DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/30/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claims 9-10, both claims make reference to “the first substrate” (line 2 of Claim 9 and lines 2-3 of Claim 10), where “a first substrate” was not previously established (improper antecedent basis). For the purposes of examination, the aforementioned “the first substrate” will be interpreted as referring to “a first substrate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 20220263000 A1, hereafter Yang).
Re Claim 1, Yang discloses a display unit (FIG. 5; [0054]-[0065]), comprising:
a transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0054]), wherein the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23) defines a first via (V1; [0063]);
a plurality of micro light-emitting components (21; [0054]), disposed on the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0054]) and electrically connected to the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0054]);
a first circuit connection layer (32; [0063]), disposed in the first via (V1) of the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]) and electrically connected to the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]); and
a first circuit bonding layer (31; [0063]), disposed on a side of the first circuit connection layer (32) facing away from the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21; [0063]) and electrically connected to the circuit connection layer (32; [0063]).
Re Claim 2, Yang discloses the display unit according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the display unit comprises a packaging layer (PL2; [0065]) disposed on the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0065]); and the packaging layer (PL2) covers the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21; [0065]).
Re Claim 4, Yang discloses the display unit according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the transparent patterned substrate (10, 23) layer further defines a second via (V1 in “2nd location” equivalent to FIG. 5 A-A’ portion, see FIG. Z1 below, “2nd location” hereafter referred to as 5c; [0063]);
wherein the display unit further comprises: a second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c; [0063]) and a second circuit bonding layer (31 in 5c; see FIG. 1 for separated transmission lines; [0063]);
wherein the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c) is disposed in the second via (V1 in 5c) of the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]) and is electrically connected to the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]); and
wherein the second circuit bonding layer (31 in 5c) is disposed on a side of the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c) facing away from the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21; [0063]) and is electrically connected to the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c; [0063]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 2 of Yang
Re Claim 5, Yang discloses the display unit according to Claim 4, while further disclosing wherein the second via (V1 in 5c) and the first via (V1) are disposed at two opposite ends of the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]), and the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21) are disposed between the second via (V1 in 5c) and the first via (V1; [0063]).
Re Claim 9, Yang discloses the display unit according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the number of the first via (V1) is multiple (V1 in all equivalent locations, particularly V1 in “2nd location” equivalent to FIG. 5 A-A’ portion, see FIG. Z1, “2nd location” hereafter referred to as 5c; [0063]), and the multiple first vias (V1) are disposed around edges of the first substrate (10; [0063]).
Re Claim 10, Yang discloses the display unit according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the number of the first via (V1) is multiple (V1 in all equivalent locations, particularly V1 in “2nd location” equivalent to FIG. 5 A-A’ portion, see FIG. Z1, “2nd location” hereafter referred to as 5c; [0063]), and the multiple first vias (V1) are disposed at two opposite ends of the first substrate (10; [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0404436 A1, hereafter Wang).
Re Claim 11, Yang discloses a display device (FIG. 2; [0054]), comprising:
a display substrate (“flexible printed circuit board”; [0053]);
a first display unit (FIG. 5; [0054]-[0065]), wherein the first display unit is the display unit according to claim 1, and the first display unit is disposed on the side of the display substrate (“flexible printed circuit board”, side with first circuit bonding layer 31; [0063]).
Yang does not explicitly disclose:
a first bonding pad, disposed on a side of the display substrate (“flexible printed circuit board”);
wherein the first bonding pad is disposed corresponding to the first circuit bonding layer (31) of the first display unit and is electrically connected to the first circuit bonding layer (31) of the first display unit.
However, Wang teaches a display device (FIG. 2, with reference to FIG. 3; [0067]-[0087]), comprising:
a first bonding pad (35; [0069]), disposed on a side of the display substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip; [0067]-[0069], [0078]);
wherein the first bonding pad (35) is disposed corresponding to the first circuit bonding layer (221; [0102]) of the first display unit ([0102]) and is electrically connected to the first circuit bonding layer (221; [0102]) of the first display unit ([0102]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 1 with the limitations taught by Wang to utilize bonding pads (Wang: 35) for connection of the transmission lines (Yang: 31) to the driving chip as taught by Wang ([0078]).
