DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/11/24, 8/5/24 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application no 13/865906, filed 4/18/13, prior application no 15/425061, filed 2/6/17, prior application no 15/714814, filed 9/25/17, prior application no 16/405541, filed 5/7/19, prior application no 16/735439, filed 1/6/20, prior application no 17/173194, filed 2/10/21, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application constitutes a continuation.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9613179, U.S. Patent No. 9773254, U.S. Patent No. 10290014, claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10565606, U.S. Patent No. 10929864, and claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11868921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 10 of the present application are merely broader in scope than that of U.S. Patent No. 9613179. Therefore, U.S. Patent No. 9613179 “invention” meets the limitations of the instant application. Since claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1, claim 1 of the instant application is used as a representative claim example in the comparison below.
Instant Application
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 9773254
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 9773254
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 10290014
Claim 1
A system for providing users with a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, and event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: establish electronic communication links between the server and client computing platforms associated with the users, wherein a first electronic communication link between the server and the first client computing platform is established; facilitate, by the server, interaction of the first user with other users during the primary online game and/or during the event, wherein facilitating interaction of the first user includes performing operations by the server responsive to commands received from the first client computing platform via the first electronic communication link; based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine, by the server, event progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select, by the server, a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the event progress, wherein the first event reward is available for use in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event; facilitate, by the server, distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the first event reward is available for use to the first user in the primary online game but not available for use during the event; and facilitate, via the first electronic communication link, a presentation of reward information to the first user on the first client computing platform, wherein the reward information is regarding the first event reward.
A system for providing an event space associated with a primary virtual space, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: execute an instance of a primary virtual space, and to implement the instance of the primary virtual space by effectuating transmission of information over a network to client computing platforms associated with users to facilitate interaction of the users with the primary virtual space and/or each other by performing operations in the primary virtual space in response to commands received over the network from the client computer platforms associated with the users; manage accounts of users related to the primary virtual space that include a first primary user account associated with a first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information for the first user which indicates virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; execute an instance of an event space, and to implement the instance of the event space by effectuating transmission of information over a network to the client computing platforms associated with the users to facilitate interactions of the users with the event space and/or each other during an event period by performing operations in the event space in response to commands received over the network from the client computer platforms associated with the users, wherein the event space comprises one or more event objectives; manage accounts of users related to the event space that include a first event user account associated with the first user, wherein the first event user account indicates a set of event user parameters for the first user, a set of event game parameters for the first user, and event inventory information which indicates virtual items available to the first user in the event space, wherein the event user parameters include an association of the first event account with the first primary user account, and wherein the virtual items available to the first user in the event space are different than the virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; facilitate purchase of event virtual items useable in the event space such that responsive to purchase of an event virtual item in the event space by the first user, the event inventory information reflects the availability of the event virtual item to the first user in the event space; determine the progress of the users with respect to the one or more event objectives, and determine event rewards to be awarded to individual ones of the users based on the progress of the individual users with respect to the one or more event objectives, wherein the event rewards are usable in the primary virtual space; and; distribute event rewards to the users in the primary virtual space such that responsive to determination of a first event reward for the first user, the primary inventory information in the first primary account is updated to reflect the availability to the first user in the primary virtual space of one or more virtual items included in the first event reward, wherein distributing the event rewards to the users in the primary virtual space includes effectuating transmission over the network to a first client computing platform associated with the first user of communications that cause the first client computing platform to present the availability of the one or more virtual items included in the first event reward.
