DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 12-14, & 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meng (US 20240251625).
Regarding claim 1, Meng discloses that a display device comprising:
a display panel comprising (Fig. 1):
a first display portion comprising a first sub-pixel 201 and a second sub-pixel 202, each of the first and second sub-pixels including:
a respective first static corner B at a same position relative to a respective sub-pixel center, and a respective first dynamic corner R, G, G; and wherein the position of each first dynamic corner is located such that a shape of the first sub-pixel is different from the shape of the second sub-pixel (Fig. 2 & 5).
Reclaim 2, Meng discloses that the first display portion further comprises:
a pixel comprising: the first sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel including: a second static corner, and a second dynamic corner (repeating pixels arrangement); and wherein the first sub-pixel is adjacent to the third sub-pixel, the position of the first dynamic corner of the first sub-pixel is located to decrease an interior angle relative to the interior angle of the first dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the first sub-pixel, and the position of the second dynamic corner of the third sub-pixel is located to increase an interior angle of the second dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the third sub-pixel (Fig. 2 & 5, note: a combination of pixels).
Reclaim 4, Meng discloses that each of the first and second sub-pixels further include: a respective second dynamic corner; and wherein the position of each first dynamic corner and the position of each second dynamic corner are located such that respective areas of the first and second sub-pixels are within a predetermined range (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 5, Meng discloses that the first sub-pixel further includes: a plurality of static corners comprising the respective first static corner; and a plurality of dynamic corners comprising the respective first dynamic corner; and wherein the plurality of static corners and the plurality of dynamic corners alternate around a perimeter of the first sub-pixel (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 6, Meng discloses that the first sub-pixel is quadrilateral or quasi- quadrilateral in shape (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 7, Meng discloses that the first and second sub-pixels are the same color (Fig. 5, composition of pixels are the same color as RGGBs).
Reclaim 8, Meng discloses that the first display portion further comprises: a first pixel comprising the first sub-pixel; and a second pixel comprising the second sub-pixel; and wherein the centers of the first sub-pixel and the first pixel have a same relative positional relationship as the centers of the second sub-pixel and the second pixel (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 12, Meng discloses that the position of each first dynamic corner is randomly located (Fig,. 1 & 5).
Regarding claim 13, Meng discloses that a display panel comprising:
a display portion comprising a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel, each of the first and second sub-pixels including:
a respective first static corner B at a same position relative to a respective sub-pixel center, and a respective first dynamic corner RGG (Fig. 5); and
wherein the position of each first dynamic corner is located such that a shape of the first sub-pixel is different from the shape of the second sub-pixel (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 14, Meng discloses that the display portion further comprises:
a pixel comprising:
the first sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel including:
a second static corner, and a second dynamic corner; and wherein the first sub-pixel is adjacent to the third sub-pixel, the position of the first dynamic corner of the first sub-pixel is located to decrease an interior angle relative to the interior angle of the first dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the first sub-pixel, and the position of the second dynamic corner of the third sub-pixel is located to increase an interior angle of the second dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the third sub-pixel (Fig. 1 & 5, plurality of combination of RGGBs pixel in Fig. 1).
Reclaim 16, Meng discloses that the first sub-pixel is quadrilateral or quasi- quadrilateral in shape (Fig. 5).
Reclaim 17, Meng discloses that the display portion further comprises: a first pixel comprising the first sub-pixel; and a second pixel comprising the second sub-pixel; and wherein the centers of the first sub-pixel and the first pixel have a same relative positional relationship as the centers of the second sub-pixel and the second pixel (Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 18, Meng discloses that the position of each first dynamic corner is randomly located (Fig. 1 & 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 &15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 20240251625) in view of Liu et al. (US 20230058293)
Reclaims 3 & 15, Meng fails to specify that the position of each first dynamic corner is located to decrease an interior angle relative to the interior angle of the respective first dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the respective sub-pixel.
However, Liu suggests that the position of each first dynamic corner is located to decrease an interior angle relative to the interior angle of the respective first dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the respective sub-pixel (para. 0038 & Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Meng with the position of each first dynamic corner is located to decrease an interior angle relative to the interior angle of the respective first dynamic corner in a regular polygon configuration of the respective sub-pixel as taught by Liu in order to reducing a color mixing risk and the color cast and ameliorating the color edge and the sense of visual granularity (para. 0038) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (US 20240251625) in view of Xu et al. (US 20240361812).
Reclaim 9, Meng fails to teach that a camera arranged beneath the first display portion of the display panel and configured to capture images formed of incident light having passed through the display panel to the camera.
However, Xu suggests that a camera arranged beneath the first display portion of the display panel and configured to capture images (para. 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Meng with a camera arranged beneath the first display portion of the display panel and configured to capture images as taught by Xu in order to enhance the quality of the captured images (para. 0005) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 10, Meng & Xu disclose that the display panel further comprises: a second display portion comprising a third sub-pixel including no dynamic corners (Meng, Fig. 1 & 5).
Reclaim 11, , Meng & Xu disclose that an image processing system configured to: receive an image captured by the camera; and utilize a machine learning (ML) model to filter a visual artifact from the image to generate a processed image (Xu, para. 0029).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA et al. (US 20070015429) in view of Meng (US 20240251625).
Regarding claim 19, MAEDA discloses that a method for manufacturing a semiconductor component, comprising:
providing a semiconductor material having a major surface, the semiconductor material comprising a first anode and a second anode 120 & 211, Fig. 10A-10G);
depositing organic material 212A on the first and second anodes utilizing a first mask M2 arranged over the semiconductor material 120 & 211, the first mask comprising a first sub-pixel region and a second sub-pixel region 23G & 23R (Fig. 10A-10G).
MAEDA fails to teach that each of the first and second sub-pixel regions respectively comprising a respective first static corner at a same position relative to a respective sub-pixel center and a respective first dynamic corner, wherein the position of each first dynamic corner is located such that a shape of the first sub-pixel region is different from the shape of the second sub-pixel region; and applying cathodes to each of the first and second sub-pixel regions of the deposited organic material.
However, Meng suggests that each of the first 201 and second sub-pixel 202 regions respectively comprising a respective first static corner B at a same position relative to a respective sub-pixel center and a respective first dynamic corner RGG, wherein the position of each first dynamic corner is located such that a shape of the first sub-pixel region is different from the shape of the second sub-pixel region; and applying cathodes to each of the first and second sub-pixel regions of the deposited organic material (Fig. 5, a dotted line vs a solid line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide MAEDA with each of the first and second sub-pixel regions respectively comprising a respective first static corner at a same position relative to a respective sub-pixel center and a respective first dynamic corner, wherein the position of each first dynamic corner is located such that a shape of the first sub-pixel region is different from the shape of the second sub-pixel region; and applying cathodes to each of the first and second sub-pixel regions of the deposited organic material as taught by Meng in order to improve the resolution at the display region corresponding to the camera (para. 0038) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 20, MAEDA & Meng disclose that said depositing organic material comprises: arranging the first mask over the semiconductor material;
depositing, on the first and second anodes 211, a first color of the organic material utilizing the first mask M1;
arranging a second mask M2 over the semiconductor material, the second mask comprising a third sub-pixel region 23G & 23R; and depositing, on a third anode, a second color of the organic material utilizing the second mask (MAEDA, Fig. 10A-10G).
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899