DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 8-20) in the reply filed on July 12th, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected invention.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on December 01st, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korea, Republic of 10-2022-0165526 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/30/2023 and 07/25/2024 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Thermal processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to control an output of a heater and semiconductor manufacturing equipment.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, line 8, “an output of the heater” should be --the output of the heater-- because “an output of the heater” is already defined in claim 8, line 6.
In claim 15, line 12, “an output of the heater” should be --the output of the heater-- because “an output of the heater” is already defined in claim 15, line 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0388496) in view of Tadokoro et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0272680).
In re claim 8, Lee discloses a thermal processing apparatus 800 configured to perform thermal processing, the thermal processing apparatus 800 comprising: a heating plate 810 provided in a circular shape to allow a substrate W to be seated (see paragraph [0065] and fig. 6); a heater (heating member 830) configured to emit heat to heat the substrate W (see paragraph [0066] and fig. 6); a plate temperature sensor 910 configured to measure temperature of the heating plate 810 (see paragraph [0067] and fig. 6); and a controller 920 configured to control an output of the heater 830 (see paragraph [0068] and fig. 6).
Lee is silent to wherein the controller is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors, and perform thermal processing on the substrate in response to the output of the heater, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater, the controller is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate through the heater, measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region in the heating plate, and determine the output of the heater in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate.
However, Tadokoro discloses in a same field of endeavor, a thermal processing apparatus configured to perform thermal processing, including, inter-alia, wherein the controller 142 is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors 145, and perform thermal processing on the substrate W in response to the output of the heater 141, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater 141, the controller 142 is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate 140 through the heater 141 (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7), measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate 140, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region (R1-R5) in the heating plate 140, and determine the output of the heater 141 in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate 140 (see paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0072], [0073] and figs. 4-7).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Tadokoro into the thermal processing apparatus of Lee in order to enable wherein the controller is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors, and perform thermal processing on the substrate in response to the output of the heater, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater, the controller is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate through the heater, measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region in the heating plate, and determine the output of the heater in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate in Lee to be formed because in doing so heat of the heating plate can be uniformly conduct during heat-processing (see paragraph [0007] of Tadokoro) and furthermore it is not necessary to use a dedicated warpage measuring unit and thus manufacturing cost can be reduced (see paragraph [0014] of Tadokoro). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the controller 142 is preset to calculate a vector of a target temperature change value for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140 to minimize a deviation of a vector of an expected temperature change value for each temperature control region of the sensor substrate, which is calculated by multiplying a matrix of the transfer coefficient and the vector of the target temperature change value for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140, and a vector of a target temperature change value for each temperature control region (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro). Note that, the above limitation, “to calculate a vector of a target temperature change value for each heating region of the heating plate to minimize a deviation of a vector of an expected temperature change value for each temperature control region of the sensor substrate, which is calculated by multiplying a matrix of the transfer coefficient and the vector of the target temperature change value for each heating region of the heating plate, and a vector of a target temperature change value for each temperature control region” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function but must merely be capable of doing so.
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein each of the plurality of substrate temperature sensors 145 is located at a corresponding temperature control region (R1-R5) of the sensor substrate (see paragraph [0052] and fig. 7 of Todokoro).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the transfer coefficient is defined by experimental data obtained by measuring change in the temperature distribution of the sensor substrate according to change in temperature for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140 (see paragraphs [0052], [0066] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro).
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the controller 142 is preset to measure the temperature distribution of the sensor substrate heated in response to an adjusted output of the heater 141, to determine whether or not the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is included in a criteria range by comparing the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and to re-adjust the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate when the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is deviated from the criteria range (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro). Note that, the above limitation, “to determine whether or not the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is included in a criteria range by comparing the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and to re-adjust the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate when the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is deviated from the criteria range” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function but must merely be capable of doing so.
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the controller 142 is preset to update the transfer coefficient in response to the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the deviation of the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro). Note that, the above limitation, “to determine whether or not the measured temperature distribution of the sensor to update the transfer coefficient in response to the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the deviation of the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function but must merely be capable of doing so.
