The 35 USC § 101 rejection respect to claim 1-20 is withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13 and 20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 101018047 in view of Khalil et al. (Khalil) US 2016/0029291 and Dotan-Cohen et al. (Dotan-Cohen) US 2019/0340554
18525347 (present application)
11847252 (Parent Patent)
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): A method comprising:
identifying, by one or more processors, a first entity and a second entity associated with the first entity, wherein the first entity is subscribed to an online document system with access to a first set of features within the online document system, and the second entity does not have access to the at least one feature of the first set of features;
applying, by the one or more processors, a trained machine learning model to a characteristic of at least one of the first entity or the second entity to identify one or more features within the online document system to recommend for the first entity to sponsor for the second entity, wherein the identified one or more features comprises a feature from the first set of features that the first entity has authorization to sponsor and the second entity does not have access to, wherein the machine learning model is configured to map the one or more features to entity characteristics representative of one or more documents having one or more fields that can be populated using the identified one or more features, wherein the machine learning model has been trained using feature training data describing one or more characteristics of a plurality of entities and describing historical activity associated with a usage of a plurality of features within the online document system by the plurality of entities; outputting, by the one or more processors, an indication of the one or more identified features to the first entity;
receiving, by the one or more processors, a request to sponsor a feature of the one or more identified features for the second entity; and modifying, by the one or more processors, based on the request, access in the online document system to the feature for the second entity.
Claim 13 (system)
Claim 20 (media)
1. A method comprising:
receiving, from a first entity by an online document system, a first request to sponsor a second entity within the online document system, the first entity having access to a first set of features within the online document system; in response to receiving the first request, providing, by the online document system, the second entity access to a second set of features within the online document system;
receiving, from the first entity by the online document system, a second request to sponsor an identified feature within the online document system for the second entity, the identified feature included in the first set of features but not included in the second set of features and comprising at least one of an electronic signature service configured to execute an online document, an authentication service configured to authenticate a user for accessing an online document, a supplemental online document provider configured to attach a supplemental document in an electronic envelope with the online document, and an online document resizer configured to adapt an aspect ratio of the online document to a device screen size; determining a feature vector based on i) a plurality of interactions between the first entity and the second entity involving the online document system and ii) a plurality of characteristics of the first and second entities;
inputting the feature vector into a first machine learning model configured to map an access policy to entries of the feature vector;
selecting a first access policy based on an output of the first machine learning model wherein the first access policy comprises first requirements that must be satisfied before the second entity can access the identified feature;
receiving, from the first entity by the online document system, a second access policy comprising second requirements that must be satisfied before the second entity can access the identified feature; and in response to the second entity satisfying the first requirements and the second requirements, providing, by the online document system, the second entity access to the identified feature within the online document system.
Claim 17 (system)
Claim 18 (media)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Yang’s engagement levels and roles in projects into 11847252’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Yang’s to interact with to identify usages for the features and provide indication of the features would help to provide usages of the features into 11847252’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing usages of the features would improve user experience using the device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Khalil’s access controls for a resource into Yang and 11847252’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of content access control. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Khalil’s access controls for a resource would help to provide more digital contents access control into Yang and 11847252’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents access control; would improve user experience using the device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Yang, Khalil and 11847252’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of content access control. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Yang, Khalil and 11847252’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
Claim 13 is similar to claim 1 and is rejected similarly.
Claim 20 is similar to claim 1 and is rejected similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (Yang) US 2020/0314201 in view of Khalil et al. (Khalil) US 2016/0029291 and Dotan-Cohen et al. (Dotan-Cohen) US 2019/0340554
In regard to claim 1, Yang disclose A method comprising: ([0033] method)
identifying, by one or more processors, a first entity and a second entity associated with the first entity; ([0014]-[0028] [0034]-[0040] identify, the relationship between the entities by the processor)
applying, by the one or more processors, a trained machine learning model to a characteristic of at least one of the first entity or the second entity to identify one or more features within the online document system to recommend, ([0014]-[0021] [0026]-[0040] apply a machine learning model to a profile data of the entities to identify a digital resource within the system to recommend) wherein the machine learning model has been trained using feature training data describing one or more characteristics of a plurality of entities and describing historical activity associated with a usage of a plurality of features within the online document system by the plurality of entities; ([0014]-[0021] [0026]-[0040] [0048]-[0052] the model has learned as a result of analyzing a training set of profile data describing the characteristics of the entities, such as inquiries, etc. and describing the past interaction history associated with usage of the particular digital content, etc. in the system by the entities.)
