DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, it recites the limitation “…a layer of an electric conductive material disposed on a substrate…” is not explained. The limitation has an antecedent issue of “a substrate”. Therefore, it is indefinite. For the examination purpose, the limitation “…a layer of an electric conductive material disposed on a substrate…” is interpreted as “…a layer of an electric conductive material disposed on the substrate…”.
Regarding claims 9-12, those are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), because of their dependency status from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirley et al. (US 20220291401 A1, hereinafter Shirley).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Shirley teaches a method of fabricating a graphene-based solid-state device (Figs.11A-B-C), the method comprising including the following steps:
Shirley’s Figure 11A-Annotated.
disposing a layer of an electric conductive material (1110 a back-gate in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) on a substrate (substrate in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C),
depositing a first layer of an insulating material (1120 a gate dielectric in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) on the layer of an electric conductive material (1110), the first layer of an insulating material (1120) being made of a first oxide dielectric material (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C),
patterning (exposing the back-gate contacts using optical lithography and wet etching of the dielectric to expose the back-gate contacts in [0125]) the first layer of an insulating material (1120) to expose at least a portion of the layer of an electric conductive material (1110),
disposing a graphene layer (1130 graphene in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) on the first layer of an insulating material (1120),
patterning (patterning graphene on the dielectric surface in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) the graphene layer (1130) to define at least one channel region (to produce channels in the graphene in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C),
applying a lithographic process (producing source-drain contacts on the graphene comprises using optical lithography in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) to define at least two contact areas (1140 source-drain edge contacts in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) in the graphene layer (1130),
depositing one metallic contact (metallization of Cr/Au in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) on each one of the at least two defined contact areas (1140) of the graphene layer (1130), and
depositing a second layer of an insulating material (1010 perovskite in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C) on the stacked structure, the second layer of an insulating material (1010) being made of a second oxide dielectric material (1010 perovskite such as SrTiO3 different to AlO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C) different of the first oxide dielectric material of which the first layer of an insulating material (1120) is made; and wherein the selectivity to at least one etchant of the first oxide dielectric material (1120) is different (AlO3 and SrTiO3 have different etchant) from the selectivity to said at least one etchant of the second oxide dielectric material (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 2, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first oxide dielectric material is an inorganic oxide dielectric material (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 3, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second oxide dielectric material is an inorganic oxide dielectric material (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 4, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first oxide dielectric material (1120) is selected from the following group: SiO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, HfO2, HfSiO4, Ta2O5, La2O3, LaA1O3, Nb2O5, TiO2, BaTiO3, SrTiO3, CaCu3Ti4O12, GaN, TaN, Si3N4, ZrSiO4, Y2O3, CaO, MgO, BaO, WO3, MoO3, Sc2O3, Li2O and SrO (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 5, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second oxide dielectric () material is selected from the following group: SiO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, HfO2, HfSiO4, Ta2O5, La2O3, LaA1O3, Nb2O5, TiO2, BaTiO3, SrTiO3, CaCu3Ti4O12, GaN, TaN, Si3N4, ZrSiO4, Y2O3, CaO, MgO, BaO, WO3, MoO3, Sc2O3, Li2O and SrO (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C), provided that the second oxide dielectric material is different of the first oxide dielectric material and the selectivity to at least one etchant of the first oxide dielectric material is different (AlO3 and SrTiO3 have different etchant) from the selectivity to said at least one etchant of the second oxide dielectric material.
Re: Claim 7, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the layer of an electric conductive (1110) material and/or the at least one metallic contact (1140) are made of at least one of: Titanium (Ti), Nickel (Ni), Gold (Au), Palladium (Pd), Cobalt (Co), Chromium (Cr), Aluminum (Al), Tungsten (W), TaN, (Tantalum Nitride), TiN (Titanium Nitride), Silicon (Si), doped Silicon (doped Si), poly-silicon (poly-Si), Cobalt monosilicide (CoSi), Platinum (Pt), Copper (Cu), Silver (Ag), Lead (Pb), Iron (Fe), Co/Fe alloy, and combinations/alloys of these materials (Au or Cr/Au back-gate 1110, metallization of contact made of Cr/Au in [0125]).
