action or normal order to begin the connection sequence. The claimed input receiver is met by, or at least rendered obvious by, the control input through which the initiating action or normal order is received by the programmed control arrangement.
Reference 1 discloses a plurality of sensors, including vertical position sensor 15, lateral position sensors 16a and 16b, and guide wheel indicators 21a-21d.
Reference 1 discloses the rail connector assembly by arm 12, pick-up unit 5, and current collectors 19a-19c. The claimed boom is met by arm 12. The claimed contactor assembly is met by pick-up unit 5 and current collectors 19a-19c.
Reference 2 discloses the claimed arm assembly by pantograph arrangement 11, lever assemblies 12L/12R, drive lever arms 13L/13R, tension lever arms 14L/14R, and current collector trolley 8. Reference 2 also discloses pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R for extending the arm assembly.
In the combined system, the input receiver receives an input to extend the rail connector assembly from the frame of the mobile machine, and the computer-controlled program generates commands to extend the boom/arm 12 and the trailing arm assembly formed by Reference 2’s lever assemblies.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1’s mobile-machine power system with Reference 2’s extendable arm assembly because Reference 1 already teaches automated connection of a vehicle-mounted current collector to conductor rails, while Reference 2 provides a known lever-arm current collector arrangement for controlled extension and stable tracking. The combination would have provided predictable staged deployment: gross boom positioning by arm 12 and fine contactor positioning by lever assemblies 12L/12R.
───────
Claim 12 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of sensors includes a boom sensor, an arm assembly sensor, and a contactor assembly sensor.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses sensors used to position and monitor the current collector system, including vertical position sensor 15, lateral position sensors 16a/16b, and guide wheel indicators 21a-21d. Reference 1’s arm 12 corresponds to the boom. Reference 2’s lever assemblies 12L/12R and tension lever arms 14L/14R correspond to the arm assembly. Reference 1’s pick-up unit 5 and current collectors 19a-19c correspond to the contactor assembly.
The claimed boom sensor is met by, or at least rendered obvious by, a position or movement sensor associated with arm 12, because Reference 1 uses sensor feedback in the movement sequence for arm 12 and pick-up unit 5. The claimed arm assembly sensor is rendered obvious by applying Reference 1’s position-sensor teachings to Reference 2’s movable lever assemblies 12L/12R. The claimed contactor assembly sensor is met by Reference 1’s sensing of the position/contact state of pick-up unit 5 and by electrical checking associated with current collectors 19a-19c.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide boom, arm assembly, and contactor assembly sensors because the combined system has multiple movable stages and an electrically active contactor. Separate sensing for arm 12, lever assemblies 12L/12R, and current collectors 19a-19c would predictably allow the control module to confirm deployment, detect misalignment, and prevent unsafe switching.
───────
Claim 14 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The system of claim 12, wherein the arm assembly sensor includes a position sensor and a pneumatic sensor.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses position sensors, including vertical position sensor 15 and lateral position sensors 16a/16b, used to determine the position of pick-up unit 5 during the connection sequence. Reference 2 discloses pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R for extending and retracting the lever assemblies 12L/12R that form the arm assembly.
The claimed position sensor is met by, or at least rendered obvious by, Reference 1’s position sensors 15 and 16a/16b applied to Reference 2’s lever assemblies 12L/12R. The claimed pneumatic sensor is rendered obvious by monitoring pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R or their supply pressure/status. Because Reference 2’s arm assembly movement depends on pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R, sensing pneumatic pressure or pneumatic actuator status would have been a predictable way to confirm that the pneumatic arm assembly is able to extend and retract.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include both a position sensor and a pneumatic sensor for the arm assembly because Reference 2’s arm assembly is pneumatically actuated and its position determines whether sliding contacts 7 or current collectors 19a-19c can safely engage the conductor rails. Monitoring position and pneumatic status would predictably improve fault detection, extension control, and safe sequencing.
───────
Claim 16 - Rejected Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
The system of claim 12, wherein the electronic control module is configured to generate output commands that include movement commands to extend the boom and to extend or retract the arm assembly, and commands to the contactor assembly.
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses programmed movement sequences that control movement of arm 12, pick-up unit 5, and contact-sensing frame 13 during connection, normal disconnection, and emergency disconnection. Reference 1 further discloses that those sequences may be performed by a computer-controlled program. Thus, Reference 1 teaches an electronic control module generating output commands to extend or move the boom/arm 12 and to control the contactor assembly/pick-up unit 5.
Reference 2 discloses pneumatic cylinders 15L/15R extending and retracting lever assemblies 12L/12R and current collector trolley 8 between retracted and extended positions. Incorporating Reference 2 into Reference 1 renders obvious output commands to extend or retract the arm assembly.
Reference 1 also discloses electrical checking, switching in and out, and use of contactors after voltage and phase checking. These teachings correspond to commands to the contactor assembly or associated electrical contactor system.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, for the electronic control module to generate commands for the boom, arm assembly, and contactor assembly because the combined system requires coordinated motion and electrical connection. A single programmed controller coordinating arm 12, lever assemblies 12L/12R, and current collectors 19a-19c would predictably reduce misalignment, prevent unsafe electrical switching, and provide orderly deployment and retraction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
PRIOR ART NOT USED
US9975444B2 was not used in the rejection. It is relevant because it discloses controller-based extension of ground and charge brushes and ground-confirmation logic. It was not used because it is directed to a charging-station arrangement rather than a mobile-machine rail connector assembly, and it would only address part of claim 10 while leaving claim 9’s voltage-sensor and ground-sensor contactor limitations insufficiently addressed.
US20230163526A1 was not used. It is technically relevant because it discloses a Caterpillar work machine, conductor rod, trailing arms, contactor, pneumatic extension/retraction, and controller operation. It was not used because it appears to be same-inventor/same-assignee Caterpillar art published less than one year before the present filing date and may be subject to a prior-art exception.
US20230231349A1 was not used. It appears highly relevant to magnets, carbon brushes, fluid pressure, and slidable current collection from conductor rails. It was not used because it appears to be Caterpillar-adjacent and potentially same-inventor/same-assignee art. It should not be relied upon unless the file history confirms that it is available as prior art and not excepted.
US8893830B2 and US6796410B2 were not used in this narrowed rejection. Those references may provide useful teachings for automated pantograph control and pneumatic separation, respectively, but using them would expand the rejection into the multi-reference package that is not recommended here.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615