Claim Objection
Claim 7 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 7 should refer to other claims in the alternative only and /or cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 7 has not been further treated on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 12-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of US 2025/0304488 (488).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, (488) discloses (claim 1) a glass article, comprising: a glass substrate comprising an average optical transmittance equal to or less than about 91% (claim 1) over a wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (claim 1).
(488) does not disclose a washout index WI when measured by a WI Measurement Method equal to or less than about 0.165.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a glass substrate to meet the washout index requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, (488) discloses the glass (substrate) is alkali free (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Matsushita discloses the average optical transmittance is in a range from about 50% to about 90% (60%-80%, claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, (488) discloses an anneal point of the glass is greater than about 700°C (claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, (488) discloses a liquidus temperature of the glass is greater than about 1000°C (claim 7).
Regarding claim 6, (488) discloses the liquidus temperature is in a range from about 1000°C to about 1300°C, claim 8).
Regarding claim 8, (488) discloses a density of the glass is equal to or less than about 2.65 g/cc3 (claim 10).
Regarding claim 12, (488) discloses a composition of a glass in mole percent on an oxide basis: SiO2 61 -74; Al2O3 9 - 14; B203 0 - 12; MgO 0 -9;CaO 3.5 - 12; SrO 0 -5;BaO 0 -5;SnO2 0 - 0.15; NiO 0.025 - 0.13; Co3O4 0.005 - 0.04, and wherein (MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO)/Al203 is equal to or greater than about 1. (claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, (488) discloses the glass comprises: NiO 0.055 - 0.065; and C0304 0.011 - 0.013 (claim 26).
Regarding claim 14, (488) discloses the glass comprises: NiO 0.077 - 0.128; and Co3O4 0.025 - 0.037 (claim 27).
Regarding claim 17, (488) discloses the glass comprising in mole percent on an oxide basis:Si02 61 -74; Al2O3 9 - 14; B203 0 - 12; MgO 0 -9;CaO 3.5 - 12; SrO 0-5; BaO 0 -5;Sn02 0 - 0.15; NiO 0.025 - 0.13; Co3O4 0.005 - 0.04, and wherein (MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO)/Al203 is equal to or greater than about 1 (claim 1).
(488) does not disclose a display device, comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitters (transmitting member 4) disposed on a backplane substrate (D), and a glass cover (2) substrate disposed the backplane substrate and attached thereto with an adhesive layer (5), the glass cover substrate comprising an average transmittance equal to or less than about 91% over a wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (400 to 800 nm).
Matsushita discloses (figs. 1A, 1B and description of fig. 1A and B) a display device, comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitters (transmitting member 4) disposed on a backplane substrate (D), and a glass cover (2) substrate disposed the backplane substrate and attached thereto with an adhesive layer (5), the glass cover substrate comprising an average transmittance equal to or less than about 91% over a wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (400 to 800 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 15 of (488), as taught by Matsushita, to have the a design a display device with improved transmittance.
Matsushita does not disclose a luminance ratio of the display device is equal to or less than about 91%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the luminance ratio requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, (488) as modified by Matsushita discloses a washout index WI when measured by a WI Measurement Method equal to or less than about 0.165.
Matsushita discloses a glass substrate with similar transmittance property as the claimed invention, the glass substrate of Matsushita would yield similar washout index when measured by WI method as claimed.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a glass substrate to meet the washout index requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, (488) discloses the glass comprises: NiO 0.055 - 0.065; and C0304 0.011 - 0.013 (claim 26).
Regarding claim 19, (488) discloses the glass comprises: NiO 0.077 - 0.128; and Co3O4 0.025 - 0.037 (claim 27).
Regarding claim 20, (488) discloses an anneal point of the glass is greater than about 700°C (claim 5).
Regarding claim 21, (488) discloses a liquidus temperature of the glass is in a range from about 1000°C to about 1300°C (claim 8).
