DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-26 are currently being examined.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacquemart et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0259878).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
An automated material handling system having a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMR) for retrieving, transporting, and delivering items to and from locations within a material handling facility, said material handling system comprising: (See Pars. 0072, 0073; Fig. 1; Ref. Numeral WMS (automated material handling system)
a warehouse execution system (WES) comprising a computer that is programed with computer code that is adapted to maintain a pending workflow list comprising a plurality of tasks to be performed within the material handling facility; and (See Pars. 0072, 0073, 0124-0127, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "warehouse"(material handling facility), 100(WES), 140(workflow list)
an AMR subsystem comprising at least a subset of said plurality of AMRs of said automated material handling system, (See Pars. 0116-0118; Figs. 1, 9; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMR)
an onboard computer provided with each of at least some of said plurality of AMRs of the AMR subsystem, (See Pars. 0124, 0144; Ref. Numerals 140(onboard computer/workflow list))
wherein said onboard computer of each of said AMR is in communication with the WES, each of said onboard computers programmed with computer code that is adapted to select a task for the corresponding AMR to perform from the pending workflow list of the WES; (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
wherein a particular AMR is capable of performing the task selected from the pending workflow list by its onboard computer. (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 1, wherein said selecting a task for the corresponding AMR to perform comprises selecting a task queue comprising a plurality of individual tasks from the pending workflow list of the WES. (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Figs. 1, 9; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 3, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 2 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 3, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 2, wherein upon completion of a task selected by an onboard computer of a particular AMR, the computer code of the onboard computer of that AMR is further adapted to select another task from the task queue. (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 4, which depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 4, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 1, further comprising a robot controls system (RCS) having a computer that is programmed with RCS computer code and comprises a fleet manager, (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
wherein said fleet manager and RCS computer code are adapted to receive at least some of the plurality of tasks from the pending workflow list of the WES and to control at least some of the plurality of AMRs within the material handling facility with the fleet manager as a function of the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager. (See Pars. 0124-0128, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 5, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 4 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 5, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 4, wherein said at least some of the plurality of AMRs within the material handling facility comprises at least some of the AMRs of said AMR subsystem and a plurality of AMRs that are not affiliated with the AMR subsystem. See Par. 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
With respect to Claim 6, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 54 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 6, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 4, wherein the WES is adapted to lock an AMR to a particular task or task queue. See Par. 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
With respect to Claim 7, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 6 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 7, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 6, wherein the WES is adapted to unlock the AMR from the particular task or task queue when either (See Par. 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
(i) the AMR has completed the task or task queue, or See Par. 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
(ii) the WES determines that the AMR should be removed or redirected from that particular task or task queue.
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from independent Claim 1, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The automated material handling system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of AMRs within the material handling facility are affiliated with said AMR subsystem, and (See Pars. 0124-0128, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
each of the plurality of AMRs within the material handling facility are controllable by the fleet manager. (See Pars. 0124-0128, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 9 as follows:
A method of task allocation for a material handling system having a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMR) for retrieving, transporting, and delivering items to and from locations within a material handling facility, said method comprising: (See Pars. 0072, 0073; Fig. 1; Ref. Numeral WMS(automated material handling system)
maintaining a pending workflow list comprising a plurality of tasks to be performed within the material handling facility using a computer based warehouse execution system (WES) that is programed with WES computer code; (See Pars. 0072, 0073, 0117, 0124-0127, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "warehouse"(material handling facility), 100(WES), 140(workflow list)
selecting a task queue comprising at least one task from the pending workflow list of the WES and assigning the selected task queue to an AMR when that AMR is in need of a task to perform; and See Pars. 0117, 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
performing the tasks on the selected task queue with the AMR. (See Pars. 0192-0196; Fig. 9; Ref. Numerals 5a,5b(AMRs)
With respect to Claim 10, which depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 9, further comprising the AMR selecting, with an onboard computer programmed with computer code, a task to perform from the task queue. (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 11, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 10 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 11, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 10, further comprising upon completion of the selected task with the AMR, the AMR onboard computer selecting another task from the task queue. (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 9, wherein said selecting another task from the task queue is performed as a function of at least one chosen from (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
(i) the location of the AMR within the material handling facility and