A system for providing users with an event space associated with a primary virtual space, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, wherein the client computing platforms are communicatively coupled to one or more networks, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: execute an instance of a primary virtual space; effectuating transmission of a first set of information over the one or more networks to the client computing platforms to facilitate a first interaction of the users with the primary virtual space and/or each other, wherein the first interaction is performed in response to receiving a first set of commands over the one or more networks from the client computing platforms; manage accounts of the users that include a first primary user account associated with the first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information that defines virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; execute an instance of an event space; effectuating transmission of a second set of information over the one or more networks to the client computing platforms to facilitate a second interaction of the users with the event space and/or each other during an event period, wherein the second interaction is performed in response to receiving a second set of commands over the one or more networks from the client computing platforms, wherein the event space is associated with one or more event objectives; manage accounts of the users that include a first event user account associated with the first user, wherein the first event user account includes event inventory information that defines event-specific virtual items available to the first user in the event space, wherein the first event user account is associated with the first primary user account, and wherein the event-specific virtual items are different than the virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; facilitate purchase of an event-specific virtual item that is usable in the event space such that responsive to purchase of the event-specific virtual item by the first user, the event inventory information reflects availability of the event-specific virtual item to the first user in the event space; determine the progress of the users with respect to the one or more event objectives; determine event rewards to be awarded to individual ones of the users based on individual progress with respect to the one or more event objectives, wherein the event rewards are usable in the primary virtual space, wherein the event rewards include a first event reward to be awarded to the first user; and facilitate distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the inventory information included in the first primary user account is updated to reflect availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space; and effectuate transmission of a third set of information over the one or more networks to the first client computing platform, wherein the third set of information facilitates a presentation of reward information through the first client computing platform to the first user, wherein the presentation indicates availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space.
A system for providing users with a primary virtual space, virtual items available for use within the primary virtual space, and event-specific virtual items available during an event and not available for use upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, wherein the client computing platforms are communicatively coupled to one or more networks, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: execute an instance of the primary virtual space; effectuate transmission of a first set of information over the one or more networks to the client computing platforms to facilitate a first interaction of the users with the primary virtual space and/or each other, wherein the first interaction is performed in response to receipt of a first set of commands over the one or more networks from the client computing platforms; manage accounts of the users that include a first primary user account associated with the first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information that defines virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; effectuate transmission of a second set of information over the one or more networks to the client computing platforms to facilitate a second interaction of the users with each other during the event period of the event, wherein the second interaction is performed in response to receiving a second set of commands over the one or more networks from the client computing platforms, wherein the event is associated with one or more event objectives; manage accounts of the users that include a first event user account associated with the first user, wherein the first event user account includes event inventory information that defines event-specific virtual items available to the first user during the event, wherein the first event user account is associated with the first primary user account, and wherein the event-specific virtual items are different than the virtual items available to the first user in the primary virtual space; facilitate purchase of an event-specific virtual item that is usable during the event such that responsive to purchase of the event-specific virtual item by the first user, the event inventory information reflects availability of the event-specific virtual item to the first user during the event, and wherein the event-specific virtual item is not available to the first user upon expiration of the event period; determine the progress of the users with respect to the one or more event objectives; determine event rewards to be awarded to individual ones of the users based on individual progress with respect to the one or more event objectives, wherein the event rewards are usable in the primary virtual space, wherein the event rewards include a first event reward to be awarded to the first user; and facilitate distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the inventory information included in the first primary user account is updated to reflect availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space; and effectuate transmission of a third set of information over the one or more networks to the first client computing platform, wherein the third set of information facilitates a presentation of reward information through the first client computing platform to the first user, wherein the presentation indicates availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space.
Instant Application
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 10565606
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 1929864
Claim 1
U.S. Patent No. 11868921
Claim 1
A system for providing users with a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, and event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: establish electronic communication links between the server and client computing platforms associated with the users, wherein a first electronic communication link between the server and the first client computing platform is established; facilitate, by the server, interaction of the first user with other users during the primary online game and/or during the event, wherein facilitating interaction of the first user includes performing operations by the server responsive to commands received from the first client computing platform via the first electronic communication link; based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine, by the server, event progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select, by the server, a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the event progress, wherein the first event reward is available for use in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event; facilitate, by the server, distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the first event reward is available for use to the first user in the primary online game but not available for use during the event; and facilitate, via the first electronic communication link, a presentation of reward information to the first user on the first client computing platform, wherein the reward information is regarding the first event reward.
