DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
1. Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, claims 1 - 16, 19 - 20 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 4, 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 2, “the material” should be changed to “a material” because it lacks of antecedent basis.
In claim 8, line 2, “the material” should be changed to “a material” because it lacks of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 - 9, 12 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (9899285) in view of Lin et al. (9318404).
With regard to claim 1, Ho et al. disclose a method of fabricating an electronic device, the method comprising:
attaching a first side (a bottom side surface functioning as a first side) of a tape (116, fig. 1c; for example, see column 5, lines 30, 31) to a first side (an active side surface 110, fig. 1c functioning as a first side) of a wafer (a substrate 102, fig. 1c functioning as a wafer);
planarizing (the backside surface 108 undergoes a backgrinding operation wherein the backgrinding operation removes a portion of base substrate material 102 from surface 108 and leaves semiconductor die 104 with a new backside surface 120 and using a chemical mechanical planarization method; for example, see column 5, lines 38 – 44, figs. 1c, 1d) an opposite second side (a backside surface 108, fig. 1c functioning as an opposite second side) of the wafer (102) with the first side (110) of the wafer (102) attached to the first side (a bottom side surface functioning as a first side) of the tape (116, fig. 1c; for example, see column 5, lines 30, 31); and
separating a semiconductor die (104, fig. 1h) from the wafer (102) after grinding the second side (108, fig. 1d) of the wafer (102).
Ho et al. does not disclose using a laser, planarizing an opposite second side of the tape.
However, Lin et al. discloses using a laser (190), planarizing an opposite second side (188) of the tape (a layer 164, made of an epoxy acrylate material having a high-strength structural adhesive, functioning as the tape; for example, see column 8, lines 57 – 59, fig. 4g).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ho et al.’s device to includes a laser, planarizing an opposite second side of the tape as taught by Lin et al. in order to provide structural support and protect active surface of the wafer, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Ho et al. disclose separating the semiconductor die (104, fig. 1h) from the wafer (120) includes performing a laser dicing process (128, fig. 1g) with the first side (110) of the wafer (120) attached to the first side (the bottom side) of the tape (116). (for example, see figs. 1f, 1g).
With regard to claim 3, Ho et al. disclose the tape (116) includes a polymer material wherein the polymer material inherently includes polyester. (for example, see column 5, lines 25 – 27).
With regard to claim 4, Lin et al. disclose planarizing the opposite second side (188) of the tape (164) includes vaporizing (CMP process including vaporizing method; for example, see column 10, lines 54 – 58) at least a portion of the material of the opposite second side (188) of the tape (164) using a laser (190).
With regard to claim 5, Ho et al. disclose planarizing the opposite second side (108, fig. 1d) of the wafer (102) includes grinding (for example, see column 5, lines 38, 39) the opposite second side (108, fig. 1d) of the wafer (102).
With regard to claim 6, Ho et al. disclose forming solder bumps (114, fig. 1c) along the first side (110) of the wafer (102), wherein attaching the first side (the bottom side) of the tape (116) to the first side (110) of the wafer (102) includes covering the solder bumps (114, fig. 1c) with the tape (116).
With regard to claim 7, Ho et al. disclose the tape (116) includes a polymer material wherein the polymer material inherently includes polyester. (for example, see column 5, lines 25 – 27).
With regard to claim 8, Lin et al. disclose planarizing the opposite second side (188) of the tape (164) includes vaporizing (CMP process including vaporizing method; for example, see column 10, lines 54 – 58) at least a portion of the material of the opposite second side (188) of the tape (164) using a laser (190).
With regard to claim 9, Lin et al. disclose planarizing the opposite second side (188) of the tape (164) includes performing a laser etch process using a laser (190). (for example, see column 10, lines 54 – 58).
With regard to claim 12, Lin et al. disclose before performing the laser etch process, a thickness between the first and second sides of the tape (the layer 164, made of an epoxy acrylate material having a high-strength structural adhesive, functioning as the tape; for example, see column 8, lines 57 – 59, fig. 4g) varies between a first thickness (referred to as “T1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below) and a smaller second thickness (referred to as “T2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below); the laser etch process (190, fig. 4g) removes tape material from the second side (188) of the tape (164) to provide a planar etched second side (as shown in figs. 4g, 4h) of the tape (164) with a uniform third thickness (referred to as “T3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4g below) between the etched second side (referred to as “164A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4h below) of the tape (164) and the first side of the wafer (184, fig. 4g); and the third thickness (T3, fig. 4g) is less than the second thickness (T2, fig. 4f).
With regard to claim 13, Lin et al. disclose before performing the laser etch process, the thickness between the first and second sides of the tape at a center of the tape is approximately the first thickness (T1, fig. 4f) and the thickness between the first and second sides of the tape at a peripheral edge of the tape is approximately the second thickness (T2, fig. 4f).