Re: Independent Claim 8, Shirley teaches a graphene-based solid-state device (Figs.11A-B-C) comprising a substrate (substrate comprising a silicon wafer covered with a layer of SiO2 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C), at least one graphene channel (1130 graphene to produce channels in the graphene in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) and at least three contacts (1110 a back-gate, 1140 source-drain edge contacts in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C), the graphene-based solid-state device (Figs.11A-B-C) comprising:
a layer of an electric conductive material (1110 a back-gate in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) disposed on the substrate (substrate in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C), the layer of electric conductive material (1110 a back-gate) defining a back electrical contact (a back-gate in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C);
a first insulating material (1120 a gate dielectric in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) covering the layer of electric conductive material (1110) except on the area defining the back electrical contact (in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C), the first insulating material (1120) being made of a first oxide dielectric material (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C);
a graphene layer (1130 graphene in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) disposed on the first insulating material (1120);
at least two top electrical contacts (1140 source-drain edge contacts in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C) disposed on the graphene layer (1130); and
a second layer (1010 perovskite in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C) of an insulating material (1010 perovskite such as SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C) covering part (1010 covers 1130 and 1120) of the graphene layer (1130) and the first insulating material (1120), the second insulating material (1010) being made of a second oxide dielectric material different (1010 perovskite such as SrTiO3 different to AlO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C) of the first oxide dielectric material (1120); and wherein the selectivity to at least one etchant of the first oxide dielectric material [0012] is different (AlO3 and SrTiO3 have different etchant) from the selectivity to said at least one etchant of the second oxide dielectric material (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 9, Shirley discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the first oxide dielectric material is an inorganic oxide dielectric material (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 10, Shirley discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the second oxide dielectric material is an inorganic oxide dielectric material (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 11, Shirley discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the first oxide dielectric material (1120) is selected from the following group: SiO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, HfO2, HfSiO4, Ta2O5, La2O3, LaA1O3, Nb2O5, TiO2, BaTiO3, SrTiO3, CaCu3Ti4O12, GaN, TaN, Si3N4, ZrSiO4, Y2O3, CaO, MgO, BaO, WO3, MoO3, Sc2O3, Li2O and SrO (a thin film of Al2O3 in [0125], Figs.11A-B-C).
Re: Claim 12, Shirley discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the second oxide dielectric () material is selected from the following group: SiO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, HfO2, HfSiO4, Ta2O5, La2O3, LaA1O3, Nb2O5, TiO2, BaTiO3, SrTiO3, CaCu3Ti4O12, GaN, TaN, Si3N4, ZrSiO4, Y2O3, CaO, MgO, BaO, WO3, MoO3, Sc2O3, Li2O and SrO (SrTiO3 in [0128], Figs.11A-B-C), provided that the second oxide dielectric material is different of the first oxide dielectric material and the selectivity to at least one etchant of the first oxide dielectric material is different (AlO3 and SrTiO3 have different etchant) from the selectivity to said at least one etchant of the second oxide dielectric material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirley in view of Lin et al. (US 20180368743 A1, hereinafter Lin).
Re: Claim 6, Shirley discloses the method of claim 1,
Shirley does not expressly disclose wherein prior to disposing the at least one graphene layer on the on the first layer of an insulating material, the substrate is cleaned to remove impurities and increase hydrophilicity.
However, in the same semiconductor device manufacturing field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein prior to disposing the at least one graphene layer (505 in [0293]) on the on the first layer of an insulating material (507 in [0293]), the substrate (518-519 in [0293]) is cleaned (in [0293]) to remove impurities and increase hydrophilicity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Lin’s method of wherein prior to disposing the at least one graphene layer on the on the first layer of an insulating material, the substrate is cleaned to remove impurities and increase hydrophilicity to Shirley’s method to clean the surface of the substrate and for improving the quality of the device ([0293], Lin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Accardi et al. (US 9324825 B2) teaches “MANUFACTURING METHOD OF A GRAPHENE-BASED ELECTROCHEMICAL SENSOR, AND ELECTROCHEMICAL SENSOR”. This document is related to a manufacturing method of an electrochemical sensor comprises forming a graphene layer on a donor substrate, laminating a film of dry photoresist on the graphene layer, removing the donor substrate to obtain an intermediate structure comprising the film of dry photoresist and the graphene layer, and laminating the intermediate structure onto a final substrate with the graphene layer in electrical contact with first and second electrodes positioned on the final substrate. The film of dry photoresist is then patterned to form a microfluidic structure on the graphene layer and an additional dry photoresist layer is laminated over the structure. In one type of sensor manufactured by this process, the graphene layer acts as a channel region of a field-effect transistor, whose conductive properties vary according to characteristics of an analyte introduced into the microfluidic structure.
Wang et al. (US 20110006837 A1) teaches “GRAPHENE DEVICE, METHOD OF INVESTIGATING GRAPHENE, AND METHOD OF OPERATING GRAPHENE DEVICE”. This document is related to a graphene device comprising: a first gate structure, a second gate structure that is transparent or semi-transparent, and a bilayer graphene coupled to the first and second gate structures, the bilayer graphene situated at least partially between the first and second gate structures. The present invention also provides for a method of investigating semiconductor properties of bilayer graphene and a method of operating the graphene device by producing a bandgap of at least 50 mV within the bilayer graphene by using the graphene device.
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898