A system for providing users with a primary virtual space, virtual items available for use within the primary virtual space, and event-specific virtual items available during an event and not available for use upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: execute an instance of the primary virtual space; facilitate a first interaction of the first user with the primary virtual space and/or other users of the primary virtual space; manage accounts of the users, wherein the accounts include a first primary user account associated with the first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information that defines virtual items usable by the first user within the primary virtual space; facilitate a second interaction of the first user with the other users during the event period of the event, wherein the event is associated with one or more event objectives; manage event inventory information that defines event-specific virtual items usable by the first user during the event, wherein the event-specific virtual items are different than the virtual items usable by the first user in the primary virtual space, wherein the event-specific virtual items include an event-specific virtual item that is usable during the event and not available to the first user upon expiration of the event period; determine progress of the first user with respect to the one or more event objectives; determine a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the progress with respect to the one or more event objectives, wherein the first event reward is usable in the primary virtual space; facilitate distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the inventory information included in the first primary user account is updated to reflect availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space; and facilitate a presentation of reward information to the first user, wherein the presentation indicates availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary virtual space.
A system for providing users with a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, and event-specific virtual items available during an event and not available for use upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: execute an instance of the primary online game; facilitate a first interaction of the first user with the primary online game and/or other users of the primary online game; manage accounts of the users, wherein the accounts include a first primary user account associated with the first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information that defines virtual items usable by the first user within the primary online game; facilitate a second interaction of the first user with the other users during the event period of the event, wherein the event is associated with one or more event objectives; manage event inventory information that defines event-specific virtual items usable by the first user during the event, wherein the event-specific virtual items are different than the virtual items usable by the first user in the primary online game, wherein the event-specific virtual items include an event-specific virtual item that is usable during the event and not available to the first user upon expiration of the event period; determine progress of the first user with respect to the one or more event objectives; determine a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the progress with respect to the one or more event objectives, wherein the first event reward is usable in the primary online game; facilitate distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the inventory information included in the first primary user account is updated to reflect availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary online game; and facilitate a presentation of reward information to the first user, wherein the presentation indicates availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary online game.
A system for providing users with a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, and event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the expiration of the event does not end the primary online game, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: manage, at a server, accounts of the users, wherein the accounts include a first primary user account associated with the first user, wherein the first primary user account includes inventory information that defines virtual items usable by the first user within the primary online game; establish electronic communication links between the server and client computing platforms associated with the users, wherein a first electronic communication link between the server and the first client computing platform is established; facilitate, by the server, interaction of the first user with other users during the primary online game and/or during the event, wherein facilitating interaction of the first user includes performing operations by the server in the event space responsive to commands received from the first client computing platform via the first electronic communication link; manage, by the server, event inventory information that defines event- specific virtual items usable by the first user during the event, wherein the event-specific virtual items are different than the virtual items usable by the first user in the primary online game, wherein the event-specific virtual items include an event-specific virtual item that is usable during the event; based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine, by the server, progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select, by the server, a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the progress, wherein the first event reward is usable in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event; facilitate, by the server, distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the inventory information included in the first primary user account is updated to reflect availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary online game; and facilitate, via the first electronic communication link, a presentation of reward information to the first user on the first client computing platform, wherein the presentation indicates availability of the first event reward to the first user in the primary online game.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 10,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, and event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event, wherein the users include a first user; facilitate interaction of the first user with other users during the primary online game and/or during the event; based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine event progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the event progress, wherein the first event reward is available for use in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event; facilitate distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the first event reward is available for use to the first user in the primary online game but not available for use during the event; and facilitate a presentation of reward information to the first user, wherein the reward information is regarding the first event reward”, are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (managing personal behavior, rules). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions to: establish electronic communication links between the server and client computing platforms associated with the users, wherein a first electronic communication link between the server and the first client computing platform is established; wherein facilitating interaction of the first user includes performing operations by the server responsive to commands received from the first client computing platform via the first electronic communication link”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Ocko et al. (2012/0015714) teaches the recited additional elements (Fig 2, 13, ¶¶0025, 0036).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-18, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-18 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ocko et al. (2012/0015714) in view of Nowak et al. (10406428).
