DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 5/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 20210183963).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses an organic light emitting display apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of subpixels in an emission region (12, figs. 1-3 and paragraph 0053); and
a planarization layer in the plurality of subpixels (140, fig. 3 and paragraph 0099), the planarization layer including a plurality of light extraction patterns including a convex portion (151, fig. 3 and paragraph 0119) and a plurality of concave portions (153, fig. 3 and paragraph 0119),
wherein at least a first light extraction pattern of the plurality of light extraction patterns
is rotated with respect to a center portion of each of the plurality of concave portions (fig. 4 and paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 2, Jang further discloses wherein a shape of the light extraction patterns in each of the plurality of subpixels have a respective rotation angle that is different for each of the plurality of subpixels (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Jang further discloses wherein rotation angles of
light extraction patterns disposed in two adjacent subpixels of the plurality of subpixels have a three or more-degree difference within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees (fig. 4, hexagonal shape).
Regarding claim 4, Jang further discloses wherein rotation angles of
light extraction patterns disposed in subpixels of the same color among light extraction patterns respectively disposed in the plurality of subpixels have a three or more-degree difference within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Jang further discloses wherein rotation angles of
light extraction patterns disposed in two subpixels adjacent to each other in a first direction, a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, or a diagonal direction among the plurality of subpixels have a three or more-degree difference within a range of more than 0 degrees and less than 60 degrees (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Jang further discloses a substrate on which the plurality of subpixels are disposed (100, fig. 3 and paragraph 0099);
a plurality of color filter layers each disposed to correspond to a corresponding subpixel (paragraph 0066),
the color filter layers being between the substrate and the planarization layer (CFr, CFb, CFg, fig. 3 and paragraph 0147); and
a bank layer defining the emission region of each of the plurality of subpixels (160, fig. 3 and paragraph 0140),
wherein each color filter layer is disposed to extend from the emission region up to a
circuit region of the corresponding subpixel (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Jang further discloses wherein the plurality of
subpixels includes first, second, third, and fourth subpixels, and
wherein a color filter layer disposed in a subpixel emitting light of a color having a
shortest wavelength among the first to fourth subpixels is disposed to extend up to the circuit region of an adjacent subpixel of a different color (paragraphs 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 8, Jang further discloses wherein the first subpixel
is a red subpixel, the second subpixel is a blue subpixel, the third subpixel is a white subpixel, and the fourth subpixel is a green subpixel, and wherein the second subpixel is disposed to extend up to circuit regions of the third and fourth subpixels (paragraphs 0064-0069).
Regarding claim 9, Jang further discloses a substrate where the plurality of subpixels are disposed (100, fig. 3 and paragraph 0099);
a color filter layer disposed to correspond to a corresponding subpixel, the color filter
layer being between the substrate and the planarization layer (CFr, CFb, CFg, fig. 3 and paragraph 0147); and
a light emitting device including a first electrode, a light emitting layer, and a second
electrode each disposed in a respective one of the plurality of subpixels (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134),
wherein the first electrode of each of the subpixels is disposed in the emission region of
each respective subpixel (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134),
wherein, for each of the subpixels, the first electrode includes a connection portion
disposed between the emission region and a circuit region outside the emission region (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134), and
wherein the color filter layer disposed to correspond to the corresponding subpixel
overlaps the connection portion (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134).
Regarding claim 10, Jang further discloses wherein the plurality of
subpixels includes first, second, third, and fourth subpixels, and
wherein the color filter layer disposed in a subpixel emitting light of a color having a
shortest wavelength among the first to fourth subpixels is disposed to extend up to the
connection portion of an adjacent subpixel of a different color and overlap the connection portion (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134).
Regarding claim 11, Jang further discloses wherein the first
subpixel is a red subpixel, the second subpixel is a blue subpixel, the third subpixel is a white subpixel, and the fourth subpixel is a green subpixel, and
wherein the second subpixel is disposed to overlap the connection portion of the third
and fourth subpixels (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134).
Regarding claim 12, Jang further discloses wherein the second
subpixel is disposed to extend up to circuit regions of the third and fourth subpixels (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134).
Regarding claim 13, Jang further discloses wherein the bank layer
includes a black pigment (paragraph 0141).
Regarding claim 14, Jang further discloses wherein the bank layer is
a black bank layer and overlaps an outermost pattern having a rotated structure of the light (160, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0141-0142).
extraction pattern.
Regarding claim 15, Jang further discloses wherein the bank layer is
a black bank layer and is disposed between light extraction patterns having different rotation angles for each of adjacent subpixels (160, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0141-0142).
Regarding claim 16, Jang further discloses a light emitting device including a first electrode, a light emitting layer, and a second electrode each disposed in each of the plurality of subpixels (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134),
wherein the bank layer is a black bank layer (paragraph 0141),
wherein the first electrode comprises the emission region of a corresponding subpixel
and a connection portion connecting the emission region with the circuit region, and
wherein the black bank layer is disposed to overlap the connection portion (figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0124-0134, 0141-0142).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 20190393448 discloses a relevant display device with corresponding light extraction features.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 5/30/26