With regard to claim 14, Lin et al. disclose before performing the laser etch process, a thickness between the first and second sides of the tape (the layer 164, made of an epoxy acrylate material having a high-strength structural adhesive, functioning as the tape; for example, see column 8, lines 57 – 59, fig. 4g) varies between a first thickness (referred to as “T1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below) and a smaller second thickness (referred to as “T2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below); the laser etch process (190, fig. 4g) removes tape material from the second side (188) of the tape (164) to provide a planar etched second side (as shown in figs. 4g, 4h) of the tape (164) with a uniform third thickness (referred to as “T3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4g below) between the etched second side (referred to as “164A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4h below) of the tape (164) and the first side of the wafer (184, fig. 4g); and the third thickness (T3, fig. 4g) is approximately equal (“is approximately equal” can be “not the same thickness”) to the second thickness (T2, fig. 4f).
With regard to claim 15, Lin et al. disclose before performing the laser etch process, the thickness between the first and second sides of the tape at a center of the tape is approximately the first thickness (T1, fig. 4f) and the thickness between the first and second sides of the tape at a peripheral edge of the tape is approximately (“is approximately equal” can be “not the same thickness”) the second thickness (T2, fig. 4f).
With regard to claim 16, Lin et al. disclose before planarizing the second side of the tape (164), a thickness between the first and second sides of the tape (the layer 164, made of an epoxy acrylate material having a high-strength structural adhesive, functioning as the tape; for example, see column 8, lines 57 – 59, fig. 4g) varies between a first thickness (referred to as “T1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below) and a smaller second thickness (referred to as “T2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4f below); planarizing the second side of the tape (190, fig. 4g) removes tape material from the second side (188) of the tape (164) to provide a planar etched second side (as shown in figs. 4g, 4h) of the tape (164) with a uniform third thickness (referred to as “T3” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4g below) between the etched second side (referred to as “164A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4h below) of the tape (164) and the first side of the wafer (184, fig. 4g); and the third thickness (T3, fig. 4g) is less than the first thickness (T1, fig. 4f).
With regard to claim 19, Ho et al. disclose a method of fabricating an electronic device, the method comprising:
attaching a first side (a bottom side surface functioning as a first side) of a tape (116, fig. 1c; for example, see column 5, lines 30, 31) to a first side (an active side surface 110, fig. 1c functioning as a first side) of a wafer (a substrate 102, fig. 1c functioning as a wafer);
planarizing an opposite second side of the wafer with the first side of the wafer attached to the first side of the tape; and separating a semiconductor die from the wafer after grinding the second side of the wafer.
planarizing (the backside surface 108 undergoes a backgrinding operation wherein the backgrinding operation removes a portion of base substrate material 102 from surface 108 and leaves semiconductor die 104 with a new backside surface 120 and using a chemical mechanical planarization method; for example, see column 5, lines 38 – 44, figs. 1c, 1d) an opposite second side (a backside surface 108, fig. 1c functioning as an opposite second side) of the wafer (102) with the first side (110) of the wafer (102) attached to the first side (a bottom side surface functioning as a first side) of the tape (116, fig. 1c; for example, see column 5, lines 30, 31);
separating a semiconductor die (104, fig. 1h) from the wafer (102) after grinding the second side (108, fig. 1d) of the wafer (102).
Ho et al. does not disclose etching an opposite second side of the tape.
However, Lin et al. discloses etching (etching using a laser 190) an opposite second side (188) of the tape (the layer 164, made of an epoxy acrylate material having a high-strength structural adhesive, functioning as the tape; for example, see column 8, lines 57 – 59, fig. 4g).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ho et al.’s device to includes a step of etching an opposite second side of the tape as taught by Lin et al. in order to provide structural support and protect active surface of the wafer, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 20, Lin et al. disclose etching the second side (188) of the tape (164) includes performing a laser etch process using a laser (190). (for example, see column 10, lines 54 – 58).
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (9899285) in view of Lin et al. (9318404) and further in view of Kim et al. (12021005).
With regard to claim 10, Ho et al. and Lin et al. do not clearly disclose the laser is a carbon dioxide laser.
However, Kim et al. discloses the laser is a carbon dioxide laser (patternings 444 can be formed by carbon dioxide lasers; for example, see column 17, lines 13 – 15, fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ho et al. and Lin et al.’s device to have the laser is a carbon dioxide laser as taught by Kim et al. in order to enhance a high planarized efficiency for providing structural support and protect active surface of the wafer, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (9899285) in view of Lin et al. (9318404) and further in view of Lebby et al. (6097528).
With regard to claim 11, Ho et al. and Lin et al. do not clearly disclose the laser is a light-emitting diode laser.
However, Lebby et al. discloses the laser is a light-emitting diode laser (a red laser diode 18 functioning as a light-emitting diode laser; for example, see column 3, lines 54 – 56, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ho et al. and Lin et al.’s device to have the laser is a light-emitting diode laser as taught by Lebby et al. in order to enhance a high planarized efficiency for providing structural support and protect active surface of the wafer, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812