Re Claim 1,
Ocko discloses a system for providing users with a primary online game, virtual items available for use within the primary online game, wherein the users include a first user, wherein the users are associated with client computing platforms, wherein the client computing platforms include a first client computing platform, and wherein the first client computing platform is associated with the first user, the system comprising: one or more processors configured to execute machine-readable instructions (Fig 2, 13, ¶¶0025, 0036, 0093-0096) to:
establish electronic communication links between the server and client computing platforms associated with the users, wherein a first electronic communication link between the server and the first client computing platform is established (Fig 2, 13, ¶¶0036, 0093-0097, 0104);
facilitate, by the server, interaction of the first user with other users during the primary online game and/or during the event, wherein facilitating interaction of the first user includes performing operations by the server responsive to commands received from the first client computing platform via the first electronic communication link (Fig 2, ¶¶0025-0026, 0040, 0048-0049, 0093-0097, 0104; a player can interact and invite friends to play the game).
Ocko does not explicitly disclose event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event,
based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine, by the server, event progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select, by the server, a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the event progress, wherein the first event reward is available for use in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event;
facilitate, by the server, distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the first event reward is available for use to the first user in the primary online game but not available for use during the event; and facilitate, via the first electronic communication link, a presentation of reward information to the first user on the first client computing platform, wherein the reward information is regarding the first event reward.
However, Nowak teaches a similar virtual game with event-specific virtual items available during an event that includes a secondary game, wherein the event ends upon expiration of an event period of the event, based on actions performed by the first user during the event, automatically determine, by the server, event progress of the first user with respect to one or more event objectives that are associated with the event; automatically select, by the server, a first event reward to be awarded to the first user based on the event progress, wherein the first event reward is available for use in the primary online game, and wherein the first event reward is not available for use to the first user during the event (Fig 3-7, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-48; a virtual poker game as a primary game and minigame as a secondary game, wherein the minigame has predetermined stages, i.e., the minigame expires after the completion of the stages, further, the reward won in the minigame can be used in the primary game, in other words, the minigame generates a reward for the player to use in the primary game such as the poker game, the reward is not used in the minigame);
facilitate, by the server, distribution of the first event reward to the first user such that the first event reward is available for use to the first user in the primary online game but not available for use during the event; and facilitate, via the first electronic communication link, a presentation of reward information to the first user on the first client computing platform, wherein the reward information is regarding the first event reward (Fig 3-7, 9-10, col 8, ln 14-15, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-34, col 12-52; the minigame interface display the reward information to the player). Nowak further teaches such a configuration incentivizes users to participate in computer games (col 1, ln 14-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the minigame taught by Nowak into the virtual game of Ocko in order to incentivize player to participate in computer games.
Re Claims 2, 11,
Ocko discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on virtual items available to the first user in the primary online game are unavailable to the first user during the event. However, Nowak teaches virtual items available to the first user in the primary online game are unavailable to the first user during the event (Fig 3-7, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-48).
Re Claims 3, 12,
Ocko discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on managing event inventory information that describes event-specific virtual items usable by the first user during the event. However, Nowak teaches managing event inventory information that describes event-specific virtual items usable by the first user during the event (Fig 3-7, 9-10, col 8, ln 14-15, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-34, col 12-52).
Re Claims 4, 13,
Ocko discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the event inventory information reflects removal of the event-specific virtual item upon the expiration of the event period. However, Nowak teaches the event inventory information reflects removal of the event-specific virtual item upon the expiration of the event period (Fig 3-7, 9-10, col 8, ln 14-15, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-34, col 12-52).
Re Claims 5, 14,
Ocko discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on modifying inventory information for the first user to indicate the availability of the first event reward for use by the first user in the primary online game, subsequent to the expiration of the event period. However, Nowak teaches modify inventory information for the first user to indicate the availability of the first event reward for use by the first user in the primary online game, subsequent to the expiration of the event period (Fig 3-7, 9-10, col 8, ln 14-15, col 9, ln 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-34, col 12-52).
Re Claims 8, 17,
Ocko discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a second interaction responsive to an indication that the first user has reached a specified level in the primary online game. However, Nowak teaches a second interaction responsive to an indication that the first user has reached a specified level in the primary online game (Fig 3-7, 9-10, col 8, ln 14-15, col 9, ln 11-14, 28-50, col 10, ln 58-65, col 11, ln 26-34, col 12-52).
Re Claim 10,
Claim is substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715