Re Claim 12, Yang and Wang teach the display device according to Claim 11, while Yang further teaches wherein the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23) of the first display unit further defines a second via (V1 in “2nd location” equivalent to FIG. 5 A-A’ portion, see FIG. Z1, “2nd location” hereafter referred to as 5c; [0063]), the second via (V1 in 5c) and the first via (V1) are disposed on two opposite ends of the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]), and the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21) are disposed between the second via (V1 in 5c) and the first via (V1; [0063]);
wherein the first display unit further comprises: a second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c; [0063]) and a second circuit bonding layer (31 in 5c; see FIG. 1 for separated transmission lines; [0063]); the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c) is disposed in the second via (V1 in 5c) of the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]) and is electrically connected to the transparent patterned substrate layer (10, 23; [0063]); and the second circuit bonding layer (31 in 5c) is disposed on a side of the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c) facing away from the plurality of micro light-emitting components (21) and is electrically connected to the second circuit connection layer (32 in 5c; [0063]); and
Additionally, Wang teaches wherein the display device further comprises a second bonding pad (35, corresponding to 5c of Yang; [0069]) disposed on the side of the display substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip; [0078]), and the second bonding pad (35, corresponding to 5c of Yang) is disposed corresponding to the second circuit bonding layer (221, corresponding to 5c of Yang; [0102]) and is electrically connected to the second circuit bonding layer (221, corresponding to 5c of Yang; [0102]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 11 with the limitations taught by Wang to utilize bonding pads (Wang: 35) for connection of the transmission lines (Yang: 31) to the driving chip as taught by Wang ([0078]).
Re Claim 16, Yang and Wang teach the display device according to Claim 11, while Wang further teaches the display device comprises a panel drive circuit (“driving chip”; [0083]) disposed on the side of the display substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip, particularly lead portions of “driving chip”; [0083]) and electrically connected to the first bonding pad (35; [0083]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 11 with the limitations taught by Wang to utilize the leads of the driving chip (Wang: “driving chip”) in contact with the bonding pads (Wang: 35) as output connections for the driving chip (Wang: “driving chip”) as taught by Wang ([0083]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Wang, as applied to Claim 11, further in view of Dong et al (US 2024/0071964 A1, hereafter Dong).
Re Claim 13, Yang and Wang teach the display device according to Claim 11, while Wang further teaches the display substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip) comprises a second substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip; [0078]), wherein the first display unit and the first bonding pad (35) are disposed on a same side of the second substrate (B2 housing layer, driving chip; [0067]-[0069], [0078]).
Yang and Wang do not explicitly disclose wherein the display substrate (Wang: B2 housing layer, driving chip) comprises a transparent conductive layer, disposed on the second substrate (Wang: B2 housing layer, driving chip) and disposed between the first bonding pad (Wang: 35) and the second substrate (Wang: B2 housing layer, driving chip), wherein the transparent conductive layer is electrically connected to the first bonding pad (Wang: 35).
However, Dong teaches a display substrate (FIG. 1B; [0071]-[0084]) comprising a transparent conductive layer (109; [0083]), disposed on the second substrate (21; [0089]) and disposed between the first bonding pad (1041, 1061; [0081]) and the second substrate (21; [0089]), wherein the transparent conductive layer (109) is electrically connected to the first bonding pad (1041, 1061; [0081]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as discussed for Claim 11 with the limitations taught by Dong to use a conductive layer (Dong: 109) to facilitate connection between the bonding pad (Wang: 35)/display unit and the driving chip (Wang: “driving chip”) through intermediate layers as taught by Dong ([0081]-[0089]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 3, 6-8, 14-15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Claim 3, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the first circuit bonding layer is disposed on a side of the first substrate facing away from the drive control circuit layer, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 3.
Re Claim 14, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the first bonding pad penetrates through the circuit protection layer, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 14.
Re Claim 17, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the first circuit bonding layer of the second display unit is electrically connected to the second bonding pad, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 17.
Re Claim 18, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: wherein the chip on film is provided with two bonding ends, one of the two bonding ends is bonded to the first bonding pad, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 18.
Re Claim 19, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: sequentially forming a compensation layer and a second substrate on a side of a glass substrate; […] separating the second substrate from the compensation layer, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 19.
Re Claim 20, the prior art cannot anticipate, or render obvious, the limitations of: the plurality of displaying units are tiled through electrically connecting the plurality of bonding pads with the corresponding first circuit bonding layers and the corresponding second circuit bonding layers of the plurality of displaying units, in combination with the additionally claimed features of Claim 20.
In Re Claims 6-8 and Claim 15, they are objected to due to their dependence from Claims 3 and 14, respectively.
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892