Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinugawa et al. (US 20170229333 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinugawa et al. discloses an automated material handling system (Paragraph [002], lines 12-14), comprising: a first transport vehicle (2) comprising a first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) support component (33) configured to support a first carrier carrying a semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], line 60-61); a transport track system (FIG. 1) configured to facilitate movement of the first transport vehicle (2), wherein the transport track system comprises: a first track (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and a second track (See attached annotated FIG. 1, ) connected to the first track via a first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); a buffer support component (R) configured to support the first carrier; and a second transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2) comprising a second carrier support component (33 of 2), wherein: responsive to a processing station being scheduled to receive the semiconductor wafer (It is mentioned in Paragraph [0097] that, based on transport command from superordinate controller) the first transport vehicle is configured to (Paragraph [0097]): travel from the first track to the second track via the first junction (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1) while the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 1) is supported by the first carrier support component (33 of 2); and transfer the first carrier from the first carrier support component to the buffer support component (R) while the first transport vehicle is engaged with the second track (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1, when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier to the R, it will remain engaged with the second track); and responsive to the processing station (P) being available to receive the semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], lines 60-61), the second transport vehicle is configured to: receive the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the buffer support component (R) using the second carrier support component (33 of 2); and transfer the first carrier from the second carrier support component to the processing station (This operation can happen when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier from the R to P, see attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the second track is connected to the first track via a second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); responsive to receiving the first carrier using the second carrier support component (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14), the second transport vehicle (2) is configured to travel from the second track to the first track via the second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and the second transport vehicle (2) is configured to transfer the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the second carrier support component (33 of 2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2) to the processing station (P) while the second transport vehicle is engaged with the first track (It can be seen in Fig. 1, when Vehicle 2 transfers the first carrier it will remain engaged to tack 5 which is a part of first track entire left side of 4B-7-5-8).
Regarding Claim 3, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the first track is configured to facilitate movement of the first transport vehicle in a first direction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and the transport track system comprises a third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) that is at least one of: substantially parallel to the first track; or configured to facilitate movement of a transport vehicle in a second direction different than the first direction (It can be seen in attached annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 3.
It also discloses the second track comprises a loop track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) comprising: a first portion configured to facilitate movement of the first carrier in a third direction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and a second portion that is at least one of: substantially parallel to the first portion of the second track (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1); or configured to facilitate movement of a carrier in a fourth direction different than the third direction (See attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 4.
It also discloses the second track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) is between the first track (See attached annotated FIG. 1, entire left side) and the third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1, entire right side).
Regarding Claim 6, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 4.
It also discloses the buffer support component (R) is between the first portion of the second track and the second portion of the second track (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the first track is between the second track and the processing station (See attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 3.
It also discloses the first track (See attached annotated FIG. 1, straight line path) is between the second track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) and the third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1, 5(1)).
Regarding Claim 9, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses a third transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2) comprising a third carrier support component (33 of 2), wherein: the transport track system (FIG. 11) comprises a third track(See attached annotated FIG. 1) ; the third track is connected to the first track via a third junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and responsive to the processing station (P) using the semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], line 60-61) to produce a processed semiconductor wafer and the processed semiconductor wafer being loaded into the first carrier (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14, vehicle 2 is able to perform this operation), the third transport vehicle (2) is configured to: receive, using the third carrier support component (33 of 2), the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the processing station (P); and travel from the first track to the third track via the third junction while the first carrier is supported by the third carrier support component (it can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 9.
It also discloses a controller configured to manage movement of transport vehicles along the third track (Paragraph [005], [006], [008] lines 47-55) wherein: the controller allows a fourth transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2) to travel along the third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) while the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) is received using the third carrier support component (33 of 2); and responsive to the first carrier being received using the third carrier support component (This operation can be perform by vehicle 2 when it receives the intrusions from controller, paragraph [0097] lines 8-14), the controller blocks a fifth transport vehicle from traveling along the third track to allow the third transport vehicle to travel from the first track to the third track via the third junction (paragraph [006], lines 7-10, discloses the controller causes the article transport vehicle to remain at rest and wait until the another article transport vehicle no longer exists in the other travel course).
Regarding Claim 11, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1) comprises: a first transfer component (FIG. 6 and 9, 41) configured to facilitate transfer of the first transport vehicle from traveling along the first track to traveling along the second track (It can be seen in Fig. 9 vehicle 2 is travelling along from first track to second track with the help of 41 or second to first track).
Regarding Claim 12, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 1.
It also discloses the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) is received using the second carrier support component while the second transport vehicle is engaged with the second track (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1, when vehicle 2 performs this operation, it will remain engaged with the second track).