outputting, by the one or more processors, an indication of the one or more identified features to the first entity. ([0014]-[0021] [0033]-[0040][0048]-[0052] output, the digital content recommended to the entity represented by the member node. Note: please further clarify the relationships between the indication with the access modification to help move forward the prosecution, please correct “the machine learning model” to the “trained machine learning mode”, etc. call to discuss if necessary)
But Yang fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the first entity is subscribed to an online document system with access to a first set of features within the online document system, and the second entity does not have access to the at least one feature of the first set of features; to recommend for the first entity to sponsor for the second entity, wherein the identified one or more features comprises a feature from the first set of features that the first entity has authorization to sponsor and the second entity does not have access to, receiving, by the one or more processors, a request to sponsor a feature of the one or more identified features for the second entity; and modifying, by the one or more processors, based on the request, access in the online document system to the feature for the second entity.”
Khalil disclose wherein the first entity is subscribed to an online document system with access to a first set of features within the online document system, and the second entity does not have access to the at least one feature of the first set of features; ([0010]-[0014][0016]-[0027] [0040]-[0047][0063]-[0067] Fig. 1, parental controls may be established for restricting or limiting younger users form accessing certain contents with reactive control 103 which generate a request, parent subscriber can access services and contents, streaming media, audio content , etc.)
to recommend for the first entity to sponsor for the second entity, wherein the identified one or more features comprises a feature from the first set of features that the first entity has authorization to sponsor and the second entity does not have access to, ([0027][0040]-[0047][0063]-[0067] Fig. 4, the subscriber request to specify one user having permission (restrict, accept, etc.) to access a given resource based on configuration criteria, the resource is not accessible by the user before and [0013][0016]-[0018][0025][0028][0032][0065]-[0066] include execute services for streaming media and audio content which is a form of file, or downloading and playing the movie, etc.)
receiving, by the one or more processors, a request to sponsor a feature of the one or more identified features for the second entity; ([0010]-[0014][0016]-[0026] [0040]-[0047][0063]-[0067] Fig. 1, parental controls may be established for restricting or limiting younger users form accessing certain contents with reactive control 103 which generate a request, parent subscriber can access services and contents, streaming media, audio content, etc. ) and
modifying, by the one or more processors, based on the request, access in the online document system to the feature for the second entity. ([0010]-[0014][0016]-[0027] [0032] Fig. 1, parental controls may be established for restricting or limiting younger users form accessing certain contents with reactive control platform 103, which generate a request and in response to the request, child can access some services and contents)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Khalil’s access controls for a resource into Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Khalil’s access controls for a resource would help to provide more digital contents access control into Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents access control; would improve user experience using the device.
But Yang and Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the machine learning model is configured to map the one or more features to entity characteristics representative of one or more documents having one or more fields that can be populated using the identified one or more features,”
Dotan-Cohen disclose wherein the machine learning model is configured to map the one or more features to entity characteristics representative of one or more documents having one or more fields that can be populated using the identified one or more features. ([0098]-[0100][0172] [0181]-[0182][0196][0197] the content provided by presentation component such as information populating a user interface to present the content, such as the document with fields and is corresponding to the entity characteristics (such as role, etc.) and mapping user’s roles to the document, etc. and to make the personalized content to be presented based on the user data associated with the user)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 2, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
Yang disclose wherein identifying the first entity and the second entity further comprises:
identifying the first entity and the second entity associated with the first entity based on activity history between the first entity and the second entity. ([0014]-[0021] [0026]-[0040] [0048]-[0052] identify the relationship between the entities based on the past interaction history between the entities)
In regard to claim 3, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
But Yang, Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: outputting an indication of a feature of the one or more identified features based on determining the feature is sponsored by at least a threshold number of entities.”