(ii) the material handling capability of the AMR. (See Pars. 0110, 0111, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 13, which depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 13, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 9, further comprising using a computer based robot controls system (RCS) that is programmed with computer code and comprises a fleet manager, receiving at least some of the plurality of tasks from the pending workflow list from the WES and controlling at least some of the plurality of AMRs with the fleet manager as a function of the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager. (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 14, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 13 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 13, further comprising determining, with a traffic controller in communication with the AMR, a route for the AMR to follow to perform the task selected by the AMR from the task queue. (See Pars. 0027, 0078-0083, 0119; Ref. Numerals 131b(navigation routes)
With respect to Claim 15, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 13 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 16, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 13, wherein said controlling at least some of the plurality of AMRs comprises at least one chosen from (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
(i) assigning tasks from the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager to at least some of the plurality of AMRs, (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145, 0192-0196; Figs. 1, 9; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
(ii) tracking statuses of tasks assigned to AMRs that were assigned tasks by the fleet manager, and (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145, 0192-0196; Figs. 1, 9; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
(iii) assigning additional or new tasks from the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager to at least some of the plurality of AMRs upon completion of a previous task. (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 16, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 10 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 16, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein the task queue comprises one task, and further comprising upon completion of the selected task and task queue with the AMR, the AMR onboard computer selecting another task comprising one task from the pending workflow list of the WES. (See Pars. 0117, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145, 0192-0196; Figs. 1, 9; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 17, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 16 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 17, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 16, further comprising using a computer based robot controls system (RCS) that is programmed with computer code and comprises a fleet manager, receiving at least some of the plurality of tasks from the pending workflow list from the WES and controlling at least some of the plurality of AMRs with the fleet manager as a function of the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager. (See Pars. 0124-0128, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 18, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 17 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 18, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 17, further comprising the RCS tracking a status of a task selected by an onboard computer of an AMR, and (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
upon completion of the selected task by that AMR, the fleet manager assigning an additional or new task from the plurality of tasks received by the fleet manager to that AMR. (See Pars. 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
With respect to Claim 19, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 9, Jacquemart et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 and Claim 10 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 19, Jacquemart et al discloses as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein after the onboard computer of an AMR selects a task from the task queue, said method further comprising determining whether that AMR has capacity to perform at least one additional of the remaining tasks of the pending workflow list. (See Pars. 0109-0111, 0124-0127, 0144, 0145; Fig. 1; Ref. Numerals "collection robots",5(AMRs), 100(WES), 130(fleet manager), 140(onboard computer/workflow list)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In the alternative, one or more of these claims may be incorporated as further limitations into the respective rejected independent base claim from which they depend. These allowable claims would make the rejected independent base claim allowable because the rejected base claim would then contain subject matter that was neither disclosed, nor taught or fairly suggested, in the prior art of record.
Claims 23-26 are allowed. Independent Claim 23 discloses a method of task allocation for a material handling system having a plurality of autonomous mobile robots (AMR) for retrieving, transporting, and delivering items to and from locations within a material handling facility, said method comprising, inter alia,
maintaining a pending workflow list comprising a plurality of tasks to be performed within the material handling facility using a computer based warehouse execution system (WES) that is programed with WES computer code;
selecting a task queue comprising at least one task from the pending workflow list of the WES and assigning the selected task queue to an AMR when that AMR is in need of a task to perform;
performing the tasks on the selected task queue with the AMR; and
further comprising the AMR selecting, with an onboard computer programmed with computer code, a task to perform from the task queue, and
determining whether the AMR has capacity to pick the material required for at least one of the remaining tasks of the task queue;
wherein if the AMR lacks capacity, returning to determining whether the AMR has capacity to pick the material required for a different one of the remaining tasks on the task queue;
wherein if the AMR has capacity, the onboard computer selecting one of the tasks from the pending workflow list for which it has capacity;
wherein after the onboard computer selecting a task, determining whether the AMR is in sufficiently close proximity to the selected task;
wherein if the AMR is not within sufficiently close proximity of the selected task, returning to determining whether the AMR has capacity to pick the material required for a different one of the tasks on the task queue; and
wherein if the AMR is within sufficiently close proximity of the selected task, the onboard computer controlling the AMR to perform the selected task; and
wherein upon completion of the selected task, the onboard computer of the AMR selecting another one of the remaining tasks on the task queue, and
determining whether the AMR has capacity to pick the material required for at that task.
These limitations, alone and in combination with the other limitations in the independent and dependent claims, were neither found, nor taught or fairly suggested, in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 March 24, 2026