Regarding Claim 13, Kinugawa et al. discloses a method of transporting a first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) using an automated material handling system (FIG. 1) comprising a first transport vehicle (2), a second transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2), a buffer support component (R), and a transport track system (FIG. 1) comprising a first track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) and a second track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) connected to the first track via a first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1), the method comprising: responsive to a processing station being scheduled to receive a semiconductor wafer that is carried by the first carrier (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14), moving the first transport vehicle (2) from the first track to the second track via the first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1) while the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2), is supported by a first carrier support component (33)of the first transport vehicle (2); transferring the first carrier from the first carrier support component to the buffer support component while the first transport vehicle is engaged with the second track(It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1, when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier to the R, it will remain engaged with the second track); responsive to the processing station (P) being available to receive the semiconductor wafer, transferring the first carrier from the buffer support component to a second carrier support component of the second transport vehicle; and transferring the first carrier from the second carrier support component to the processing station (This operation can happen when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier from the R to P, see attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 13.
It also discloses transferring the semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], line 60-61) from the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) into the processing station (P) via a load port of the processing station (See attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 14.
It also discloses responsive to transferring the semiconductor wafer from the first carrier into the processing station via the load port (This operation can happen when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier from the R to P, see attached annotated FIG. 1), processing the semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], line 60-61) using the processing station (P).
Regarding Claim 16, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 13.
It also discloses the second track is connected to the first track via a second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and the method comprises responsive to transferring (paragraph [0097], lines 8-14) the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the buffer support component (R) to the second carrier support component (33 of 2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2), moving the second transport vehicle (2)from the second track to the first track via the second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1), wherein the first carrier is transferred from the second carrier support component to the processing station while the second transport vehicle is engaged with the first track (It can be seen in Fig. 1, when vehicle 2 transfers the first carrier it will remain engaged to tack 5 which is a part of first track entire left side of 4B-7-5-8).
Regarding Claim 17, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 13.
It also discloses the automated material handling system (FIG. 1, Paragraph [002], lines 12-14) comprises a third transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2); the transport track system comprises a third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1); the third track is connected to the first track via a third junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and the method comprises: processing the semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], line 60-61) using the processing station (P) to produce a processed semiconductor wafer; loading the processed semiconductor wafer into the first carrier (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14, vehicle 2 is able to perform this operation); responsive to loading the processed semiconductor wafer into the first carrier, transferring the first carrier from the processing station (P) to a third carrier support component (33 of 2) of the third transport vehicle; and responsive to transferring (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14, vehicle 2 is able to perform this operation) the first carrier from the processing station (P) to the third carrier support component (33 of 2), moving the third transport vehicle from the first track to the third track via the third junction (it can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 17.
It also discloses allowing a fourth transport vehicle (2, it can be seen in FIG. 1 that there are multiple vehicles 2) to travel along the third track (See attached annotated FIG. 1) while the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) is received at the third carrier support component (33 of 2) ; and blocking a fifth transport vehicle from traveling along the third track responsive to the first carrier being received by the third carrier support component to allow the third transport vehicle to travel from the first track to the third track via the third junction (Paragraph [006], lines 7-10, discloses the controller causes the article transport vehicle to remain at rest and wait until the another article transport vehicle no longer exists in the other travel course).
Regarding Claim 19, Kinugawa et al. discloses a method of transporting a first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) using an automated material handling system (Paragraph [002], lines 12-14), comprising a first transport vehicle (2), a buffer support component (R), and a transport track system (FIG. 1) comprising a first track and a second track connected to the first track via a first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 2) , the method comprising: responsive to a processing station being scheduled to receive a semiconductor wafer (Paragraph [0027], lines 60-61) that is carried by the first carrier, moving the first transport vehicle (2) from the first track to the second track via the first junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); while the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 1) is supported by a first carrier support component (33) of the first transport vehicle (2); transferring the first carrier from the first carrier support component to the buffer support component while the first transport vehicle is engaged with the second track (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1, when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier to the R, it will remain engaged with the second track); responsive (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14) to the processing station (P) being available to receive the semiconductor wafer (paragraph [0027], lines 60-61), transferring the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the buffer support component (R) to the first carrier support component (33 of 2) ; and transferring the first carrier from the first carrier support component to the processing station (It can be seen in attached annotated FIG. 1, when vehicle 2 receives the information to transfer the first carrier to the R, it will remain engaged with the second track).
Regarding Claim 20, Kinugawa et al. discloses all limitations of claim 19.
It also discloses the second track is connected to the first track via a second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 1); and the method comprises responsive (Paragraph [0097], lines 8-14) to transferring the first carrier (See attached annotated FIG. 2) from the buffer support component (R) to the first carrier support component (33 of 2), moving the first transport vehicle (2) from the second track to the first track via the second junction (See attached annotated FIG. 2), wherein the first carrier is transferred from the first carrier support component to the processing station while the first transport vehicle is engaged with the first track (It can be seen in Fig. 1, when Vehicle 2 transfers the first carrier it will remain engaged to tack 5 which is a part of first track entire left side of 4B-7-5-8).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other cited prior art show article transport facility which utilizing multipole tracks and automated vehicle.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652