DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 09/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 – 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TSUSHIMA et al. (US 20230292433 A1).
Regarding claim 8, TSUSHIMA discloses (Fig. 1 – 5) a circuit substrate (30) comprising: a ceramic substrate (10); copper plates (20) which are bonded to two main surfaces of the ceramic substrate (10), respectively; and silver-plating films (para [0159]) formed on surfaces of the copper plates, wherein a number of facets existing on a surface of the copper plate in an interface between the copper plate and the silver-plating film is 3000 or less per mm2 (See para [0012], [0029], [0159] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 8, wherein the number of facets with a diameter of 2.5
μ
m
or more is 1200 or less per mm2, and the number of facets with a diameter of less than 2.5
μ
m
is 1800 or less per mm2 (See para [0028] - [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 9, wherein the number of facets with a facet diameter of less than 1.5
μ
m
is 1200 or less per mm2 (See para [0028] - [0030]).
Regarding claim 21, TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 8, wherein a diameter of the facets is less than 9.5
μ
m
(See para [0028] - [0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 – 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUENAGA et al. (US 20230187310 A1) in view of TSUSHIMA et al. (US 20230292433 A1)
Regarding claim 8, SUENAGA discloses (Fig. 4) a circuit substrate (10) comprising: a ceramic substrate (2); copper plates (11, 12) which are bonded to two main surfaces of the ceramic substrate, respectively; and silver-plating films (4) formed on surfaces of the copper plates,
SUENAGA is silent on wherein a number of facets existing on a surface of the copper plate in an interface between the copper plate and the silver-plating film is 3000 or less per mm2.
However, TSUSHIMA discloses (Fig. 1 - 5) wherein a number of facets existing on a surface of the copper plate in an interface between the copper plate (20) and the silver-plating film (para [0159]) is 3000 or less per mm2 (See para [0012], [0029], [0159] and Fig. 2).
SUENAGA and TSUSHIMA are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of circuit substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUENAGA to incorporate the teachings of TSUSHIMA and provide wherein a number of facets existing on a surface of the copper plate in an interface between the copper plate (20) and the silver-plating film (para [0159]) is 3000 or less per mm2 (See para [0012], [0029], [0159] and Fig. 2). Doing so a circuit board has a good heat radiation capability, and is reduced in failures, such as the phenomenon that an etching solution used in forming a circuit pattern remains, and thus the reliability as a product is enhanced (See para [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, SUENAGA in view of TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 8, wherein TSUSHIMA further discloses the number of facets with a diameter of 2.5
μ
m
or more is 1200 or less per mm2, and the number of facets with a diameter of less than 2.5
μ
m
is 1800 or less per mm2 (See para [0028] - [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, SUENAGA in view of TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 9, wherein TSUSHIMA further discloses the number of facets with a facet diameter of less than 1.5
μ
m
is 1200 or less per mm2 (See para [0028] - [0030]).
Regarding claim 21, SUENAGA in view of TSUSHIMA discloses the circuit substrate according to claim 8, wherein TSUSHIMA further discloses a diameter of the facets is less than 9.5
μ
m
(See para [0028] - [0030]).
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847