In re claim 15, Lee discloses a semiconductor manufacturing equipment comprising: an index module configured to transfer a substrate W from a container in which the substrate W is received (see paragraphs [0044], [0046] and figs. 1-4); and a processing module comprising a bake unit performing thermal processing on the substrate W, wherein the bake unit comprises: a heating plate 810 provided in a circular shape to allow a substrate W to be seated (see paragraphs [0062], [0065] and fig. 6); a heater (heating member 830) configured to emit heat to heat the substrate W (see paragraph [0066] and fig. 6); a plate temperature sensor 910 configured to measure temperature of the heating plate 810 (see paragraph [0067] and fig. 6); and a controller 920 configured to control an output of the heater 830 (see paragraph [0068] and fig. 6).
Lee is silent to wherein the controller is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors, and perform thermal processing on the substrate in response to the output of the heater, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater, the controller is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate through the heater, measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region in the heating plate, and determine the output of the heater in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate.
However, Tadokoro discloses in a same field of endeavor, a thermal processing apparatus configured to perform thermal processing, including, inter-alia, wherein the controller 142 is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors 145, and perform thermal processing on the substrate W in response to the output of the heater 141, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater, the controller 142 is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate 140 through the heater 141 (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7), measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate 140, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region (R1-R5) in the heating plate 140, and determine the output of the heater 141 in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate 140 (see paragraphs [0051], [0052], [0072], [0073] and figs. 4-7).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Tadokoro into the thermal processing apparatus of Lee in order to enable wherein the controller is configured to: determine an output of the heater by using a sensor substrate comprising a plurality of substrate temperature sensors, and perform thermal processing on the substrate in response to the output of the heater, and wherein, in order to determine the output of the heater, the controller is further configured to: heat the sensor substrate located at the heating plate through the heater, measure a temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, determine an amount of change of target temperature distribution of the heating plate, on the basis of a deviation of the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and a target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, and a transfer coefficient defining change in temperature of each temperature control region in the sensor substrate according to change in temperature of a specific heating region in the heating plate, and determine the output of the heater in response to the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate in Lee to be formed because in doing so heat of the heating plate can be uniformly conduct during heat-processing (see paragraph [0007] of Tadokoro) and furthermore it is not necessary to use a dedicated warpage measuring unit and thus manufacturing cost can be reduced (see paragraph [0014] of Tadokoro). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the controller 142 is preset to calculate a vector of a target temperature change value for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140 to minimize a deviation of an expected temperature change value for each temperature control region of the sensor substrate, which is calculated by multiplying a matrix of the transfer coefficient and the vector of the target temperature change value for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140, and a target temperature change value for each temperature control region (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro). Note that, the above limitation, “to calculate a vector of a target temperature change value for each heating region of the heating plate to minimize a deviation of an expected temperature change value for each temperature control region of the sensor substrate, which is calculated by multiplying a matrix of the transfer coefficient and the vector of the target temperature change value for each heating region of the heating plate, and a target temperature change value for each temperature control region” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function but must merely be capable of doing so.
In re claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein each of the plurality of substrate temperature sensors 145 is located at a corresponding temperature control region (R1-R5) of the sensor substrate (see paragraph [0052] and fig. 7 of Tadokoro).
In re claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the transfer coefficient is defined by experimental data obtained by measuring change in the temperature distribution of the sensor substrate according to change in temperature for each heating region (R1-R5) of the heating plate 140 (see paragraphs [0052], [0066] and fig. 7 of Tadokoro).
In re claim 20, as applied to claim 15 above, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses wherein the controller 142 is preset to measure the temperature distribution of the sensor substrate heated in response to an adjusted output of the heater 141, to determine whether or not the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is included in a criteria range by comparing the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, to re-adjust the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate 140 when the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is deviated from the criteria range, and to update the transfer coefficient in response to the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the deviation of the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate (see paragraphs [0051], [0052] and figs. 4-7 of Tadokoro). Note that, the above limitation, “to measure the temperature distribution of the sensor substrate heated in response to an adjusted output of the heater, to determine whether or not the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is included in a criteria range by comparing the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate, to re-adjust the amount of change of the target temperature distribution of the heating plate when the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate is deviated from the criteria range, and to update the transfer coefficient in response to the measured temperature distribution of the sensor substrate and the deviation of the target temperature distribution of the sensor substrate” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Lee in combination with Tadokoro discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function but must merely be capable of doing so.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Criminale et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0053636) discloses technique for measuring a temperature of a substrate using an array of heater elements.
Ookura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,755,003) discloses a temperature control method for a heat process on a resist film on a substrate.
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892