Dotan-Cohen disclose wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: outputting an indication of a feature of the one or more identified features based on determining the feature is sponsored by at least a threshold number of entities. ([0005]-[0007] [0019]-[0021] [0144]-[0167] [0178]-[0191] output a content from the project based on the determining the content is sponsored by the entities with the sponsor role (with threshold number of users are selected based on search criteria)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 4, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
But Yang, Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: sorting the one or more identified features by a number of entities currently sponsoring the one or more features that are recommended.”
Dotan-Cohen disclose wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: sorting the one or more identified features by a number of entities currently sponsoring the one or more features that are recommended. ([0144]-[0167] [0178]-[0191] rank items by the users with the sponsor role based on the search)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 5, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
But Yang, Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the one or more identified features comprise a premium document auto-population feature.”
Dotan-Cohen disclose wherein the one or more identified features comprise a premium document auto-population feature. ([0172] [0181]-[0182][0196][0197] the content provided by presentation component such as information populating a user interface to present the content, document)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 8, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
But Yang, Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “further comprising: outputting information describing restrictions and/or requirements to access the one or more identified features.”
Dotan-Cohen disclose further comprising: outputting information describing restrictions and/or requirements to access the one or more identified features. ([0183]-[0185] [0084] access particular content or a level of detail for the particular content based on the user roles)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 9, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
But Yang, Khalil fail to explicitly disclose “wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: identifying at least one of: timing to provide to the identified entity the one or more identified features or a frequency with which to provide to the first entity the one or more identified features.”
Dotan-Cohen disclose wherein outputting the indication of the one or more identified features further comprises: identifying at least one of: timing to provide to the identified entity the one or more identified features or a frequency with which to provide to the first entity the one or more identified features. ([0172]-[0176] generate a summary of project and time over a user-specified time period for one or more particular roles)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects into Khalil and Yang’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of digital contents identification. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dotan-Cohen’s engagement levels and roles in projects would help to provide more digital contents for the user to interact with to Khalil and Yang’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing more digital contents for the user to interact would improve user experience using the device.
In regard to claim 10, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
Yang disclose wherein the machine learning model is configured to identify one or more correlations between usage of particular features and the one or more characteristics of the entities that use the particular features. ([0014]-[0021] [0026]-[0040] [0048]-[0052] the model identify the relationship between usage context (particular digital content) and particular past interaction history (frequencies of clicks, likes, etc.)) of the entities view or like, post, comments, etc. in relation to the particular digital content)
In regard to claim 11, Yang, Khalil and Dotan-Cohen disclose The method of claim 1,
Yang disclose further comprising: modifying, by the one or more processors, in the machine learning model, based on an indication the first entity accepted or rejected a feature of the identified one or more features, an association between the one or more characteristics of the plurality of entities and the feature. ([0003]-[0004][0016]-[0021] [0040]-[0044] if the entity accepted the offered job, for example, the association of the entities and the offer is changed from the member entity’s connection graph)
In regard to claims 13-17, claims 13-17 are system claims corresponding to the method claims 1-5 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1-5.
In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is a medium claim corresponding to the system claim 1 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 filed on 9/8/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
PATENT PUB. # PUB. DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20190325262 2019-10-24 Stein et al.
MANAGING DERIVED AND MULTI-ENTITY FEATURES ACROSS ENVIRONMENTS
Stein et al. disclose a system for processing data. During operation, the system obtains feature configurations for a set of features. Next, the system obtains, from the feature configurations, an anchor containing metadata for accessing a first feature in an environment and a feature derivation for generating a second feature from the first feature. The system then uses the anchor to retrieve feature values of the first feature from the environment and uses the feature derivation to generate additional feature values of the second feature from the feature values of the first feature. Finally, the system provides the additional feature values for use with one or more machine learning models… see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143