Detailed Action
Response to Election/Restriction
Claims 4, 6, 10-11 and 13-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9 April 2026.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application PCT/KR2022008532 filed on 6/16/2022. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application has been received. Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority DateTo be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application PCT/KR2022008532 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song, D. et al. (US Pub. 20150185410), hereinafter referred to as Song D..
Regarding claim 1, Song D. teaches a display apparatus comprising: a light source device configured to emit light (Song D., Fig. 1); a display panel (Song D., 100, Fig. 1, para. 49) configured to display the light emitted from the light source device; and an optical sheet (Song D., 260, Fig. 1, para. 58) disposed at a rear of the display panel, wherein the light source device comprises: a substrate (Song. D, 500, Fig. 1, para. 48); at least one light source (Song, D. 210b, Fig. 1, para. 60) electrically connected to the substrate; a light conversion member configured to convert a wavelength of light emitted from the light source (Song, D. 220, Fig. 1, para. 58); and a conversion member cover (Song, D. 220c, Fig. 2, para. 68) covering the light conversion member and configured to allow light to pass therethrough.
Regarding claim 3, Song, D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conversion member cover (Song, D. 220c, Fig. 2, para. 68) is disposed on the substrate Song. D, 500, Fig. 1, para. 48).
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song. D. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Im, et al. (US Pub. 20150042919), hereinafter referred to as Im and Song, H. et al. (US Pub. 20190221724, hereinafter referred to as Song H.
Regarding claim 2, Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one light source comprises a first light source on a first side of the light conversion member and a second light source on a second side of the light conversion member opposite to the first side.
However, Song H. teaches a light source (Song H., LS, Fig. 2, para. 43) is mounted on the sidewall of the apparatus and a light conversion member (Song H., CVL1, Fig. 2, para. 43) is mounted centrally in the device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Song, D. with the component placement of Song H. provide even distribution of the generated light to the display panel (Song H., para. 4)
Additionally, Im teaches liquid crystal display apparatus (Im, 100, Fig.2, para. 60) wherein there are two light sources (Im, 131, 133, Fig. 1, para.64) mounted on either end of a light guide plate (Im, 150, Fig. 1, para. 64). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add the second light source of Im to the apparatus of Song D., with the modifications taught by Song H. in order to slim down the design (Im, para. 6).
Claims 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song D. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. 20210408342) hereinafter referred to as Zhou.
Regarding claim 5, Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the light source device further comprises a light source cover covering the light source and configured to block light emitted from the light source.
However, Zhou teaches a light emitting device wherein the light source (Zhou, 530, Fig. 5D, para. 74) are surrounded on two sides by a light reflective material (Zhou, 542, Fig. 5D, para. 74-75). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the apparatus of Song D with the reflective material of Zhou to attain the desired color temperature using less photoluminescence material (Zhou, para. 75).
Regarding claim 7, modified Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the light conversion member (Song, D. 220, Fig. 1, para. 58) is disposed on a first side of the light source (Song, D. 210b, Fig. 1, para. 60) opposite to a second side of the light source on which the substrate is located (Song. D, 500, Fig. 1, para. 48).
Regarding claim 8, modified Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the light source device further comprises a reflective member (Song D., 220a, Fig. 2, paras. 68-69) covering at least a portion of the conversion member cover and configured to reflect light.
Claims 9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song D. and Zhou as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Im.
Regarding claim 9, modified Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the light source is inclined with respect to the substrate.
However, Im teaches a liquid crystal display apparatus wherein one of light sources can be angled (Im, 532, Fig. 15, para. 99-102). This angle is changeable to incrementally vary the amount of illumination (Im, para. 102). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the angled light source of Im with the apparatus of modified Song D. and create a design with the optimal desired amount of light.
Regarding claim 12, modified Song teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the light source device further comprises a substrate reflection layer (Im, 570, Fig. 15, para. 99) between the substrate (Im, 512, Fig. 15, para. 98) and the light source cover (Zhou, 542, Fig. 5D, para. 74-75) and configured to reflect light.
Regarding claim 15, modified Song D. teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the light source cover (Zhou, 542, Fig. 5D, para. 74-75) covers at least two surfaces of the light source (Zhou, 530, Fig. 5D, para. 74).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schaefer et al. (US Pub 20140374780( details an LED system for illuminating plants wherein the LED is surrounded by a reflector ring.
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893