DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s response filed February 10, 2026, has been entered.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, in the reply filed on February 10, 2016, is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 10, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to instant claim 1, it is suggested that Applicant delete “SUS” and insert “Steel Use Stainless” as this is what the abbreviation “SUS” stands for as common terminology. With respect to instant claim 11, line 1, it is suggested that Applicant delete “included” and insert “present”.
Note that, instant claims 2-10 and 12-19 have also been objected to due to their dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the colorant" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is required. Note that, for purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted “the colorant” as “a colorant”. Note that, instant claims 11-13 have also been rejected due to their dependency on instant claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mochida et al (US 2016/0032227).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Mochida et al teach a cleaning composition for a semiconductor substrate contains a solvent, and a polymer that includes a fluorine atom, a silicon atom or a combination thereof. The content of water in the solvent is preferably no greater than 20% by mass. See Abstract. The cleaning composition contains a solvent (A), and a polymer (B). Since the polymer (B) includes a fluorine atom and/or a silicon atom, it is presumed that the cleaning composition exhibits proper wet spreadability on substrate surfaces, and the formed film has an affinity to the removing liquid and a proper rate of dissolution, thereby allowing the particles on the substrate surface to be rapidly removed in a state in which the particles are covered by the film, leading to an achievement of a high efficiency of removal. See para. 17.
The solvent (A) is exemplified by: an organic solvent such as an alcohol solvent, an ether solvent, a ketone solvent, an amide solvent, an ester solvent and a hydrocarbon solvent; water; and the like. Examples of the ketone solvent include: chain ketone solvents such as acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, etc. Examples of the ester solvent include: ethyl lactate and ethyl 3-methoxypropionate; polyhydric alcohol partial ether carboxylate solvents such as monocarboxylates of an alkylene glycol monoalkyl ether, and monocarboxylates of a dialkylene glycol monoalkyl ether; cyclic ester solvents such as butyrolactone, etc. Preferably, the organic solvent is propylene glycol monoethyl ether, ethyl lactate, butyrolactone or propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate. The lower limit of the content of the solvent (A) is preferably 50% by mass, more preferably 80% by mass, and still more preferably 90% by mass. The upper limit of the content is preferably 99.9% by mass, more preferably 99.5% by mass, and still more preferably 99.0% by mass. When the content of the solvent (A) falls within the range of from the lower limit to the upper limit, the cleaning property of the cleaning composition on silicon nitride substrates can be further improved. See paras. 29-40. The cleaning composition may contain either one, or two or more types of the solvent (A). Mochida et al exemplifies compositions containing GBL which is gamma butyrolactone (i.e., butyrolactone). See paras.120-150. Note that, instant claim 1, containing 100% by weight of gamma butyrolactone as recited by instant claim 1, is simply drawn to a one component composition which simply requires the existence of gamma butyrolactone.
Mochida et al disclose the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Mochida et al anticipate the material limitations of instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochida et al (US 2016/0032227).
Mochida et al are relied upon as set forth above. However, Mochida et al
do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing gamma butyrolactone and at least one of propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, acetone, ethyl lactate, or methyl ethyl ketone in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing gamma butyrolactone and at least one of propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, acetone, ethyl lactate, or methyl ethyl ketone in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Mochida et al suggest a composition containing gamma butyrolactone and at least one of propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, acetone, ethyl lactate, or methyl ethyl ketone in the specific amounts as recited by the instant claims.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochida et al (US 2016/0032227) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-19 above, and further in view of Kamei et al (US 2017/0330762).
Mochida et al are relied upon as set forth above. However, Mochida et al do not teach the use of 3-methoxybutyl acetate in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by the instant claims.
Kamei et al teach a semiconductor treatment composition that can reduce damage applied to a metal wire and the like that are included in the treatment target, and can still effectively remove contaminants from the surface of the treatment target, and a treatment method that utilizes the semiconductor treatment composition. See para. 7. The semiconductor treatment composition may be used as a treatment agent such as a cleaning agent for removing particles, metal impurities, and the like present on the surface of the treatment target (polishing target) after completion of CMP, a resist stripper for removing a resist from a semiconductor substrate that has been processed using a resist, and an etchant for shallowly etching the surface of a metal wire or the like to remove a surface contaminant. Note that the term “treatment agent” used herein includes a cleaning agent for cleaning a semiconductor surface, a resist stripper, an etchant, and the like. See para. 25. The semiconductor treatment composition according to one embodiment of the invention is a liquid that includes a liquid medium as the main component. The liquid medium may be appropriately selected taking account of the intended use (e.g., cleaning, etching, and resist removal) of the treatment target. See para. 59. The liquid medium may include an organic solvent as the main component, wherein the solvent may be a ketone-based solvent, an ester-based solvent, an ether-based solvent, and an amide-based solvent, and a hydrocarbon-based solvent. Suitable ester-based solvents include propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, 3-methoxybutyl acetate, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use 3-methoxybutyl acetate in the composition taught by Mochida et al, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kamei et al teach the equivalence of 3-methoxybutyl acetate to propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate as a suitable solvent in a similar composition and further, Mochida et al teach the use of propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/March 30, 2026