Regarding claim 22, (488) discloses a coefficient of thermal expansion in a range from about 29x10-7 to about 40x10-7 over a temperature range of 0°C to 300°C (claim 9).
Regarding claim 23, (488) discloses a density of the glass is equal to or less than about 2.65 g/cc3 (claim 10).
Regarding claim 24, (488) discloses the average transmittance is equal to or less than about 90% over the wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (claim 3).
Regarding claim 25, (488) discloses the average transmittance is equal to or less than about 85% over the wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (claim 1).
Regarding claim 26, (488) discloses the average transmittance is equal to or less than about 80% over the wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (claim 3).
Regarding claim 27, (488) discloses the average transmittance is in a ranger from about 50% to about 91% over the wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al., JP JP2015226318 (refer to machine translation of the Japanese application) .
Regarding claim 1, Matsushita discloses (figs. 1A, 1B and related text) a glass article, comprising: a glass substrate (2) comprising an average optical transmittance equal to or less than about 91% (Matsushita discloses transmittance of the substrate 85-90%) over a wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (400 nm to 800 nm).
Matsushita does not disclose a washout index WI when measured by a WI Measurement Method equal to or less than about 0.165.
However, since Matsushita discloses a glass substrate with similar transmittance property as the claimed invention, the glass substrate of Matsushita would yield similar washout index when measured by WI method as claimed.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a glass substrate to meet the washout index requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 2, Matsushita discloses the average optical transmittance is in a range from about 50% to about 90% (80%-90%).
Regarding claim 3, Matsushita discloses a glass of the glass substrate is alkali free (refer to the description of figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 9, Matsushita discloses the glass article comprises a display device (refer to the description of figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 10, Matsushita discloses the glass substrate (2) comprises a cover substrate of a display panel of the display device (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Matsushita does not disclose a luminance ratio of the display device is equal to or less than about 91%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the luminance ratio requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Matsushita discloses (figs. 1A, 1B and description of fig. 1A and B) a display device, comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of light emitters (transmitting member 4) disposed on a backplane substrate (D), and a glass cover (2) substrate disposed the backplane substrate and attached thereto with an adhesive layer (5), the glass cover substrate comprising an average transmittance equal to or less than about 91% over a wavelength range from 450 nm to 650 nm (400 to 800 nm).
Matsushita does not disclose a luminance ratio of the display device is equal to or less than about 91%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the luminance ratio requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, Matsushita does not disclose a washout index WI when measured by a WI Measurement Method equal to or less than about 0.165.
Matsushita discloses a glass substrate with similar transmittance property as the claimed invention, the glass substrate of Matsushita would yield similar washout index when measured by WI method as claimed.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a glass substrate to meet the washout index requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of Yanase et al., US 20090270242.
Regarding 4, Matsushita does not disclose an anneal point of the glass is greater than about 700°C.
Yanase discloses a glass substrate with anneal point 704 to 730 degree centigrade [0103] in order to produce glass with excellent meltability so that melting defect does not occur in the glass substrate [0006].
Matsushita and Yanase are analogous art because they both are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Matsushita with the specified features of Yanase because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsushita to include the anneal point as taught by Yanase in order to produce glass with excellent meltability so that melting defect does not occur in the glass substrate [0006].
Regarding claim 5, Matsushita as modified by Yanase discloses a liquidus temperature of the glass is greater than about 1000°C (Yanase, abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Matsushita as modified by Yanase discloses the liquidus temperature is in a range from about 1000°Cto about 1300°C Yanase, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Matsushita does not disclose a density of the glass is equal to or less than about 2.65 g/cc3.
Yanase discloses a density of the glass is equal to or less than about 2.65 g/cc3 [0036] in order to produce glass with excellent meltability so that melting defect does not occur in the glass substrate [0006].
Matsushita and Yanase are analogous art because they both are directed to glass substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Matsushita with the specified features of Yanase because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Matsushita to include the density of the glass as taught by Yanase in order to produce glass with excellent meltability so that melting defect does not occur in the glass substrate [0006].
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811